IMDb > Meltdown (1995) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Shu dan long wei
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Meltdown More at IMDbPro »Shu dan long wei (original title)

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]
Index 31 reviews in total 

6 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Fast, funny, frenetic and first-rate.

7/10
Author: gridoon
6 June 2004

If you are an action fan, and are able to overlook the usual, for Hong Kong movies, schizophrenic tone, which mixes excessive violence with slapstick comedy, it's practically impossible to be disappointed by "Meltdown": first-rate fight scenes, wildly over-the-top stunts, prime explosions and lots of shattered glass. It's hard to believe that so much action can be packed in just one movie. Jet Li moves with amazing speed and agility, Jacky Cheung is pretty funny, and Chingmy Yau is also around, which is always a plus. (***)

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

A Violent spoof of Action films

Author: hayabusa-1 from USA
7 July 2002

Violence runs rampant throughout `Meltdown'. If you're not a fan of gore there's a good chance you won't like this movie. Bouncing Betty mines, time bombs, impaling, electrocution, dismemberment by helicopter blades, graphic gunshot wounds and death are among the dark and gruesome violence that balance out the comedic spoof this film is.

`Meltdown' itself is a spoof on both Die Hard 1 and 2 (Ironically it came out the same year as Die Hard 3). Terrorists dressed exactly like those in Die hard 2, right down to the urban fatigues (and trademark sunglasses for the evil military leader) Take over a high rise building, the plot of the original Die Hard. The geeky black computer hacker is replaced in this film by an equally geeky Indian computer hacker. Fans of the Die Hard trilogy will certainly enjoy the parallels `Meltdown' makes to the `Die Hard' trilogy.

`Meltdown' goes beyond a simple movie spoof. The semi-protagonist of the film `Freddie' is a composite spoof of Chinese martial arts movie legends Bruce Li and Jackie Chan. Freddie takes Chan's zaniness and silliness to extreme farcical levels, while wearing the yellow jumpsuit and uttering the kung fu sounds that Bruce Lee will always be remembered for.

The Kung Fu in this movie is average at best. It's not one of Jet Li's best performances, but then again it isn't bad. What the movie lacks in kung fu, it makes up for with the aforementioned gratuitous violence. The parody is what makes this film worthwhile. 6/9 stars.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Good story and great action

Author: m0rg16 from Sweden
8 February 2003

Some people might think that this is a Jet Li film. Well, it is not. Jet Li IS there, and he kills a bunch of bad guys and causes trouble for the bad guy (The Doctor). But he is not the head character. He is in the movie from time to time, but not enough to be called a main character.

It starts out with Kit Li (Jet Li) as a army officer. His wife and some school children are trapped in a bus and Jet Li needs to disarm the bomb beneath the bus. He cuts the wrong wire and the bus goes boom.

We fast forward 2 years and now Kit Li acts as bodyguard for the Kung-Fu superstar Frankie Lone. Frankie Lone is known for making all of his own stunts (when infact, Kit Li, or some stunt double, is the one who makes the stunts).

One day Frankie Lone goes to see some Tzar jewels from Russia, displayed in a skyscraper. And then Terrorists run in, kill everyone on floor one and go up to the Tzar jewels and takes everyone hostage... But not Kit Li or Frankie Lone. While Frankie Lone runs around the building, avoiding terrorists all the time (he is to cowardly to fight them), Kit Li rushes the building with a cop and an uzi, and mows down enough terrorists to fill a football field with (well, almost. Its entertaining anyway).

Excellent writing and goofy acting and directing (intentionally) makes up for a superb action movie. I have seen people here complain about the Kung-Fu just being average in this movie, but I disagree. Its very good indeed. Might not be Jet Li's best, but at least it doesn't use CGI like so many movies today. its fast and entertaining. The final fight scene between Frankie Lone and that long haired terrorist dude is really awesome (and funny).

I give this movie a 9 out of 10 stars. Rent it, or even better, buy it!

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Best movie I've seen in awhile

Author: m0rg16 from Sweden
23 February 2003

The tagline used over here: "They took his wife, now he takes revenge" is pretty corny, and doesn't really appeal to anyone. It sounds like just about any ordinary action movie out there. But it isn't. This movie is truly superb! The acting, the directing, the action, the plot all mix together into something you just got to love.

Kit Li, a former commando soldier, who accidently killed his wife and a bunch of school children after cutting the wrong wire on a bomb, now works as a stand in for a shameless Kung-Fu superstar named Frankie Lone. The public believes Frankie Lone does all his own stunt work, when infact Kit Li does it for him, and Frankie Lone has become a real coward, who forgets from where he got his fame... That is, by using Kung-Fu.

One night Frankie Lone and Kit Li goes to look at some russian jewels, displayed in a skyscrapper. Unfortunetly terrorists take over the building, and takes everyone in it as hostage. Frankie Lone and Kit Li, however, escape the clutches of the terrorists and dwell around in the building, Kit Li taking out every terrorist he finds and Frankie Lone, running from every bug he finds. Its very funny at times, really.

In the end they manage to take out the terrorists, of course, and Frankie Lone remembers who he really is and Kit Li gets a new girlfriend. Cute. Well, its a good ending to a good movie. Wait, make that a great movie. If you ever lay eyes on this movie in the store, buy it! its definetly worth it.

To sum it all up: Funny, action-packed, good directing and writing and just loveable in general. Go get it! I give it a 9!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Good rip-off of HARD-BOILED and DIE HARD !

7/10
Author: Batkid1 from United States
28 October 2007

I can't say it better myself. This movie rocks, HARD! It's filled with non-stop comedy and action sequences and is never boring.

Jet Li is a police officer who is asked to fill in for a stunt-man, who is a Jackie Chan-persona, one fine day. The next couple of days, the cop's supposed to be a bodyguard for the spoiled star who's to meet with his managers a couple of business partners in a huge rich, business building with a lot of people.

All of a sudden, the party is crashed by some jewel thieves who have been wanted for various terrorist acts in Hong Kong, including one where a bus armed w/ explosives & had a ton of hostages on it was blown to pieces. Included was Li's wife and child so the film is part- revenge flick as well.

The movie starts out explosive, has funny in-between moments and has the last couple of minutes be all about kung fu, more explosions, gun-fights, people using random objects as weapons, more gun-fights, snakes (!) and a helicopter crash along with another random fight.

It never gets old!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Good Hong Kong Action Movie Remastered Badly For American Market

Author: gerrythree (gerrytwo@hotmail.com) from New York
25 August 2004

The words `no talent' and `wastes of skin' are not harsh enough to describe the Hollywood vultures who bowdlerized and rewrote High Risk, renaming it Meltdown. For example, the villain of the movie, called the Doctor, is having a meeting with his gang. In the 1995 Cantonese movie version, with English subtitles, he tells the gang one of them is a police undercover agent. That agent tries unsuccessfully to escape. In the 2000 version, dubbed in English, the Doctor orders the killing of this same gang member for incompetence. In another scene, Jet Li tells a reporter and her cameraman to leave, which they do in a rush by news van as German shepherds chase them. In the original, one of the dogs gets in the van and, off screen, you hear the van crashing. In Meltdown, the scene ends with the van driving away, the dogs chasing it. Whoever adapted this movie for English decided that they would `improve' the movie, with rewritten dialogue and new edits. Wong Jing, the director of High Risk, made an over the top action movie that borrowed heavily from Die Hard. Jet Li is good in this movie, and Jackie Cheung is even better, as a Jackie Chan type actor who is supposed to do all his stunts, but never does. I have read that the real Jackie Chan was upset over being made fun of in this movie. That may or may not be the case. What is true is that I am upset that High Risk could not have just been dubbed into English and the print cleaned up. Instead, the movie has new dialogue and a cheaply done remastered print for the American market.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Lots of action but wastes Jet's skills

7/10
Author: Blake Matthews (drngor@yahoo.com) from Stockton, California
22 June 2001

This movie would've been a perfect opportunity to translate Jet's skills into a modern setting. We have Die Hard-esque plot with terrorists taking over the building. We have Billy Chow as one of the terrorists. There are only two people (Jet included)who know how to fight. And what do we have? Two fights. One has Jet fighting this impressive General guy with light posts. The other has Jacky Cheung beating on Billy Chow while doing a Bruce Lee impression. Those fights are decent. The rest of the action is some good gunplay. But I don't want to see Jet shooting guns as much as I want to see him go hand-to-hand. Well, on the upside, there's a lot of action and movie rarely lets up. It also has Chingmy Yau, one of my favorite actresses from Hong Kong. It's just that Jet Li doesn't give much of a physical performance in this one.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Die Hard goes martial arts !

10/10
Author: Viva_Chiba from Land of the dead
2 December 2010

As you probably know, Wong Jing is an Hong Kong director, famous for mix various styles in his features, in this case we have a mix of Die Hard and a martial arts movie.

The action scenes are cool, with martial arts fights and a mixture of violence, slapstick comedy and awesome stunt work, with the choreography of Corey Yuen (the main reason why i saw this film)!

The cast is cool, Jet Li was awesome, Jacky Cheung was funny and awesome, his performance went beyond my expectations.

The rhythm is fast paced, even in the scenes without action it's still entertaining, because the characters are worked and well structured.

Better than expected, recommended to everybody !

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Not one of the best Jet Li's movies, but still very entertaining

9/10
Author: kurciasbezdalas from Lithuania
23 November 2008

This film is a Honk Kong version of Die Hard. There is a lot of explosions, shootouts, incredible stunts and some martial art scenes. All the action looked very impressive, though there was too little martial art scenes. The first real fighting scene (which lasted more than few seconds) was in a second half of the movie. The fighting scenes were well choreographed, but there wasn't much of them. Most of the film was a shootouts and explosions which looked great, but when I'm watching Jet Li's film, I'm expecting to see a lot of well choreographed fighting scenes. Anyways the movie was still very entertaining. It's worth watching for action fans, but if you wanna see some really good Jet Li's fighting scenes, I suggest you to watch Fist of Legend instead of this one.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

One Of Jet Li's Absolute Best In My Opinion, And One Of My Favorite Die Hard Clones Out There,With An Amazing Performance From Jet Li!

10/10
Author: callanvass
1 November 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This is one of Jet Li's absolute best in my opinion, and one of my favorite Die Hard Clones out there!, with an amazing performance from Jet Li!. All the characters are fantastic, and the story is awesome!, plus Jet Li is simply amazing in this!. The fight scenes are simply fantastic!, and i really liked all of the characters!, plus This has got to be one of Jet's best acting performances in my opinion!. It's got some very funny but really bizarre humor, and, the opening is very memorable and quite disturbing!, plus i cheered out loud when Jacky Cheung's character Frankie Lone's character stopped being a wuss and took action!. The character development is actually really good, and i thought Valerie Chow(Fai-Fai),Billy Chow(Kong),Ben Lam(Rabbit),Kelvin Wong(Doctor), were all very menacing as the main villains!, plus the finale was fantastic and very exciting!. The ending is great, and it has some of the coolest action scenes ever!, plus i thought Jet played one of his coolest characters!. This is one of Jet Li's absolute best in my opinion, and one of my favorite Die Hard clones out there, with an amazing performance from Jet Li, and i say Go see it now!. The direction is fantastic!. Jing Wong/Corey Yuen do a fantastic job here, with awesome camera work, great use of colors, fantastic angles, and keeping the film at an extremely fast pace!. There is tons of blood and violence!. We get hundreds of extremely bloody gunshot wounds, lots of bloody gunshot wounds to the head,chopped off hand, impaling,harsh bloody beatings and more!. The Acting is wonderful!. Jet Li is amazing as always and is amazing here, he is extremely likable, fantastic in the acting department, gives one of his best performances, had a really haunted character, had great chemistry with all of the cast, kicked that ass, is very charismatic, and played one of his coolest characters! (Jet Rules!!!!). Jacky Cheung is awesome here, and was quite hilarious, however i did get tired of him being a wuss at times, but cheered out loud when he stopped being one!, and while he is no Jackie Chan, he is still pretty damn cool!. Kelvin Wong is good as evil Doctor, and played his sleaze ball role well!. Billy Chow is as always one intense dude, and played his role very well, he had an awesome fight scene with Jacky Cheung!. Valerie Chowis very sexy, and played he role very well i just wished she had more to do!. Ben Lam is cool as Rabbit and had one wicked laugh,loved when he threw the snakes everywhere!. Ma Wu is funny as Frankie's father i loved him!, he had great chemistry with him. Chung-Hsien Yang is amusing as Joyce's boyfriend cop i liked him. Chingmy Yau(Helen),Charlie Yeung(Joyce), are both hot and do what they have to do well. Rest of the cast are fine. Overall Go see it now!. ***** out of 5

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history