IMDb > "Sabrina, the Teenage Witch" (1996) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Sabrina, the Teenage Witch"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsmessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Sabrina, the Teenage Witch" More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 10:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [Next]
Index 91 reviews in total 

30 out of 32 people found the following review useful:

Sabrina is a very entertaining show (well until College seasons)

Author: Chandlergellar from United Kingdom
6 October 2005

Sabrina The Teenage Witch is a very well produced and funny show because of one good reason, the characters all have great chemistry. The Story is about a young half witch/ half mortal called Sabrina Spellman (Melissa Joan Hart) and she went to live with her Aunts Hilda (Caroline Rhea) and Zelda (Beth Broderick) and their world dominating mad cat Salem Saberhagen (Voiced By Nick Bakey). My favourite character (s) are Sabrina because Melissa Joan hart is a very funny comedy actress and she can make everything funny (plus shes fine), Salem because he makes me laugh all the time i watch him Nick Bakay is a very talented actor and Aunt Hilda, Caroline Rhea is the best actress on the whole show because she portrays wacky Hilda with brilliance. This show was very funny when they had Mr Kraft, Libby Chessler and Harvey Kinkle but it went down hill when they brought in talentless actors and actress, such as that girl from Clueless and Solei Moon Frye who is not a good actress at all.

In Conclusion i give the School Years of Sabrina 10/10 and the College years a 7/10 because i felt that it lost its sparkle after this! Sabrina The Teenage Witch 1996-2003

Was the above review useful to you?

36 out of 45 people found the following review useful:

The Best Of TGIF

10/10
Author: Ginger87 from New York City
25 August 2004

I used to love watching "Sabrina, the Teenage Witch" Friday nights on ABC's TGIF. I think this was one of the best shows on TGIF. My friends and I used to get together every Friday just to watch this show and we never missed an episode.

My favorite character was Salem. He was adorable and sooo funny. I liked Sabrina's boyfriend Harvey, too. He was HOT. I think Melissa Joan Hart played a good teenage witch, too. My favorite episodes were "Sabrina Through the Looking Glass" and "Hilda and Zelda: the Teenage Years". Those episodes were great.

Overall I really miss this show. I hope one day ABC brings it back with new episodes. I give this show 10/10 stars.

Was the above review useful to you?

37 out of 48 people found the following review useful:

Sabrina is the greatest!

Author: sabrina0638 from United States
21 December 2004

I love Sabrina! I really hope the whole series comes out to buy on DVD, because I can guarantee that I would buy and watch all of them. And I know I am not alone. The show is funny, Sabrina is so cute and fun, and Salem is pretty witty. If I could, I would watch Sabrina every day (which I practically can since it is on every day but Sunday) but still, it hardly seems like enough. It is on a newer channel (to me anyways) called the N and now there are new shows on that channel that I hope to god don't replace Sabrina. Not unless all 7 seasons come out on DVD-which they really, really should! I looked on e-bay for Sabrina stuff and bought the original movie (it is on its way), but other than that, there wasn't enough. So really Sabrina's only flaw is that they haven't made enough for the loyal viewer to buy!

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 29 people found the following review useful:

Sabrina, the Cutest Witch

Author: SanDiego from Mrs. Beach
5 April 2000

There have been many comedy witch movies and TV shows through the years. With little exception the witch is usually cast opposite type, going for a beautiful actress in the role. From Veronica Lake to Elizabeth Montgomery to Michelle Pfeiffer beauty has worked it's magic spell. Lovely Melissa Joan Hart has evolved from the cute kid in "Clarissa" to a sexy young actress with remarkable comedic talent. Her facial expressions, delivery, and attitude make the premise enjoyable. In a day when most actresses go on a purging binge and cop an attitude that will land them a Melrose Place or Scream 2 role (and a rehab clinic...or jail), it's nice to know that the girl-next-store is enjoying remarkable success playing, of all things, a wholesome witch.

Sabrina, like Melissa, is very attractive, but accessible. Despite her magical differences she attempts to live a normal teenager's life. While trying not to stand out she also keeps her individuality in her dress, her tastes, her friends, and her morals. Trying to do that and not be an outcast is tough for witches AND mortals. Sabrina is a terrific role model for kids and enjoyable for all ages.

Now, a word about a recent magazine photo shoot that showed a sexier side of Melissa Joan Hart. I'm not going to make the obvious comment that the actress must be separated from the character she plays...well, duh! Judging any young adult, be her Sabrina the Teenage Witch or Melissa Joan Hart, one must be pleased with the judgements made so far and have some trust at this point. The photos were very tasteful and showed no more skin than we might expect to see Sabrina or Melissa wear at the pool or beach. I think what was threatening is that many people assumed Melissa Joan Hart was the cute teenager they see on television and not the beautiful adult she is in real life. Seeing her in poses and make-up not typical for a teenager was an awakening. As a young adult, there was nothing wrong with the photos and nothing parents should be concerned about their children seeing. Not only is Sabrina a lovely role model, but so is Melissa Joan Hart. She shows us how to appear sexy without being pornographic (something teen pop queens delve into frequently). Of all the photos I have seen of her, there are none that I wouldn't allow my 13-year old son to pin-up on his wall. I appreciate she is both wholesome and attractive and she has set limits.

It is wonderful to see this actress literally grow up on television, I just wished that her character was allowed to grow up as quickly as the actress herself.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Great fun!

Author: hppg
4 September 2005

"Sabrina the Teenage Witch" is an amusing television series focussing on the trials and tribulations of, obviously, teenage witch Sabrina. Sabrina lives with her two (witch) aunts and her talking cat Salem, and in the show she humorously tries to balance her magical life out with her regular one, trying to avoid disasters. I really enjoyed this show. It's a bit silly at times, but overall it is genuinely funny. There is some great chemistry between the two aunts Hilda and Zelda, the cat looks fake but is still very funny, and Sabrina's boyfriend Harvey is very nice. Melissa Joan Hart is engaging and likable as Sabrina. The episodes are fairly short but fairly tightly written, and the special effects aren't very fancy but I still found them suitable. I highly recommend this show.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Really, an excellent show

10/10
Author: Besok (besokster@msn.com) from United States
28 November 2006

Why did I enjoy the show to the last episode? Because of the true talent Melissa Joan Hart and her supporting cast had of demonstrating that whit, comedy, light-hearted humor, and deep thought could actually coexist. What I enjoyed most was the fact that I could come home from a hard day's work, and bust a smile... I was inspired... and why? It was an inspiration to watch as this magical person was so happy while helping others.

Sabrina was a hero in my opinion... even though she was vulnerable in ways that were not so different from our own... to very different; she had powers at her fingertip, wishes, and command that could be used for good or bad which may only exist in many of our imaginations. Most everything we see, have, know about, own, or even desire... can be used for good or bad, and how we choose to define that, defines the person we are.

She traveled the globe and other realms with these constant and unwaivering ideas in mind... to learn, to live, to laugh, and to love. She was always learning how to improve her skills to the benefit of all around her; she made mistakes as she was living life, going through different journey's of growth, as she, her aunts, and Salem (the underrated, yet imperfect hero) did well to demonstrate that even through mistakes, you can still be noble, gifted, and wonderful.

She also demonstrated many selfless, learning, and loving acts as she went along her way. If this isn't reason enough for 10 stars in this war torn world where people are so hostile toward each other, not realizing how differences are the spice of life rather than a reason to kill... then I don't know what is. This show was most certainly a trip to a better world as well as an inspiration to be better ourselves and a gift intended to bust a smile on our chops... I've heard from a doctor before that everything that I've mentioned above leads to a healthy "hart"... and isn't that what we all need? :)

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

I love Sabrina!

10/10
Author: dee.reid from United States
27 August 2008

And it's not because since her days on "Clarissa Explains It All" that I've had a bit of a crush on Melissa Joan Hart, who at the time this show was popular was already well into her 20s, but was still able to get teenage roles. "Sabrina, the Teenage Witch" was Hart's next big leap after her "Clarissa" days. Based on the comic strip, Sabrina Spellman is - you guessed it! - a teenage witch who attempts to balance her witchcraft antics with the demands of everyday teenage life. She is aided in her endeavors by her two aunts and a wise-cracking black cat as she goes from high school, to college, and finally to her career in journalism.

As usual, Hart is the show's heart & soul. "Sabrina, the Teenage Witch" is quite moving and very funny, and it's a shame that it took me so long to realize how great it was. I only wish there were some newer episodes that we could all enjoy.

10/10

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

A show that lost the magic...

Author: xony from Salem
12 January 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Once upon a time there used to be a teenage witch named Sabrina that made us laugh and have a nice time while we were watching.

"Sabrina, the teenage witch" was a show full of life and...well, charm. Sadly, over the last 2 seasons, the magic started to fade away.

The show was filled with fun, light-hearted adventures and situations that the characters had to manage, with the aid of magic, but never lacking of 'mortal' emotions. Along with Sabrina, who was portrayed perfectly by the beautiful and talented Melissa Joan Hart, we got to experience her new-found powers, achieve her magic license and discover the secret of her family.

The cast was amazing. Caroline Rhea and Beth Broderick were fantastic in each and every episode and shone a light of their own even in the dusk of the show itself. No one could have predicted what happened next.

As Sabrina grew up the show was forced to put her in new situations such as getting a job, moving out and starting college. However they could have done it better. MUCH BETTER. The constant eliminations of characters increased more and more. We even lost Harvey, but I thought he had to go sooner or later. But the breaking point was when aunt Hilda and Zelda mysteriously disappeared. I had not seen the show in a while when this happened, and when I saw I was in shock. The show was over.

The only laugh we could get was from Salem. The plot line didn't feel good anymore. The characters were unfamiliar (Who's that guy? Wedding? What?!) and we were all lost. The magic was gone.

Finally, towards the very end of the series we got Harvey back and the show had a perfect final episode. It was the proper way to say good bye to something that made us happy for a long while but slowly died away. The way it should be. It was just the perfect end.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Sabrina and Harvey

Author: christopherandbarb from Wichita, Kansas
7 February 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I love this show! We (my husband, son and I) watch it every morning! I wish the writers had continued the story after Sabrina leaves Aaron at the alter and rides off with Harvey on his motorcycle. They make such a sweet couple. They could drive to Vegas and get married while she's still in her wedding dress. They could live in her family's house and finish college. There are a lot of possibilities they could have gone with, beside "and, they lived happily ever after." They could even bring back Hilda and Zelda. They could have included Roxy and Morgan, as they finish college, too. The end really left us hanging. Other than that, "Sabrina rocks!!!"

Was the above review useful to you?

19 out of 34 people found the following review useful:

Has Gone Downhill

Author: Julie from US
14 October 2002

When this show first went on the air, it was a good show but got to be a little repetitive. When she went to college, it got a little worse. Then this season, it went way downhill. They got rid of the aunts (and Josh and Miles) with no explanation at all. Not to mention that Sabrina took a job at an entertainment magazine so the show could get famous guest stars every week. Also, if Sabrina is living in her aunts' house in Boston, how is it that she works in New York? I think this should definitely be Sabrina's last season.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 10:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history