IMDb > Project: ALF (1996) (TV) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Project: ALF
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Project: ALF (TV) More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 15 reviews in total 

11 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

It Bites Wind

2/10
Author: lane jarsonbeck (NTESLAFAN05@YAHOO.COM) from Tampa, Florida
30 September 2007

There is no bigger fan of ALF the T.V. Series than myself- I realize Paul Fusco was a big fan having created the series however I never would have allowed this stink-filled script to destroy the laugh filled memories of the Alf Franchise.

The first couple of minutes between Alf and Beverly Archer(Harriette Byrd in past episodes) was funny but then the film isn't about Alf so much as Military abuse of authority and the love story of two young Doctors who befriend Alf while he is in captivity with the Alien Task Force. The story line is beyond awful and filled with straight line after straight line. The rest of the original cast is gone- and how many laughs did we get from Max Wrights' dead pan deliveries and exaggerated befuddlement?

There were so many alternative stories after the final T.V. episode why Fusco chose the worst possible direction is beyond me (maybe he was hanging with Jerry Stahl at the time of conceiving this project)

I say to anyone who in later years discovers the Alf television show to stay away from this movie- it is lame unfunny and a pile of steaminess. I compare it to the let down of Highlander 2- it's that very very very bad.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

Nosferatu, Casablanca, Raging Bull, Starwars, Project Alf

10/10
Author: Glenn (hail_to_ash) from Romsey, England
14 January 2002

Every generation has beared witness to a landmark film which has changed the course of movie making forever, for mine it was Project Alf. For what may appear to be a simple, perhaps lackluster film, only made to profit further from the television programme. To a real film critic turns out to be an advenure through the emotions, which will result in days of digestion, as only then will one truly understand and appreciate the artistry involved. Alfs acting is impecable, making the question of what ever happened to him and his career in hollywood a daunting one in the mind of the viewer. I last heard that he was doing missionary work in the Amazon - however that is only hearsay. So to the person who has taken the time to read my column on Project Alf (most probably Kev), I hope that you have benefited and take time to see the film, over and over again. A must See !!!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

a classic...

9/10
Author: hedin_88 from Bosnia and Herzegovina
2 March 2008

This movie, even if it doesn't have a lot of things happening IS funny. And its Alf that makes it funny. The whole movie should be listed in the 'quotes' section. The acting is not that bad but you can see from the start on what the movie is concentrated. The directing is not much of a problem and its easy to keep track of the story. Also, i just now figured out (as i watched the movie) how funnier Alf looks when he's shown completely and not just above the waist. Kinda does more to his character if you ask me. If yo liked the show you will love this movie because the jokes are mostly the same type (Alfs one-liners and sarcasm). If you have the chance to see this movie- do it, if you have the chance to buy it - do it. For me, it belongs among the ones listed as 'all time favorites' or 'classics'.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Good comedy

6/10
Author: rinho-2 (rinho@web.de) from Good comedy
8 February 2001

Alf is a good comedy, but it is definitely WAY behind the series, maybe because of the lack of the original characters. They were WAY funnier and the series in general, too. The only funny character of this TV-movie is Alf and the only good part is the first 20 minutes.

I am a kinda fan of the series, but this one cannot stand up to it at any part of it.

All in all, I rated this movie 6/10. I recommend it to fans of the series.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Great Closure to the Greatest Series of All Times

10/10
Author: maniuis from Colombia
28 September 2010

I am one of the biggest fan of this series -even though it got canceled before I could even spell ALF. Together with 3rd Rock From The Sun and Catherine (Canadian Sitcom) this is one of the great series of all times. Thanks to the releases of the DVDs I was able to watch the entire series again -this time in its original language... I am a Spanish native-speaker by the way- and was kinda of disappointed to find that the series ended in such a low note with ALF getting captured and all. Then I learned that they had made an ALF movie 6 years after the show went off the air. I immediately got to the task of downloading the movie -which was not easy- and today I finally watched it.

The movie is great. It would have been perfect if The Tanners -or at least Willie- have been on it, but despite the absence of the original cast -though the voice of ALF is the same- the movie is great. It will make you laugh. I have read the reviews and other comments that people on this website have made about the film and I am not surprised to hear some people b***ing and moaning about the film and saying how great the show was and how bad the movie is... blah blah blah. DO NOT listen to those people. DO NOT expect to come across a 1 1/2 hour episode-like film either because you will be disappointed then.

Other than that you can just lay down on your couch, get some popcorn and some refreshing drink, enjoy the movie and find out what ever happened to that funny, adorable-and-at-the-same-time-annoying alien from the planet Melmac who sadly got captured by the US government back in 1990. Best wishes to everyone. Cheers.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Alf in his own TV movie.

Author: emasterslake from United States
11 November 2005

What's cool about this movie is we get to see what happens to Alf after he was capture by the Alien Task Force.

He's been imprisoned by the Military for over 5 years. He's gone through a lot of Doctors and tests. Besides those he's living it easy with the best jail cell that even he would live in.

But when the plans for him to be eliminated have been ordered that's when 2 young military cadets made a plan to save his life.

It's different from the TV series, and the Tanners are absent in this one. but you'll learn what had happened to them when you watch it. Which is one of the reasons why most fans hate it. But at least Alf is in it which counts and still worth seeing.

There's still plenty of laughs, Alf is still a smart mouth Melmacian, and still has an appetite for cats. It even ends in a good yet funny ending for our furry idol.

I rank this movie 8/10.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

ALF is great the rest is rubbish.

6/10
Author: John Taylor (jdtaylor1968@btopenworld.com) from Bedfordshire, England
4 February 2003

It is such a shame that person who wrote the lines for ALF didnt write in the same vain for the rest of the cast. The bits that ALF is in are good and are worth watching , especially when he is having the tests. The rest is not worth watching.Kids of the younger age would like this and thats about the best i can say about this film. What on earth was Martin Sheen thinking about when he took on this role? from Apocolypse Now to Project Alf!!!! 6 out of 10

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Don't take it seriously & it's great

Author: bob the moo from United Kingdom
24 October 2001

Years after the TV series Alf is being held in a military base undergoing a series of tests. The fate of Alf comes up before committee with Milfoil (Martin Sheen), Mulican (O'Leary) and Hill (Daggett) debating his future. Milfoil wants Alf incinerated Hill and Mulican want him to have human rights. Mulican decides to take matters into his own hands forcing the others to smuggle him out of the base and go on the run.

The film is not a work of art and is basically a silly excuse for laughs. And it is funny - a lot more than you'd think. The whole film plays with it's tongue in it's cheek - it knows not to take itself seriously. Alf may not be everyone's cup of tea but he is generally funny with his wise cracking - although several moments aren't funny and he can get quite annoying at times. The humans all play their parts well - Martin Sheen hams it up well and gets some good laughs while O'Leary and Daggett play their roles as Alf's straightmen well - and it's always good to see Miguel Ferrer (playing Dexter Moyers) as a bad guy in another small film! Special mention for Rocket the sarcastic robot who wins many of the laughs towards the end.

The plot may not be up to much but at least it tries - it has some twists that are obvious from the start, but that's not really what this is about. Everything about this is a setup for Alf to make jokes and wise cracks, and in that respect it does pretty well. Good support from Sheen, O'Leary and Daggett help along the way - Sheen in particular getting good laughs.

Word of warning - if you're not in the mood for Alf then don't watch this, wait until you want to laugh at silly jokes and then you'll like this.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

ALF IS THE BEST!!!

10/10
Author: anthoula (alex-341) from athens, greece
27 December 2000

Alf is fantastic!He is funny,unique,adorable,cute and a lot more...I love him cause he can make me laugh even at the worst time maybe cause he is an alien from another planet.The movie is great too and the actors and the plot,i do not know how you cannot adore Alf...I hope another movie comes along.....SEE IT!!!!!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

". . . exceptionally painful on a full bladder"

5/10
Author: The_Phantom_Projectionist from United States
10 May 2015

There are plenty of versions of the story behind the ending of the ALF series and this 1996 TV movie: some claim that the cliffhanger finale was a final bid for the show to remain on the air; some claim the film is an extended rendition of a single final episode planned all along; and yet more people claim the movie is the result of an uphill battle by creators Paul Fusco and Tom Patchett after being shafted out of plans to conclude the series more satisfactorily. In the end, the only concrete fact is that the film was released almost a full six years after the TV show concluded, to tremendous fan expectations, and then it didn't turn out all that great. I'm not the biggest ALF fan in the world, but even I have to admit that a lot was lost during the transition of serial to feature.

The story: Held by the Alien Task Force for six years following his capture, Alf's death is plotted by an obsessed colonel (Martin Sheen) but thwarted by two military scientists (William O'Leary and Jensen Daggett) who smuggle him out of the facility to bring him to safety.

The biggest disappointment of the film? - no Tanner family. Anyone who's researched the show will know all about the mixed feelings with which the human cast regarded their stay, but while their absence isn't really surprising on a deductive level, the film suffers from it nevertheless. Max Wright, Anne Shedeen, Andrea Elson, and Benji Gregory were as much of a part of the ALF franchise as the alien himself, yet they're afforded only a minute's exposition early in the film before being forgotten completely. Alf doesn't even mention them, which is particularly disappointing considering the bond the characters formed over four years. I don't want to sound too sappy, but it eats at me that Alf was apparently able to get over the people he once referred to as "my Tanners." The characters replacing them aren't awful but pretty unmemorable: William O'Leary and Jensen Daggett are neutrally likable, but not only don't they sell the reactions to Alf's shenanigans nearly as well as Wright or Shedeen ever did, it's never quite clear why they're helping Alf. The Tanners struggled through their frustrating tenure via a mixture of family support and underlying affection cultivated over a matter of years, but O'Leary and Daggett apparently just have an inherent goodness of heart and know-how to endure Alf in situations wherein he's previously sent other outsiders screaming from the room. I don't buy it.

Where the writing is concerned, the show retains creators Fusco's and Patchett's trademark humor: one-liners and pop culture references abound, branching out to Alf's first gay joke and some death-related humor. Alf's cat obsession is revived for the sake of a couple jokes. The main agenda of the film seems to be giving Alf a chance to interact openly with a greater number of people and injecting a defined antagonist into the picture - something the series didn't have (or particularly need). The surprise and novelty of seeing Alf barb with humans outside of the Tanner household is short-lived, as most folks (with the ironic exception of Ray Walston) seem to get over his being an alien pretty quickly. Sheen gives a fun, hammy performance but his character just isn't worth the movie; if Alf needed a nemesis, it definitely ought to be someone more interesting than this goof. Where the technical aspects are concerned, the film doesn't try anything new: having a bigger budget than a weekly TV show seems like it would've been a good opportunity for Alf to do something physically out of the ordinary, but the most you get is seeing him spun around in a chair. You'd think that director Dick Lowry would've tried for something bigger than that.

When judged on its own terms, PROJECT ALF doesn't really do anything wrong but it doesn't get too many things right, either. I consider it a way-too-late attempt to salvage a poorly-executed finale. Paul Fusco probably did all he could, but being away from his core franchise for so long likely took its toll on his creativity. I'm not sure whether to recommend this for die-hard fans, so watch at your own risk.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history