IMDb > Species (1995) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Species
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Species More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 5 of 14: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]
Index 140 reviews in total 

10 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

Sci-fi monster with breasts

4/10
Author: MovieAddict2016 from UK
27 September 2005

If you like gory shlock horror you'll love "Species." If you like unnecessary nudity and bad acting you'll love "Species." If you don't like these things you will hate "Species." Okay, it's kind of purposely cheesy and over-the-top. The performances are tongue-in-cheek (at least I hope they are supposed to be!). The sex makes it watchable for guys (more so anyway) and the "I want children" pool scene is downright memorable.

Nevertheless I couldn't really get into it all that much. Ben Kingsley and co. all seem to be kind of embarrassed. I know it's supposed to be cheesy but there should be a limit...also the ending is a mess and the special effects are poor.

The new species of babe is hot but the movie is pretty lame... if I were you I'd rather watch "The Relic," a similar movie (in approach) that is much better in terms of entertainment.

Was the above review useful to you?

Alien in a pretty package

7/10
Author: SnoopyStyle
26 April 2015

In 1993, SETI program receives a transmission documenting how to splice alien DNA with human DNA. Xavier Fitch (Ben Kingsley) leads a secret government project to do just that. They created Sil (Michelle Williams). Her growth is extremely rapid. When Fitch tries to destroy her, she escapes. She metamorphoses into a grow woman (Natasha Henstridge). She learns quickly in a world she doesn't know. Fitch gathers a diverse team to find and kill the potentially dangerous creature. Dr. Stephen Arden (Alfred Molina) is an anthropologist. Dr. Laura Baker (Marg Helgenberger) is a molecular biologist. Dan Smithson (Forest Whitaker) is an empath and Preston Lennox (Michael Madsen) is the mercenary.

There is enough backstory to justify it. I really like the idea that she's interstellar weed to kill off humanity. It's Alien in a pretty package. Alien is one of my favorite movie and I certainly don't mind the pretty package. Natasha Henstridge is a little more than simply pretty. She shows both wide-eyed innocence and a bit of murderous spark. The empath is ridiculous but I still like the hunt and the thrills.

Was the above review useful to you?

"She was half us, half something else."

7/10
Author: classicsoncall from United States
25 May 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

When this first came out I had high hopes that it would be a sci-fi thriller along the lines of "Alien" or "Predator", but sadly, that was not to be. In fact, it's more comparable to a blend of soft porn and sci-fi gone astray, what with the inner Sil resembling an Alien knock-off in those mesmerizing dream sequences. I don't think we can blame it on the high power cast with Ben Kingsley, Michael Madsen, Forest Whittaker and Marg Helgenberger on hand. I think they needed more to work with.

Now as far as Natasha Henstridge goes, think what might have happened to her movie career if she didn't debut with this effort. Not exactly a household name, even if you could pronounce it. The thing is, she's simply stunning in the film, and that's with her clothes on. Notice I mention nothing about her acting.

It's almost inconceivable to me that there were a couple of sequels to this movie, though the ending obviously begged for it. I may get around to them at some point, with the same kind of urgency I attach to Japanese Godzilla flicks, beach movies and Seventies martial arts films. Which is to say, I can wait a while.

Was the above review useful to you?

Solid Sci-Fi Action Thriller

9/10
Author: elliott78212 from United States
28 December 2013

Take a few themes from other films add a decent cast of actors sprinkle some H.R.Giger then hand it over to Roger Donaldson to direct. What you get thanks to fairly good script is not as bad as some have said here. The chemistry of with the team gathered to capture Sil is spot on the movie never gets to slow delivering shocks action and some good old fashion makeup FX. The film tries to be original and in some ways it is it had been a few years since last saw it, I found myself engaged throughout, lots of sexy scenes for the beautiful Natasha Henstridge. 18 years later still worth watching I got the boxset for Christmas so having a marathon let's see how Part Two holds up.

Was the above review useful to you?

Darwin never looked so good.

6/10
Author: dunmore_ego from Los Angeles, California
16 August 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

It's ALIEN with a spectacular pair of natural knockers.

Designed by H.R. Giger - the alien species, not the knockers - a half-human, half-alien life form called Sil (Natasha Henstridge in her human form) escapes from a SETI facility and goes on a rampage screwing everyone. In the Biblical sense. And then screwing them in the Hollywood sense.

Spreading her alien seed, doing what every species on Earth has been designed to do by genetic engineering since life began, somehow she is regarded as doing something wrong. Only because she is not of the human species.

And it only confuses the issue when non-humans have such great knockers.

Specialists are called in to hunt down the alien: Michael Madsen as the Tough Guy, Alfred Molina as The Dork, Marg Helgenberger as The Hot Scientist and Forest Whitaker as The Empath, all led by Ben Kingsley The Brain.

SPECIES hangs our credibility by a thread by initially mating human DNA with alien material to spawn Sil, but we can live with that in a haze of scientific jargon; that thread is cut when The Empath is introduced, tracking mud all over the science and jerking all over the jargon. Whitaker is only here so that the alien hunters can glean clues to Sil's movements without hard evidence and stay hot on her hot tail. That spoils an otherwise good story centered around the most basic tenet of natural selection.

Sex.

The message at the core of SPECIES is that every living thing's purpose is to mate; continuance for the genetic code. It's what Marg Helgenberger aches to do with Michael Madsen all movie.

We've grown so inured to that mating message with all our displacement and duplicity and political correctness that when Sil asks a captive woman why she is here on Earth, the woman tearfully laments, "I don't know!" And people don't! They think they are here to make money, to worship false gods, to get married, work a job, buy a house, blah blah...

Writer Dennis Feldman got it right - the purpose of life is to propagate more life. And the organism in this story trying to copulate copiously is designed correctly as well - she is the most alluring thing on two gams. Genetic engineering at its best. Henstridge is so strikingly beautiful, there is nothing else on screen when she glides past. Helgenberger is a tasty specimen herself, but in this movie, Henstridge is in a league of her own.

The message gets a little lost when the person on the team who eventually has mind-blowing, unprotected sex with Sil is The Dork. Who promptly explodes with alien bodybursting.

There's the other message: the more beautiful the chick, the more painful the disease.

--Review by Poffy The Cucumber (for Poffy's Movie Mania).

Was the above review useful to you?

Is she the cure?

Author: unbrokenmetal from Hamburg, Germany
8 February 2009

The beginning is stunning. "I'm sorry", Ben Kingsley says, a tear flowing from his eye, while men in white suits try to kill a young girl with poisonous gas. Sil is half alien, we are soon told, and the experiments with alien DNA went wrong, but in a way that was probably intended by those who sent it. Marg Helgenberger notices what a perfect biological weapon Sil makes, and Madsen continues: "She's the cure and we're the disease" - from the alien point of view, mankind must be removed from earth. Natasha Henstridge played the innocence of the creature believably, when she goes shopping for the first time, then learns quickly how to survive, but she doesn't get an answer why she's here. In one scenes she asks one of her victims before she kills her if she has nightmares, too. Knowing she's different, she nevertheless feels those beings around her have something in common with her.

The idea is by no means new: have something dangerous or evil appear in the shape of a beautiful woman - that goes back centuries to witch hunt and vampire myths. However, after the 1980s where aliens were either sweet and nice (E.T., Close Encounters) or ugly and aggressive (Aliens, Predator), so that the outer appearance was telling everything, it was good timing by the producers of "Species" to create an alien in perfect disguise. The design by Giger for its biological phases is amazing. But "Species" isn't perfect. It tries on one hand to be scientific and on the other hand introduces a guy with supernatural psychic gifts. And then, fast biological growth and learning a language in two days are two different things - the audience will hardly be convinced that could actually happen. Nonetheless, "Species" is a memorable, important film for the genre in the 1990s. I voted 8/5/6/7 for the 4 parts of the series.

Was the above review useful to you?

Russ Meyer Should Have Directed

6/10
Author: tvsterling from Northern California
20 April 2008

Meyer could have made this a truly great movie. 'Faster Pussycat, Kill, Kill' meets 'Alien'. The director is a good, competent VERY COMMERCIAL director but Meyer had the fire in the belly. Also his specialty was this sort of sexy death stuff. Could have been truly memorable instead of merely solidly watchable. The movie should have had emphasis squished around here & there; First, we see way too little of young Sil. Her character development needed to be extended by at least a sequence or two. All the neat nuances of daddy (Kingsley) vs daughter conflicts could have been brilliantly riffed on. The young actress (Michelle Williams)was way capable of doing this. All sorts of other delicious bits about the pre-pubescent American girl pop into mind almost unbidden. But no all we get is a little train ride & then the metamorphosis. I shudder to think what old Russ could have made happen here. Second, Grown up Sil's romp thru the LA club scene should have been the whole rest of the movie; death sequence & all. I mean what's up with this cave thing? Caves are such CHEAP sets. When I was dragging scenery around on the old 'Santa Barbara' series they got into a stupid cave thing about the time they canceled it. Half the stuff in the old 'Flash Gordon' movie series was done in cave sets because they're so CHEAP. The final hunt & alien pregnancy thing would have been so wonderfully gory (& incidentally so much better for some great comments on the people mating scene) if staged in disco sets. The alien birth on a bottom lighted & strobed dance floor; WHOA what a cinematic moment. The tyke scuttles off into the shadows. In short the movie had way too modest of a scope. "Don't be no ant man, an ant man has low horizons." My personal favorite Gumpism.

Was the above review useful to you?

A 90's science fiction flick that could be better.

Author: Heinrich Austerlitz
10 November 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I have seen this movie when I was younger and I have only seen parts of it and rediscovered this movie on the internet. I decided to go see the full movie of Species to see if it would be a good 90's science fiction flick.

It started out with a beginning where it has been done quite a bit of times. Some scientists decide to experiment with alien DNA and Human DNA without thinking that there could be some serious effects after wards. They decided to keep her locked up for study and then decide to kill her until she breaks out of the cell with abnormal strength and somehow escapes a military research facility with a lot of security judging by the soldiers as security. I have seen this technique before in other movies that I have watched when I was younger. The premise was simple: stop the alien/human hybrid before she mates with a normal human or she'll have a baby that will destroy the human race. This of course means that there is tons of nudity and sexual content. As for destroying the human race, I must admit that this is a weird way of death by alien situation considering that all she needs is a baby so the human race will be destroyed by a hybrid having sex. This then turns into a cat-and-mouse theme for a team of people have to search and destroy her and thus ending up to be a film full of car chases, walking around in Los Angeles and some sets of female nudity along with short-lived sexual relationships with men who want to get jiggy. It also uses some repetitiveness such as that the team nearly tracking her down but ends up a few minute late so she gets away until the next time they meet. She also seems to go after the rich men. The story could definitely be better.

Long story short, it's a cat-and-mouse scenario with a team of people who are always one step behind of an alien/human hybrid who wants to mate with a human so she can have off-springs that can harm the human race with recycled elements from previous movies with the same scenario.

Some of the special effects were quite nice and pretty gross for those who are easily grossed out, especially at the chrysalis parts and such. Some of the times Sil in her alien form seemed a little bit computer generated without the finishing touches to it so it turns out to look fake.

Now for the good parts. The acting was good (though the actress for Sil could of done a better job) the action was good and had some scary moments that surprised. These made the film more watchable for me.

My overall opinion on this is that this is an alright movie even though it has quite a bit of flaws and has not a lot of logic and has a story and elements that have been used before. It is watchable for men who really like watching flicks with sexual themes. It was an alright movie but it isn't something I would want to watch again.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

A B-movie of epic proportions

7/10
Author: bowmanblue from United Kingdom
30 June 2014

I think it's fair to say that you can't spell 'Species' without a capital B (and that's B for 'B-movie'). And, for an out and out B-movie, Species has to be up there with the best of them.

There is nothing particularly 'stand-out' about anything in it. An alien – or rather the most ATTRACTIVE alien you've ever seen – is unleashed on an unwitting L.A. population and we follow the rag-tag bunch charged with the task of tracking her down before she reproduces (and, if you're interested, the 'reproducing scenes' are worth watching this film from most red-blooded males' points of view!).

Absolutely nothing new to see, just a hell of a load of cheesy fun that, albeit quite serious, never gets heavy enough to drag the film down into a melodrama. It just manages to stay slightly above 'tongue-in-cheek' to allow everyone (and when I say 'everyone' I probably just mean men) to enjoy the crazy, corpse-strewn ride.

There are plenty of memorable moments, but most of those involve a nude woman. Yes, you're completely right in thinking that 'Species' is hardly a deep and meaningful film, filled with Oscar-worthy dialogue and complicated character arcs. It's cheesy, tacky, low-brow, but ultimately great fun.

Enjoy with popcorn.

http://thewrongtreemoviereviews.blogspot.co.uk/

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

The Film Created By A Horny 13 Year Old Boy...

Author: oops i forgot from somewhere...
20 October 2009

With its hilariously bad CGI, over-the-top alien designs, oh, and a young gorgeous blonde who spends well over 50% of the movie fully naked and/or having sex, you really would think its been made by a 13 year old boy. But, despite these B-Movie staples, this big screen movie is actually quite fun to watch. The storyline is pretty good, but to savour it, you'd best not care about it and just stare at Sil's bare butt. Forest Whittaker is in there too, although annoyingly states info that is painfully obvious. I gave it 8. Its got some A-List celebs, crazy story, sore-on-the-eyes CGI, and shameful nudity....and thats a winner in my book.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 5 of 14: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history