Our Friends in the North (TV Mini-Series 1996– ) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
21 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
One of the greatest TV Dramas
mattjtemp3 December 2003
I felt compelled to comment after reading a disparaging comment, I too come from a 'North/South' family with a mix of working and middle class and in no way found this patronising or contrived.

Instead I found a drama that personalised Britain's modern history, which also gave me an anchor of historical facts while watching to really emerse myself in the stories.

I found the characters at times to be self important but this was clearly the intention- Eccleston's character Nicky was self-important and selfish with his views- these are character flaws. This was the brilliance of the length of the series as you become so intimately knowledgeable of the characters. The tragedy of Geordie and the on/off nature of Nicky and Mary's relationship. By the end you feel like you have lived their lives with them, something only achievable with a top notch cast and great script.

I would unreservedly recomend this to anyone, even outside of the UK, as it is quite simply brilliant drama.
29 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Remarkable achievement
garethm-222 March 2004
Warning: Spoilers
*spoilers*

Our Friends In the North is an exceptional drama mini-series that cleverly tells the history of 30 years of British politics through the mid-60's to the mid-90's from the perspectives of four wonderful characters. It is part soap opera but so what? Quality is surely all that matters and, just like the widely regarded Godfather trilogy, this is a wonderful study on family and friends. Regardless, Our Friends cannot be boxed into any one genre because its scope is so broad, encompassing themes that are wide and varied, dealing not only with political milestones such as the three day week and the miners strike but also with police corruption and Soho's pornographic industry. Admittedly there is quite a bit of 'It's year x, so this must be happening' (e.g. '1964? That'll be House of the Rising Sun methinks!') but for the most part I found that, like any history lesson, it was no bad thing as long as it was seamlessly added. Besides, complaining about probably the best ever television soundtrack must rate as one of the all time greatest IMDB nitpicks.

The most important and distinctive aspect of the soap opera elements is that we are not only able to witness the short-term consequences of people's actions but also the long-term consequences. Central to this is how closely all four of the central characters end up resembling their parents whom they had scorned years earlier. Perhaps a more heart-wrenching instance though, despite its inevitability, is the break up of Tosker and Mary's marriage after 15 years, Tosker unable to even muster the courage to tell his own young children why he is leaving.

Another significant difference is that Our Friends boasts some of the finest acting talent around. Christopher Eccleston, Daniel Craig and Gina McKee, all stars in the making, give breathtaking performances. Mark Strong, as Mary's dim but ambitious husband Tosker, drags the side down but only slightly. Eccleston does another fantastic job as Nicky Hutchinson, turning an unsympathetic character (snobby, opinionated, at times uncaring) into one whom the audience really cares for. We recognise his flaws from our own youths and we also empathise with the self-loathing that accompany all those early flaws in later life. The one big difference between Nicky and the others is that he is often aware of his flaws even when they're leading him down the wrong road. Mary (McKee), on the other hand, perhaps because she has a wheelchair bound younger brother, ends up living life as a martyr and it is only in the last episode when her son angrily points it out to her that she finally realises the truth of it. All four are decent in their own ways though and this not only makes their flaws forgivable but it also makes us care deeply for each one of them. That is particularly true of Geordie (Craig). Brought up in a dysfunctional family he nevertheless has an irresistible charm about him but is sadly far too easily led and ends up paying a high price for his naivety in cutthroat London. He never recovers even though, against all odds, he does see the series to its end. His time in Soho is gripping, giving us a rare glimpse into a seedy yet fascinating society ruled by the equally charming porn baron Benny Barrett (Malcolm McDowell). McDowell's character, arguably not only the best of this series but also of his accomplished career, is a fantastic one being totally at odds with the usual foul-mouthed hard man associated with this type of role. He's not the only British veteran to turn in a marvellous performance though. Peter Vaughn plays Nicky's father Felix, once a voice of the people but now cynical of everything associated with politics after years of broken promises. Vaughn is amazing in the early episodes but even more so latterly as an Alzheimer's sufferer. It's a gruesome site, not only witnessing Felix's sad plight but also seeing how difficult it is for Nicky to handle, particularly his sudden realisation that it is already too late to mend a relationship that has never been on the best of terms.

Our Friends then does at times offer up a pretty depressing view of our own existence particularly as the characters get older. The ideals that most of them harbour in their youths invariably lead to crushing disappointment and subsequent diversion towards the paths of least resistance. To illustrate this point further the conformist majority almost always outgun the likes of P.C. Roy Johnson who retain their principles into old age. So yes, it is a drama that makes it clear that life is tough with no clear-cut resolutions. However if there is one positive aspect to take from this then it is to realise that we should make the most of our times with those whom we love and cherish. Even if it doesn't send that message across to you personally then it shouldn't really matter because, despite its world weary stance, this is nevertheless great entertainment, beautifully told, wonderfully written, fabulously directed and endlessly watchable thanks to having a cast of characters to die for. Far from being the ‘Emperors' New Clothes' of British TV it is actually the knight in shining armour that restored not only my own faith but a lot of other peoples faith in what seemed to be a dying medium.
15 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Far better than average UK mini series
toncasgirl20 September 2005
Brilliant series documenting 4 Geordie's lives, from young adulthood to middle/old age, and set to a backdrop of politics. More a social documentary than a mini series, not only on our times but on the fallibility of the human race.

The acting is outstanding, particularly from Christopher Eccleston, Daniel Craig and Gina McKee who have all become very successful, in part, no doubt, due to this series.

Combine this with an amazing soundtrack covering over 30 years of great music and it gets even better. The inclusion of Pulp's "Common People" in the final episode is one of the most effective uses of music in film ever! The song builds as the action builds and the crescendo is heartbreaking but so realistic that I challenge you not to cry in despair for our young.

US citizens may find the accents a bit hard to cope with, heck even some Londoner's will struggle, but it is well worth persevering.

Moving, gritty, realistic OFITN is a must-see.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
5 Star Series
theinvestigator25 September 2005
No offence Burrobaggy but the review is stereotypical of people with historical chips on their shoulder the size of Knots Landing. WAKE UP. The north east has changed / is changing/ will keep changing. It is not the outpost of England so "fondly" reconciled by anyone living south of the Midlands.

OK, so it's gritty, grim and depressing at times and the one thing I completely agree with is that the smug McKee is truly vile. But put the history of the program in context - it portrayed things "at the time". And that's exactly what it was - yes - even with the heavy dialogue and accent. Take it for what it was, a portrayal of life when it happened throughout the decades.

I happen to think it was a tremendous series brilliantly created for TV depicting credible characters which you warm to, relate to and sympathise with. Heck you even want to be on the frontline with them battling against the Police for the rights of the Miners (and I never agreed with that dispute!) Having recently rented the series after watching it originally on TV I retained the same feeling on conclusion. It left me feeling sad, fulfilled and wanting more even though that was never going to happen. This is truly an excellent drama. Put aside a weekend, rent it and lock out the world. And whatever you do, don't believe the north east is grim.....
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Best British drama of the 90's
magicman80_uk9 September 2001
This is one of the very few programs in British TV that actually lived up to the hype. It was billed as one of the best TV drama's we would see and it delivered. It is the story about a group of friends from Newcastle and how they grow up from being angry young teenagers to mild middle aged parents. It starts off in the 60's and finished in the 90's. In that time it documents the change that they themselves have and the change that the north east had during the 30 years. The rebellious 60's to the 70's strikes and power shortages and the 80's hard times for working class families dished out by thatcher.

The series culminates in one of the most unforgettable endings in British dramatic history. Never has and Oasis song been more appropriate. I also have to admit that i cried at the end. This truly was top quality drama from the writing to the acting..
12 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A landmark British series
This is truly one of the finest series to come out of Britain. It took writer Flannery 15 years to get the series made, and when it was eventually produced the UK channel BBC2 spent their entire drama budget for the year on it. However, it was a fine investment.

The lives of four friends from Newcastle are followed from 1964 to 1995, against a backdrop of massive social and political change. It says much for the quality of the writing and the performances of the principal actors that you find yourself getting heavily involved with the characters' lives and caring a great deal for them. The leads have gone on to further successes, but this series catches them all early in their careers, and on astonishing form.

It was, in hindsight, a good thing that it took so long to get the show made. Flannery's original play ended in 1980, but the elongated production process enabled him to write more and more about the characters' fortunes, and take them another 15 years into the future. The most changed character was Geordie, who served in the army in Rhodesia in the original play, but finds himself instead in swinging London in a strip club in the finished series.

Do yourself a favour. Pick up the DVD set, and savour 14 hours of top television. It will make you think, it will move you, and we will never see its like again.
11 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
excellent drama from the Beeb
didi-528 July 2003
When this drama first hit our screens in '96, there was a certain cynicism about lengthy serials set in contemporary times, and whether it could hold a nation's attention. Casting was wide and varied - the four leads, who grow up together, grow apart, and grow together again - were played with class by Gina MacKee, Chris Eccleston, Daniel Craig and Mark Strong. Others in support included David Bradley, Peter Vaughan, Malcolm McDowell, David Schofield, Daniel Casey, and many more. Each episode moved the story along through its thirty-year span, while we watched each character reach their highs and lows until the last episode which left them all reunited.

Two things in particular stand out - the episode about the miners' strike, which was brilliantly done; and the closing credits over which Oasis' 'Don't Look Back in Anger' was played. I can't think of a better tune to close this excellent serial. One of the BBC's best.
9 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Brilliant
ilaurie1 March 2001
Possibly one of the greatest Drama of the Last 10 years.

This story of Characters and events of post war britain is fantastic.

A must see. The Cast are all excellent and a times this will amaze you to see the changes that have happened in Britain.
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
It's worth the time
ferdinand193210 March 2010
When this was broadcast in 1996 it was really important. Britain was tired of the Tories and they were incompetent but also the soul of what drives political ideals was gone. A year after this series was shown the Labour party swept to power. Not that there is a correlation there but the mood of the country had changed.

Fourteen years later - in 2010 - there is so much to admire here, even if the political urgency has past: the writing, production, casting, and threads to the long story, but there also parts that don't work anymore: the sex and corruption theme stands out here. As this is a single writer's work it has great features in character and in the human play that covers 40+ years. It also tends to fall into dirge over the miner's strike - as important as that was but like some other elements it is a bit close to agitprop-theater of the 1970s.

The biggest impression made now is that we have lost this type of story on TV. We are too involved with reality TV rubbish and contest shows of dubious merit and consuming more junk than stories about how people live. And finally, in an era of spin politics it reminds us that politics starts from simple things like housing and respect.

It's over 9 hours to watch the whole series and it's worth the time.
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Credible and gripping drama - that's interesting!
ricardorat6 February 2004
Everyone should watch this. Epic and novelistic in its scope the series is believable, informative, interesting, well-acted and a based-on-real-life drama that won't put you to sleep. The way that the lives of the 4 principle characters are intertwined through the 30 years that the series maps is dramatic brilliance. Also the police corruption plot that links all 4 characters is wonderfully subtle. All the cast stand out and as the story progresses, the level to which we become involved with them just shows how good the writing is.
8 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
The Greatest TV Serial In History
Richard Hart4 April 2005
Warning: Spoilers
Forgive the hyperbole but I want to make it very clear how highly I rate this incredible series.

A little background on the series first: Set from the 60's through to that strange decade the 1990's, Our Friends In The North was at the time, a benchmark series for BBC and was the most expensive drama series produced up to then. Featuring hundreds of characters, a huge and talented cast, good production values and a truly unrivalled script and story, OFITN set the benchmark for a dramatic production that only a few other TV projects have ever matched.

The story sees four characters, linked as a circle of friends at first, go about their lives in England and attempt to make sense of the world. All four are different in their own right and more so than the broad brush strokes that first mark them out. Geordie (Daniel Craig) is sensitive, charming and intelligent and a long time friend of both Tosker and Nicky. He is arguably the most vulnerable of the four and his terrible home life causes him to run away to seamy London. Nicky (Chris Eccleston) is brash, opinionated and full of pretencion but is an optimist and has genuine beliefs. he also sees his father a burn-out who doesn't understand that the world is at a crossroads. Nicky makes the most attempts to change the world by varying means, politics, journalism and even terrorism. By the end, Nicky has seen his dreams utterly destroyed.

Mary (Gina McKee) is the adult character, being that she has a tough family to deal with (her brother is disabled) but she makes the most of things. She is Nicky's girlfriend at first but it isn't to last as she has plans that don't include saving the world. Mary has to deal with being a young mother in a crumbling tower-block before her husband makes good of himself. Tosker (Mark Strong) gives the most unsympathetic performance as the rather basic Tosker. He seduces Mary away from Nicky and gets her pregnant. He is hell-bent on his plan to get rich and despite many different methods, A fruit and veg van, real estate and a restaurant, it seems that Tosker is destined to always just fall short of his aims. And in love he also fails to win over Mary as the two contest a loveless marriage.

Over the series it covers myriad issues, from Poverty to Organised Crime and Police Corruption. The entire storyline with the criminal world of London is the most exciting but equally gripping is Mary's struggle to raise her son and make something of herself which she does ably. Nicky goes through a rough ride with his parents but ultimately finds a redemption. Geordie however is almost totally destroyed by following the wrong people the wrong way and ends up in prison. For Geordie, the system has no time for him.

The four lead performances are varied but all very good. Gina McKee gives the best all round performance across the series but Chris Eccleston is typically fiery. Daniel Craig has perhaps the easiest role to play but does it brilliantly. Mark Strong has less to work with but does well with the rather weak Tosker.

The supporting cast is a packed house of likable and hatable and inbetweens. Daniel Webb is great as honest cop DS Ron Conrad, equally David Bradley is superb as grass roots Labour politician Eddie Wells. Malcolm McDowell gives an epic performance as vice kingpin Benny Barret and Tony Haygarth is brilliant as optimistic old cop Roy Johnsen. There really are no poor performances and the whole story passes by like a real life watched in intervals.

The project isn't perfect, but as a piece of evolving art is quite without comparison. Over the 30 years of the story, people come and go, die and are born, grow up and fall apart, love and lose love and all end up being badly hurt by the system and when their beliefs are challenged. Nicky learns that the world is a hard place to change, Mary that she has become a martyr to her family, Geordie that if you fall through the cracks you are left behind and Tosker, perhaps he learns that sometimes it is right to be satisfied with what you have.

The stand out scenes in this epic are many, from young Anthony cox's crazy ride into Geordie's past, to the shocking double cross in London, to the sad collapse of Nicky's father to the beautiful ending where the four share a moment of pathos and are "in the moment" together, perhaps for the last time.

In all of TV history, only HBO's phenomenal Band of Brothers even comes close to this level of excellence. Not to be missed.

10/10
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Pure genius.
gaz_murfin10 July 2001
OFITN, is quite simply brilliant. It is well directed, well filmed and well acted. Basically, combine this with the all star cast it has and you can`t go wrong - definately recommended! I paid over £50 for the originals - and I`m glad I did! :)
6 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
gripping stuff
mickey dripping7 July 2001
This is good gripping stuff which will hold your attention. Realistic characters and storylines based on real life North East scandals are fun to watch.

Eccleston is great. Mckee carries it through. David Bradley is the mortar which holds the series together.
6 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
NorthEnders - The Greatest Show of Working Class Clichés on Earth
burrobaggy18 May 2005
Looking at all the reviews here claiming this as the greatest British TV drama ever and looking at all the awards it won and rave reviews it got, I'm just left asking if there's another show out there called our Friends in the North, because the one I finally finished slogging through on video is a template for every bad I-wanna-be-Ken-Loach cliché out there. I can't vouch for the London scenes, which look as unbelievable as any of the amateur-hour post-Lock Stock gangster movies we slept through over the past few years, but the Newcastle scenes play like a bad joke - the Beeb drama department's version of the 'Thick Scousers' characters that Harry Enfield used to do in his TV show. Every possible cliché is ladled on with a trowel and with heavy handed dialogue that sounds like someone reading from a manifesto or a history book. The performances are also either incredibly self-important - Eccleston in the first of his humourless pompous leftwing stereotypes and McKee so smug you want someone to thump her stand out especially - or so over the top it's not even funny (yes, Malcolm McDowell, I do mean you).

Sure there are a few big themes, but they're swamped by the trite writing, dodgy performance (and bad old-age makeup) and blah direction. Forget all the raves. This is just an unconvincing, overlong timewaster, one of the great so whats? of British television.
17 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
As time rolls by
shoreup16 November 2015
Our friends in the North is one of those things you grow to admire in time, long after the details have left your mind and its melancholy essence has been absorbed by your consciousness. You will go back to this essence many many times as you grow old and find yourself identifying with someone or the other in this majestic work.

It covers 30 years for the most turbulent period in modern British history starting from the early sixties with its anxious flirtations with radical Marxism and ending in the bland nineties enmeshed in the muck of decadent consumerism. The plot revolves around four friends who are archetypes of the times and the greatness of Peter Flannery's script is to lay out in exquisite detail the fantastic interplay of archetypes and time. Some of the greatest of British actors played their life defining roles like Gina Mckee, Christopher Ecclestone, Mark Strong and a young Daniel Craig whose performance alone should make it worth seeing. Its a kind of work which is now largely impossible today primarily because of the class it focuses on; lower middle class Britain and their problems. In our post political age, where the public has been largely relegated to be spectators to their lives, its refreshing to witness a time where politics was the heart and soul of many lives who wanted to change the world albeit a bit foolishly. Nick ( Ecclestone ) is one such character. The cinematography is not the best but the plot makes up for it. Multi episode TV series like this was a creation of British TV and there is no better example to show how time is such a valuable thing to have in narrative expositions. Every episode focuses on a year and three decades gives the audience the chance to see characters play out their fated, entangled lives amidst all their joys and failures, swimming in the turbulence of sweeping historical changes.Every work of literature invariably comes up against the shores of narrative completeness where it faces its most troubled critics. Our Friends in the North has that self contained completeness where you are hard pressed to find leakages and thus you can say with a proud boast that its complete. There is an inevitability to the flow of lives that gives it a self sustaining rhythm till the end where you realize that nothing could have been any different. You feel for every character because by the time you have reached the end, you have come to believe in the old Buddhist maxim which exhorts man to believe in no judge-mental God who sits and punishes from above but to believe in man himself who weaves his own destiny, thread by thread which at the end of time, can chain him to the rock or carry him over to the heavens. A masterpiece which will last many a storm of time.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
The best TV drama I've ever seen
alansausse117 July 2001
Profoundly depressing, yet comforting and uplifting at the same time.

A bunch of teenagers pour scorn on their parents' resignation to their fate - and set out to change the world - and 30 years later they've become their parents. But they still have each other, and somehow you're left feeling that this is the most important thing of all.

I've always liked the British "Northern Drama" - and this is a fine example of the genre.
4 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Blurs the line between drama and real life.
filterlab22 January 2007
Warning: Spoilers
Realistically, words cannot describe just how superbly written and beautifully played this drama is. It grips so tight that it's almost hard to imagine that it is in fact a story and the characters become real people, almost giving the impression that their very existence influenced certain political factors throughout the 1970's and 1980's.

It begins in 1964 with the main character Dominic Hutchinson (Christopher Eccleston) arriving home in Newcastle after a trip to New Orleans, and follows his life and the lives of his three childhood friends. It begins so innocently in fact that it's hard to imagine where the story is heading when one first sits down to view.

It's soon apparent though that the main driving subject of the drama (and in fact the stake that's driven through the friendships of the characters) is the politically uneasy period in British history, and the story is exceptionally deftly woven with real life occurrences, from the electricity rationing and the resulting three day working week to the surge of pornography, strip clubs and Police corruption in Soho, from the uprise of Thatcherism to the destruction of the mining industry.

Everything that happened in this time period in Britain has a showing here, whether it be a main hinge-point of the story or a television programme in the background. And just as it affected our lives at the time (storm of 1987 for example), it affects the lives of the characters in turn. It also highlights the rags to riches to rags nature of life that luckily only taints a few of us, but one poor soul - Geordie - has the kind of life that would send most of us to tears, played beautifully by Daniel Craig in the role he was really made for.

Geordie is the epitome of 'floating down the stream', and literally goes from unemployed Newcastle escapee to Soho Porn King's number 2. His portrayal of the character is absolutely superb, with real attention paid to the nuances one would expect to see in life without noticing.

In fact all the cast play beautifully, the main four being Christopher Eccleston, Gina McKee, Daniel Craig and Mark Strong supported by the acting superiority from the likes of Peter Vaughan, Alun Armstrong, Malcolm McDowell, Donald Sumpter and many others besides.

The one thing that really struck me was in the final episode. There is a momentary glance between all four of the characters when after all the years and all the problems and all the arguments, they've all ended up exactly where they started, it's just 21 years later.

It made me realise (bearing in mind I was only 19 when I first saw it), why people say 'I don't feel as old as I am', and why I now don't feel any older than I did fifteen years ago. It can't be quantified, you'll just have to watch it to understand.

I don't know of any other drama/film/series that could convey so much sense of focus and proportion and really show life for what it is (and what it was in the 70's and 80's), but if there's something out there that does, I'd love to see it.

Just sit down quietly with this drama, listen to every word, watch every scene and concentrate on the social commentary. I swear if this doesn't communicate, you can't be a human.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
One of the finest productions ever!
rosscanada7 May 2006
Warning: Spoilers
When I first saw this a decade ago I was amazed by the excellent performances by the main stars (Gina McKee, Daniel Craig, Mark Strong and the one of the finest actors around today Christopher Eccleston) I knew a bit about the background of Britain and the North East between the 60s and the 90s but was amazed by how realistic it really was. The credit for this amazing production must go to writer Peter Flannery. The story lines which were more personal to me where the ones based on the Thatcher years as this is when I grow up with the miners strikes. It also one of the greatest endings with the use of Oasis' "Don't Look Back In Anger" which was also number 1 when "Our Friends In the North" was shown
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Absolutely wonderful
Jackie Scott-Mandeville23 November 2009
Warning: Spoilers
Agreeing with all the other commentators, this drama is the best that the BBC can produce. Gina McKee, Mark Strong, Daniel Craig, and Christopher Eccleston all cut their teeth in this series and went on to bigger things - but never better. Even Daniel Craig's James Bond does not outshine his performance as Geordie. Watching the DVD set years after the first viewing, I cried all over again at human weakness, corrupt politics, illusions and disillusionment, and marvelled afresh at the supremely accomplished acting skills. I have lived right through the period of the play and empathise all the way with the four protagonists' dreams and aspirations then disappointment and demoralisation. And all credit to Peter Flannery whose script's excellence matches those of such playwrights as Poliakoff and Stoppard. He never misses a trick and his grasp of the vagaries of human behaviour are pitch-perfect, and nor do his actors ever fail in conveying his meanings and intentions. And despite everything in the plot lines implying a diastrous ending, the final scenes are upbeat and positive - an admirable achievement.

I disagree with some of the other commentators who felt Mark Strong's acting was not quite as good as the others. Oh yes, it was. His character was a deceptively difficult one to play and Strong was convincing in every scene. His ingenuous naivete in its own way compared equally with Eccleston's. The different directions the four lives take were totally believable and every scene in all nine episodes was brilliantly played. And to maintain this the back-up cast were superb. The exceptional performances of veteran actors David Bradley and Peter Vaughan, and also Freda Dowie and Alun Armstrong, added acute verisimilitude, making the whole a complete and perfect drama. If I had to choose, then Daniel Craig's portrayal of the doomed but not defeated Georgie has to be the most powerful in a whole cavalcade of outstanding performances.

I can't praise this series enough and would recommend it to any teacher of drama, film studies, general studies, current affairs, or history. All the younger generation should see this. It encapsulates their immediate historical background and provides a context by which they could understand why England is in the state it's in today.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Great TV
ian10007 November 2009
Warning: Spoilers
Just a few years ago the BBC could and did make quality drama that was not a poor impression of American shows (Spooks), yet another costume drama or a mere vehicle for whatever large TV star had recently been signed up.

Back in 1996 the BBC amazed us over 9 weeks with a sprawling drama covering the lives of four friends over 31 years and the immense changes in the UK over that time.

It's not without its faults - Malcolm is an odd London porn baron; I can think of several actors who would have been better suited, and it does display its left wing credentials - although of course some of the chief villains are Labour councillors.

The scenes in Scotland Yard in 1966,67,70 and 74 are the most compelling, and a little research will reveal the accuracy of the tale; the northern property corruption was famously accurate too, the real life persons died in 1993, paving the way for the screening of this show.

I remember reading an interview with Daniel Craig, complaining that he was typecast as Daniel "Geordie Peacock" Craig; presumably his present 007 status has exorcised that ghost!
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Gutsy story with raw emotion
qv18794 July 2006
Warning: Spoilers
When I watched it the first time I didn't know what to make of it. I'm from the US, but I come from an area that could be considered corrupt. Even the governor of the State of New Mexico has developed his own agenda.

"Our Friends in the North" centers on a young man, Nicky and his 3 friends. Nicky had just returned from the US during the Civil Rights Movement. He is fired up to destroy corruption in his little part of the world. He discovers that his hero, isn't a hero after all. Nicky goes from one end of the spectrum to another as do his friends. Over the 30 years that the story represents, the one constant in his life is his estrangement with his father and after 30 years of estrangement, the one emotion that develops for his father is pity.

This movie was recommended to me by a friend. It was a good recommendation and I recommended it to anyone who wants to take a chance. But be warned, though it has cursing, it's the story that may make you flinch. It's the story of real people.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews