IMDb > Poison Ivy II (1996) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Poison Ivy II
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Poison Ivy II More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]
Index 36 reviews in total 

28 out of 36 people found the following review useful:

a really bad film redeemed a bit by Alyssa Milano's frequent nudity

3/10
Author: cygnus x-1 from roanoke, va
10 January 2000

if you're renting a movie just to see Alyssa Milano nude, rent this one instead of her other nudie flick "embrace of the vampire". she looks noticeably a lot more toned and sexy and the plot seems more concerned with keeping her clothes off or having her wear almost nothing at all.

other than her great body, this movie is quite a chore to try to sit through. there is nothing else to bother with here other than to see Alyssa nude.

so, as a nudie flick, it's okay. otherwise this is a pretty bad movie.

rating:3 (though Alyssa's body deserves a 9)

Was the above review useful to you?

23 out of 33 people found the following review useful:

Very Hot, Very Sexy, Very Erotic

Author: Ride-3 from Stockton, California
24 May 2000

Poison Ivy 2: Lily is a great movie, much better than the first. While the original Poison Ivy was very tame (it's only nudity was a brief shot of a bare butt) Poison Ivy 2: Lily contains loads of nudity. Lily arrives at an art college where she takes up with sculptor Gredin and poses nude for her art teacher Donald Falk. Soon Donald is so obsessed with Lily that he tries to rape her and that leads to some tragic consequences for all involved. I did enjoy the original Poison Ivy but enjoyed the 2nd much more because it dared to show more bare flesh and had a good storyline. I recommend that you see both films.

Poison Ivy 2: Lily is Rated R for strong sexuality and nudity, adult language, and for some violence.

NOTE: Poison Ivy 2: Lily was released in two versions: an R Rated version that trims some sex scenes, and an UNRATED version that contains two more minutes of sexual sequences.

Was the above review useful to you?

19 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

sexy thriller

9/10
Author: g404c
5 February 2006

Poison Ivy II stars Alyssa Milano as Lily, a shy and naive Midwestern girl who moves to L.A. to study to become an artist. After feeling like an outcast among her new, more exotic peers, Lily happens upon a journal stuffed away in a closet in her new apartment. The journal contains stories of a confident seductress who gets what she wants and is not afraid to do anything. Lily decides to "become" this seductress. Sexy Johnathon Schaech plays her love interest.

This movie is very mid '90s--the clothes, hairstyles, music. It is a lot of fun. I first saw this edited for TV a long time ago, but tonight I saw the unedited version on HBO and I must say I had no idea it would be so different. Milano and Schaech give top-notch performances and Xander Berkeley was effective as the creepy, sleazy art professor. The artwork in the film was very beautiful and Joey Krees was too cool as Peter the Performance Artist (surely he has performed in other works?!--nothing listed on IMDb). If you want sensual mid '90s fare, then Poison Ivy II is the one to see.

Was the above review useful to you?

20 out of 28 people found the following review useful:

A Good Movie

8/10
Author: maggot66685 from Saskatchewan, Canada
27 May 2003

Alyssa Milano's nudity did not make this movie trashy. This movie was the best one of the Poison Ivy saga. It had a very good plot and was very interesting. I don't think it was just a soft core porn movie, I believe all the nudity had a reason that was directly associated to the plot.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Sensual 90's Flick

9/10
Author: fairydustsetmefree from United States
28 January 2010

Personally I thought the film was very entertaining.

The plot itself was very well planned out and the actors were fantastic. I'd describe this film as a great representation of a 90's genre flick, being that it was sensual and erotic while at the same time providing a thrilling storyline.

As a fan of Alyssa Milano I'd say this was one of her best films and Jonathon Schaech did a great job in this film as well. More than just a movie full of sexual scenes, it touches and delves into a topic we can all relate to. I mean how many of us haven't imitated a person we've idolized? It's not unnatural to want to be like someone you thoroughly admire.

Overall, this movie was very entertaining and worth the watch. If you're looking for a throwback to the good old 90's while getting to see some sensual action, then this is the movie for you. Definitely better than the first I'd say. But then, why don't you see for yourself?

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Only suitable for Alyssa fans

7/10
Author: kshitij (axile007) from India
17 June 2008

Well,if you are Alyssa fan like me then this is the one which is surely not to be missed.Extremely tame story line and full of eroticism, the movie don't have much to offer in terms of any substance or plot.Lily(Alyssa Milano) is an art student who comes to California and join the drawing school.She rent the house nearby where she discovers the diary of a women she has never met.The diary is full of erotic desires & nude images which awakes passion in Lily as she become obsessed with the diary,try to mould herself like that women.......

But this is only one part of the story.Later its being shown that her art teacher is lustful about Lily,besides she is having a boyfriend also.Though movie is quite predictable and rather slow but there is no doubt that Alyssa Milano looked extremely cute & beautiful and totally the movie belonged to her.Sex scenes in the movie are rather unconventional but interesting.So inspite of having nothing the movie lives to its B-grade sex-flicks standard and as far as Alyssa fans are considered its a feast for them.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

the seductress

6/10
Author: kai ringler from United States
30 December 2007

wow......Alyssa Milano, dang i'll never watch Who's the Boss the same way ever again. She does have a banging body let me say that much,, as for the movie.. where do i start, well here goes nothing, the premise i thought was okay,, i mean finding a diary, then trying to be somebody y our'e not to gain attention,, hmmm., anyway, she discovers her body, and what she want to do,, she is betrayed, betrays others, and is downright cold. i didn't care for the ending though, but everything else in between made sense to me. This isn't a bad sequel,, i thought the original was better, but this one was more sensual, and had more depth to it sexually than the first. This film reminds me of like a Soft Core Porn almost, sort of like Nicolas Cage in Zandalee, but softer, overall not a bad pic,

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

More intense than the first

8/10
Author: Brian T. Whitlock (GOWBTW) from WILMINGTON, NC
21 January 2006

Alyssa Milano("Who's The Boss?" and "Charmed") plays Lily in the sequel to "Poison Ivy". She's very, VERY HOT after doing the TV show "Who's the Boss?" The best part of her I couldn't get enough of is her stomach. I really got turned on in the bellybutton piercing scene. That's the part she undergoes her transformation. What was the cause? The diary of Ivy, the first girl who tried to destroy the lives of a rich family. However, since Lily was an art student, the instructor is coming on to her. Much like a role reversal here in the movie. Being sheltered is always a drag when you want to fit in, sometimes pressure is more damaging. The best thing about this movie is more of a learning the errors of the others' lifestyle. Just being yourself is necessary. This movie along with the first one is a definite must see. You won't be sorry! Rating 3.5 out of 5 stars.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

What a tease!

3/10
Author: lost-in-limbo from the Mad Hatter's tea party.
8 January 2006

Lily is an art student who has moved away from home to start at a new collage, but also she's having trouble trying to fit in with her other pupils and flat mates. That's until she discovers a box in her closest that has some items that belong to a girl named Ivy. From what she gathered from these items that ranged from sexy clothing, her artwork and to diary, she was one fearless and raunchy girl who liked to play games and tease to get what she wants. So, now Lily strings along her guy who she's seeing and that of her married art teacher who slowly has became infatuated with her.

Alyssa Milano… there's no shadow of a doubt that she's best reason for watching this extremely tacky picture; really that's it. When Milano makes her first appearance she looks reasonably daggy, but she sure does look fine either way. The first film, which starred Drew Barrymore and Tom Skeritt I thought, was somewhat dull and rather ordinary. Again this one is no better, but since I'm a sucker for anything that involves Milano, it had me clicked in! This treads the same path of the first flick by presenting a adult thriller that oozes with steamy erotica, so if you like your trashy melodrama, bare flesh and soft core sex, well then this should tickle your fancy. One thing that I thought that the original had over this pointless sequel other then an actual story, was that it had such a heavily grim edge to it. But nuff said about the first film, in-retrospect this one is far more sexy and more steamier than the first. Although the one redeeming factor of the film, of course Milano, can't help that it seems to loose steam soon after it eventually begins. It's hard to put in words, but not much did happen, really. No plot behind the convoluted mess, but to rehash what we've seen before with moments that try to outdo each other, pointless flashbacks of Ivy (not from the first film) and some sequences that miss the point. Even when Milano's character starts acting out the desirable ways of Ivy from her diary it's slightly hypnotic, but that's more to her tempting presence and desirable actions than that of the material. The film's unpleasant ending is one of the things that go beyond the call of nature, but then at least it had some energy going for it, but still it was a bit overwrought. The pacing is at a snails pace and because of that boredom quickly moves in.

Since its set amongst an art environment, the whole artiness of it got a bit too shallow for its own sake and it could have destroyed the overall mood, that's if it even had one. But this is what you expect from your run-of-the-mill low budget film that would go straight-to-video without a whimper. Alyssa Milano silky presence evokes such an allurement, but she doesn't just get by with her looks as her performance is definitely above average and Xander Berkeley dished out a more then decent performance. It's just too bad they had to work with such undeveloped characters and a stiff script that was filled with something corny amongst every few lines. Sometimes I thought it was too thick and they had too much to say when it probably would have worked out better with less or none at times. The soundtrack had some sustainable tunes from the easy listening, rock and Gothic… but sometimes it was just too overwhelming in a very cheesy way. I most likely saw the cut version, which I watched off TV, but that's not what really bother me, it was that there were too many ad breaks which made the film drag even more. It's a real long shot to call this schematic flick good, but for the undemanding its light entertainment.

Only for those who enjoyed the original or have a soft spot for Alyssa Milano. Obviously, I'll be going with latter.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Surprisingly above average direct to video sequel, that's rather entertaining and somewhat suspenseful, with a decent story and very good performances

Author: callanvass
20 April 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This is a surprisingly above average direct to video sequel, that's rather entertaining and somewhat suspenseful, with a decent story and very good performances. All the characters are good enough, and it has some very erotic and steamy moments as well, plus Alyssa Milano is simply amazing in this!. There are lots of steamy erotic sex scenes, and this is a lot better then most of the direct to video sequels that come out now a days, plus It's decently made and written. After enjoying the 1st Posion Ivy, I decided to tape this sequel, and as I said before I was quite pleasantly surprised, plus Xander Berkeley is excellent in his role, and sometimes very creepy. Milano and Johnathon Schaech had pretty good chemistry together, and there is one very powerful scene involving Camilla Belle (the daughter) that I won't spoil for you, plus Lilly's character was surprisingly very likable and easy to understand. It has quite a suspenseful finale, and I say this could have gone for a theater run, plus the ending was predictable but good. This is surprisingly an above average direct to video sequel, that's rather entertaining and somewhat suspenseful,with a decent story and very good performances, and I say it's well worth the watch!. The Direction is good. Anne Goursaud does a much better job here then she did in Embrace Of The Vampire, with good camera work, decent angles and keeping the film at a fast enough pace. The Acting is surprisingly very good. Alyssa Milano is incredibly gorgeous and is amazing here, she is very likable, had some great emotional scenes, was sexy as hell, had pretty good chemistry with Schaech, and had an awesome powerful breakdown scene near the end! (Milano Rules!!!!). Johnathon Schaech is pretty good as the love interest he just has a certain presence about him, he was very good. Xander Berkeley is really excellent here, he was creepy as the obsessed lover, and shocked me with his actions in the finale he was really good. Camilla Belle is very good as the daughter, she was a great child actress!. Rest of the cast are decent. Overall worth the watch!. *** out of 5

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Parents Guide Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history