IMDb > Species (1995) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Species
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Species More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 7 of 15: [Prev][2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]
Index 146 reviews in total 

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Great action, impartial acting...

7/10
Author: Nick Jamieson (Machiko) from Sherwood Park, Alberta
13 November 2001

I own this movie on DVD, but don't have a player. I have already seen this movie, and suffice to say, it is divine. I'm a die-hard fan of science fiction, and this was a bright new spin on the whole idea. Natasha Henstridge is wonderful as the elusive Sil, a creation that's half human, half alien. Hats off to H.R. Giger, who designed the alien Sil. A wicked movie with great action, impartial acting in the supporting cast, and excellent focus on the lead.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Not a great movie, but a great-looking alien!!

6/10
Author: TxMike from Houston, Tx, USA, Earth
8 November 2001

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

SPOILERS - I couldn't pass up seeing "Species" so I rented the DVD. With Ben Kingsley as Xavier Fitch, Alfred Molina as Dr. Stephen Arden, and Forest Whitaker as Dan Smithson, the guy who can "feel" things, the cast is first-rate. Aliens send a code for DNA splicing which results in a quick-growing species which is bound to reproduce. After lots of chases and near-misses, she/it is apparently cornered in a cave and burned to oblivion. However, since there were sequels, we know the species's DNA must have survived. As the film ends, we see a messy-looking young boy with a glint in it's eye, then a long tongue reaches out to zap a rat. We know the "species" survives.

The main attraction in this film is the beautiful Canadian Natasha Henstridge, who at 20 was in her first film. Her character's ("Sil") mission is to be impregnated, and she quickly learns that taking off her top is a good way to start. Henstridge is a true "trophy" girl, looks great with her top off, and looks far more mature than her age. I noticed the same thing with her in "The Whole Nine Yards." She was a perfect choice for the role, however I could never quite get used to this beautiful woman turning into an ugly, evil monster that could devour a man. On second thought, real women do that with regularity, so I guess it wasn't such a stretch after all! I rate it "6" of 10, primarily for "Sil".

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

great freaky and sexy

Author: littlenicky44 from Adealide, SA
6 November 2001

This is a great movie it is freaky and very sexy the sex scenes are great Natasha Henstridge is sexy this movie shows alot about an alien which has been a sentific experimant which escaped has decided she wants a baby so see has to mate as many men as she can lucky guys its great freaky Natasha Henstridge is very sexy you just well like it if you like sci-fi thrillers with heaps off sex scenes

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Great Movie!

Author: Kel from PA
4 July 2000

Now I knew this was going to be another alien movie. And of course, I was correct. It was another alien movie only one that no one has done before. A scientist who has found a DNA or something that is unknown and expieriment with it on his own daughter...

Well the unthinkable happens. She escapes and no one can find her. She is loose in America and wants to mate with any male that she can get her hands on to. A group of people have to find her before she has her offspring. With some cool scenes of death and computer special effects this movie has it all.

7/10 Rated R for vioelnce, strong sexuality and language Also Recommended: Species 2 and Alien

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

good but different

Author: todd2u from Ohio
8 April 2000

This is a good but different sci fi movie. I liked it a lot. The special effects were very good. Half Alien and half human. That is different, but good. The acting was pretty good. All i have to say is that don't watch the second species movie. I haven't watched it but i heard that it stunk. I would recommend this movie to anyone who likes Sci fi movies, and likes half alien half humans.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Shameful.

Author: andy-227 from Sterling Heights, Michigan
20 August 1999

I don't wanna sound rude, but this is one of the junkiest movies I have ever seen! It's also not the least bit scary. I know I have a lot to say, because I bought this movie(which I never should've done). I couldn't rent movies on my own yet, and it sounded like a good sci-fi film. What I got was a cross between a Playboy magazine and a barf-bag movie. Forest Whitaker is good as a psychic, but the presence of a psychic in this movie is just another thing to add to the overall ridiculousness of the film. Natasha Henstridge is hot, but the gore and alien effects are strong(or disgusting) enough to put you off your food. The sickest scene in the movie is probably when Sil is on the train, and the tentacles(whatever they are) start to poke out through her flesh. It wasn't scary, and it simply made the movie harder to enjoy. H.R. Giger's work is good, but it misused in this film. The "Sil" alien is probably one of the worst special effects I've ever seen in a film. It looks so fake. Director Roger Donaldson thought that the more they showed the alien, and the more it hissed and screeched like an animal, that it would be much scarier. Quite the opposite of what I think is scary. The official "Alien" films were great, because it was rare that you even got a glimpse of the creature. Here, they have full frontal nudity with the alien(and Natasha Henstridge). Bad move. It's a shame, because this was a unique opportunity for a good film. It's OK, I guess. It's not as horrid as some of the other ill fated junk I've seen on the Sci-Fi Channel. But if I had simply rented this film(which I wish I could've done), I wouldn't have ever thought about buying this.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Learn to accept it as a near porno flick, and it's quite fun

5/10
Author: Lee Eisenberg (lee.eisenberg.pdx@gmail.com) from Portland, Oregon, USA
15 July 2007

While "Species" has as its actual plot a group of scientists looking for an escaped alien specimen - did somebody say "Alien" ripoff? - I derived that the whole movie was really an excuse to show off Natasha Henstridge's breasts. If in fact that was the film's purpose, then they did a pretty good job with it (seriously, not many movies get sexier than this). If the flick was supposed to have any real purpose beyond that, then I don't know what they were thinking. Just accept that the movie probably got made with the aim of sexually arousing teenage boys, and it'll be perfectly easy to enjoy the flick. Personally, I wouldn't mind getting slinky with that alien babe! Also starring Ben Kingsley, Michael Madsen, Marg Helgenberger and Forest Whitaker. I don't know whether or not they want to stress this film when discussing their careers.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

one of the better films of the genre

8/10
Author: disdressed12 from Canada
1 June 2007

i liked this movie much more than most of the people on this site,judging by the low rating(5.4/10)it's no master piece,to be sure,but i did think it had some originality not so much with the basic premise,but rather what they did with it.i liked the story and the characters.the acting is good all around,and there's lots of action.i will mention that there is one really disgusting scene that nearly made me blow chunks.even with repeated viewing,this scenes still has the same effect on me.one big bonus of this film is that it introduced the world to Natasha Henstridge,who is truly stunning.obviously,this is not the first movie in the alien genre,so it can't be completely original,but like i said,how they dealt with the subject matter was unique.this is one of the better movies of the genre."Species" is a 8/10 from me.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Natasha Henstridge is a real man-eater. Literally!

7/10
Author: DAVID SIM from United Kingdom
14 May 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Species was made a whole 16 years after Alien. And it was the success of Species that led to a whole new batch of revivals (ripoffs!) on that same theme. Alien predator on a killing spree. The novelty of Species is this is an alien/human hybrid. Its a woman. And there's even a hint of Basic Instinct thrown in for good measure.

Although Species has been trashed in quite a few corners, its not an altogether bad film. In fact, its a guilty pleasure of mine. Its got a little bit more going for it than your standard, run of the mill B-Grade creature feature. Its got good direction. Some stunning conceptual designs from "Alien" man H.R Giger himself. The haunting musical score from Christopher Young is effective. And there's a surprisingly good cast.

We've got Ben Kingsley as Dr Xavier Fitch, the sinister scientist who's let this monster loose on the public. He's the last person you'd expect to find in a film like this.

Michael Madsen is good as always as Preston Lennox, a freelance troubleshooter. With all the best lines.

Alfred Molina puts in a humorous turn as anthropologist Dr Stephen Arden.

Marg Helgenberger is OK as biologist Laura Baker.

And Forest Whitaker, in a role 100 light-years away from his Oscar winning Idi Amin, puts in a rather irritating performance as empath Dan Smithson. A psychic who seems to be one step behind everybody else.

Species brought to light the previously unknown Natasha Henstridge as Sil, the shape-shifting sex-bomb desperate to mate with a compatible male and start a whole new species. She's certainly physically matched to the role. She spends half the time topless, peeling off her clothes at every opportunity. When it comes to actual acting ability, Henstridge expectedly comes up a bit short. She never really generates much of a threatening presence. Famke Janssen would have been more ideal to the part. With her exotic good looks, she can tantalise and communicate sinister intent all at the same time.

Also Sil picks up driving and accessorising in a surprisingly short amount of time. She's designed to be threatening or fragile depending on the needs of the moment. Which is pretty poor writing if you ask me.

But despite the utter predictability of it all, I for one rather liked Species. Its quite easy to get into, and there are moments that hold an intensifying charge. The scenes of a teenage Sil about to be killed through Cyanide by Fitch is a real corker of an opener. As is her escape, and her eventual metamorphosis into the beautiful, adult Sil.

Its nice to see H.R Giger back in SF again. And with Species, he does manage to craft more of his customary striking imagery. Sil's nightmares are interesting but much too brief to leave any real lasting impact. Except for the image of a train that almost looks like carriages engaged in a sexual act. When it comes to creating the alien half of Sil, he's less successful. She looks like a poor imitation of Giger's own designs for Alien. And the special effects are so variable they never instill an inhuman, unearthly horror in you like they're supposed to.

Species is at its most effective when the plot is moving along. And for the most part, it moves at a brisk pace. Like the team's investigations and Sil's discovery of her alien half. Some scenes don't work. The scene where Preston and Laura are trapped in a lab with a growing alien DNA sample begins on a suspenseful note, but it goes on for far too long. And Ben Kingsley's annoyingly bureaucratic performance saps the scene of all its shock value. Compare it to Ripley and Newt's similar situation with two face-huggers in Aliens. That's the way to do it!

Also, what exactly are Sil's nightmares supposed to represent? The film never bothers to explain. I get the impression at perhaps some early stage, they would have played a more important part than they do. Even Sil questions what they mean at one point. But obviously any further development on that subject has been left on the cutting room floor. So Sil's motivations are maddeningly incomplete. We're never even sure why she wants a baby so badly. She just suddenly decides she does. (An excuse to include some sex scenes probably!).

Species does make up for some shortcomings in other areas. The byplay between the team feels natural and easygoing. And Michael Madsen saves a lot of scenes with his droll delivery. When Fitch tells them they made Sil female because she would be more docile and controllable, Preston replies: "You guys don't get out much!"

They are really just a bunch of stereotypes, but because they're such a good bunch of actors, they help to make Species more enjoyable than it has a right to be. Shame that at the end the film heads straight for B-Movie territory. Beforehand, there are some genuine jolts. Like the horrible scene when Sil cuts off a woman's thumb just to see what will happen.

But at the end, it goes for the mundane. Starting with a faked death. Stolen from Alien. And then a final shootout. In some caves. In LA! Anyway, because of the poor optical effects, it robs the climax of any tension, and by that time you're half wishing the film were over.

When it finally is, does Species leave a lasting impression? Natasha Henstridge's perfectly shaped arse certainly does. I suppose the film doesn't completely fade from memory. But its not something you'll be revisiting all that often.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Basic Instinct Meets Alien: Sci-Fi Horror

7/10
Author: FloatingOpera7 from United States
30 October 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Species (1995): Starring Natasha Henstridge, Ben Kingsley, Michael Madsen, Forest Whitaker, Marg Helgenberger, Alfred Molina, Michelle Williams, Virginia Morris, Herta Ware, Shirley Prestia, David Selburg, William Bumiller, Whip Hubley, Anthony Guidera, Don Fischer, Jordan Lund, Scott McKenna, Jayne Luke, Melissa Bickerton, William Utay, Stogie Kenyatta, Gary Bullock, Susan Hauser, Matthew Ashford, Richard FAncy, Leslie Ishii, Marliese Schneider, Ed Stone, Pamela Cook, Dendrie Taylor, DAna Hee, Jellybean Benitez, Jimmy Chunga, Coati Mundi, Zak Knutson....Director Roger Donaldson, Screenplay Dennis Feldman.

There are some science fiction horror films that, try as they might to appear like a sensational, top-notch thriller with serious Hollywood actors, fail miserably due to reasons such as a poor script and weak premise. This is the case with "Species", from Director Roger Donaldson, released in 1995. It was not a surprise to many when this film went straight to video or the airplane movie feature. Possibly inspired by the more successful blockbuster hit "Alien" (which had starred Sigurney Weaver) and its sequels, "Species" starred A-list actor Sir Ben Kingsley and then popular actress Natasha Henstridge. Ben Kingsley won the Oscar for his role as Ghandi in the 1985 film. Here, Kingsley portrays the British Doctor Xavier Fitch, who together with Doctors Laura Baker (Marg Helgenberger) and Stephen Arden, decide to play God and create a hybrid- a perfect specimen of a woman (Natasha Henstridge) who has one human parent and one space alien parent. The alien side of her, of course, takes over completely. Before long, Dr. Fitch and his crew realize what a monster and global threat they have unleashed. The creature assumes the body of the seemingly innocent, blonde beauty Sil who immediately sets out to mate and populate the earth to a degree they will destroy all the humans, whom she believes are inferior. She seeks out nightclubs in LA to find the right mate. Dr. Fitch, Dr. Baker and Dr. Arden have a strong hero on their side- Preston Lennox (Michael Madsen) who wishes to put an end to the alien's predatory game. The film did not do well at the box office because the script by Dennis Feldman is nothing noteworthy and borders on camp. It's likely he was influenced by episodes of the popular series "The X Files" but he is clearly trying too hard and produced nothing good. The photography and cinematography is by foreign, no-name Andrzej Bartkowiak, who is clearly attempting to make this film look like a thriller modeled after "Basic Instinct" and "Alien". Natasha Henstridge behaves like Sharon Stone in "Basic Instinct" when she is after what she wants- which is a sexual partner. Nevertheless, she is wooden and robotic in her performance, even when she attempts to behave like a normal human female. The music by Chris Young is rather dramatic but not memorable. This movie is now mostly enjoyed by young sci-fi fanatics who don't mind the cheesiness and appears on TV and cable in the late night hours. It is nothing worth raving about but it has a certain badness that also makes it good. I give it at least a 7.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 7 of 15: [Prev][2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history