IMDb > Glory Daze (1995) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Glory Daze
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Glory Daze More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]
Index 33 reviews in total 

9 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

A Great Examination Of The Anxiety of Blossoming Adults

Author: cardinal134 from New Jersey
21 February 2003

I'm a big fan of the examination of teens and young adults (being a teenager myself) and Glory Daze is a great story of a group of best friends on the eve of adulthood and how basically all of them are terrified of moving on from college and into the real world.

During the movie we discover the various characteristics, interests, styles, dreams and aspirations of the various leading characters. Their stories intertwine, and involve each other in some way. All of the plots involved in Glory Daze are simple, but flow smoothly and steadily in the backdrop of campus parties and bonfires. The acting is superb and the cast is simply perfect(of course it's better to watch the movie now when most of the actors (Ben Affleck, Sam Rockwell, and French Stewart) all become more well known names. All of them are perfect in their roles as bewildered college students. I love the end of the movie (but I won't spoil anything). I recommend this movie to anyone, especially teenagers, who just want to watch a movie about the fun and anxiety of the last days of real youth. 9/10. I also recommend Dazed And Confused, a great teen movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Perfect

10/10
Author: Drew Blanc from United Kingdom
13 May 2007

I absolutely adore this film. I bought it after getting my hands on the soundtrack, which is also awesome, and it really hit the spot. Like many people have said before, if you've ever been in a similar situation, this film will resonate deeply! It really is intriguing to read reviews from people who hated it. Obviously that makes just as much sense as people who loved it, not everyone can relate to the story or understand the journey, but i wouldn't want people to be put off from seeing it purely on the strength of the negative reviews. Great performances from the whole cast, perfectly balanced with a brilliant punk soundtrack. A real gem.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

A gem for it's genre...damnit

7/10
Author: winterdalecalls from United States
6 September 2006

Honestly, much better than I was expecting. Without close examination of this movie's characters and their development, your average watcher would write this movie off as standard party movie genre with no heart or empathy. But, as a fan of this film, I've grown to see it for what it most likely was intended to be...a pleasant, relatable buddy flick whose characters could have only been based almost entirely on personal relationships. Questions we've all asked ourselves, and conversations we've all had exist in this film, in a non-figurative way. Growing up, and out of your comfort zone is all too common of a post adolescent's defining hour and that is exactly what this movie explores.

The music and sense of humor in Glory Daze are proof of a personal reliance towards the materiel and not just some A-hole producer/director trying to cash in on the maturing sentiment. Some might not be able to relate to it because of its seemingly personal aim, have you a "too serious metal dude" or...well, a girl, but I think that for your average free thinker, its an easy to connect with.

I'll keep it short. I'm gonna end with Kevin Smith on this one, I like Affleck, cause he's just a good dude, and so it seems are the rest of the cast and those involved in the creation of Glory Daze. Good dudes, who think, what more could you honestly ask from this movie?

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

A better college movie than "Animal House"

8/10
Author: fixxxer1013 from Charleston, IL
15 November 1999

Ah, what a wonderful little gem "Glory Daze" is. Everyone extols the virtues of "Animal House," calling it the greatest college comedy ever, but for my generation of college students, I bet "Glory Daze" would be seen as a far better film (if only people would SEE it).

Ben Affleck is great in his portrayal of Jack, the ultimate purveyor of suburban angst. His scene with the jokester passing out graduation gowns is priceless, as is the confrontation on the bus with Brendan Fraser and Leah Remini. He gives a most memorable performance.

The best thing about "Glory Daze" is its honesty; even the tough, angry Jack breaks down when it comes to love. even he still seeks his "funny s**t". Give this one a chance; any college student should relate (especially those male ones who are free of the fraternity lifestyle).

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

EXCELLENT MOVIE!

Author: from Los Angeles
14 December 2004

Any one who a had a social life as a student at U.C. Santa Cruz, will love this movie. This movie was very poignant for me having spent my own college years doing the same exact stuff portrayed in the movie. It has just really helped me (nearly 10 years later) to find a bit of closure with what the heck happened back then during the greatest time of my life! I feel the acting was genuinely good. Ben really made the best out of this role. I can tell that the writer/director banged out enough background info. for the actors, so that they could know exactly how their characters should act. I love the scenes of Santa Cruz and especially liked the bus scene between Ben Affleck, Lhea Remini, and Brendan Frasier. Not only was Brendan dressed like I was back then, but I swear, I think, I had a convo. on the bus with a girlfriend while waiting for the damn train to pass, too. Yeah, every bus ride was an adventure! There is a strong moral in the movie, it's hard to find but it can be gleaned from any college graduate. Freedom from Fear leads to a Fear from Freedom. As for any banana slugs out there, save this movie when your thirty and you'll completely realize why you did what you did, and how Santa Cruz will always be on your mind. That's a good thing I believe, because we lived in a very special place that seems to create amazingly talented and successful people.

John Garcia -Class of '95 U.C. Santa Cruz, Oakes College

Currently a Certified History Teacher!

(Oh yeah, and Alyssa Milano is always so Stunningly Gorgeous!)

Was the above review useful to you?

Fun 1990s Slcker Film

6/10
Author: gavin6942 from United States
27 January 2014

Two days before graduation, Jack (Ben Affleck) is having serious doubts about the future. The old gang is breaking up; Rob is moving to LA with his girlfriend; Dennis (French Stewart) is finishing his third degree and going to grad school in Michigan; Slosh has dropped out of school and stays drunk all the time; and Mickey (Vinnie DeRamus) seems tired of the scene and wishes he had the guts to tell his friend Chelsea (Alyssa Milano) how he feels about her.

You have to love this incredible cast (including some who went on to much bigger and better things), with some nice cameos from Matt Damon as a hated ex-roommate and Matthew McConaughey as an alcoholic rental truck representative.

This is one of the many mid-90s slacker films, alongside "Stoned Age", "Suburbia" and others. While there is no explanation for Affleck's hairstyle and facial hair, it is nice to see him in this role circa "Good Will Hunting".

And those who were punks in the 1990s will appreciate the soundtrack: NOFX, Bad Religion, Tilt, The Mr. T Experience, Ednaswap, and Bouncing Souls. Did "SLC Punk" have a soundtrack this good?

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Pick up a twelver and shred

9/10
Author: Bobby Baddu from United States
31 October 2006

If you pounded beers in college than you'll relate to this film. Smart writing, and great performances make this flick above the usual beer blast caught on film. The always underrated Sam Rockwell keeps this story rooted in realism, and even Wooderson makes a special appearance! Any dude who lived with other dudes at school will recognize every nuance that writer/director Rich Wilkes puts on screen. Don't be fooled by the new cheesy cover art with Affleck and Milano on it, this film is raw and a good time. Any fan of Chasing Amy, will get to see Affleck master the angst filled male teary eyed speech here. Lots to recommend, check it out.

PICK UP A TWELVER AND SHRED!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Metaphor

9/10
Author: ddmplynx from Boston, Ma
5 November 2003

There is a shot or two depicting a clock in this film that totally make the movie for me. There are tons of cliched messages that are portrayed well throughout, but the way they delt with that "you can't stop life/ time)was magnificent. Being a male in his early twenties I love this film. It points out all our flaws, yet lets us embrace them.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Good Memories

10/10
Author: Andre Sousa (andre@andresousa.com) from Los Angeles, CA
13 November 2002

I saw this movie a few years ago. I loved it then. I remember watching it twice, back to back cause I liked it so much. Surprised me. It was a hidden gem for sure. Then today I woke up and remembered the movie. I couldn't remember the name. I just remembered French Stewart, Ben Affleck and Brendan Frasier were in it. I came to this site to find out what the name of the movie is and was appalled to find negative comments about "Glory Daze". Everyone is entitled to their opinion, but wow! Were those of you who didn't enjoy this movie actually watching it? This is one of my all time top ten for sure. Give it a chance. Take a look. If you enjoy good scripts and earnest acting, look no further. Cheers.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

I explain why Glory Daze (Last Contact)is a great movie

10/10
Author: Albert Palau (palauet) from Spain, Catalunya
13 May 2002

Hello, i just want to comment the admiration i feel for Glory Daze. This is a very good film. Plenty of details. If you see it once, you are loosing many things, and you could think "what a simply movie, or just kids destroying a house". But if you are curious you can see all the details, its very well done. It has a lot of content. I think it represents many people, and i felt identified with it a lot. It presents some philosophy issues, social structure...

In conclusion: This is not a commercial film. Its a film based on some intelligent and very good people punk-rock guys. I'd like nowadays directors made people like this one! Less effects and more creative thinking!

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history