The Cable Guy (1996) Poster

(1996)

User Reviews

Add a Review
351 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
Sorely underrated, and a personal favourite.
The-Gent6 July 2003
This review is not coming from someone whose top ten films consist primarily of Farrelly Bros. films, nor do I have a particular liking for anyone involved in the film.

First of all, hats off to Jim Carrey. I read under the trivia section that his role wasn't originally intended for him, but be honest; can you see anyone else playing the cable guy? He was brilliant. He takes the film from what would have been a run-of-the-mill comedy, to levels of greatness, and anyone that thinks I'm being too kind either doesn't like Carrey (it was the film that made me do a complete turn around), or needs to see the film again.

The overall tone of the film is a bit of a mix, it gets darker as the story goes along, but the jokes never mollify. I mean, it's a stalker story with clever film and television references... It's really hard to pin down the identity of this film.

This ranks as Stiller's best directorial performance to date. Reality Bites and Zoolander are good, but not great. This film expresses a lot more of his prowess. I see him as a very capable film maker, he is just yet to make his mark with something more widely appreciated.

The Cable Guy is by no means a classic film, and admittedly, you wont see it on any AFI lists anytime soon, but there is no denying the quality effort that was put into this film by all of it's contributors. And there are many of them -- check out all of those cameos! Chip Douglas' (Carrey) contrived relationship with his customer Steven (Broderick) ranks as one of the most memorable in recent history. It has set a precedent in black comedies that has scarcely been touched since.

I would have seen this film at least 30 times by now and it still seems fresh, and this has lead me to believe that the film probably needs to be viewed more than once for it to completely appreciated. I only wish that there were more people out there that 'get' this gem.

This concludes our broadcast day. Click.
187 out of 209 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Hidden Comedy
baehr7619 November 2004
Regardless of what people say, this movie has some very funny moments scattered throughout. When I first saw this movie, I will admit I didn't find it that funny. But it's one of those movies that grows on you with time. Even if you don't like it at first, give it some time. You have to accept this movie for what it is. A dark comedy aimed at poking fun of the lighter things in life. Jim Carrey obviously carries the movie with his infamous quirkiness, but Matthew Broderick holds his own as the anal retentive guy which he is great at playing. Whether you are talking about the Midevil Times restaurant scene or the karaoke scene, this movie is a gem. Highly recommended.
72 out of 78 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
watch it again. highly underrated
mr_maximus-12 October 2004
the most astonishing thing about the cable guy is that it simply wasn't liked by critics! however, this was to be expected given the way it was promoted. Not just another Jim Carrey "stupid humour" movie as it was unfortuanately promoted as, the cable guy was an entirely different genre; a comedy so dark it bordered on horror/thriller. and it is utterly brilliant.

to watch this movie a second time is highly recommended, as is an open mind to the dark web that Ben Stiller weaves masterfully. The actors fill their roles extremely well; Broderick perhaps a little underwhelming, but Carrey's astonishingly dark and eerie portrayal of his character carries the film. the cameos are brilliant, and show the respect the movie received by those who read the script, with many top actors willing to appear for only short roles. in the vein of other Stiller comedies that must not be taken at face value, such as the classic Zoolander, this film genuinely needs a repeat viewing. and try to forget Carrey was ever Ace Ventura before you watch the movie. naysayers will be converted!

full marks!
177 out of 202 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
One of Carrey's Best Performances
Josh29 August 2000
When first released, Cable Guy was such an unusual departure for Jim Carrey and his usual slapstick, manic, goofy comedies that people just didn't understand it or like it. When word of Carrey's enormous $20 million paycheck for this film spread, hopes were high that Cable Guy would be smothered in Carrey's slice of hilarious dementia to the extreme.

Carrey certainly brought an air of craziness to Chip Douglas, a lonely, TV-addicted, and creepy cable installer who befriends the unwilling Matthew Broderick (here, looking just nervous and bewildered for the entire film). But something was missing from this Carrey vehicle from the others: he was not all fun and games. In fact, he was downright funny weird, not funny haha.

So here lies one of the major problems people have with this film: it veers from dark comedy into darkness, period. Carrey isn't making an ass of himself in every scene. No. Instead, Carrey's Chip Douglas is an obsessive, extreme, two-faced sociopath. The result? What would be Jim Carrey's best performance to date, surpassed only by his Truman Burbank in The Truman Show.

Sure, it's got a story that's been done to death: normal guy meets psycho and is stalked. But oh, what fun it is to see Jim drag Matthew Broderick into such uncomfortable situations as playing Porno Password with his parents (Carrey whispering "Nipple" into Broderick's ear is absolute brilliance).

Cable Guy is definitely not for fans who want to see Jim Carrey do what created his career; that is, silly, goofy, and flailing comedy. However, avid fans of black comedies will love seeing Carrey's first step in his evolution as a gifted, serious, and undeniably interesting actor.

8 out of 10.
99 out of 115 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
A Different Slant...
Stevieheuge25 July 2004
The Cable Guy has now all but been forgotten by the movie world. It was released when Jim Carrey was on his way to being the new A list comedian, and thus, was considered only a slightly funny version of 'Ace Venture'. or The Mask' Or whatever. Personally, I don't consider The Cable Guy a comedy at all. Sure, there are some side splitting moments - Carrey is hilarious alongside Matthew Broderick's by the numbers 'average Joe', but id suggest that anyone who was not taken in by this film to look at it a little differently...

This is a horror film. I swear!

For me, Chip Douglas does not come across to me as a harmless lisping clingy chump - HELL NO! The guy is a maniac. An obsessive, intelligent, controlling, stalking "Fatal Attraction" styled nutter!

Watch it again!

For me, this is Jim Carrey's career launching performance. He has a lisp right? after a while, you don't really notice it do you? Right. This is an incredibly difficult task for an actor - maintaining a speech impediment for an entire film, keeping it level, and not exaggerating it, its really something to take a look at. Carrey's character is sick, and very very creepy. With Broderick et al giving relatively standard performances, Carrey's performance is a stand out, and Ben Stiller should be proud of this film and what it lead to in terms of Jim Carrey's career.

Trust me, if you didn't like this, take another look, and prepare to be freaked out by a very not funny, very creepy Carrey performance...

8/10
62 out of 76 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Carrey's greatest!
Infofreak30 June 2001
I divide movie fans into two types - those that love The Cable Guy, and those that don't. The latter I try and avoid.

Welcome to the most misunderstood, unjustly dissed movie of the 90s! Even Homer Simpson hates it! I'm not going waste time trying to change anybody's mind on this gem. If you don't see the sheer brilliance of this you're beyond hope. All I can say is that it ROCKS in every way. Jim Carrey has never been better as the creepy, psycho stalker "Chip Douglas", and Matthew Broderick is wonderfully likeable as Chip's unsuspecting customer. Add to that a tremendously cool supporting cast of cult legends including Charles Napier, Janeane Garofolo, Eric Roberts, Mr. Show's Bob and David, Sean Whalen,Owen Wilson, Andy Dick and BOTH members of Tenacious D, among others.

Full of memorable sequences - the Karaoke jam, the Medieval theme restaurant, director Ben Stiller's recurring duel role - The Cable Guy is smart-as-a-whip, black, surreal, FUNNY, FUNNY stuff!
81 out of 105 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Maybe you have to be a movie buff to "get it"?
MovieAddict201628 April 2004
To some people, movies are more than a passion. They are a way of life. For me, movies are not only one of my favorite hobbies, but I feel that all films express a certain reflection of the individual watching them. They say that you can tell a lot from a person by the way they act, talk, walk. I believe you can also tell a lot about a person from the sort of movies they like.

And I think that for Chip Douglas (Jim Carrey), movies and television are more than disposable entertainment. They are his entire life. He is consumed by film to such an extent that he creates multiple personas based on TV personalities. Many critics bashed Carrey's performance for being too sadistic. I think it's perfect because it's daring and hugely different than his other movies, and accurately reflects the mindset of a troubled individual who has grown up on his TV, rather than actually experiencing true life. Not many movies are like "The Cable Guy," and most of them don't have the guts to make a statement so bold and striking.

In "The Cable Guy" Carrey is the title character, his real name supposedly Chip Douglas, but towards the end we're not really sure what's true and false anymore. Chip works for a cable company and offers to hook up new apartment tenant Steven (Matthew Broderick) up with illegal cable. All Douglas asks for in return is a friendship, which Steven reluctantly agrees to. But what he doesn't realize is that Chip is an obsessive monster -- bred on films as a child and unable to separate celluloid from reality, he pursues a "Fatal Attraction" route and begins to stalk Steven. This is one of those movies, like "What About Bob?", where the hero is apparently the only one who realizes how crazy the "bad guy" is. Richard Dreyfuss went nuts trying to convince his family of Bill Murray's insanity in "Bob." In "The Cable Guy," Matthew Broderick has a tough time trying to expose Chip's sadistic side.

I am not Carrey's biggest fan. But I have to admit that over time the comedian has grown on me. And when I see him in "Dumb and Dumber" I can't picture anyone else taking on the role. Here he is in another role where I can see no one else portraying his character, and yet he still hasn't convinced me that he's a great talent. Strange.

I think Carrey's comedy is distinct and the reason his films have become more well-received over the years is because he has invented a certain area of modern-day comedy and thrived in that cubby hole for quite some time. I believe that humor is not existent; it is invented. Different forms of humor come and go. Right now, Adam Sandler and Jim Carrey are two of the highest-paid comedians the world, and yet in fifty years, where will they be?

Comedy is constantly changing. Humor is invented and re-invented to the point that what was once funny no longer is. That is why so many comedies from various eras of American history seem so outdated by today's standards. We are living in a world of Jim Carreys, Adam Sandlers, and Mike Myers. Although they still receive jobs, Steve Martin, Eddie Murphy, Bill Murray, and especially Dan Aykroyd -- some of the most popular comedians of the '80s -- have found themselves all stuck in ruts, filming kiddie movies for Disney and -- some of them (especially Murray and Aykroyd) -- departing comedy to pursue more serious careers in an area of film that will never become outdated: drama (for Murray, it is "Lost in Translation"; Aykroyd is less lucky with projects such as "Pearl Harbor," which might as well be classified as comedy).

The movie was directed by Ben Stiller, who carefully balances the neurotic against the sweet. The movie has its fair share of cameos, and in a great sequence Owen Wilson stars as a confident jerk who takes out Steven's girlfriend on a date. The Cable Guy finds out and, thinking he's doing Steven a favor, assaults Wilson in the bathroom of a fancy restaurant.

Perhaps the reason so many critics disliked "The Cable Guy" when it was released in 1996 was because they found themselves relating to Carrey's character. Maybe not. All I know is that it is one of the most daring and surprising comedies of the '90s -- not especially great but very unique and entertaining. I relate to its main character because we both love movies. My obsession is much calmer than Chip's. But the film does have a good eye for spotting good areas of satire. Yes, it's often rather dark and absurd. But isn't that the point?

4/5.
104 out of 138 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
I liked it
georgejo10 October 2004
Some people really hated the movie. I saw it, I'll note I saw it on video and frankly I loved it. I think this was the start of Carrey really coming out although it has a couple of crude jokes I could have done without. You really feel for Broderick who starts out having a slightly annoying friend and ends up dealing with a stalker! Somehow the stalker goes from being exceedingly annoying to outsiders gaining acceptance from everybody around his victim. He casts a spell having his victim believe that he is in danger of losing everything if he does not co-operate with his tomentor. Anyway, if you like a bit of light dark comedy and order a pizza, I think the movie is worth a watch.
43 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Daring tragi-comedy which satirises the effect of TV on the modern world. Carrey's song in the famous karaoke scene is NOT TO BE MISSED!
Ben Parker14 October 2004
Matthew Broderick asked his girl to marry him and she asked him to move out. The eccentric guy who shows up to install cable in his new pad arrives just at the right time to become his friend. Only The Cable Guy (Jim Carrey) wants to be a little closer than Broderick is comfortable with...

The Cable Guy is a brave and daring tragi-comedy, a rare sort of movie where you're laughing one minute and scared the next.

I'm not sure if we'll ever get another chance to see Jim Carrey go this far out on a limb: director Ben Stiller has seemingly given him total carte blanche, resulting in a seemingly completely over-the-top characterisation, yet not so over the top that we can't get involved in the plot and take what his character does as really happening.

Notice the way that the cable guy often mimics moments from his favourite movies and works them into his controlling of the plot of this movie - or how he starts humming movie-music along to certain scenes, while the actual music of the movie mirrors the music the cable guy is creating. This will clue you into the other subtle elements which add towards this movie's satire of the effect TV has had on the modern psyche.

Its worth the price of rental alone to see Carrey's rendition of "Don't You Want Somebody to Love" in the famous karaoke scene.

After repeated viewings since its initial release, its one of the most memorable Carrey comedies, and one of the most memorable flicks of the 90's. 4/5.
47 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
The Future is Now...
Guardia15 December 2004
Warning: Spoilers
This movie is one of Jim Carrey most perfectly crafted. His subtle style slipped through the cracks after his horribly obnoxious endeavours in both Ace Ventura and The Mask (but they were funny too). He actually addressed this phenomena in a SNL sketch, where in his opening monologue a fat guy in the front row refuses to laugh at any of the jokes except his trade-mark lines i.e. "Sssssssmokin'!", or "Alllllllrighty-then!", or "Le-hooo... -zeherr", and so on. This sort of attitude continued onto the Truman Show set, where none of the crew were allowed to comment on any other of his "meatball" sort of films. Ahhh boy.

Anyway, this film is unsettling and funny. Chip Douglas is an interesting guy because he is both desperate and confident. On one hand, he can't believe someone wants to know his name, on the other, he is adept at sabotaging Stevens life, even putting him behind bars. Clever huh? It is underrated and Carrey's manner is really very good. It is jam-packed full of subtle connotations and interesting undercurrents as Chip crosses the line again and again...
14 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Misunderstood!
Michael smith27 September 2004
Warning: Spoilers
I think the problem for a viewer of this film is they have a clear preconception of what to expect and think they are getting less than what they paid for. This was undoubtedly what hindered my appreciation of the film the first time i watched it a few years ago and i think why some critics and the IMDb mark it poorly. The only mistake of the film is it tries to please Carey fans with classic Carey comedy (which he does so well in 'Ace Ventura' and 'The Mask')and challenge the viewers intellectually as well. As a viewer this is a difficult duality to comprehend and enjoy, however on 2nd and 3rd viewings the inherent quality's present themselves. Careys character (i say character because he has a multitude of names in the film) although surreal is the product of a technology that effects us all: the television.

---------SPOILER---------------------

In a sense he is the darkest product of that technology a man without a singular identity but that engendered by years raised by the television. Careys character has no understanding of social interaction in the real world and so fails to connect with reality. Instead he acts inappropriately within every context and is subsequently rejected by Steven (Played by Matthew Brodrick who brilliantly captures the normality of the average joe, in a sense he is the pure opposite of Carey, almost grounded in reality superfluously): "i just don't have enough room in my life for a new friend". The film ends poetically with Carey's epiphany that he must destroy his creator. Symbolically Careys conflict with television represents every child's relationship with its parent culminating in the child's rebellion. Great film 8/10
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Laugh-out-loud, on-the-floor hilarious film!
Catherine_Grace_Zeh17 November 2005
In my opinion, THE CABLE GUY is a laugh-out-loud, on-the-floor hilarious film! When the cable guy (Jim Carrey) sang "Somebody To Love," I laughed really hard. One thing I couldn't stand about him was his lisp. Also, he just couldn't seem to leave Steven (Matthew Broderick) alone. If my cable guy was like that, I'd get a restraining order. When the cable guy whispered a part of a woman's body when he and Steven's family played "Password," I was really grossed out! In addition, Robin (Leslie Mann) was a very beautiful woman... especially in the clothing she wore when she went out on dates. Before I wrap this up, I'd like to say, "Be careful who you trust. Also, find out if your cable guy is really a cable guy." Now, in conclusion, I highly recommend this laugh-out-loud, on-the-floor hilarious film to all you Jim Carrey fans who have not seen it.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Joker Noir on TeeVee
tedg24 July 2008
Humor is a matter of taste, but when it is as dependent on timing and tone as this is, one at least has to admire it.

You might consider this as rooted in a comic story of obsession.

Or you could easily ignore that and get into the posturing of Carey.

But what I see is an attempt at twisting noir: the idea that the viewer perturbs life, usually the life of a random innocent. Its a profound notion this noir idea that the watcher delivers the movie. Here the watcher is in the movie, delivering it via cable. He has the identity of past "movies."

Its amazingly clever.

I watched this because I recently saw Heath Ledger in Dark Night. As widely publicized, Ledger and Nolan drew heavily from "Clockwork Oragne." But Heath had a very hard time finding the voice. I believe this helped him. The similarities are striking.

Next up in this study; "Equus."

Ted's Evaluation -- 2 of 3: Has some interesting elements.
9 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Jim Carrey delivers an outstanding performance
ineffectualpoet13 March 2006
i am a huge jim carrey fan, so any movie he is in I'm guaranteed to watch. this movie is by far one of my favourites. jim carrey passes of as a cable guy desperate for a friend who stalks a customer steve covacks (matthew broderick), who also plays a fine performance. this film uses dark comedy well, and as a fan of comedy film's this is one of my favourite dark films. jim carrey's neurotic character, with his lisp and need to hide his true identity under the false names of television characters is great. i love how he plays chip douglas, or whatever his real name is. if you love jim carrey, you will be surprised with the performance. it is unlike his others, he plays a dark stalker unlike the jolly crazy characters you usually see him play. if you love jim carrey, watch this film :).
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
VIEWS ON FILM review of The Cable Guy
viewsonfilm.com29 July 2014
Warning: Spoilers
The Cable Guy is the type of dark comedy that may have been overlooked by many critics and a host of moviegoers. When it was released in the mid-90's, Jim Carrey's fans were expecting another Ace Ventura or Dumb and Dumber. When they were taken down a different road, they kind of stayed away (a rare weak box office take for the Gumby-like funnyman). I, however, embraced the darkness and relentless mischief that his character displayed. Make no doubt about it; he earned his paycheck ($20 million I believe). And yes Jim sometimes goes over the top (the lisp thing got a little tiring), but he finds common ground with the addition of Matthew Broderick playing "straight man" to his lonely, desperate soul (Carrey's character has 3-4 names which I won't reveal).

The film is not really about cable installment. It's about the need for friendship and the measures taken to achieve it. With each viewing (if you decide to view it more than once), you realize more and more that The Cable Guy is vastly underrated. Look for funny cameos from young unknowns Owen Wilson, Lesile Mann and star in the making Jack Black (pre Hi-Fidelity). Ben Stiller's direction is risky but it pays off showcasing a flick you can laugh at while feeling a tiny speck of empathy at the same time. Oh and watch for a side plot involving Stiller. Just think the 1993 murder trial of the Menendez brothers. Remember it's a parody so there is no need to take it too seriously.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Necessary protest vote
David18 July 2013
Warning: Spoilers
I wouldn't normally have left a review for this but stumbled on the shockingly low mark and was compelled to write something! What a sick joke this movie has such a low rating on IMDb. I have a sneaking suspicion it's down to the pathological Jim Carrey haters rather than based on the movie's merits. I'm giving it a star more than I would have otherwise as a protest vote.

I guess if a particular person in a movie annoys you that much then it's going to preclude it from being a good movie for you, *but surely* you can take a step back, and say something like "ah now wait a minute, that's just my personal dislike for an individual and it wouldn't really be fair to transfer that dislike onto any collective effort they happened to be a part of". What about the poor writer, director, other actors and the crew? I know I've made a big assumption there and it's possible people just didn't find it funny. I find that so hard to believe though - I've seen *a hell of a lot* of comedies over the last 40 years, and find the vast majority made from 1990 onwards to be safe, lazy and badly-written, or more recently trying to be zany or alternative and failing miserably. However I found this surprisingly well-written, well-made and brilliantly-acted(comedy acting, not Oliver/Gielgud!) and all-round compelling and bloody hilarious.

I think it's a great idea - the central character's minor misdemeanour at the start results in immediate payback in the form of a demented psychopath taking over his life. It gets pretty dark in a couple of places which somehow makes the humour work better.

Whatever you think of Jim Carrey, the range of stuff he pulls off on screen is incredible. Like a reanimated old Vaudevillian on PCP. I found him totally convincing as the lonely Walter Mitty/psycho who really just needs a friend and uses what he knows best to make it happen. Broderick is a born fall guy and effortlessly provides the anything-for-a-quiet-life victim, ill-equipped to halt the psycho's hostile takeover of his life.

There's also a micro-element of social comment on using people, friendship, the abuse of power, and the influence TV can have on a person's life. Tutt and scoff all you want at that, but can you honestly say there's even that much depth in any other comedies made now? So for anybody who doesn't hate Jim Carrey, please don't listen to all the negative reviews and give this one a chance.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Misunderstood half-thriller
cedde64 March 2013
Steven Kovacks (Matthew Broderick), a designer who just separated from his girlfriend, has cable installed to his new apartment. Enters the quirky and slightly deranged cable guy (Jim Carey) whom then never exits...

A rather simple plot which became in 1996 a very odd and yet pleasurable film indeed. Although following a pretty straight forward structure, the script provides enough background to Jim Carey's character to make of him a lot more than just a run-of-the-mill weirdo while Matthew Broderick aptly counterbalance the excessive title role by a fair performance of the without-a-glitch nice guy of the piece. The constant referencing to TV culture also makes it an entertaining and strangely enough somewhat nostalgic experience. It is quite obvious that a fair amount of improvisation was incorporated to the piece to sometimes great effect (the "Silence of the Lamb" episode anyone?) which I suppose is probably the most effective way to work with someone such as Jim Carey. Curiously however, the main asset of the film also becomes at some point its main shortcoming. This was to Jim Carey what 1994's "The Good Son" was to Macauley Culkin: a departure from their comedic roots to more darker territories, but as opposed to Joseph Ruben's thriller, "The Cable Guy" seems to always hesitate to boldly go as far as its story would allow it to. In Jim Carey's work this is certainly darker than anything he had done up to that point but if this was also supposed to be a thriller then it felt a little bland, the star's antics sometimes overshadowing the actual depth of the story.

Still, don't let this put you off for "The Cable Guy", playfully directed by Ben Stiller, is one of these misunderstood films that are really worth watching for its clever take on the media in general and the hidden harm you find it does to people's mind once stripped off the apparent sense of comfort it is supposed to bring. It might have been done a little too light-heartedly maybe but at least it was done at all. And decently done too. This is a more serious film than it looks at first glance and that alone makes it an interesting one. No masterpiece mind you, but then again, it never pretended to be one. Like many films of that ilk, it was generally trashed upon by critics back then, in this case for its lack of downright slapstick-laugh-out-loud moments (Carey's salary the true reason for the furore) although they also criticized "Ace Ventura: when natures call" for being completely empty, the previous year. Oh well, sometimes one can never win...
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Jim Carrey is top of his class.
guitarmasta-242-11072018 November 2012
I've always been a Carrey fan, so when I stumbled upon this while DVD hunting at a local video store, naturally I bought it. I was not disappointed.

Jim Carrey was made for the role of Chip Douglas. His acting in this movie is all but un-paralleled. He really shows us what he is capable of in the acting department.

If Jim Carrey can be said to be one of those actors where you either love him or hate him, then the same can be said for this movie. It has a very particular type of often quite dark humor in it, which doesn't appeal to a lot of people, but in which Carrey thrives.

If you didn't like this movie, give it another watch. You might change your mind.

This movie is a must for any Carrey fan, or any fan of good 90's comedy. Ben Stiller does a fantastic job directing, and the rest of the cast supports Carrey's role brilliantly.

10/10

(Also, I heard that the Chip Douglas role wasn't originally intended for Carrey, but after watching it, can you honestly picture anyone else executing it so damn well??)
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
An Underrated Black Comedy
Desertman8426 September 2012
Warning: Spoilers
The Cable Guy is a dark comedy film that was directed by Ben Stiller.It features Jim Carrey, Matthew Broderick and Leslie Mann. It is a story about a needy, psychologically unbalanced cable-television installer that forces his friendship upon an unsuspecting bachelor, who has just broken up with his fiancée.

Steven is forlorn over his recent breakup with girlfriend Robin. When he moves into a new apartment, Steven comes in contact with Chip, who shows up to hook up the cable. Before he knows it, and whether he likes it or not, Steven has a new best-friend in the obnoxious and clingy Chip. However, Steven soon learns that obnoxious is a walk in the park compared to Chip's behavior when Steven tells him he doesn't want to be his pal anymore. What's worse, no one believes Steven when he accuses the seemingly harmless Chip of being a malevolent menace.

This is one of the most underrated comedies of all time.It brilliantly constructs awkward situations that neither character can find ways to get out of and deftly plays with the bizarre nature of human relationships.Also,it is a hilarious black comedy that proved too dark and too smart even for Jim Carrey fans.Definitely,a must-see.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Carrey's best comedic performance, and a terrific dark comedy
ametaphysicalshark24 March 2007
Jim Carrey has only been better than this in two movies, "Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind", and "Man on the Moon", but both were more or less dramatic roles. Aside from the classic "Dumb and Dumber", none of his comedy roles can even begin to compare to his superb, electric performance here. Most people I know don't really enjoy this, but that's because they can't really relate, or they don't want to. Carrey plays 'Chip Douglas' (which might be his real name, or it might not), a Cable Guy brought up on TV and movies. His performance works so well because he normally goes too far with his antics, making himself seem annoying on occasion, rather than funny. Here, he plays a lunatic, so there are no limits for him to adhere to, and where he would normally seem over the top (the Medieval Times sequence), he is genuinely hilarious.

Now, I might not be a cable guy, but I'd be lying if I said that I don't spew lines from random movies out of nowhere, and I'd be lying if I said I didn't have an obsession. Maybe it makes fellow fanatics a bit unsettled to see themselves compared to maniacs like Chip (which is probably why the critics assaulted this as well). Although this is by and large Carrey's movie, there is no doubt that Matthew Broderick, Jack Black, and Leslie Mann help elevate this film further with excellent performances. Ben Stiller has directed a few other films, but none of them even come close to matching this. He keeps a perfect balance between the dark and the funny, so "The Cable Guy" doesn't come across as too mean or sadistic. He also shows up in a running gag as a former child star from a cheesy old sitcom who shoots his own brother and goes to court, a trial whose verdict is highly anticipated by pretty much everyone. Owen Wilson has another great cameo as a cocky ass who takes Steven's (Broderick) girlfriend (Mann) on a date and gets assaulted by Chip when he goes to the washroom.

I have never seen a movie like "The Cable Guy", and chances are you haven't either. This is a great movie and one of my personal favorites. It's important you don't watch this expecting a cheery slapstick comedy. If you know what to expect, this will be a fun time.

8/10
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
My Favorite 90's movie!
Christian Garcia22 January 2009
Well in my opinion one of my favorite movies ever. The humor is 90's and a lot of people don't like that. I grew up with this movie, and I loved it ever since. Jim Carey is my favorite actor, and to see him so dark and creepy just makes me like him even more. His performance was outstanding. I do recommend this to anyone who loves Jim Carey, 90's, and great twist. This movie also includes an outstanding cast that we still see today such as Owen Wilson and Ben Stiller. This movie is just too awesome, I don't know why the critics didn't like it, but this movie just was not marketed well like it should have. Everyone in the movie was outstanding and I just wish this movie got more because it was very good and 90's. Just watch the movie, you might not like the humor but you will love the story and movie!
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
If it was released NOW it would have been a SMASH HIT! 10/10
imperfectpete15 January 2009
OK i never got it as a kid, but 10 years later,... i think Ben stiller should re-release this, it was just ahead of its time. Haters, try watching it now... its amazing man! The cable guy is utterly insane! I completely got his character, hes just a Complete NuttEr! hahaa... Its well paced, well filmed, Lots of jimbo at his best and wackiness! Its Bonkers man, Probably even more wacky than the ace Ventura character. I've never laughed so much at a jimbo film, and i understood his character and felt his pain and anguish and it definitely gave me my Jim Carry HIT! i do feel that, because it got a bad review years ago, people watched it with a bad expectation and therefore hated it before they watched it. But watch it again with a clear head and make your own judgement...if your a fan of Jim Carry, your in for a real treat!! a masterpiece ... the comedy is in the NOW man!
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A very underrated comedic masterpiece
joh080222 December 2008
First and foremost, I would like to thank the TBS TV station. If not for them I wouldn't have even heard of this classic comedy.I was up at like 2 in the morning and this was on. It was freaking fantastic! I went and bought it the next day. This movie was way ahead of its time, with great direction by Ben stiller and a Judd Apatow production. Also was the brilliant and yet creepy performances by Jim Carrey and Matthew Broderick. they played a very good comedic team, and Jim Carrey really shined as the film's antagonistic cable guy who just needs a friend. this is one of those hidden masterpieces that people don't know about. Go buy the movie folks. It's $6.99 at best buy and worth every penny. Although it has very dark undertones, it never ceases to put me in a good mood for like the rest of the day. I love it. 10 out of 10 for sure.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Much better in retrospect
nbubacz28 October 2008
This is a film I, along with many others, dismissed as bland,strange, and bogus upon it's release in 1996. I wasn't, and am not now a Carrey fan. His comedy during his build up years was too wacky and manic for me. Kind of funny if one was high I suppose, but thats just me. Millions of people adored the guy. Stiller I did like then,thinking of him as somewhat of a genius at the time and in the next few following years of his work. Strangely this has reversed. I appreciate Carrey's work now much more in retrospect and Stiller seems stale to me.

This movie is a very dark film, bordering on horror-suspense. I saw someone mention that Carreys overacting mania is, and this is probably the only time, quite appropriate for his role. In his zany comedies, yeah I get the point, I just get turned off by it. But here, it totally works with the role.

The failure in reviews and box office, if in fact this was a true B.O. failure, I cant recall, was due to people not ready for Carrey in anything but zany stuff. The critics found it unfunny and uneven. They were wrong, as was I, this thing has aged very well. Put this release next to Carreys subsequent work in quasi-dramas and you cant deny this is a top-notch portrayal. Not an easy movie, not a hilarious movie. Just a very,very dark and very, very good movie.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Horribly underrated movie
yashmoshin8 August 2008
This is the first comment I've ever written, so I thought I'd right it about my favorite movie. This is one of the only two 10's I've ever given, and not just because it's underrated, which it is. This is one of the most hilarious movies I've ever seen, and easily the best dark comedy ever conceived. Ben Stiller is a great director, Jim Carrey is amazing, and Broderick isn't as annoying as everyone says he is. The only possible reason this movie's rating is so low is that many people watched this thinking they were watching another dumb and silly Jim Carrey comedy. This movie is actually very smart. So, if you watch this movie knowing that it is not the usual Jim Carrey fare, you will probably love this movie as much as I did.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews