IMDb > Poison Ivy: The New Seduction (1997) (V) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Poison Ivy: The New Seduction
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Poison Ivy: The New Seduction (V) More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]
Index 41 reviews in total 

27 out of 32 people found the following review useful:

Wake up Hollywood, it's time Jaime Pressly was discovered!

Author: gregvaughan (gregvaughan4@excite.com) from New Jersey
13 September 2002

There may be more beautiful actresses out there, and there are certainly more talented ones, but few can match Jaime Pressly for sheer sex appeal! From the moment she turns up -- the camera panning up her legs in the first of a series of trashy, figure hugging outfits -- you're hooked on everything this avenging blonde bombshell does! (If another actress has ever looked hotter in a clingy white t-shirt with no bra, I must have missed it!) How come the pouting, plastic, silicone enhanced Denise Richards lands big movies like WILD THINGS and James Bond, while Jaime, who can play scheming bitches better, and has a sexual presence that burns up the screen (and a killer bod that's 100% natural!) is still stuck in StV flicks, or crap like NOT ANOTHER TEEN MOVIE?? If Jaime had been set loose in WILD THINGS or CRUEL INTENTIONS she'd have been a superstar overnight!

As she goes about wrecking havoc and revenge on the family who wronged her, highlights here include: Jaime's topless swim/backstroke (in glorious slo-mo); handcuffing a drunk chick to her bed post (don't ask!); pouring champaign down her front to get a guys full attention (it works); dressing in dominatrix outfits; and effortlessly seducing a handsome rich kid, who she knows hasn't been getting any from his frigid fiancee ("Hmmm, I see we have a little unfinished business," she announces, before sticking her hand down his pants and purring, "Stock market's up.........and I see you're a major stock holder.") Pressly's breathy delivery when in seduction mode, and ultra-blunt abrasiveness the rest of the time is amusingly effective, hitting just the right note. There is barely a moment here when she doesn't totally command the screen. Please someone (Paul Verhoeven, John McNaughton) give this babe some quality trash that people will actually see! It's a crime to see her wasting away in vehicles for the likes of Steven Seagal and Jerry friggin' Springer!

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

A feel good movie, know what I mean Vern?

Author: Doug Galecawitz (dougg@evilnet.net) from Lisle, IL
18 February 2000

Yes this isn't high art, great writing, or anything else that you would expect from a movie. But nobody ever said it was supposed to be that. If you are looking for fine film or Oscar caliber performance look elsewhere. If your looking for one freakin erotic movie, sit down, your ship has come in. Jaime Pressly is ridiculously goddess-like hot and meant for worship in this standard erotic thriller. This is supposed to be a feel good movie, it gets it's job done and how!!!!!!!!!! I give it an 8 out of 10 based on the fact that it serves it's purpose and does what it's supposed to do. Winning Oscars ain't it. But neither are movies like Death Race 2000 or Enter The Dragon but they still rule!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Beautifull surroundings makes this film a blast

Author: (slipknot-6) from Adelaide, Australia
17 June 2000

Jaime Pressly a beautful talented actress portrays an awful character for the first time, she plays it good, but i rather her as the good girl.

Decent sex scenes, Beautiful surroundings and young talented actors is the ingredients this film needed to survive, the plot stunk and so did the ending. So in closing the only thing stopping this film from a total flop was Jaime Pressly.

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 27 people found the following review useful:

Jamie Pressly's amazing butt keeps this "movie" from being complete garbage.

2/10
Author: The Dude- from Salem, Virginia
20 April 2001

The third film in the series of awful Poison Ivy films doesn't add anything new to the established formula. Sexy girl who does bad things moves in with straight-laced family and quickly starts turning things upside down and sleeping with every male in the cast. Everything about this movie is awful......well, make that almost everything.

The film is a showcase for the awesome physical "assets" of then new-comer Jamie Marie Pressly. Out of the three movies she is easily my favorite. Awesome eyes, perky breasts, sumptuous lips, long lean legs and one of the best butts to ever grace an actress is what she brings to this movie. She can't act, but who cares. As long as she's naked it doesn't matter.

A terrible movie that is only worth watching for Ms. Pressly's nude scenes.

Rating: the movie: 2 Jamie Pressley: 9.5

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

your name doesn't have to be Earl to see Jaime topless

5/10
Author: movieman_kev from United States
17 April 2006

Well I watched and reviewed the first two films in this series, so I figured what the hell, I'll just finish the trilogy up. Jaime Pressly stars as Violent, a teenage vixen who feeling betrayed that her mother (who was also this family's maid) was fired for having an affair with the father , a decade or so later decides to move in with the family who 'wronged' her mom and proceeds to use her best asset, her body, to get revenge. Is this film good in a conventional sense? Nope. Artistically? Haha not at all. In fact the only true reason to see this is Jaime Pressley herself, who ups the T7A quotient exponentially.

Eye Candy: Athena Massey gets topless once; Jaime Pressly shows hers multiple times and her ass once.

My Grade: C

Where i saw it: Thriller Max

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

You f*cked me, and now you are throwing me out.

5/10
Author: lastliberal from United States
25 January 2009

Wow! Violet's mom (Athena Massey) and the pool boy don't waste any time in getting down to business, and we aren't 10 minutes into the movie when a grown up Violet (Jaime Pressly) is showing us everything she has in the bathtub. This is a good start.

Soon she is servicing Joy's (Megan Edwards) fiancée Michael (Greg Vaughan), and getting daddy (Michael Des Barres) all excited swimming topless.

It is so fun to see what Violet's devious mind will come up with next.

I enjoyed seeing Susan Tyrrell (Buddy Boy) again.

This is definitely Jaime Pressly's most skintastic performance and one you will never see again now that she has hit the big time.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

This movie puts the first two to shame! HARDCORE BABY!

9/10
Author: Brian T. Whitlock (GOWBTW) from WILMINGTON, NC
16 January 2006

This installment of "Poison Ivy" is far more seductive and sexual hardcore than the one with Drew Barrymore. Violet(Jaime Pressly) is the sister of Ivy. Like who needs the diary of Ivy, this hottie is one fast learner. Her body is absolutely smoking! SHE GOT IT ALL! Swimming in the nude, seducing everyone she encounters. Most of all Violet is a heavy sex goddess while Ivy is nothing more than a nymph. Joy Greer(Megan Edwards) lost her mom and the return of Violet would make her happy again. So why isn't everyone happy? Because the maid has high suspicions about Violet's motives. And was she right. Too bad it cost her life. Michael(Greg Vaughn) Joy's fiancé has his instincts as well as the maid, though it's a shame that Violet gave him that lethal overdose. Joy was a fighter at the end, and she really vindicates herself from Violet lethal games. Just like tennis, she scores, only her game was much better if she wasn't so preoccupied by problems. This movie showed a lot more skin than usual, and the plot gets thicker and thicker by the minute. A bigger keeper than the first, and it could pass as porn. If only if Joy could keep her emotions in check, everyone would live. And should have been wary of Violet in the first place of her return. RATING 4 OUT OF 5 STARS.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Easily the best of the three so far but what happened to Ivan?

5/10
Author: Paul Andrews (poolandrews@hotmail.com) from UK
28 November 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Poison Ivy: The New Seduction is set in Los Angeles & starts as a powerful banker named named Ivan Greer (Michael Des Barres) arrives home at his palatial mansion, looking for his wife Catherine (Marete Van Kamp) he finds his young & beautiful housekeeper Rebecca (Athena Massey) having passionate sex with the pool guy. Having an affair with Rebecca himself Ivan is not pleased to find out that she is the local bike & every bloke in the neighbourhood has had a ride, Catherine finds out about the affair & throws Rebecca & her young daughters Violet & Ivy out. Jump forward eleven years & Catherine is dead, Ivan is a single man living with his daughter Joy (Megan Edwards) when a grown up Violet (Jaime Pressly) comes calling looking for her childhood best friend Joy. Admitting she has nowhere else to go Violet is invited to stay at the Greer residence by Joy who is happy to see her again after over a decade but Violet has sinister motives for her sudden reappearance & has revenge on her mind...

Directed by Kurt Voss this is the third entry in the Poison Ivy series of films that began with the dull & uneventful erotic thriller Poison Ivy (1992) where a young Drew Barrymore played the manipulative Ivy who is implied to be the sister of Violet although never really mentioned in any significant sense, that was followed by the truly terrible Poison Ivy II (1996) which was more of a moralistic bore than a steamy thriller with the central female character portrayed more as the victim than the evil aggressor & then we come to this, Poison Ivy: The New Seduction which the makers didn't even bother to number & is in fact easily the best of the series to this point by far. Having recently watched the first two I am surprised at how closely this follows the original Poison Ivy plot with some vampish young woman preying upon a rich family, manipulating the weak daughter & seducing the rich father while playing on the death of the mother right down to sleeping in her bed & wearing her clothes. In fact this could be mistaken for a remake rather than sequel that rectifies many of the negatives from the original Poison Ivy like giving it's female villain a motive, like giving the script a little bit of humour & pace, like giving Violet some deliciously deviant, sexy & downright evil sequences unlike the tepid & bland original. From some amusing moments like Violet convincing Joy's best friend they just all had a threesome together which makes her run a mile to Joy walking in on her father Ivan & Violet in the middle of a bondage session with her father handcuffed to the bed & Violet dressed in a hot leather dominatrix outfit. There's some pace about this one as the script keeps moving, the character's are decent with Violet in particular much more of a presence than Ivy was in the original. On the negative side the rushed beginning feels like an afterthought, it's hard to believe that Joy would invite Violet to stay in her house & just suddenly pick up being best friends after eleven years & it's never really made clear why Violet wants to ruin Joy's life so much despite her main gripe being with her father Ivan who she has revenge on anyway although it's not entirely clear what happens to him as he is merely seen sat in a car supposedly having been suffocated by exhaust fumes which is hard to believe & never confirmed one way or the other.

Quite well filmed the one aspect of Poison Ivy: The new Seduction that stands out as another huge improvement over the original Poison Ivy is the casting of the lovely Jaime Pressly, man she is really sexy & just plain hot looking in this as opposed to Drew Barrymore who didn't fit the part of manipulative teen temptress that well at all. Her Jaime Pressly radiates sexiness, whatever she wears in any scene she is hot, from the leather dominatrix outfit she wears to the elegant red evening dress to her tight jeans & t-shirt girl next door look whatever she's in Pressly looks fantastic & is gorgeous. An added bonus is that there's lots more nudity than the previous two entries, again Pressly is just hot whether she's wearing something or not, her body is just great & is a real asset to the film as she has several nude scenes to show it off. I wouldn't say Poison Ivy: The New Seduction or Jaime Pressly are particularly erotic in a sensual way but they are hot in a sexy slutty top shelf magazine sort of way that is great to look at & admire if you know what I mean.

Although the acting is alright it's the super sexy & hot Jaime Pressly who steals every scene she's in, sh seems to be having great fun playing the lying manipulative best friend home wrecker out for revenge & Pressly just look plain gorgeous in every scene she's in. Acting pro Susan Tyrrell has a small role role as a suspicious housekeeper & has some amusing moments facing off with Pressly as they trade insults & derogatory looks.

Poison Ivy: The New Seduction is a massive improvement on the previous two forgettable & bland entries even if it follows the original in plot quite closely, it adds a little motivation & a dark humorous edge as well as the lovely Jaime Pressly who is super hot as Violet. I am not sure there are many more floral female names like Ivy, Lily & Violet with the next & so far final entry Poison Ivy: The Secret Society (2008) using the name Daisy, are there anymore?

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Jaime Pressly seduces everyone

Author: Dr. Gore (drgore@hotmail.com) from Los Angeles, California
3 May 2003

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

*SPOILER ALERT* *SPOILER ALERT*

The most important thing to know about "Poison Ivy: The New Seduction" is that Jaime Pressly does get naked. I bought the unrated version of this movie with that hope in mind. My prayers were answered.

Jaime Pressly is a nuclear sex bomb. That voice. That body. That face. Seeing her leap out of a pool naked in slow motion... Sorry, my mind wandered. I'm back now. Suffice to say, she is raging hot in this movie. No man could resist her nakedness. I can't say I blame them.

So Jaime moves into her friend's house and wants to take over. Seduction, nakedness, sex and scheming go on. Jaime won't rest until she gets her way and moves in permanently.

It was an OK sex thriller. If you like Jaime Pressly, you should definitely check it out.

One last thing, I also want to praise her friend Joy, (Megan Edwards). The good girls don't get enough attention. She was hot in her own spunky, straight A student kind of way.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Sexy entertainment. Jaime worths the watch. Believe me.

Author: insomniac_rod from Noctropolis
4 March 2006

Thank you Cinemax for airing these kind of movies at midnight. "Poison Ivy 3" is a steamy sequel that no one can dislike. It offers you the best about the B-movie industry: great sex scenes, an easy plot that many people would like to experience, and the best of all, beautiful (I mean, BEAUTIFUL!) women.

The plot is similar to "Friend of the Family II" and "The Hand That Rocks the Craddle". This time the sexy nanny is the hot Jaime Pressly. The innocent victim is the also hot Megan Edwards.

I always try to be objective in my movie reviews but this time I can't. This movie shouldn't be commented for it's plot, score, direction, etc. No. This movie is all about Jaime. People can't ignore the fact that she has a DELICIOUS body to die for. I can't even describe how hot she is. Her face is very sexy but menacing at the same time (which helps a lot for her character). Her performance is great mainly because male viewers fantasize about her. Her sex scenes are great! Could've used more explicitly (even the uncut version) but still deliver.

Also, Megan Edwards is extremely sexy! Her beautiful and innocent face makes her more desirable because she has a spectacular hot body. Those legs, those eyes, that hips. MMMMH. I loved every scene where she walked in her mansion wearing that sexy mini skirt. Thank you Megan!

What else can I say?! Poison Ivy 3 is entertaining and steamy. One of those movies that you can't say that you love because it wouldn't be moral correctly. I don't care. I love the movie for it's hot women and sex scenes. Deserves a watch.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Parents Guide Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history