IMDb > Species (1995) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Species
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Species More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 6 of 15: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]
Index 141 reviews in total 

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

The Film Created By A Horny 13 Year Old Boy...

Author: oops i forgot from somewhere...
20 October 2009

With its hilariously bad CGI, over-the-top alien designs, oh, and a young gorgeous blonde who spends well over 50% of the movie fully naked and/or having sex, you really would think its been made by a 13 year old boy. But, despite these B-Movie staples, this big screen movie is actually quite fun to watch. The storyline is pretty good, but to savour it, you'd best not care about it and just stare at Sil's bare butt. Forest Whittaker is in there too, although annoyingly states info that is painfully obvious. I gave it 8. Its got some A-List celebs, crazy story, sore-on-the-eyes CGI, and shameful nudity....and thats a winner in my book.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Species

5/10
Author: mr_popcorn from every where
6 October 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

"For three million years, the human race has been at the top of the evolutionary ladder. Nothing lasts forever"

At a top-secret Utah facility headed up by Dr. Xavier Fitch (Ben Kingsley), scientists have created "Sil" (Natasha Henstridge), a half-human, half-alien product of experiments with DNA codes obtained from beyond the stars. Unfortunately, Sil has escaped. Her primary objective is to mate, and, with the ability to transform herself into an incredibly powerful alien creature, puny humans can't stop her. So Dr. Fitch calls in a quartet of specialists (Forest Whitaker, Michael Madsen, Marg Helgenberger, and Alfred Molina), to attempt Sil's capture. At the same time, Sil is leaving a trail of mostly male corpses in her hormonal wake. The organic-flavored alien designs for Species were provided by H.R. Giger, the artist responsible for the memorable creatures and spaceships of Alien (1979). When MGM decided to cut the spectacular "train birth" sequence in the interest of budget-trimming, Giger personally financed this $100,000 showcase of his work.

This campy, cheesy, B-grade movie starts off strong. The major players are introduced, the comedy was well-timed and the thrill was executed with precision. The first half was impressive if I put it so bluntly but its sad to say, the second half drags the whole movie down. The ending scene inside the sewer was shoddy and ridiculous. The acting was okay. Doctor Octopus (Alfred Molina), Mr. Blonde (Michael Madsen), Idi Amin (Forest Whitaker), Gandhi (Ben Kingley) , CSI lady (Marg Helgenberger) and blonde bombshell Natasha Henstridge who made her debut in this movie was okay in a cheesy, sci-fi/horror kind of way. Species was fun at first, but then it got tiresome when it entered the second act. Watch it at your own risk.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Fun, if flawed.

5/10
Author: pixiesrule77 from United Kingdom
30 September 2008

If a killer Alien is gonna escape from a high-security government lab, procreate incessantly, and then kill Oscar-winning actor "Ben Kingsley" (he played Ghandi don't cha know?), then at the very least you'd hope it would look like gorgeous nubile supermodel Natasha Henstridge. Which it does in this highly enjoyable slice of Sci Fi hokum. And as long as you're not expecting "Citizen Kane" an easy-going viewer should find plenty to enjoy here.

Best line by a mile is from Forrest Whittaker as a "psychic" analyser surveying a scene of absolute blood-drenched carnage in a train compartment: "Something bad happened here..." Well duh.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Fun, dozy tripe

6/10
Author: Neil Welch from United Kingdom
3 January 2008

What do you get if you make a B picture sci-fi romp with an A list cast? Species.

The plot is fine, albeit nothing we haven't seen a hundred times elsewhere.

The dialogue is risible, as are many of the actions of characters (the lady ticket inspector, on seeing the monstrosity stuck up in the corner of the compartment runs screaming off down the corridor. Whoops, my mistake - that's not what she does, she creeps closer for a more careful look, of course).

Whitaker and Molina, fine actors both, are utterly and hilariously dreadful.

Henstridge's boobs are superb. Helgenberger's aren't bad, either.

It's a hoot. Cheesy, but a hoot.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Sexy, gooey & a heck of a lot of fun!

Author: Prolox from Canada
14 April 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

In a laboratory in Dugway Utah, Dr. Xavier Fitch (BEN KINGSLEY) watches on as he asks his team to pump a copious amount of Cyanide gas into a chamber, in an attempt to kill a terrified pre- teen girl (who was only born three months ago)! however employing supernatural strength, she breaks out of her imprisonment & escapes the compound where she then hops abroad, taking shelter in a passing train. From there she jumps onto another train where she hides out & forms into a cocoon, only to re-emerge as a full grown adult (Played by NATASHA HENSTRIDGE) mere hours later! Arriving in L.A. she immediately tries to fit in with the outside world, learning how to dress & survive in our world, but more importantly, she must find a suitable male to mate with & heaven help those who do not meet her criteria, since the wrong mate will find himself suffering a bloody death! In his attempt to catch Sil before she mates & creates offspring, which could lead to the destruction of mankind, within a matter of a few months, Fitch employs a team which includes Molecular biologist Dr. Laura Baker (MARG HELGENBERGER) government assassin Dan Smithson (MICHAEL MADSEN) anthropologist Steven Arden (ALFRED MOLINA) & empath (another word for Psychic) Dan Smithson (FOREST WHITAKER). He reveals to the group that S.E.T.I. (Search For Exterterrestrial Intellegance) had received messages from space, containing a DNA code which was then implanted into an female human embryo, which in turn aged the creature at an incredible rate a creature he named SIL. On the hunt, the group discovers a trail of mangled bodies & discovers that Sil is onto them & will do whatever it takes not to be found & captured, even if it means hunting them down in return & the group discovers that while planning to catch Sil is a relatively easy plan, executing it will be anything but.

Make no mistake about it, SPECIES is really nothing more than a direct to video B movie, more similarly akin in both plot & execution to a low budget ALIEN rip-off, that someone like B movie king ROGER CORMAN would have come up with, for one of his low budget quickie knock-offs. The difference here is, is that SPECIES was given a huge theatrical release & boasts a strong A list cast! It's plot varies very little from a typical B movie monster plot, a few gory kills, naked females, a couple of raunchy sex scenes & a monster predator from another world is all here. The creature (miraculously done) is a creation of ALIEN creature designer the late H.R. GIGER, it really is a nice piece of work. The gore effects here can get a little nasty, as we get a chopped off finger, a torn out spine, an alien tongue is fired into a guys mouth & thrusts itself out the back of his head, plus many other fun gory moments. Best of all, SPECIES includes two elements left out of practically all the B movies that usually deal with this type of plot - Suspense & tension!

The plot itself (which rips off the plot of A FOR ANDROMEDIA (1961)) is a lot of fun, as we watch Henstridge trying to adjust to life, trying to figure out what people wear, learning about money & credit cards, how to drive & more importantly how to pick up guys, even if she has to do it the way a hooker does! all the while constantly alluding the authorities & getting naked a few times & then violently killing those who don't meet her requirement as a perfect mate. There's some very impressive stunt work on hand here & the gory kills are fun & very well done. The direction by ROGER DONALDSON is very good & the acting is perfect all around, with fun characters & enough plot twists & turns to keep the viewer hooked. Plus there's a decent enough amount of suspense & tension on hand here & Henstridge is gorgeous as SIL & plays the part well. CHRISTOPHER YOUNG'S score is really good, while RICHARD EDLUNDS visual effects are a knock out at times.

All in all, while it is by no means a masterpiece (at least in terms of it's plot execution) SPECIES is just plain B movie fun all around. It's sexy, it's gory, it's gooey, it's suspenseful & it has copious amounts of tension & stunts on display, great direction & visual effects, great monster make-up & a drop dead gorgeous Natasha Henstridge going around killing a bunch of guys, when they fail to live up to the perfect mate. I mean what's not to like about this flick? it has everything any hot blooded horror/sci-fi fan could ever want & never once manages to lose it's footing. If you haven't seen this movie stop reading this review, get off the internet & go see this now!

The ending leaves a set up for a sequel, which with it's incredible box office success & positive fan & critic word of mouth, led to three sequels, starting with SPECIES II

**** stars

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Great action, impartial acting...

7/10
Author: Nick Jamieson (Machiko) from Sherwood Park, Alberta
13 November 2001

I own this movie on DVD, but don't have a player. I have already seen this movie, and suffice to say, it is divine. I'm a die-hard fan of science fiction, and this was a bright new spin on the whole idea. Natasha Henstridge is wonderful as the elusive Sil, a creation that's half human, half alien. Hats off to H.R. Giger, who designed the alien Sil. A wicked movie with great action, impartial acting in the supporting cast, and excellent focus on the lead.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Not a great movie, but a great-looking alien!!

6/10
Author: TxMike from Houston, Tx, USA, Earth
8 November 2001

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

SPOILERS - I couldn't pass up seeing "Species" so I rented the DVD. With Ben Kingsley as Xavier Fitch, Alfred Molina as Dr. Stephen Arden, and Forest Whitaker as Dan Smithson, the guy who can "feel" things, the cast is first-rate. Aliens send a code for DNA splicing which results in a quick-growing species which is bound to reproduce. After lots of chases and near-misses, she/it is apparently cornered in a cave and burned to oblivion. However, since there were sequels, we know the species's DNA must have survived. As the film ends, we see a messy-looking young boy with a glint in it's eye, then a long tongue reaches out to zap a rat. We know the "species" survives.

The main attraction in this film is the beautiful Canadian Natasha Henstridge, who at 20 was in her first film. Her character's ("Sil") mission is to be impregnated, and she quickly learns that taking off her top is a good way to start. Henstridge is a true "trophy" girl, looks great with her top off, and looks far more mature than her age. I noticed the same thing with her in "The Whole Nine Yards." She was a perfect choice for the role, however I could never quite get used to this beautiful woman turning into an ugly, evil monster that could devour a man. On second thought, real women do that with regularity, so I guess it wasn't such a stretch after all! I rate it "6" of 10, primarily for "Sil".

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

great freaky and sexy

Author: littlenicky44 from Adealide, SA
6 November 2001

This is a great movie it is freaky and very sexy the sex scenes are great Natasha Henstridge is sexy this movie shows alot about an alien which has been a sentific experimant which escaped has decided she wants a baby so see has to mate as many men as she can lucky guys its great freaky Natasha Henstridge is very sexy you just well like it if you like sci-fi thrillers with heaps off sex scenes

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Great Movie!

Author: Kel from PA
4 July 2000

Now I knew this was going to be another alien movie. And of course, I was correct. It was another alien movie only one that no one has done before. A scientist who has found a DNA or something that is unknown and expieriment with it on his own daughter...

Well the unthinkable happens. She escapes and no one can find her. She is loose in America and wants to mate with any male that she can get her hands on to. A group of people have to find her before she has her offspring. With some cool scenes of death and computer special effects this movie has it all.

7/10 Rated R for vioelnce, strong sexuality and language Also Recommended: Species 2 and Alien

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

good but different

Author: todd2u from Ohio
8 April 2000

This is a good but different sci fi movie. I liked it a lot. The special effects were very good. Half Alien and half human. That is different, but good. The acting was pretty good. All i have to say is that don't watch the second species movie. I haven't watched it but i heard that it stunk. I would recommend this movie to anyone who likes Sci fi movies, and likes half alien half humans.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 6 of 15: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history