IMDb > Kiss the Girls (1997) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Kiss the Girls
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Kiss the Girls More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 6 of 14: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]
Index 136 reviews in total 

Same old stuff

Author: dungeonkeeper from England
19 June 2001

Very average film that makes the same mistake as loads of other films (The Bone Collector etc) in that it gives the viewer no clues as to who the culprit is. A good murder mystery sets up a few characters, gives them all a motive and the fun for the viewer is working out who is most likely to have committed the crime. (Look at anything by Agatha Christie to see how it is done well). The film is enjoyable enough, mostly because of Morgan Freeman, but by making the culprit some minor character from the film who really was so insignificant that I didn't even know who he was at the end, takes the impact out of the ending. Ask yourself, would it have made any difference if any of the characters had been the killer ? No.

Was the above review useful to you?

Casting debacle in one role. . .

7/10
Author: rlowe30 (rlowe30@yahoo.com) from New Orleans
12 May 2001

Cary Elwes?

Cary Elwes!???

[slowly shaking head] . . . dude wears a southern accent like a two year old wears Mom's high heels. . .

"Kiss the Girls" had terrific potential. The work done by Morgan Freeman and Ashley Judd is outstanding. But once the story is laid out and it begins to get stranger. . .it also gets seriously unbelievable. Which is a shame. Psychological thrillers frequently kick ass for the first hour only to run out of legitimate and limp, limp, limp all the way home. Did the writers just get tired? Or did they propose something much more complex involving Dr. Cross; something which would implicate him more in all the psychopathology going on around him, only to have it shot down by the Dumb Police ("we'd better keep this stupid or nobody'll get it, or they'll get it and not like it. . .")

Really amazing work done here by the actors. Too bad they're taking orders from the lamebrains behind the scenes.

Was the above review useful to you?

Ingenious Concept

7/10
Author: Niv-1 from Valley Stream, New York
6 April 2001

I saw this movie when I heard the concept. A man who kidnaps women then leaves them to die kidnaps a doctor, she escapes, comes to help the detective who is investigating the case. The woman is played by Ashley Judd and she is excellent, she gives the character depth and is more than just a blank slate or cliche. The detective is played by Morgan Freeman and he gives a greatly understated performance. While this movie isn't as good as "the Silence of the Lambs" it has a great concept, greatly staged scenes and is worth seeing. IT rates a 7.

Was the above review useful to you?

Ingenious Concept

7/10
Author: Niv-1 from Valley Stream, New York
6 April 2001

I saw this movie when I heard the concept. A man who kidnaps women then leaves them to die kidnaps a doctor, she escapes, comes to help the detective who is investigating the case. The woman is played by Ashley Judd and she is excellent, she gives the character depth and is more than just a blank slate or cliche. The detective is played by Morgan Freeman and he gives a greatly understated performance. While this movie isn't as good as "the Silence of the Lambs" it has a great concept, greatly staged scenes and is worth seeing. IT rates a 7.

Was the above review useful to you?

Don't want to be picky, but...

Author: Matchboy
27 October 2000

It's Dr. Alex Cross, not Jack. And, he isn't 'a psychologist working for the police'. He is a senior detective with the Metropolitan Police Department, who also has a doctorate in psychology. These two disciplines, police work and psychology, make his skills at profiling and apprehending serial murderers formidable. Thus he is a unique character in detective fiction, and Patterson's series of Alex Cross novels, including 'Kiss the Girls', are great reads.

Was the above review useful to you?

Ok to watch...

6/10
Author: bullions27 from Purdue, USA
23 October 2000

I haven't read the book yet, but the movie itself is an ok suspense and thriller film to watch. Freeman delivers a good performace playing an uncle who is grief-stricken but keeps a good strong heart to nail the villain. The twist in the end though threw me off for a tad, and I had to rewatch the film over again to pick out how this guy hid himself as the killer when he's been in plain sight all along. One thing that disturbed though about the film was why they keep letting Ashley Judd's character out of sight SO many times in the film when she is their most valuable witness? Kind of a bit odd.

Was the above review useful to you?

Could have been better

Author: Kyle Marshall from Ann Arbor, MI
19 August 2000

I guess that this movie wasn't too bad, but to anyone who read the book (which, as usual, was far superior than its Hollywood counterpart), the idea of Morgan Freeman as Alex Cross was a bit absurd. In the series of novels that James Patterson wrote, Detective Cross is in his late 30s...something that not even an incredible actor like Freeman can pull off.

Was the above review useful to you?

Murder wan

Author: MuteMae
16 April 2000

Serial killers, at least in movies, used to be objects of disquieting awe. Tony Curtis' tormented sex murderer in "The Boston strangler" the sado-snuff fetishists of "Manhunter" and "The silence of the lambs", Kevin Spacey's cat and mouse psycho in "Seven" - in each case we were asked to crawl inside the sick cave of a killer's mind and to view his most unspeakable kinks as a nightmare reflection of "ordinary" passion. But no, though even these artful thrillers have spawned their own cliches. When Ashley Judd, the heroine of "Kiss the girls" gets dragged to an underground dungeon, where she locked up along with a dozen other damsels, the setting is as ripely corn as any fogbound horror movie trope of the '30s and so is the homicidal phantom's "creepy" operatic spiel about his desire for perfect love. Judd is able to escape at which point she joins forces with forensic investigator Morgan Freeman. "Kiss the girls" is a fake psychological thriller that turns into a garishly schlocky and implausible bogeyman hunt. Why, for instance can't the FBI locate the dungeon from which Judd has escaped? Because in their meticulous search of the forest, the agents somehow failed to find... those big wooden basement doors to hell.

Was the above review useful to you?

Dark, suspenseful, fantastic

9/10
Author: HunterK (hunter_kahn@hotmail.com) from Pennsylvania, USA
4 February 2000

I didn't really know much about this movie when I saw that it was coming on HBO. I just decided "what the hell" and watched it. Besides, Morgan Freeman is one of my favorite actors. After a few minutes of KISS THE GIRLS, I was instantly glued to the television. It was pretty dark and very suspenseful, but I truly liked it.

Dr. Alex Cross (Morgan Freeman), a psychologist/detective from Washington DC is sent to investigate a man known as "Casanova", who is kidnapping, imprisoning and occasionally torturing and killing beautiful women. His niece is among one of the kidnapped. Along with the help of Kate Mctiernan, (Ashley Judd) who escaped from the maniac, and Detective Nick Ruskin (Cary Elwes), Cross sets out to find and stop the murderer.

The plot is fascinating and will most likely keep you on the edge of your seat and holding onto the arm of your chair. The acting jobs are very good too. Some parts are very dark and a little disturbing, but it often only helps the story line. Morgan Freeman, as usual, does a great job as the main character. Ashley Judd and Cary Elwes also did impressive performances.

The ending of this movie is pretty good and rather surprising. Go out and rent this whenever you're in the mood for a little suspense, you won't be disappointed.

Was the above review useful to you?

Like 'se7en' ?? Love 'Kiss the girls' !!

Author: Michiel Waaijer (michiel.waaijer@gmail.com) from Delft, Holland
29 January 2000

I love this movie !!!

I think i've seen all the movies of ashley judd, and i must say this is probably her greatest role yet, she does a great job playing Kate Mctiernan, a victim of a pschycotic killer. This maniac 'collects' women, only to kill them one by one when he sees fit. Only Judd manages to escape from his clutches. Morgan Freeman plays (again) the detective who, in cooporation with Judd tries to find the killer...

The whole storyline is great, with a lot of unexpected twists and turns, and a surprisingly strong ending.

The acting is as i said earlier admirable. Morgan Freeman and Ashley Judd both deserve a lot of credit on this film. The tension between them is great, and you really feel the warmth in their relationship.

But overall this film is actually very scary, some scenes are close to a frantic nightmare (the running in the woods, the scene in Judd's house when the killer is there).

I really recomend this movie, this is just as se7en a movie, which is best watched alone, in a dark room, with a lot of thunder and rain outside. Just as i watched it just now ..

Excellent .. Go check it out now !!

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 6 of 14: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
Newsgroup reviews External reviews Parents Guide
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history