IMDb > Kiss the Girls (1997) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Kiss the Girls
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Kiss the Girls More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 8 of 15: [Prev][3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]
Index 145 reviews in total 

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

More Alex Cross, please...

Author: Lars-Toralf Storstrand from Haugesund, Norway
7 January 2005

Yet another great Alex Cross movie.

What more is there to say? I'd wish we didn't have to write ten lines of text about our opinions about movies. Five lines would suffice most of the time.

So far I have enjoyed all of the movies with Alex Cross.

The stories are good, the plot is tight, the acting is precise and sharp. And when the movie is over you don't feel like a worn out rag when leaving the theatre behind.

This is not purely escapism. This is food for thought. This is not time-consuming garble, this is intelligent mystery at the peak of success.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Solid acting, sub-par storyline.

Author: Poseidon-3 from Cincinnati, OH
20 September 2004

The easy-going assurance of Freeman and the moderate appeal of Judd are just about the only thing that saves this serial killer thriller from slipping into a complete mess. Freeman plays a detective who is also a psychologist.

His skill at talking down a suicidal killer is displayed at the onset of the film. He finds out that his niece (Ravera) has been declared missing, so he flies into North Carolina to aid in the search where he discovers that she is only the latest in a series of missing college coeds. Meanwhile, three of the girls have been found dead, mutilated, and tied to trees. Then pretty intern Judd is snatched and taken to an underground series of cavernous rooms. When Judd does the impossible and escapes from the creepy kidnapper, she teams with Freeman to locate the guy and recover Ravera and the remaining girls before he kills them. The duo enlists the aid of various police officers and friends to sniff out the maniac (who introduces himself to his victims as Casanova) and prevent him from continuing his sick routine. There is a lot of visual style to this film and it does create and atmosphere of dread and discomfort as intended. However, what may have worked in book form does not translate very sensibly to film. Freeman (an actor who effortlessly exudes cool and intellect in nearly any role) comes off as SuperDetective, a man who can put together things in an instant that a whole team of cops can't. Any hunch he has is right and he is the only one who can even begin to figure out the killer. Judd is attractive and lively in the film (and at one point wears some startlingly realistic eye prosthetics to demonstrate her difficulty in escaping through the dense woods) but her headstrong character can also be seen as foolish at times. The biggest problem with the film, though, is the contrivance of the storyline and the credibility-straining aspects of the identity of the killer. Although the film is creepy and interesting, and at times unsettling, it makes very little sense when it's all over. (No one had any idea about the underground rooms except a college kid? Judd escapes right near a waterfall. Couldn't that be used as a guidepost in the search? These and many other questions abound.) The audience is never given any sort of explanation for the killer's behavior and the identity of the killer is both predictable and laughable at the same time. The climax of the film is especially weak. It is highly unlikely that Judd, living in a two-story house, only has one phone extension (and check out the number of carrots she's chopping for dinner for two! Is she improving her night vision or what??) By the time the pat, clichéd ending arrives, the story has lost most of its already tenuous logic. Still, on a strictly gut-level, there are moments of excitement and suspense, aided immensely by the professionalism of the lead actors.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Truly scary in parts

7/10
Author: Michael Bo (michael.bo@pol.dk) from Copenhagen, Denmark
13 August 2002

I expected 'Kiss the Girls' to be a sort of diluted version of 'Copycat', but actually it manages well in its own right. It is truly scary in parts, and it has atmosphere throughout, helped along by the marshes and woods in which it is set. All in all, a reasonably meaningful entertainment, well played out.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Woefully inadequate and inept

Author: phiggins from London, England
18 June 2001

Casting Morgan Freeman in a serial-killer movie - now there's a good idea. Worked in the superlative "Se7en", didn't it? Yes, indeed. So it'll work here, too, right? Uh, wrong. Not that Freeman isn't his usual excellent self. In fact, he brings a sense of gravitas and style to a film that really doesn't deserve it. Clues as to how bad this movie is can be found in the cast list. Yes, that's right, it "stars" Ashley Judd. As a kick-boxing doctor, no less. Has there ever been a decent film with Ms. Judd in it? No. There hasn't. Her ineptitude and general lack of style, grace, wit, intelligence and ability cripple this film completely. Not that she's helped exactly by a script that contains such great lines as, "This girl's a fighter". Yeah, right. And how patronising this movie is! You can only be a strong, spirited woman if you're a kick boxer (being a doctor is not enough) or an expert violinist. Feeble red herrings abound - is it going to be Brian Cox who's the villan? Or maybe that guy in the bookstore? Or one of the many cops? Well, yes, actually. Like I said, the only decent thing about this movie is Morgan Freeman. But not even he can rise above the hackneyed direction (endless slow-motion, waving the camera about in the woods, yawn...) and awful script. And, perhaps worst of all, for a movie which purports to be in praise of strong, spirited women, it spends an awful lot of time showing them being beaten up, terrorised, abused, etc. etc. presumably for our "entertainment". No, this is a mean, feeble, inept film. Avoid.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Flawed but okay to watch

Author: Darth Sidious (darth_sidious@talk21.com) from Europe
22 May 2000

Fun to watch, but the film is flawed. Ashley Judd hasn't been directed well, she doesn't show the scars of a tortured woman. We don't feel sorry for her, big mistake!

The other flaw is that the film doesn't show how far these people go. From North Carolina to LA is a long way, but I didn't sense that.

And the biggest flaw is the 2nd act, how they didn't find the killer's place is beyond me.

Oh, one more flaw, we know nothing about the killer, not enough to understand why he does what he does. There are other character flaws and directing problems. I wonder if some these directors even care.

The widescreen frame is used well, using the panavision width well. Still, it could be used better.

Overall, Seven is still the best film in this genre in the last few years. This is worth watching once. Seven is a masterpiece.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Bad and disappointing

6/10
Author: filmfan_01 from Santiago, Chile
1 May 2000

After watching Se7en and Silence of the Lambs I was interested in what this flick could bring new to the subject. Unfortunately, nothing at all. After wasting my time watching Ashley Judd in "Double Jeopardy" I honestly hoped for her performance to be better in this one. Alas, only one thought came into my head after watching her in this one: I can't believe such a bad actress it's getting so much work nowadays. She is so detached from everything. She can't bring a single believable emotion to her face. Plus she's so bloody cold. Just like in "Double Jeopardy" she's always wrong when it comes to bring the right emotion. Apparently, she's thinking about who will pay her house bills instead of how her character feels at the moment. Ok, but enough Ashley bashing. Into the movie. Well, there isn't much interesting things you can say about this turkey. Morgan Freeman is fine, but below his average. The rest of the cast just do their job. I think the biggest problem it's in the screenplay. It takes the wrong direction in what could have been a better story. I wasn't interested in *who* was the Casanova, but what were his motives. We never get an answer. All the movie cares about is toying with us, asking us who is the killer. Is it her boyfriend? The Doctor? The policeman? Who cares? I want to know his psyche! I was really hoping for something more deep in here, but all I found was a boring guess-and-win gameshow. But I'm intrigued: what's with the sport scenes fetishism? Avoid this turkey like the plague! 6 out of 10. And that's being generous.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Dark, suspenseful, fantastic

9/10
Author: Xophianic from Pennsylvania, USA
4 February 2000

I didn't really know much about this movie when I saw that it was coming on HBO. I just decided "what the hell" and watched it. Besides, Morgan Freeman is one of my favorite actors. After a few minutes of KISS THE GIRLS, I was instantly glued to the television. It was pretty dark and very suspenseful, but I truly liked it.

Dr. Alex Cross (Morgan Freeman), a psychologist/detective from Washington DC is sent to investigate a man known as "Casanova", who is kidnapping, imprisoning and occasionally torturing and killing beautiful women. His niece is among one of the kidnapped. Along with the help of Kate Mctiernan, (Ashley Judd) who escaped from the maniac, and Detective Nick Ruskin (Cary Elwes), Cross sets out to find and stop the murderer.

The plot is fascinating and will most likely keep you on the edge of your seat and holding onto the arm of your chair. The acting jobs are very good too. Some parts are very dark and a little disturbing, but it often only helps the story line. Morgan Freeman, as usual, does a great job as the main character. Ashley Judd and Cary Elwes also did impressive performances.

The ending of this movie is pretty good and rather surprising. Go out and rent this whenever you're in the mood for a little suspense, you won't be disappointed.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Love it!

Author: Rose-35 from Pennsylvania
4 October 1999

This is a great film with great acting! Morgan Freeman and Ashley Judd are great in this movie! It keeps you on the edge of your seat. I especially like Cary Elwes in this film. I love movies that make you think one thing for the entire film and then you have to throw that out the window and think it all through again. I love it! I could watch this one again and again!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

A sloppy kiss.

3/10
Author: carbuff
12 August 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Purely an utterly mediocre TV-quality movie that Morgan Freeman no doubt chose to star in mostly to pad his bank account. (I truly hope that he doesn't actually have this bad a taste in scripts, except when he's hungry for Benjamins.)

I can't honestly say that it was completely terrible, but it definitely wasn't worth the time lost, and it wasn't all that original either--just a jumble of stuff that mostly seems to have been used before with, admittedly, a few new elements.

There are plot holes left and right, and the cops and FBI all seem to be pretty incompetent (God, I hope I don't ever have to depend on this quality of law enforcement). The mild torture porn scenes were so intentionally aimed at titillation that they were basically just annoying. No performances, including Freeman's, were particularly captivating, although none embarrassingly bad either. Uninspired would be the best way to describe this whole experience.

I have to admit that I didn't know who was the killer until it was revealed, but when it was, it was totally unconvincing. A day later, it's even more unconvincing. The reason you can't guess the identity of the evil mastermind is that it doesn't really work well with the story at all--the motive and personality never seemed like it was ever there. That particular character was never developed much at all in the movie.

It looks like the story writers (Patterson doesn't write most of his own work, as I understand it) picked the villain simply because it would be very hard to guess, and for no other reason. (Maybe the book was better, but in this case I seriously doubt it, and the book would waste more of your life.) Therefore, as far as who did it, I don't feel thick at all for not having a clue. Which is a good way to summarize this movie: clueless.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Great Thriller

8/10
Author: mjw2305 from England
20 January 2007

A killer known as 'Casanova' has kidnapped eight women and police detective Alex Cross (Morgan Freeman) must locate the hidden lair before these women are cruelly killed. He has to work closely with Kate McTiernan (Ashley Judd) the only person to escape from Casanova's lair, and there is more at stake for Cross than he bargained for.

Freeman and Judd are brilliantly paired together, both delivering top performances in this tension filled mystery thriller.

A strong cast throughout, a cunning plot and a solid screenplay make this movie a thriller that is not to be missed.

8/10

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 8 of 15: [Prev][3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history