IMDb > Witchboard III: The Possession (1995) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 18 reviews in total 

6 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

I Loved this Movie

7/10
Author: kerrydragon
5 July 2008

I disagree with the other posters who hated this movie.I was riveted to the screen all the way through.I thought it had atmosphere,especially the beautiful old apartment block,where most of the events happen.I thought the lead actor did a great job doing dual roles,one good one evil.Julie was very likable,as was her friend Lisa.I thought the special effects were fine for a movie that was not on a high budget.I was creep ed out by the landlord and his apartment with all the artifacts.His wife was equally creepy,particularly her little shack with all the candles,and talismans.I had never heard of the actors but was charmed anyways.It was filmed in Montreal and I just wonder about the history of that apartment building,and where it is in Montreal...

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Cheap and cheesy horror fun.

6/10
Author: BA_Harrison from Hampshire, England
12 August 2008

The Possession, the third film in the Witchboard series, might not be a particularly memorable film, but it is pretty entertaining stuff for the duration: there's a bit of gore, some 'Red Shoe Diaries' style soft-core sex, and some enjoyably hokey occult goings-on with a few ropey CGI effects thrown in for good measure.

David Nerman plays Brian, an unemployed broker who befriends his seemingly likable landlord Francis (Cedric Smith) only to find out (too late) that the old man is, in reality, a demon.

After trapping Brian's soul via a Ouija board, the demon assumes the poor guy's identity and attempts to impregnate his sexy wife Julie (Elizabeth Lambert). However, with a sudden change in Brian's personality, Julie begins to suspect something is wrong, and, when she finds the demon's Ouija board, she manages to contact her husband.

Discovering the awful truth, Julie tracks down Francis's ex-wife: the only person who can help her defeat the evil creature that is masquerading as her man.

Featuring a cool suicide scene (a leap from a balcony onto a conveniently placed spike), death by lepidoptera (that's a fancy word for butterflies, I believe), antler impalement, the always welcome shower murder, a nice rubbery demon at the end, and eye-candy courtesy of hottie Lambert, and sexy Donna Sarrasin, who plays her tasty friend Lisa, there's enough fun to be had to make this one worth a go.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Incosequential but mindlessly enjoyable silliness

6/10
Author: t-birkhead from United Kingdom
31 January 2009

I remember seeing adverts on the TV for this film, way back 98' or so and thinking, wow that looks like an awesome film. I never saw it back then even thought it was on the Sci-Fi Channel a lot and finally caught it a few nights back. Its a fun, mildly diverting affair that never impresses too much but has enough to keep from being boring. The plot has an unemployed stock market guy using a ouija board he has received from his landlord and becoming possessed as a result. The film suffers from a flat script and watchable but never terribly interesting acting, with David Nerman just about handling his shifts in character, Elizabeth Lambert pretty likable as his wife and Cedric Smith playing the landlord with a faint menace. Fortunately, things move fairly fast, there are some fun deaths, including one really weird and possibly unique offing that is pretty memorable. There is also some sex, with mild nudity as well as fun special effects, monster effects and such that range from quite nifty to somewhat lousy. Its a shame Kevin Tenney didn't come back for this one, because whilst Peter Svatek does an alright job, keeps the pace tight and stops the interest from ever from drying up, the film suffers from the noticeable lack of the same flair as the original Witchboard or Night Of The Demons. Its only has a little gore as well, though it doesn't need too much anyway. All in all, I thought this was a fun, somewhat nostalgic ride. If I had seen it when I was younger, I would probably have thought it was ace, but as it is, I dug it but not too much. Worth a look if this sort of thing appeals, but not essential.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Not the best in the trilogy, but entertaining

Author: ryannemetz from Orange, Ca.
29 July 2004

Witchboard III wouldn't have been my first pick in the series, but I still see it as a decent horror picture. No, it's not scary and the special effects are lame, but I don't know, this film still delivers in some fashion. It's about a couple that move into an apartment and the husband soon connects with their land lord and the land lord introduces the husband into the ouija board. From there, the land lord gives Brian, the husband, a ring jumps off of his balcony, just before doing so he states "see ya in the funny papers kid." Brian then pursues use of the ouija board and from there everything seemingly falls apart with his marriage life.

Not a real high body count and like I said before, the special effects aren't ones to get excited about. I kind of liked the script and acting between the husband and wife.

Now if you have not seen any of the rest of the Witchboard films, then I recommend that you start with the original, which is by far the best of the series. 5/10

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

a moment or two of the worst acting around. Hilarious!

Author: jude allen from Canada
23 September 2005

Watch this film, based merely on the following: In the scene after the husband comes back to life, he takes his wife to dinner. He tells her how much her loves her, and how he almost lost her back there, but thats never going to happen again. A seriously emotional scene. Crying, laughter, talk of a little family....but one thing. These people are TV actors. They got those rolls for his glistening black porn do, and her not minding to expose a little flesh, here or there. Which leads me on to my next point, The Sex Scene.

I swear to God you see a full on Beaver slash Ball shot at one point. Its so unexpected and sweet. These moments I tell you are golden, of course only if you have a sense of humor, of course.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

"She isn't the only fertile b*tch on Earth." Really, really bad.

2/10
Author: Paul Andrews (poolandrews@hotmail.com) from UK
15 May 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Witchboard III: The Possession tells the tale of an unemployed stockbroker named Brian (David Nerman) & his wife Julie (Elizabeth Lambert as Locky Lambert) who have to move into a small apartment as they effectively go broke. Brian meets the landlord Francis Redman (Cedric Smith) who shows Brian his Ouija board & tells him that they have been used for centuries & are in fact not just a way to speak to the spirits but they also act as a portal to other worlds & can be used to summon evil spirits. Francis asks a spirit about the stock-market on the answer of which he would have made a huge amount of money, shortly after Francis throws himself of a balcony & onto some spiked railings below. Brian senses his opportunity & steals the Ouija board & tries himself to contact the spirits for a little insider trading so he can make a bit of cash, unfortunately things don't go according to plan as Brian becomes involved with a particularly nasty loan-shark & if that wasn't enough an evil spirit from the Ouija board possesses Brian in an attempt to mate with a woman & spread his evil seed throughout the world...

This Canadian American co-production was directed by Peter Svatek & is yet another terrible straight-to-video sequel & is the last Witchboard film to date. The script by Kevin Tenney & Jon Ezrine is bad, very bad. First I found the entire thing excruciatingly dull, now I can't quite put my finger exactly on why I thought this but I definitely did. Maybe it's the fact that it is incredibly slow to get going, it's not really until after a full hour that Witchboard III: The Possession turns into something even slightly resembling a horror film. Maybe it's the fact that the entire film appears to be set in the same apartment. Maybe it's the fact that there's no logical reason for anything on screen to be happening, why doesn't Mr. Demon dude just go out & find a woman to have sex with, or just rape someone why does it have to be Julie? Maybe it's the lack of any decent menacing villain? Maybe it's the slow pacing, the tediousness of it all, the stupidness of it, the boring character's & dialogue or maybe, just maybe it's down in part to all of these things. Whatever way I approach Witchboard III: The Possession it's lousy, from whichever angle I look at it from it remains 90 minutes worth of total crap, it's as simple & straight forward as that. Even die hard horror fans may have a hard time defending this one.

Director Svatek doesn't do anything to improve the already limited entertainment value, Witchboard III: The Possession has no style, class or visual flair. The CGI special effects are absolutely terrible, there's no atmosphere, there's no tension, no scares & it never really felt like a horror film for most of it's duration. Forget about any gore, there's a couple of impalings, someone is killed by their mounted Butterfly collection (it's as dumb as it sounds) & the best moment in the whole film when someone is sliced in half by pane of broken shower cubicle glass.

With a supposed budget of about $2,000,000 Witchboard III: The Possession is dull, bland & flat to watch with some truly terrible CGI effects. Are you sure this cost 2 big ones? It's competently made but competent in a dull unexciting way, it was filmed in Quebec in Canada. The acting left something to be desired to say the least.

Witchboard III: The Possession was a load of crap in my opinion, maybe I've just seen too many of these unoriginal & uninspired horror films but the feelings I got from this one weren't good. Not recommended & probably one to avoid. The other films in this series are Witchboard (1986) & Witchboard 2: The Devil's Doorway (1994) neither of which I have seen although I'd put money on at least one of them being better than this, unsurprisingly a part 4 has never been made... yet.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Decent second sequel to the Ouija board horror entry.

8/10
Author: jonathanmckenna from PEI, Canada
30 November 2004

I have not seen the first two Witchboard films, but I did enjoy this one. It's about a business man who is given a Ouija board as part of a will benefaction unbeknownst to him that it grants him ill-will as well as lucky venture tips. I thought the premise was interesting enough, and the sanguinary death scenes were inventive and thrilling (head wound punctures, death by butterfly pins, deer antlers, and the obligatory shower death scene). The negative points: It had it's tedious moments, 2. Too much of the story was downplayed by the interminable sex scenes. But other than than it was a fairly suspenseful horror flick that's worth checking out. The Devil's true manifestation F/X is baronial as well. It could of had more scary moments though.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

On par with the first two.

5/10
Author: capkronos (capkronos00@hotmail.com) from Ohio, USA
18 February 2000

Do NOT listen to the other two reviews listed here, WITCHBOARD III is a quality horror film--entertaining, well-acted and with good low-budget cinematography, make-up and even some pretty good morphing FX thrown in for good measure. I do agree however that it isn't very scary and it's terribly underpopulated.

My score: 6 out of 10.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

*1/2 out of 4.

Author: Brandon L. Sites (brandonsites1981@yahoo.com) from USA
20 August 2002

Slightly better sequel finds a man possessed by a demon after getting a ring from an elderly neighbor. His wife now must do battle with the demon in order to save her husband and to stop the demon from killing everyone in it's path. Decent special effects, some original killings, a few sexy moments make this watchable, but the film is bland and nothing special.

Rated R; Nudity, Strong Sexual Content, Violence, and Profanity.

Was the above review useful to you?

A terrible ending to a popular trilogy.

Author: insomniac_rod from Noctropolis
26 July 2004

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

By any means the original WITCHBOARD is a masterpiece or a "great!" horror movie, no, but at least it's a likeable and entertaining horror movie from the early 80's and probably the best about the Ouija board.

"The Possession" on the other hand, is one of the worst horror movies I've seen and now I see why the Witchboard franchise stopped after this mess.

SPOILERS Brian (David Nerman) is having a terrible time on his life; he lost his job , and had to sell his house and car in order to pay for debts and other financial matters. He's depressed and he can't do anything to solve his midlife crisis. His wife Julie (Locky Lambert) supports him on everything and still loves him even if he can't provide her with the kind of stuff she was used to. Now that's a good wife. Anyways, David is desperate to find a solution to his problems and takes advice from his old neighbor and plays the Ouija. His neighbor has a lot of money and properties and credits "a friend" for his wealthiness. David does the same thing and soon he's getting his financial problems solve, but in exchange his soul gets trapped in a mirror from his house and the Devil possesses his body. His neighbor, before dying of cancer gives David his ring as an amulet for good luck (not knowing that the ring contains evil forces).

Soon after David and Julie return to their normal life, strange things happen to them and the people that surrounds them. David is obsessed with the idea of having a son but after he tries to cheat with Julie's best friend in front of her! Julie tells him she's not having a baby with him.

Julie has a nightmare where she is pregnant and gets the feeling she's having the son of the Devil. David's soul (trapped in a mirror) makes contact with Julie and tells her that his body is possessed by the Devil who wants to get her pregnant in order to give birth to his son.

Innocent people die and now Julie is the only person that can save David's soul and interrumpt the birth of the Devil's son. The ring David is wearing will play a key element in order to defeat the Devil.

BEST THINGS ABOUT THE MOVIE. A hot sex scene where Locky Lambert turns on the audience and seems to be enjoying it. She was the best thing about this movie. She's beautiful, very sexy, and she's a decent actress. Her love scenes were great.

THE BAD THINGS ABOUT IT. "Witchboard III: The Possession" is very boring, the events happen slowly and there isn't emotion or even a single attempt to scare the audience. The F/X are the cheapest you can get. Watch the final scene where the Devil appears and you'll laugh off your socks, it's the worst I've seen talking about the effects area. Also there's a scene where Julie spins in the air and you can say it's the worst f/x you've seen in a long time. Terrible visuals, awful score, and a direction that makes the movie look like a boring soap opera. The best thing about the whole movie is Locky Lambert's looks. So you can imagine how BAD the movie is when the best thing about it is it's pretty lead actress.

Be warned this is a terrible horror movie and just shows that the genre was on decadence at the mid 90's. Watch it only if you are a truly die hard fan of cheap horror movies please, it has barely nothing to do with the original "Witchboard". Don't waste your time.

2/10.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history