IMDb > Leprechaun 4: In Space (1996) (V) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Leprechaun 4: In Space
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Leprechaun 4: In Space (V) More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 8 of 10: [Prev][3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [Next]
Index 100 reviews in total 

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Do you really have to ask?

Author: Unfunky_UFO from Cambridge, MA
25 January 2001

This is one of those movies that you really don't need to know too much about. It doesn't pretend to be a good movie, and surprise surprise it really is quite bad. I must say watching a Leprechaun with evil powers fight in space against some type of space troops is quite amusing. It's filled with cliches and has nothing original in it, but why would you see this expecting anything else?

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

A new low for the series

Author: EggoMan (numbersix@cliffhanger.com) from Chicago, Illinois
29 April 2000

The fourth entry in the Leprechaun series is definitely the worst. The acting is juvenile, and it's made worse by a laughable script. The effects show no effort or quality whatsoever. And don't get me started on the "comedy" . . . The story is about a leprechaun who terrorizes a ship of space marines in order to get his bride and his gold back. In the corner of the marines is a handful of really dull characters, including a sargent (lovingly called "Sarge") with a cheesy-looking plate in his skull, no less than TWO buxom ladies, and the good guy with the obligatory toughman shirtless scene. Then there's the head of the ship (or something, we never really understand what he is) whom I think is a doctor, but is also one of the bad guys (I'm guessing here again). In the end, there is little reason to see this film, it certainly will not entertain you (unless you get kicks out of renting REALLY bad movies and throwing your money away) and it will only give the filmmakers MORE money to make another one of these sequels (which they already have, *sigh*).

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

If nothing else, this is the reason to see this movie..

Author: vrildox from San Jose, California
21 April 2000

Sure, the leprechaun hardly used his powers at all in this flick, but he did get create with what was at hand. He also was quite good at tricking the humans when it suited him. There was a lot going on in this film and that certainly impressed me, but what I like the best about this movie was Jessica Collins. She was absolutely gorgeous and the nude scene was definitely worth the price of a rental! All I can say is.. rent this movie and dub it. The part where a monster tears her pants off was laugh out loud funny, as well as revealing her awesome tanned thighs. Warwick was pretty good, with some of his monologue(the leprechaun likes to talk to himself)setting the mood and teasing the marines as they race to stop him.

If nothing else, I have two words for you:

Jessica Collins!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

There is only one word to describe this movie! Tight!

Author: mixmastagold
30 November 1999

I didn't think I would ever see a sequel to Leprechaun 4, but here it is..and it is in space! If you want to see action, excitement, and gratuitous sex, than Leprechaun 4 is for you! It starts off kinda slow, but picks up when the guy who kills the leprechaun p***es on his body. And if you love catchy phrases, then you will love this. Take my advice, see this movie. And when Leprechaun 5:In the Hood comes out..see that too!!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Can you say worst movie ever made...

1/10
Author: zeus-27 from New York, US
10 August 1999

I am a big fan of cheezy horror movies, but this movie stole an hour and a half from me and I want it back! In the worst movie of the series, they decided to send the leprechaun into space. What were they thinking? I guess they were hoping people like me would watch it. Well, if that's the case, they got me there. But I suggest to fellow horror fans not to waste your time on this sad attempt at a movie. There were no great death scenes, Warwick Davis was not funny. I give this movie a 0 out of 4 and pray that nobody makes the same mistake I did.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Where do I begin?

1/10
Author: James Alex Neve from London, UK
13 February 2006

Having neglected the chance to view any of the first three Leprechaun movies, I can safely predict on the strength of Leprechaun 4: In Space that I wouldn't even think about watching them if I was stranded on a desert island, with only 6 hours to live and nothing else to do but watch the first three Leprechaun movies. I would rather watch re-runs of The Dukes Of Hazzard. Leprechaun 4: In Space really is one of the worst movies ever committed to celluloid.

I've seen some mighty stinkers in my time. The cinema can be man's great escape, but it can also be a blaze of hell when it wants to be. Luckily, the big screen was never blessed with Brian Trenchard-Smith's efforts, and when they're this abhorrent, this pathetic, this woeful I hope to god he, or any of his films, is never let anywhere near a cinema screen as long as they are breathing. It is STAGERRINGLY bad. Tongue-in-cheek? The tongue has moved from the cheek, directly down the throat, and is now proceeding to choke me to death. And I hope it does if I ever sit through that again. I've seen porn movies with better effects than that. I've seen school plays with more spirit in their execution. I'm pretty sure I once saw a group of snails slowly trailing along the garden footpath outside my house, far more compelling than whatever the hell this is supposed to be.

I'm pretty sure the editor was good friends with Hunter Thompson, because he must have been high for the whole cutting process. Scenes seem to drag on for no reason. Comical moments that kill the tiny little momentum that the film almost threatens to gather. Nonsensical moments that really make you wonder how much the director must've been peeing himself with laughter. I laughed around about 4 times, non of them to do with jokes (unless you include the movie). IMDb reckons this a Sci-Fi Horror Comedy. I watched this film on the HORROR channel. You know horror, right? Scary, grungy, dark, gory, disturbing...that sort of thing. And Sci-Fi; special effects, philosophy, etc. And comedy which, last I heard, is meant to make you laugh, right? Well can I just take this opportunity to apologise to both Martin Lawrence and Adam Sandler. I know that I said you both suck but believe me - I have now come out of the dark and can see you for the geniuses you so clearly are. I'd rather watch Big Momma's House and Happy Gilmour on a continuous loop whilst being castrated then have to go through Leprechaun 4 again. And all those other movies that I have now come to realise are actually masterpieces like Nick Fury: Agent Of Shield or Dude, Where's My Car? Compared to Leprechaun 4, Dude, Where's My Car? is Citizen Kane, Lord Of The Rings and The Terminator all rolled in to one HUGE, SEARING, life-affirming work of art.

Avoid like the plague. And then blow it up.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Please stop making Leprechaun movies, I know we can't stop this one cause it was already made but we can stop future Leprechaun movies from being made

4/10
Author: jessegehrig from United States
27 February 2016

I don't understand this movie. Not a horror movie not a comedy not sexy but tries to be. Why try to be something you're not? Leprechaun 4 is not a fun movie to watch. Other reviewers suggest accepting this movie's failings with a sort of smiling submissive attitude akin to lying back and just taking it. F*ck that! Are you gonna just gladly lie back and take the 4th Leprechaun movie? Bad cheap sets? Awful lighting and cinematography? Worthless script wasting a talented actor( Warwick Davis)? You just gonna lie back and take that? Just laugh it off and make excuses for this piece of sh*t movie? You don't gotta live that way, no one has to.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Leprechaun 4: In Space

4/10
Author: Toronto85 from Canada
19 January 2013

The Leprechaun goes to space and finds a princess to marry in "Leprechaun 4: In Space". The plot... well I guess the Leprechaun is out searching for a bride (like he was in the second film), and he finds it in a beautiful space princess. Problem is that there are soldiers on a mission to kill aliens who ruin his date with the princess. They arrive on the planet and take the princess on their ship, so the rest of the film is basically the leprechaun running around trying to claim his future bride. Meanwhile, our cast of space soldiers and medical staff realize that the woman the brought on board their ship is royalty, so there is some money involved in bringing her back to the king. That's basically the jist of it...

This movie is a FLOP when compared to the Vegas sequel. This has no laughs, no interesting kills, and no rhymes from the Leprechaun! The plot is very strange, it's almost as if it shouldn't be a sequel to the other films. It's more of a stand alone sci-fi film than a Leprechaun movie. The main plot point about the film is the princess, we have the lep trying to get her and the space people trying to keep her safe. Problem is that the film does a terrible job making her likable at all, so you don't really care if she is okay or not. Then they throw in some weird scenes with a doctor who is machinery from the neck down, he has got to be one of the strangest characters in horror history. His goal is to drain the princess of her blood (I think?...) and do some sort of experiment in order to get his whole body back. I don't know, it didn't make a lot of sense. The acting is bad, except for Jessica Collins who plays the lead female character and Warwick Davis of course. The makers of this fourth REALLY missed the mark by taking out what made the first three work - THE HUMOUR! There is none of it in this film. I think they tried to be funny in some of the scenes, but it isn't at all.

Leprechaun 4 is just a strange sequel in a franchise that I enjoyed up until this point. It didn't make a lot of sense, the character's were dreadful, and they didn't use the Leprechaun character enough. His dialogue (which was usually witty) was generic, and you could almost tell that Warwick Davis wasn't into this one as much.What is it with horror sequels in space? Critters 4, Hellraiser 4, Jason X... all failures because they took the core of their respective franchises and tried to add an overwhelming science fiction element to them. 'Leprechaun 4: In Space' is no exception to that.

4/10

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

In space no one can steal your gold... Or can they?

4/10
Author: Paul Magne Haakonsen from Denmark
22 April 2012

"Leprechaun 4: In Space" was exactly what I expected a spoofy comedy horror movie that progressed further away from the leprechaun story as seen in part 1 and 2.

First of all, why is the leprechaun now out somewhere in outer space? How did he get there? That was a really big flaw in the continuity of the previous movies. But still, the setting actually worked out well enough, despite it being this far out.

This movie seems to be a spoof of other movies like "Alien", and the stolen ideas from those movies was put to good use in "Leprechaun 4: In Space", despite them being cheesy and bad.

I found "Leprechaun 4: In Space" to be entertaining enough as a comedy, because it was totally devoid of scares and horror.

It was also a nice touch to see Guy Siner on the cast list of this movie. And also Miguel A. Núñez Jr. brought a good deal of his usual character to the movie.

Watch "Leprechaun 4: In Space" for a comedy. If you watch this hoping it will be a scary movie, you are in for a rude awakening and a very poor experience.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

No

1/10
Author: Red-Barracuda from Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
4 January 2011

It seems that most film franchises eventually have an episode where they go into outer space. Hollywood is driven by money, so I am guessing that someone has observed that this tactic actually pays off and encourages people to see the movie in question. On the evidence of this sorry film this seems incredible. From start to finish this truly is a pile of cack. What is it about? Impossible to say with any certainty as my mind has already begun to block it out. Needless to say that it is about a Leprechaun in space. So it does at the very least tick that particular box, and no one can really complain about a misleading title. They could, however, reasonably complain about everything else. The comedy set-pieces are criminally awful. And, eh…I started this review in good faith but have now just realized that I have nothing else to say about this dreck. So that's it.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 8 of 10: [Prev][3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history