IMDb > My Stepson, My Lover (1997) (TV) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
My Stepson, My Lover (TV) More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 8 reviews in total 

10 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

There's Not even any good SEX scenes here!

1/10
Author: Bats_Breath from Phoenix, AZ
25 November 2001

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

***SPOILERS*** ***SPOILERS*** I remember watching this made for TV movie when it first came out in 1997. I believe it came on the USA cable network. Just by seeing the previews and hearing the title, it was easy to figure out there probably wouldn't be much of a good story to this movie. And I was right, the story just flat out sucks. Looks like this movie was penned by ex-Baywatch writers. To sum it up, a rich dude has a heart attack, pretty nurse(Rachel Ward) takes care of him, rich dude then dates and marries said pretty nurse. Nurse then has an affair with her stepson who is an incredibly good looking young stud. Young stud and the hot older nurse who is also his step mom then get entangled in a murder plot that involves young stud's father, aka her husband, blah, blah, and more blah blah. To show you what I mean by the awful writing, they have the stepson ride up on horseback to reinforce his "studliness". Oooooh look the writers are giving us symbolism!!! This kind of lazy and incompetent writing is just flat out insulting. So the plot is forgettable.

BUT, I was hoping this film would make up for lack of a good story with some steamy sex scenes with gorgeous Rachel Ward! Unfortunately, there are barely any sex scenes in this film. I realized we wouldn't get any nudity in this made for basic cable TV film, but I thought there could still be some passionate moments with Rachel and Joshua Morrow. Again, what they do show is very dissapointing and mostly takes place off screen with the characters. There's barely any sex or moments of passion in this film. It is interesting to note that Morrow who played Eric was only about 21 or 22 when this movie was made! That's 18 years younger then Ward herself!! Anyway, if you were hoping for some steamy sex scenes from a hot older woman and a good looking younger guy, like I was, then you will be VERY dissapointed. There's barely anything here to get excited about.

Oh and the plot? Well like I said, it's just a big BLAH.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

I wish I'd been the one to fall off a cliff after seeing this!

1/10
Author: chrissy8569 from United States
7 September 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Unfortunately, a 1 is the lowest rating you can give, and for this movie, a 1 is what I call generous.

**This will contain spoilers** I've seen enough Lifetime movies to know better than to expect quality movies. Sometimes, I'm pleasantly surprised, other times, they're mediocre, but never have I seen one so disgusting, nor have I ever been subjected to such horrible acting.

Let's start with this woman, Caitlin, who grows tired of her new husband being away on business. For the first half of the movie, she's tempted to have an affair with her stepson. Then, seemingly out of nowhere, she just suddenly decides to go over to his cabin and start an affair with him upon her husband leaving her yet again.

Move along to the night her husband discovers their affair. She follows him to her stepson's cabin and finds her husband's body. Does she scream? No. Does she cry out, "Oh my GOD!"? No. She merely looks like she just a terrible movie (pun intended) and runs away. However, when his death is confirmed by a doctor, she gets frantic and starts to cry. Now let's be serious, if you saw someone laying on the ground with their head surrounded by a pool of blood, would you think they're alive? And even if you did think they were, you'd still be hysterical, no? Making our way to the trial, instead of hoping her husband's murderer is convicted, she sits there with a smug look on her face every time the defense attorney makes valid points in her stepson's favor...but of course, she still claims to have "loved her husband." As the trial progresses, she's informed that unless the gun is found, her stepson will be found guilty. So she goes back to the cabin and whoops, she finds the gun there, although the police looked several times...so the policemen searching were either blind, incompetent...or both.

Upon finding the gun, she gets to testify on her stepson's behalf...how sweet. She gets up there, acts all nervous, complete with acted all flustered when asked to raise her right hand to be sworn in. Furthermore, she's questioned by the defense attorney while giving the most deplorable "woe is me" act I've ever seen.

Her stepson's jury deadlocks and he's released, and what a surprise, they go back to their sleazy affair. One night, back at the cabin, she suddenly gets this urge to feel around the top of a drawer and oh look, she finds the key to her husband's gun box! A key her stepson claimed he didn't have. So she calls her stepson's attorney. Not the police...not the prosecutor...but the attorney that got her stepson off. He tells her to leave immediately and come to see him, so where does she go? Back to the cabin, of course. Her stepson comes out of nowhere. They exchange words (which happens to be when the acting is at its worst) and he attacks her, but the klutz falls off the same balcony as his father. Again, she sees the body, and merely stares. No screaming, no panicking, nothing.

The movie ends with the implication that Caitlin marries her surviving stepson (as if it's likely that someone would survive such a fall) and his former lawyer comes to visit them and watches her feed him, as he's crippled. Now, you'd think that this would seem abnormal to an attorney who just received a phone call from the woman about how her stepson killed her husband, but instead, he just sits there having dessert with them.

The movie makes absolutely no sense whatsoever and never should have been made to begin with. And to be honest, one of the biggest contributing factors to it being to despicable was this woman's lame attempt at a southern accent.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Fairly good build up is spoiled by unimaginative ending.

Author: TxMike from Houston, Tx, USA, Earth
10 November 2002

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

"Made for TV" is a pretty good synopsis, and the title, "My Stepson, My Lover" doesn't leave a lot to the imagination. ** some SPOILERS ** We find out during the murder trial that mom had died of an overdose, son blamed father, "Rich", and hated him. Along comes new, younger and attractive, wife who son seduces while she is helping him build a cabin on the lake while very wealthy father is traveling on business. Son makes sure father knows about it, gets him in a rage, kills him in a push onto the rocks, plants gun, gains a dismissal at trial, when his stepmom finds out truth is upset, and in a cheesy ending a brief struggle has son fall onto rocks, survives as a paraplegic, last scene she is shown feeding him ice cream, as a nurse also feeds him using a syringe and a tube down his throat.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

What twisted mind could have thought this up ?

2/10
Author: Nicholas Rhodes from Ile-de-France / Paris Region, France
18 September 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I read the other comments first and identify with chrissy8569 in thinking that this was one of the lousiest in the genre ! To start with, I don't't like adultery, I am even more shocked when I see an older woman go with a young boy, but that was not the end of it, the plot was totally ludicrous and the acting entirely unconvincing, especially by the actress who played the part of Caitlin. The end of the film has no logic at all and the spectator remains confused as to the motives of each of the characters as well as vis-à-vis the reaction of the attorney. I don't like films with sad endings but can accept a sad ending if the film and acting were of very good quality. Here, the ending isn't even sad, to be quite frank, it would have been better if they all died off in an accident and the less said about it the better. Plot holes abound and the characters do not react in a logical way to the situations in which they find themselves. What could have been going thru the director's mind the day this film was thought up, I am at a total loss to imagine. Bin this film and pass onto something more cheery or more romantic !

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Rainy afternoon/end-of-the-week flick

6/10
Author: caa821 from Tulsa OK
7 September 2007

I'd give this one 6 *'s -- 3 or 4, per se, and a couple of additional ones for its fascination in its mediocrity, and because of Ward and O'Quinn in the cast.

Like others here, even given its being filmed for basic cable, and not meaning to be overly-prurient, there could have been some steamier scenes between the gorgeous Ward and the hunky stepson, Morrow --- both age appropriate (often not so in this type of film), 40-ish and early 20's, respectively, and both immensely attractive. The director also could have elicited a bit more chemistry between the two.

The ending is certainly silly, but then, most of the endings of these type TV flicks have silly endings, whether the crazy neighbor or babysitter wielding a kitchen knife, or some supposed "twist," revealing a surprise turn in terms of perpetrator/motive. The former can be anticipated from a "mile away;" the latter perhaps a "half mile," which was the case here.

Was the above review useful to you?

"Body Heat" in scrubs?

6/10
Author: evening1 from United States
28 May 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I had "Body Heat" deja vu at the end of this film when I saw Caitlin spoon-feeding ice cream to her stepson.

While it seemed like first the father, then the son, were control freaks, Caitlin is the one who's sitting pretty with all the money at the end.

Could she possibly have dreamed up this whole scheme when ultra-rich Rick was medivacked to her hospital with a life-threatening heart attack? The last scene leaves you wondering.

I knew this Lifetime Movie Channel flick would be better-than-average when I saw it starred Rachel Ward, who'd already done some better than average noir thrillers. I know Terry O'Quinn strictly from the Stepfather movies, which I loved, but I was a little stunned to see him regressing to type when he realizes his wife is sleeping with his son.

A couple of the plot twists are a little ridiculous. Did O'Quinn really expect Caitlin to wait till he came back while he went out to murder his son? And wasn't it a little bizarre to see Caitlin allowed to visit with her stepson unsupervised in a jail cell? I did like the romantic reunion of the pair -- when he devoured her spoonful of oatmeal (or whatever it was) and then her...

I'm not ashamed to admit I watched this film twice to try to prove my "Body Heat" theory...I'm not exactly convinced, but I was never bored.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Horrible!!!!

1/10
Author: nellysgirl from United States
17 September 2006

This is the worst movie I have ever seen. I generally don't mind lifetime movies, they are a good way to pass the time on a rainy Sunday afternoon but this movie was pure crap. I remember the leading lady from Thorn Birds and the leading guy from The Young and The Restless, it's a shame they ended up with this crappy catastrophical disastrous attempt of a movie. I was embarrassed for those who starred in it.The plot was hideous and non existent, their accents were disturbing to say the least and the ending was just the worst one in history. I think this movie should inspire IMDb to start a top 50 worst movie list. To summarize my roommate, those were two hours of our lives we will never get again. Lifetime needs to do better than that movie and it was disturbing how it kept on getting crappier and crappier!!!! My goodness!!!!! This movie deserves a '-1' in my book, I hope I never cross paths with it again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 32 people found the following review useful:

Have they ever heard of a dialogue coach?

Author: dreba from Virginia, US
14 September 2002

Being from the South and having lived here all my life, it just kills me when people try to adopt a Southern accent for movies and FAIL MISERABLY!!! Rachel Ward sounds like she has a speech impediment. If you're gonna do it, do it right and nobody does in this flick. It's distracting from the sucky plot.

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Ratings Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history