IMDb > Murder at 1600 (1997) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Murder at 1600
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Murder at 1600 More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 3 of 6: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [Next]
Index 54 reviews in total 

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Very Good Film, That Has A Great Cast, And A Good Story, With A Cool Twist At The End!, Wesley Snipes And Diane Lane Were Awesome Together!

7/10
Author: callanvass
21 October 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This is a very good film, that has a great cast, and a good story, with a cool twist ending, Wesley Snipes and Diane Lane were awesome together!. All the characters are great, and it has some good action scenes as well, plus Wesley Snipes and Diane Lane are simply amazing in this!. Alan Alda is fantastic in his role, and i thought the finale was excellent!, plus Snipes and Lane had fantastic chemistry together in my opinion!. For the most part it's unpredictable, and while a lot of people may have figured out the murder at the end, i sure didn't!, plus i thought Snipe's acting was fantastic!. The opening is quite disturbing,but funny at the same time and Daniel Benzali gives a memorable performance as Spikings!, plus it's suspenseful at times as well!. Ronny Cox is great as the president, and while the film may not be all that original, it's still pretty entertaining to watch!, plus The ending was very amusing!. This is a very good film, that has a great cast, and a good story, with a cool twist at the end, Wesley Snipes and Diane Lane were awesome together, highly recommended!. The Direction is very good. Dwight H. Little does a very good job here, with good camera work, great angles, and keeping the film at a fast pace!. The Acting is fantastic!. Wesley Snipes is amazing as always, and is amazing here, while his character was a tough guy, i found him to be likable, and often funny, he also had fantastic chemistry with Diane Lane, was fantastic in the acting department, as always, had a lot of charisma, he was amazing!. (Snipes Rules!!!!). Diane Lane is also amazing as always, and is incredibly gorgeous, she had fantastic chemistry with Snipes, was quite intense, and made what a little part she had, into an interesting one! (Lane Rules!!!!). Alan Alda is wonderful in his role here, he added a lot of class, had quite a presence, i just wished he had more screen time! (Alda Rules!!). Daniel Benzali is creepy as Spikings, and had an unpredictable character, i liked him. Dennis Miller does okay here surprisingly and wasn't that annoying!, go figure. Ronny Cox is awesome as the President, and also wished he had more screen time.Harris Yulin is okay here and nothing more Rest of the cast do fine. Overall highly recommended!. ***1/2 out of 5

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Good Points

Author: Rick Blaine from London
26 May 2002

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

There are good points in this movie, but to discuss them would be to introduce spoilers. The most difficult thing with this movie is getting to the stellar cast and the somewhat flimsy story line past the colourless Wesley Snipes in the leading role - one has to either suspend normal expectations of how leading actors should carry a story line, or get a lobotomy first, or both. Word has it Bruce Willis was targeted for the Snipes role and turned it down, although word does not reveal why. Willis and Lane might have been good; Willis would certainly have had more than enough personality and acting skills to carry the story, good or bad; with Snipes there instead you might as well watch a rerun of Walker Texas Ranger.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Good Action/Thriller

6/10
Author: mjw2305 from England
13 October 2007

Harlan Regis (Wesley Snipes) is a homicide cop, Nina Chance (Diane Lane) is a secret service agent; when a murdered victim is found in the white house they are left trying to piece together the real truth behind the murder, finding plenty of smoke and mirrors that are trying to disguise the truth.

Murder at 1600 is a good solid thriller, with an interesting premise and a strong cast, and even though its an enjoyable ride; it somehow seems to captivate less than it really should. Its still a good way to spend a few hours, but you'll find less here than initially meets the eye.

6/10

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

No hackneyed thriller elements

8/10
Author: Mort-31 from Vienna, Austria
3 August 2001

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

CONTAINS SPOILERS

Now, that's what I call a good, well-made, solid crime film. The plot is highly far-fetched, but in fact, I didn't find any bad holes, except maybe that it's quite unbelievable that in reality one single idealist could seriously endanger the President's regency. Apart from that, a good thriller idea is turned into film without special directorial ideas by Dwight Little, leaving away hackneyed Hollywood thriller elements: e. g. there is no attempt at a love affair between Regis and Nina Chance, not too much emphasis on Regis' private life (was he ever maried? we're not interested!) and no emphasis at all on the fact that he is black. The screenwriters could have stressed the film by using all these elements but they decided not to do it, which is a big, big plus for this Hollywood blockbuster.

Of course, for me the numberous surprising twists were interesting. At at least two points of the movie you thought: okay, now the movie will take this or this course but you were always surprised. That's how a good crime story works. Also we don't miss the `Wag the Dog'-effect: `Murder at 1600' is also a story about covering-up methods of the White House.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

What became of the American P.O.W.'s?

Author: RONY-3 from Philippines
10 August 2000

Though the "murder" was solved. The fate of the American soldiers, who were being held and tortured in Korea, was not really resolved, as far as I saw. I know that they were not the center of the story but still their presence was greatly felt. They should have resolved their fate along with the murder.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Original Movie, good.

7/10
Author: Christopher Borg from Malta, Europe
13 July 1999

A good movie.

Ok, the story is old - a cop which has to solve a case.

The only originality in the movie - if so can be defined - is that the Murder was commited at the White House. Detective Harlan Regis(Wesley Snipes) will solve the case with the help of Nina Chance (Diane Lane).

The cast : I like Wesley Snipes - he's terrific when he plays a cop. Diane Lane ... well, I think that the movie would have had much more success if Wesley had someone like Jennifer Lopez with him.

Vote : 65/100.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Not Bad for a Friday Night at Home

5/10
Author: Ralph Michael Stein (riglltesobxs@mailinator.com) from New York, N.Y.
16 May 2003

With improbability firmly anchored to impossibility, Honest Dedicated Cop meets Wacko National Security Flacks in "Murder at 1600". The viewer's time passes agreeably. No stress, no strain.

A young woman is found brutally slain in the White House. What else is new? There's no depth to this film, just some fast action and quick takes of D.C. scenery.

Wesley Snipes is a detective with steely resolve and an attitude. Diane Lane is a Secret Service agent, an Olympics gold medalist (not irrelevant to the plot). She's beautiful, very beautiful. They make a great team.

And Alan Alda - he's out of his usual acting persona here. See the film to find out how.

You have to totally suspend disbelief here and accept that not everyone in government is the best and the brightest. But Diane Lane is beautiful, very beautiful.

5/10 (a high rating for this kind of well-crafted but not exactly gripping drama). But Diane Lane is beautiful, very beautiful.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Bog standard, workman-like thriller

Author: bob the moo from United Kingdom
21 January 2002

At a time when America's foreign policy has put them in a situation where American servicemen are being held in China and conflict is possible, things are complicated by the discovery of a young woman's body in a room in the White House (the 1600 of the title). DC Detective Regis is brought in to investigate the crime but finds himself hampered by the secret service covering up and classifying key evidence sources. Regis, with the help of Agent Nina Chance finds himself drawn up into a deeper conspiracy.

This is quite a workman-like thriller. It's not very good but it's not very bad either. The plot starts well but gets a little ponderous at times and perhaps requires more than a little suspension of disbelief at times (a point where Snipes breaks into the White House through underground tunnels and walks round dressed as a cleaner is perhaps a step too far!). However the overall concept is ok and it is easy to believe that the Secret Service would take any steps necessary to cover anything that could embarrass the Presidency. However it's also a big leap to take for granted that Snipes and co. could get quite as far as they do.

Snipes is OK in the lead, however he doesn't quite get above the role of "tough cop" that we see in tonnes of cop movies. Attempts to give him a deeper character by having him build historical models in his spare time didn't really cut it for me. Similarly Lane is pretty much a non-entity in the film - I just didn't have any strong memories for her or her character at the end, I don't know if this was her fault or the fault of the script. The instantly recognisable Benzali is good and manages to bring a little menace to the role but doesn't have a great deal to work with. The role of National Security Advisor is well played by Alan Alda - he does a good job, but I did have a problem at the start of the film because I don't think of him in this type of film (Manhattan Murder Mystery - Yes, any other genres - not really), however once I got past this I was fine. Ronny Cox (he of so many screen bad guys) is given a small thankless role as the President. He doesn't have much to do and again it just never feels like he's comfortable with the role - contrast with his characters in things like Robocop and Total Recall to see the difference in his performances.

Overall this is a standard thriller that isn't very memorable but will pass the time easily enough. Once watched I doubt that you'll rush to see it again.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Really Underrated. One of Wesley Snipes' better performances

8/10
Author: lukemac22793 from Gateshead, England
21 March 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

For me this was a really enjoyable film, most action thrillers are. After watching Wesley Snipes in Art of War and in Game of Death, I felt that he was really wasted in those roles. He was fantastic as Blade and he was great in Passenger 57 and he is tip top in this too, one of Wesley Snipes' better performances. This is one of those underrated films that people seem to right off and somehow its really hard to find on DVD. But if you see it, pick it up.

Murder at 1600 follows the investigation of a young women, who is found dead in The White House and its up to a tough D.C. Homicide Cop (Snipes) and a secret service agent (Diane Lane) to find out who did it and why. This leads him on to a host of suspects with all sorts of twists and turns and a lot of cover ups that have you guessing until the very end.

I have given this an eight as I feel that the duration could have been a bit longer. This is one of those hidden gems us film fans seem to find now and again.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Good Thriller....Wesley Snipes' best Movie. **** out of *****

8/10
Author: Welshfilmfan from Cardiff, Wales
7 January 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

As this begins...especially seeing as it's a Wesley Snipes movie, you expect a by-the-numbers Straight to DVD type film....but actually 'MURDER AT 1600' Is a very good Thriller overlooked on it's release in 1997.

A young woman is found murdered in the Bathroom at 1600 Pennsylvannia Ave, otherwise known as 'The Whitehouse'.

A woman murdered at the Whitehouse, not too dissimilar to the same year's Clint Eastwood Movie Absolute Power, though both Movies tanked at the Box Office....Anyway, Wesley Snipes plays DET. Harlan Regis who is the Homicide detective leading the investigation on the scene, he soon realises that the man the Secret Service have in custody is quite possibly innocent and there could be a Conspiracy leading right up to the Commander in Chief, Regis digs deeper along with help from Secret service agent Nina Chance (Diane lane) and they soon find that both of their lives are in danger as they are getting closer to the truth.

As I said in my Summary, This has to be Snipes' best movie,before he went the way of Steven Seagal & Jean Claude Van Damme in Trashy straight to DVD Actioners that are on blockbusters bottom shelf, admittedly it flopped on it's release taking only $41m Worldwide, but I think It's very well written Conspiracy flick with a superb supporting cast that includes Ronny Cox,Dennis Miller,Alan Alda & Daniel Benzali.

**** out of *****

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 3 of 6: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Newsgroup reviews
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history