IMDb > Kiss the Girls (1997) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Kiss the Girls
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Kiss the Girls More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 2 of 15:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [Next]
Index 144 reviews in total 

6 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

good cast, not so hot script

6/10
Author: lenfan91 from United States
13 June 2007

Cary Elwes does an incredible job as Nick Ruskin. He acts with perfect emotion for every particular scene and brings a unique feel to the character portrayed in the book. Elwes does superb acting in this film, and really displays his range. After reading the novel, I was surprised by Freemans casting. He impressed me with his comittment to the character, however, during the film he seemed over-dramatic taking away from the realism of the story (what makes the film and novel so terrorizing). Ashley Judd played Kate McTieran well and portrayed Pattersons heroine with the courage and bravery expected. Where the movie falls short is in the script. The adaptation leaves out numerous key elements to the story. What makes the plot so riveting is the psychological trauma Cassanova and the Gentleman caller force onto their captives. With brief scenes portraying the womens captivity, they film takes away from the character development of the murderers and focuses too heavily on superfluous tidbits not necessary to the story. If you are seeking a true thriller, you may want to choose another movie. Although the film is entertaining and the acting decent, the novel is much better and the thriller genre is better utilized in other films.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Hunting Down A Killer Casanova

7/10
Author: seymourblack-1 from United Kingdom
21 March 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Based on James Patterson's best selling novel of the same name, "Kiss The Girls" is a profoundly disturbing story about an investigation into a series of kidnappings. The villain is a creepy psychopath, a serial rapist and a killer who kidnaps young women and is then deluded enough to think that he can win their affection. An eerie atmosphere prevails throughout and some interesting characters, tense moments and unexpected developments ensure that the action remains thoroughly engrossing right through to the movie's gripping climax.

Alex Cross (Morgan Freeman) is a Washington D.C. police detective and forensic psychologist who travels to Durham, North Carolina when his niece, Naomi (Gina Ravera), becomes the latest in a series of young women who have recently disappeared. He soon discovers that the missing women have all been kidnapped by a man who calls himself Casanova and one of his captives has been killed and left in a forest tied up to a tree. Cross is relieved to discover that the murder victim isn't his niece but very soon after, a local young doctor called Kate McTiernan (Ashley Judd) is also kidnapped from her home.

Cross is a cool and methodical character who, after studying the available information, comes to the conclusion that Casanova is actually a collector rather than a serial killer and is probably only murdering the women who persist in disobeying his orders.

Kate McTiernan is a feisty person whose pastimes include kick-boxing. She's initially kept in a drugged state by her captor and when she recovers consciousness, finds herself in an underground cell where she can hear the voices of the other unseen captives. Shortly after, she manages to make her escape when she bravely jumps from a very high cliff and has to be rescued from the river below before having to spend some time recuperating in hospital. When her recovery is complete, Kate and Cross decide to work together to hunt down Casanova. Despite the useful information that Kate is able to contribute to the investigation, their task becomes more complicated when some new clues unexpectedly point them in the direction of Los Angeles.

"Kiss The Girls" is well-made, visually impressive and has a consistent sense of impending danger. The dialogue is good and occasionally amusing, for example when the unhelpful Durham Police Chief tells Cross to "make yourself at home but don't mess around in the kitchen". It also has a very talented cast and two lead performances which are excellent both individually and in the way that they complement each other. Morgan Freeman is faultless as the intelligent investigator and Ashley Judd conveys her character's combination of courage and vulnerability very convincingly. Freeman and Judd interact naturally and the scenes in which Kate is abducted and later escapes from her captor's hideout, provide some of the movie's best moments.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Fire the casting director

5/10
Author: tunnelboy from United States
27 November 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This was an OK movie that could have been great. Morgan Freeman was fine as usual, but some of the other characters were poorly cast. I thought Ashley Judd was completely unbelievable as a surgeon/boxer/detective (sheesh!). By the way, how many delicately handed brain surgeons do you know that are also kick boxers? The whole movie had moments of disbelief and improbability. Why in the early scenes did the surgeon/kick boxer have a fish tank at the very foot of her staircase (which she subsequently crashed into after being chased by Casanova?). And how did the busy surgeon suddenly find time to tag along a police investigation? At the end, when Alex fires the shot, how come none of the cops outside the house come rushing in (or even before when all the commotion was going on)?

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Very good adaptation

7/10
Author: xredgarnetx from Connecticut
17 February 2008

GIRLS is a very good adaptation of a James Patterson novel about a collector of women. One of those kidnapped is D.C. sleuth Alex Cross' nieces, and Cross (played wonderfully by Morgan Freeman) is soon on the case. Ashley Judd in her prime plays a doctor kidnapped by and who eventually escapes from the masked bad buy. She and Cross eventually track him down in his lair, but the question is will Cross' niece still be alive? The identity of the bad guy will come as no surprise tomost crime film fans, but it's a fun ride getting there. Veteran character actors Bill Nunn, Tony Goldwyn, Brian Cox and Cary Elwes are all along for the ride. Strong direction and suspenseful pacing help immensely. Too bad the follow-up Alex Cross adventure, with Freeman again playing Cross, ALONG CAME A SPIDER, was a dog. Might have made an interesting franchise.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

You've already seen it.

4/10
Author: Robert J. Maxwell (rmax304823@yahoo.com) from Deming, New Mexico, USA
2 July 2005

The niece of a Washington, D. C., police psychologist disappears from her campus in North Carolina. The psychologist (Freeman) goes down to help out the local cops. Shortly, another young woman (Judd), an intern at the local Regional Center is likewise kidnapped. We follow her story as she is taken to an underground dungeon, drugged and bound and raped. She escapes. Judd and Freeman join forces. They match the local kidnappings, which sometimes end in murder, with others that seem to follow the same pattern in California. They fly to California and discover that a cosmetic surgeon who lives in Marina Del Ray (all L.A. doctors live in Marina Del Ray) has ordered a huge supply of the rarely used drug that was used on Judd during her captivity.

If you find this a little confusing, wait until you see the movie. The plot is not simply complicated, but riddled with lacunae. Unless I blinked at the wrong moment, the movie doesn't explain the relationship between the East Coast killer and the West Coast killer who is duplicating him. I also have no idea how the Eastern killer got hold of the same drug that the West Coast killer is using. And I don't understand why, just before they fly to L.A., Freeman rejects Judd's suggestion that they notify the F.B.I. It's impossible for anyone to know why, after Judd escapes from the killer's hideaway, she stumbles through perhaps 100 yard of forest then jumps into the river, and yet the police and the FBI still can't find the obvious superterranian entrance to the killer's lair. I mean, why couldn't they figure out that it must be located along a two or three miles stretch of the river, less than 100 yeard from the left bank? Why do they refer to benzodiazepines as "benzos" when docs call them "diazepines"? I don't know why the killers off some of the girls and preserve others. The first girl who is offed is Heidi Schanz. The killer deserves to be strung up by his Buster Browns for that. I don't care how many rules she's broken. No additional clarity is provided by the director, who seems to have found out that a camera can be hand held. And the editing introduces further murk. Quick cuts of Ashley Judd practicing her kick boxing in the dungeon, with an occasional brief shot of her doing nothing in particular. Irrelevant tanker trucks that zoom suddenly out of nowhere and almost run Freeman down at a tense moment.

Why go on? Some people will undoubtedly like it because watching it will be comforting. Like all rituals watching a variation on the serial killer theme may provide a fixed point in a changing and disappointing universe. Well, a chaque a son gout. I don't know how many times I've heard Stan Getz's solos with Woody Herman's band, but I could listen to them a hundred more times. Speaking of music, somebody plays a sprightly jig from a suite by Bach and later another piece. The first is really difficult. The violinist deserves a medal for introducing some unexpectedly fresh airs into an otherwise stale production.

A shame, too, because the leads are both imposing performers in their different ways.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

You're going out there on your own?...

5/10
Author: Paul Magne Haakonsen from Denmark
6 March 2016

I can't claim to be a particular avid fan of these types of movies, but Morgan Freeman being in the movie was sufficient enough to make me sit down and watch "Kiss the Girls".

Story-wise, then "Kiss the Girls" was as generic and average as these crime mysteries go. There was not really anything overly innovating here or anything that made you go 'whoa, that was impressive'. And the movie is suffering under this.

The story is your average story about a serial killer who kidnaps people, and then one man decides to track him down as he is closely tied to one of the kidnapped girls.

Right, nothing that hasn't been done or seen before in other movies.

However, I will say that Morgan Freeman, Cary Elwes and Tony Goldwyn really performed quite well, and they managed to make "Kiss the Girls" watchable. There was also a bunch of other familiar faces to be seen throughout the movie, and that did spice it up a bit.

But this movie didn't really rock my boat, and I have to settle on a very mediocre five out of ten stars for this crime mystery movie. The reason for this is that it was so predictable, generic and offered no surprises throughout the almost two hours that is runs. There are far better crime mystery movies available, and this one follows the 'how-to-make-a-crime-mystery' guidebook without any deviation.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

a torturous and twisted tale crossing forensics with a dark figure a great lover of collectible items of his dream

7/10
Author: 2karl- from Ireland
4 October 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

heres a film straight out of a thriller book called kiss the girls by James Paterson a great author for twist in his book so in this film we see that Alex cross played by an excellent Morgan freeman searching for his his niece but with unsolved cases of missing women Alex loves solving the insolvable but with time running out the rest of the cast we Dr Kate mctiernan who is a doctor but is person who likes sports but is feisty character played by Ashley Judd but as we cut back to women being takes Casanova a great lover of collectible items of dreams

his plans for the women he took in his lair being carefully no give the evidence away but with a twist in the tale he plans his next victim but when one of them escapes .she makes it known that she that Alex crosses niece can be got but in a race against time to figure out where she was an who was holding them but with a film like this you don't know who the good guy or bad guy is so figuring out will leave a twist and shock you as the scenery is beautiful shot in the deep south this is a good stylish thriller that will leave you wanting a sequel 7/10and my 90 review

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Spine-tingling suspense thriller!! Morgan Freeman really delivers!

9/10
Author: ringfire211 from Philadelphia, USA
15 December 2011

I can't believe I haven't seen this one earlier. It's a sort-of prequel to ALONG CAME A SPIDER (which was directed by Lee Tamahori). I really liked the sequel and I've been meaning to check this one out. Well, it's every bit as great as the sequel. Maybe even better. This one, directed by Gary Fleder, shows Freeman as Dr. Alex Cross, a DC cop and criminal psychologist, hunting for Casanova, a serial kidnapper of young women. Casanova "collects" these women and those which do not meet his expectations he kills. It's a solid, spine-tingling thriller and one of the best films of 1997 - which already was a spectacular year for cinema. Freeman is just fantastic in this part - he was born to play this role!!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Wish Morgan Freeman was the Stalker!

7/10
Author: manjodude
22 May 2011

I think the movie title Kiss the Girls is really good, considering the plot of a stalker kidnapping young, beautiful & smart girls for kicks.

Good suspense, a very tense first-half and also Morgan Freeman! The man is so effortless it looks like he doesn't act at all, and still gets paid royally for simply being in a movie. Ashley Judd also makes a good impact here.

However, there were moments towards the end of the movie I could not digest. The primary stalker here is portrayed throughout as a cunning guy who's always a step ahead of the cops. But his identity is discovered by Freeman in the end, because of the stalker's careless act. Even a kid might think twice before blundering like that. That bit disappointed me. The story fell loose towards the climax.

Verdict: Still, an engrossing picture. And Morgan Freeman to thank for :)

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

A sloppy kiss.

3/10
Author: carbuff
12 August 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Purely an utterly mediocre TV-quality movie that Morgan Freeman no doubt chose to star in mostly to pad his bank account. (I truly hope that he doesn't actually have this bad a taste in scripts, except when he's hungry for Benjamins.)

I can't honestly say that it was completely terrible, but it definitely wasn't worth the time lost, and it wasn't all that original either--just a jumble of stuff that mostly seems to have been used before with, admittedly, a few new elements.

There are plot holes left and right, and the cops and FBI all seem to be pretty incompetent (God, I hope I don't ever have to depend on this quality of law enforcement). The mild torture porn scenes were so intentionally aimed at titillation that they were basically just annoying. No performances, including Freeman's, were particularly captivating, although none embarrassingly bad either. Uninspired would be the best way to describe this whole experience.

I have to admit that I didn't know who was the killer until it was revealed, but when it was, it was totally unconvincing. A day later, it's even more unconvincing. The reason you can't guess the identity of the evil mastermind is that it doesn't really work well with the story at all--the motive and personality never seemed like it was ever there. That particular character was never developed much at all in the movie.

It looks like the story writers (Patterson doesn't write most of his own work, as I understand it) picked the villain simply because it would be very hard to guess, and for no other reason. (Maybe the book was better, but in this case I seriously doubt it, and the book would waste more of your life.) Therefore, as far as who did it, I don't feel thick at all for not having a clue. Which is a good way to summarize this movie: clueless.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 2 of 15:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history