IMDb > Liar Liar (1997) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Liar Liar
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Liar Liar More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 24:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 235 reviews in total 

51 out of 60 people found the following review useful:

Pants on fire

7/10
Author: Dennis Littrell from United States
20 October 2002

Jim Carrey puts so much energy and pure comedic brilliance into this movie that we hardly noticed how corny and hackneyed was the plot or how wearily didactic was the moral lesson for all fathers who neglect their children for the goddess of success. And really we didn't care. What we loved almost as much as Carrey's rubber mouth and oral blockage (like an overheated boiler fighting not to explode) was the premise: a lawyer that can't lie. Now there's an oxymoron! As Carrey tries to explain to his son Max, lawyers need to lie. Actually he says grownups need to lie, which is a truth that we really do not need to exam too closely here. To laugh at something deeply troubling in our nature is a way of dealing with it.

So the genius of this movie is first the talent of Jim Carrey, but second, for kids who come to the realization of adult mendacity for the first time, it is the discovery of comedy as a way to cope. Why do adults need to lie? is a question that a kid can never figure out, and then by the time he is an adult himself (or actually a teenager), he can no longer comprehend how important the question once was. Call it innocence lost, or the socialization process.

My favorite part of the movie is the courtroom scene with Jennifer Tilly dressed oh so sluttily and her adulterous beaux looking like a model for the cover of a romance novel and Carrey in tatters in his $900 suit. Second would be the bathroom scene in which Carrey tries to tear himself apart (and seems to almost succeed). His flapping mouth between the toilet seat and the bowl was inspired. Give some credit to director Tom Shadyac, who managed to steer the vehicle with Carrey at the controls, and to writers, Paul Guay and Stephen Mazur, who wrote some funny lines.

The great comedians totally let themselves go. They are totally on. They go to extremes and beyond. It's like transcending not just the ordinary, but even the imagined. See this obviously for Jim Carrey, one of the great comedic talents of our time, an original who would have delighted Charlie Chaplin with his extraordinary muggings, his blatant audacity and his suburb timing.

(Note: Over 500 of my movie reviews are now available in my book "Cut to the Chaise Lounge or I Can't Believe I Swallowed the Remote!" Get it at Amazon!)

Was the above review useful to you?

33 out of 40 people found the following review useful:

I love this movie!!

10/10
Author: alanismorrisette7 from Netherlands
27 February 2007

I loved this movie, it's so funny :D one of the best comedy movies ever!!! It has (like many movies) a message, that it's best to tell the truth, but above all it was very funny. My favorite scene was:

About Mr. Allen

Miranda: Well, what do you think of him? Fletcher: He's a pedantic, pontificating, pretentious bastard, a belligerent old fart, a worthless steaming pile of cow dung, figuratively speaking. a moment passes and Mr. Allen starts laughing. The other board members follow his lead and start laughing also] Mr. Allen: That's the funniest damn thing I have ever heard. You're a real card, Reede. I love a good roast. Do Simmons. Fletcher: Simmons is old. He should have been out of the game years ago but he can't stay home because he hates his wife. You have met her at the Christmas parties, she's the one that gets plastered and calls him a retard, and you, Tom; you're the biggest brown nose I have ever seen. You have got your head so far up Mr. Allen's ass, I can't tell where you end and he begins. Mr. Allen: *roaring with laughter* Priceless! *Fletcher continues with every member* Fletcher: You have bad breath caused by gingivitis. You couldn't get a porn star off. Your hairpiece looks like something that was killed crossing the highway. I don't know whether to comb it or scrape it off with a shovel and bury it in lime. Loser! Idiot! Wimp! Degenerate! *Slut*! Mr. Allen: I like your style, Reede! That's just what this stuffy company needs - a little irreverence! Fletcher: Good! I'll see you later, dick-head!

Great movie!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

27 out of 30 people found the following review useful:

One of Jim Carrey's funniest movies

7/10
Author: Atreyu_II from The world of artists
21 August 2007

This movie is absolutely hilarious! There are few movies as humorous as this one, being "Mousehunt" one of those few - another 1997 motion picture.

Every minute of "Liar Liar" is pure fun and every minute means a good laughter. Many moments are hysterical! Jim Carrey is often a great comedian, but this is him at his funniest side.

The story is very funny and entertaining: Fletcher Reede, a lawyer with the habit of lying and breaking promises, suddenly sees himself forced to become honest during the next 24 hours after his son's birthday wish comes true. He doesn't understand what's happening to him and that is driving him insane... he can't tell any lies, not even write a little lie! Whenever he tries to and whenever he talks, it's a huge mess for sure! He even transforms the court room into a circus, seems to lose his mind and makes goofy faces! Incredibly hilarious!

The actors have great performances. Jim Carrey is great as Fletcher Reede, but there are other equally good actors, like Maura Tierney as Audrey Reede, Cary Elwes as Jerry and little Justin Cooper as Max (Fletcher's son). Max is also referred to as "Maximillian" and "Monster Max" by his father, who loves to do "The Claw" much for his son's delight. I know Cary Elwes from "Robin Hood: Men in Tights" and I do know that he is an English actor, but he speaks with a good American accent in this film. Some might think that Jim Carrey overacts here and that his humor is too crummy, but the energy he shows here is not something anybody could do. It requires a very energetic and patient comedian and Jim Carrey proves his talent to do so. The kid is cute. He almost looks like Sean Marshall in "Pete's Dragon", with that face and long hair.

At my point of view, "Liar Liar" has funny humor, not irritating or dirty humor. It is a modern light-hearted comedy. Its aim is purely fun at the highest level. I think it's difficult not laughing while watching this movie. Lots of very funny lines are another attribute.

Directed by Tom Shadyac, "Liar Liar" is the best thing Jim Carrey and Tom Shadyac ever did together and slightly superior than the later "Bruce Almighty".

Was the above review useful to you?

33 out of 43 people found the following review useful:

Jim Carrey is back in yet another great comedy, although it doesn't quite live up to the spectacular Dumb & Dumber.

8/10
Author: Michael DeZubiria (wppispam2013@gmail.com) from Luoyang, China
3 September 2000

Liar Liar is about a boy who, after being stood up by his big-shot lawyer father one too many times, wishes that for just one day his dad couldn't lie. This wreaks havoc on his personal life and even more on his professional life as a lawyer who makes a living putting criminals back on the streets.

Carrey is immediately and constantly hilarious in his role as the unwillfully honest Fletcher Reede. Every scene is full of awkwardly straightforward behavior and dialogue ("Whatever takes the focus off your head!) that is funny because it is so unusual and unexpected. Maura Tierney delivers one of the best performances of her career (second only to her wonderful job in Primal Fear), but Cary Elwes plays a disappointing turn from his amazing job in The Princess Bride. Seeing him as the endlessly charming Wesley in that film and then seeing him as a squirrely step-father type in Liar Liar just didn't seem to fit, but the film was able to overcome such small problems and present itself as a good and entertaining comedy.

In addition to the good comedy that Liar Liar presented, there were strange comedic scenes that Carrey had never done before. For example, I have never seen him portray a descent into madness as was shown with the blue pen, and it should be noted how well this funny man played the part of a man trying very hard not to be funny, with hilarious results. This is a bit like his role in Man on the Moon where he was a comedian playing a comedian who was often deliberately not funny, and the results there were hilarious as well. Jim Carrey's great comedy acting skills were a crucial element of this film, but they are not the only redeeming value of the movie itself. The story is solid and legitimate as well, and it is well-presented and directed, resulting in a good, fun comedy.

Was the above review useful to you?

28 out of 36 people found the following review useful:

Jim Carrey's best film!

10/10
Author: Kristine (kristinedrama14@msn.com) from Chicago, Illinois
15 November 2003

Liar Liar is in my top 3 favorite comedies of all time and my favorite Jim Carrey flick! He was just so awesome and hilarious in Liar Liar! Not only did he do mental comedy, but physical comedy that will make your stomach hurt from laughing so much! I'm not kidding when I say that I know a dozen people where we just rehearse the lines from Liar Liar back and forth, because all the scenes are just so memorable.

Fletcher Reed is a lawyer who, surprise, lies to win cases. He's a huge success and is about to be made partner by his firm if he wins one last case for Mrs. Cole, a divorcée who cheated on her husband with tons of proof against her, Fletcher has to prove that she was a victim of circumstance. Fletcher has a son and an ex wife as well, he lies to them all the time as well and makes excuses why he can't spend enough time with his son, Max. When he lies and cancels going to Max's birthday party to sleep with his boss to get ahead, Max is terribly disappointed and hurt, so he makes one birthday wish, that his father cannot lie... guess what? It works!

Fletcher wakes up and tells his boss she was not the best he had, leading to an encounter with a hottie in the elevator and making offensive comments about her "jugs". He passes a homeless man and tells him why he doesn't give change to "the decay of western society!" and goes to court not very ready to fight his case that could make or break his career since he can't lie. More comedy ensues as Fletcher deals with the pressure on how to learn to tell the truth to win the case and prevent his son and ex wife from moving to Boston with her new boyfriend.

Liar Liar will make your sides hurt and you'll watch this movie again and again when you see how hilarious Jim Carrey is. My sister isn't a Jim Carrey fan and even admitted that she had more than a few good laughs watching this film. Not to mention that it has a great feel good ending that you'll just fall for.

10/10

Was the above review useful to you?

25 out of 33 people found the following review useful:

Cute message movie with Jim Carrey

Author: Stanley Strangelove from Portland, Oregon US
12 September 2005

Liar Liar is one solution to the problem of what kind of movie vehicle to write for overacting, rubber man Jim Carrey. Following the success of Ace Ventura, director Tom Shaydac casts Carrey as a divorced lawyer who has no time for his young son. In the film, the word liar is a pun on lawyer, equating the two words since his character is a lying lawyer. Every time he promises to attend one of his son's school events or play with him, Carrey finds some excuse to get out of it. His son makes a birthday wish that just for one day his dad would tell the truth and it happens. Carrey is incapable of lying and when he tries to lie, his face and body go into every contortion imaginable as he tries to suppress the truth. There is a literally "off the wall" scene where he beats himself up in a bathroom. Carrey is a likable guy and carries the movie. Of course, you can't believe for a second that he's a lawyer but belief is not needed in this film. This is a movie with a message that fathers shouldn't ignore their children. For a film aimed at kids, there is a surprising amount of boob and sexual humor. Maura Tierney is very cute as his ex-wife. Amanda Donohoe plays Carrey's seductress law partner and Jennifer Tilly is a buxom, bimbo client. Director Tom Shadyac later worked with Carrey in Bruce Almighty. Liar Liar is for Jim Carrey fans and fathers who ignore their kids.

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

Carrey at his best

7/10
Author: Grann-Bach (Grann-Bach@jubii.dk) from Denmark
30 July 2004

I have to admit, I'm probably a little biased with this movie, as it contains two of the things I love the most in any movie; court scenes and Jim Carrey. I'll try my best to be objective in this review, though. The plot is good, and as the film barely takes 90 minutes it's fairly fast-paced(well, for a Jim Carrey comedy, anyway); I don't think there ever passes 5 minutes without one single joke. The acting is fairly good; Jim Carrey is in his element, so it's no surprise that he's good, but I did find both Maura Tierney and Cary Elwes pretty good too. I know that Elwes is English, not American, and after seeing another movie in which he has a strong English accent(Robin Hood: Men in Tights), I was impressed at how well he does American parts as well. The characters are well-written and credible. The humor is great, partly because it's, well, Carrey, but also because unlike some of Carrey's previous roles, this is fairly "clean", so teenagers and some kids will be able to enjoy it as well. The theme of the film is great; I mean, we all know that we lie several times a day(heck, it's even been scientifically proved), but what about if we, for one whole day, couldn't tell one single lie? Great theme, provokes some thought and is executed fairly well in the film, though I do think it could have been done a tad better. Overall, I don't have any major complaints with the film though; I guess it could be argued that most of what Carrey does in this film, the comedy and all, is stuff he's done before, but that's OK; it's not any less entertaining here, regardless of the fact that we've seen it(or something similar to it) earlier. The dialog is great, with some very memorable and quotable lines. All in all, a typical Carrey film, which can be a good thing as well as bad; Carrey does exactly what you expect him to, and he's very entertaining and all, but it never transcends the standard level of the typical Carrey comedy. On a final note, I think this(as well as his other work) proves that Tom Shadyac is the best there is at bringing out Carrey's talents(he also directed Ace Ventura: Pet Detective and Bruce Almighty). I recommend it to any fan of Jim Carrey and/or Tom Shadyac. 7/10

Was the above review useful to you?

24 out of 32 people found the following review useful:

"I CAN'T LIE!!!"

Author: Petri Pelkonen (petri_pelkonen@hotmail.com) from Finland
9 November 2000

Jim Carrey plays a liar lawyer called Fletcher Reede.His son Max (Justin Cooper) makes a birthday wish that his father can't tell a lie in 24 hours.And the wish comes true. That gets Fletcher in many embarrassing situations.It's hard to tell the truth all the time especially for a lawyer.That's not the only problem Fletcher is having.His ex-wife Audrey (Maura Tierney) is moving to Boston with his boyfriend Jerry (Cary Elwes).That must be stopped.Jim Carrey does incredible role work in this Tom Shadyac's 1997 comedy Liar Liar.Jim is amazing comedian.He can pull his face just like Jerry Lewis.This is completely a Jim Carrey show.There are many hilarious scenes in the courtroom.Liar Liar is for all you liars out there.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Honestly, this isn't that bad - 79%

7/10
Author: Benjamin Cox from Hampshire, England
10 July 2004

Do you know what the first movie I ever bought on video with my money was, when I was about 13? It was "The Mask", that most animated of superheroes played to perfection by Jim Carrey. Indeed, it is nigh-on impossible to imagine anyone else playing the part. Carrey's combination of manic behaviour and superior face-pulling was seen as a highly successful money-spinner in the Nineties, culminating in "Liar Liar". At least, until "Me, Myself And Irene".

"Liar Liar" has such a simple premise that it is difficult to believe it hasn't been done before. Carrey plays Fletcher, your typical sleazeball lawyer who spins so many lies that he constantly lets down his son and his mother (ER's Maura Tierney). When his son wishes his father couldn't tell a lie for a single day as he blows out his birthday cake candles, Fletcher is forced to tell nothing but the truth during an important case. Essentially, the movie is a tailor-made vehicle for Carrey as he thrashes about the movie like a fish out of water and gurns as though his life depended on it.

How much enjoyment you'll get from this comedy depends on how much you like Carrey in maniac-mode. He is the picture, dominating every scene he's in. It can get a bit too much at times and you do sometimes wish he'd just shut up for a minute or stops throwing his body about like a puppet without strings. But when he's not there, the movie sags badly and when he returns, he lights the screen up again until you get bored of the routine. When he's on form, Carrey is a master of slapstick and "Liar Liar" provides plenty of opportunity for comic set-pieces. The premise is explored to the full with every opportunity for a gag taken. Not all of them hit the mark but a good ratio do tickle the funny bone.

The other problem, besides Carrey chomping through the screen, is the sugary feel to the thing. If some of the humour were toned down (such as Carrey passing judgment on sleeping with Amanda Donohoe - something I'd like to do, quite frankly) then you'd get the impression that this would be a kiddie's film. To be honest, the only other actor who appears to be trying is Justin Cooper (Max, Carrey's son) and he has a horrible haircut in this, poor blighter. But like I said, this is Carrey's film as most of his back catalogue are. Even when he's in serious actor-mode like "The Truman Show" or "Man On The Moon", the movie seems to revolve around him. Like or loathe him, I can think of few other actors that can hold an audience's attention better than Carrey.

"Liar Liar" is a perfectly good comedy with feel-good moments in the right places and a rubber-faced star in the centre of all the action. Yes, it does feel glossy and engineered to do all the right things at the right time. It does very little to take comedy forward, besides tell an entertaining and original story. And yes, Carrey is screaming in your face as much as possible. But don't let that put you off - I still enjoyed "Liar Liar" at the second time of watching so it must do something right. Except The Claw, which is just wrong...

Was the above review useful to you?

19 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

Gotta love the concept

7/10
Author: mjw2305 from England
20 January 2007

Jim Carrey is an attorney, who finds putting his family before his work to be a tough challenge, when he fails to show up at his son's birthday party; his son make a wish that prevents him from lying. With a huge career changing case that is based solely on lies about to go to trial, he is stuck in an unfamiliar position, that may just change his life.

Jim Carrey is on top form for this one, giving one of his most hilarious performances to date, he is well supported by the likes of Jennifer Tilly, Swoosie Kurtz and Amanda Donohue, and the winning concept of the movies theme realises its potential.

7/10 Great fun

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 24:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards Newsgroup reviews External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history