Leaving Las Vegas (1995) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
295 Reviews
Sort by:
Powerful Film About Loneliness And Acceptance
flipgirl3815 May 2005
Remarkable. Touching. Riveting. Leaving Las Vegas is all of these and then some. I have not seen a film of this magnitude about loneliness and acceptance in such a while that I was in tears for much of the run time.

Nicholas Cage is Ben, a man who has lost his wife and child, throws his job away, and takes all of his remaining money to buy as much liquor as possible and "drink himself to death" in the city of Las Vegas. He has given up all hope, with no wish to live, but for one reason or another, wants a companion to share in his misery, but not try to save him. He finds this companion in a hooker, Sera, played by Elizabeth Shue. They immediately form a strong relationship based on one night of talking about their lives. Sera in particular quickly grows attached to Ben, for no other reason than she has been alone her whole life and wants nothing more than to feel that want and need by someone.

Cage won his first Oscar for his role as Ben, and how deserved it was. He was astounding, perfection, down to every single tick, the volume of his voice, the pain and tragedy buried in his eyes. I could not believe the extent of his role, the dedication and time he invested in bringing this character to life. Same goes for Elizabeth Shue, who with a simple glance at a person, she reveals her entire self, and no one even dares to notice except for Ben. This neediness is apparent, she wants to hold onto this relationship so badly, yet what makes their relationship work is total and complete acceptance of their respective decisions. He will not tell her to stop being a hooker, and she in return can never ask him to stop drinking. And it is in that factor that makes this film worth watching. To be totally accepted by those around them, to open themselves up to such an extreme.

Leaving Las Vegas is a sobering film about connections, loneliness, acceptance, and a small little island of hope that is Ben and Sera. They are two good people, depicted in a world full of sorrows and misdeeds, who latch onto each other and never let go. They were nothing but ghosts, till that chance encounter, and became each others worlds. Cage and Shue bring these good people to life in such an extraordinary way, making Leaving Las Vegas a film to be treasured and remembered for years to come. I highly recommend this film.
152 out of 177 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
The dignity of love and the depths of despair
mstomaso3 June 2005
If Mike Figgis never made another film, and Nick Cage and Elizabeth Shue retired after making Leaving Las Vegas, they would have done so with impunity. Both actors are superb, and bring the excellent screenplay to life with the help of some masterful dramatic cinematography.

Cage plays a suicidal alcoholic who has come to Las Vegas to drink himself to death, and Shue plays the unexpected problem - a prostitute who falls in love with him. The only reason this film did not receive a ten from me is the voice-over technique which was tastefully minimal, but, in my opinion, the only mistake the director made. It does help to provide closure, but I felt that closure was an unnecessary compromise here.

This is not an entertaining film, and in truth, I am surprised by its popularity among typical audiences. It is a serious film, and a work of art, but fun is not to be found here. DO NOT see this film if you dislike feeling emotionally drained and ethically challenged, and DO NOT see it if you are very prone to boredom, or easily offended by sexual violence, substance abuse and the horror of daily life on the street.

This is an intensely sad film about love shared by people who are caught in the gravity of their lives and can not escape. It is also a story of redemption and respect, found in improbable places. It is NOT a fun-filled frolicking romantic comedy, but rather, the opposite, and it achieves a beauty, dignity and power almost unique among films treating such starkly real and disturbing subjects.
165 out of 198 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Amazing, and gritty performances
jguz583 May 2003
It's not a movie I could bear to watch very often, because it's sad to see people destroy themselves. But Nicolas Cage and Elisabeth Shue are riveting to watch here. As a person who has a past involvement in alcohol and substance abuse, I found Cage's performance especially compelling, and after watching him in this one, I am sure glad that lifestyle is behind me!

The chemistry between these two is really great, two people that need each other in different ways, trying to cope with how screwed up their lives have become. Very real performances, if you're faint-of-heart be ready for some strong words, and not just obscenities. Wow! They really lay it on the line. Great performances by two of my favorites.
94 out of 111 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
The chemistry between Cage and Shue is sizzling...
Nazi_Fighter_David27 June 2002
Warning: Spoilers
Mike Figgis directed beautifully 'Leaving Las Vegas'... His film resulted audacious, fiercely realistic...

Hollywood had great success with movies about alcoholism: "The Lost Weekend" which won four Academy Awards, including Best Actor for Ray Milland and "Days of Wine and Roses," depicting Jack Lemmon as a charming drunk who loses his job because of this, and brings his wife (Lee Remick) down with him...

In 'Leaving Las Vegas,' Figgis captures the chaos inside an alcoholic divorcée... He shows the complexity of life and human relationships... He invites us to use our imaginations about a suicidal alcoholic... He never really explained how his character is bent on killing himself, nevertheless his powerful message remains a very sad one, extremely difficult to embrace... The final scene in a dark, filthy motel room rank as some of the most heartbreaking moments I have ever seen in film, and surely it will leave you terribly moved...

Figgis treats his two leading characters tenderly... He never makes moral pronouncements, and to his credit, the film remains honest to the end, never sinking into sentimentality...

His style as his story remembers me Marco Ferreri's greatest international success, 'La Grande Bouffe' (Blow-Out), a black and highly flatulent comedy (that won the Grand Jury prize at the Cannes Film Festival in 1973) about four middle-aged men who gather in a well-appointed villa to eat themselves to death...

'Leaving Las Vegas' is the depressing love story of a failed drunken writer and a self-assured $500-a-night young hooker with whom he crosses paths... It is an appeasing tale of a dedicated drunk who downs entire bottles of hard liquor in several gulps... He is on the way down and he recognizes it... He is an ecumenical drinker who wants to destroy everything that remains of his old life... He fills his supermarket jumbo cart with as much booze as possible, and moves for Vegas to literally drink himself to death...

Nicolas Cage is remarkable as Ben Sanderson, the alcoholic who is resolute and actually thoughtful about his self-destruction..

Ben admits he has nothing to live for and he wants to die... He swills vodka from the bottle in the shower... He drinks greedily at the bottom of a swimming pool... He drinks, and drinks, 'til there's no more... And when he discovers that the Casino does not offer the Bloody Mary's that he asks, he explodes, overturning the table of Blackjack where he was gambling... He wakes up at night shaking so much he can merely crawl to the refrigerator and intensely swallows Vodka mixed with a little orange juice...

Elisabeth Shue proves to be a revelation as Sera.. A polite, beautiful, and sensitive blonde woman who prides herself on being just a high-class call girl... Nevertheless her vulnerable character is very puzzling for her terrible lifestyle, and her strange desperate attachment to a sadistic pimp Yuri Butso...

Sera meets Ben and inexplicably finds herself attracted to him... She soon develop a rich closeness that can nearly be described as love... Ben continues to tell her that true love between them could never happen...

After Yuri is soon out of the way by Russian thugs, she takes Ben under her wing, and attempts to fill a need in her life much like Ben fills his needs with liquor... Both share a common bond of misery and loneliness... Sera cares for Ben enough to handle his drunken bouts of coldness... She complies to Ben's own terms and vows to never dissuade him from his suicidal goal... Out of sheer love, she even buys him a silver flask for a present, while, inside, she is desperate to find some way to change his course as well as her own...

In one of the most revealing scenes at a desert resort, she drowns herself in sunlight and liquor to seduce Ben... She tries to love him, and in his infrequent getaways of semi-sobriety, he attempts to love her back...

The opportunity is shattered as Ben, without an ability or desire to change, becomes for her a tragic portrait of life without hope... How foolish of her to push him to select...

Shue keeps, all the way, an intriguing character extremely human... She is good and tender... Never tough or cynical... Her observations, without dialog, suggest just a sliver of expectation... In the final outcome, this dream hooker is the heart of the story... The Academy showed their appreciation by giving her a best actress nomination...

"Leaving Las Vegas" is pain, isolation and honesty... An unusual picture of human desperation and impotency... A study of acceptance, resignation and despair of an amazing two characters... An examination of what happens when two lovers are caught in cycles of self-destruction...

The film is extremely well written, directed and acted... The chemistry between Cage and Shue is sizzling... They are able to solve their existential frustrations by connecting in perfect harmony, and yet they are still completely alone...

'Leaving Las Vegas' has some film noir feel by moments, specially during the dark alleyways and hookers, where its neon signs are seedy, its nights perpetual, and the glitter absent... Figgis' camera moves as fluidly as the alcohol guzzles bottle after bottle down Cage's throat... The music adds plenty to the motion picture with ballads playing a large role in the odd romance... Like Chaplin and Woody Allen, Figgis molds his movie by using his own music...

In an ironic twist of events, the book's author John O'Brien actually committed suicide in 1994, two weeks after selling the movie rights... He never got to see his vision realized on the screen... Director, Mike Figgis finished the film as a tribute...
69 out of 82 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Or, is killing myself a way of drinking?
Andy (film-critic)3 February 2005
To me, this is one of the best romantic films that you can get your hands on. If you are interested in seeing a pure love, one that is not focused purely on sex, but instead emotional and mental connectiveness, then this is the film for you. While others will argue that this is not the best date film, I would beg to differ. Leaving Las Vegas would be a perfect choice for a first date film over anything that Meg Ryan or the recycle bin of Hollywood has to offer. It is a gripping story of realistic love, and the dramatic consequences of giving your heart to someone. It is about dreams, companionship, and the hurdles of everyday romance. This is a film that proves that the darker underbelly of our society still has a shimmering light of hope and love. Director Mike Figgis has done an outstanding job of giving these two rich characters the right elements to build upon the "classic" love-story moments, while giving it a flavor uniquely his own. Figgis' mixture of gritty Vegas with the beautiful jazz sounds really created the ambiance of love and pushed these two ugly ducklings closer towards their transformation into love. I think that is what really captured me on this film, was that it was similar to the love stories that Hollywood continually releases, except it gave us two tragic characters instead of these bubbly, money isn't everything, characters that seem to be repetitive cogs in the Hollywood machine.

Let me explain this further. When you think of a love story, what are the elements that you consider? You have a guy and a girl (normally), they have this coincidental moment where they find their common bond, they are held back by either an internal or external dilemma, there is a factor of insecurity, and finally the dramatic ending where the two rush together at a predisclosed location (normally an airport). Does that sound familiar in any way? These are all elements that you can find in LLV. I have seen this film at least a dozen times, and for some odd reason it was this viewing that it just seemed to click for me. This is the perfect American love story told with a darker tone. While most will see this as nothing more than the story of a drunk trying to kill himself and a graphic scenes with a prostitute, I saw it as the classic story of love. All the elements are present. Ben and Sera coincidentally meet one night, both seeking companionship and without the pressures of sex, they immediately form this bond that will never be broken. Through Ben's drunkenness, he remembers her and continually wants to see her. They both have internal factors that hold them back, Sera's is prostitution while Ben's is his drinking. Even through there are these factors, they still find themselves together. That feeling of insecurity is even there when Sera arrives home one night to find Ben with someone else. It all seems to fit. Then there is the amazing ending that will either have you in rapture or in awe. These two are in love, and it isn't this bubbly love between Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan, it is truths of America finding the dream of compassion.

The only unnecessary moments that I felt could have been fine-tuned were those involving Julian Sans. I just couldn't capture his character. I needed a bit more back-story or perhaps more interactions between him and Sera. Something was missing that distracted from the scenes that they shared. Outside of this one element, the rest of the film was purely flawless and even at times carnal. For example, when Sera has the opportunity to be on her own, she chooses to forgo her independence and be with Ben. Shue and Figgis both demonstrate that perhaps Sera is not in love with Ben, but instead the concept of a man wanting to be with her because of who she is. It is obvious that Sera seeks companionship, and probably has never had it all her life, when suddenly Ben struts into the picture. This may explain why she continues to work when she doesn't have to. She is used to the job, she thrives for the intensity, and perhaps uses it to fall deeper in love with Ben. Figgis doesn't come out and give you a reason why Sera continues along her path, but instead leaves it up to your imagination and enjoyment. Leaving Las Vegas felt like a combination Breaking the Waves, Love Liza, and All the Real Girls. This is a love story with so many different human elements coming to you at once that the average viewer would probably ignore the signs and see this as a depressing film. While it isn't the lightest film of the ages, it does prove that "Love is a very splendid thing".

I cannot end this review without at least mentioning the amazing acting done by both Nicolas Cage and Elizabeth Shue. The chemistry between them is rare in Hollywood. I felt that these two really made this film and were just not placed in their roles to sell tickets. Cage really felt comfortable and understood his character while Shue fit perfectly with her secrets and heart. It is obvious why Cage won the Oscar for his role in this film, and while I am sure we will never see him take a role like this again (thanks to summer blockbusters), it was good to see him take a role that really redefined the romance genre. The same goes for Shue. While she hasn't really made another film like this one in a very long time (outside of Adventures in Babysitting), it is good to know that she can take on roles like this and have the guts to follow through.

Overall, this was a very powerful and emotional film for me.

Grade: ***** out of *****
70 out of 85 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Unconditional love in an alcoholic haze.
Spikeopath17 June 2009
Ben Sanderson is an alcoholic, who after getting released from his well paid screen writing position, heads to Vegas with his severance pay. Where he seriously plans to drink himself to death. But whilst cruising down the strip he meets Sera, a nicely turned out prostitute, and both troubled souls come together in an unlikely romance.

Based around the semi-autobiographical novel by John O'Brien, an alcoholic who committed suicide before the film made it to the screen, this is a sad, dark and deeply upsetting picture. Sanderson and his plight has no motive, we are not fed reasons for his nihilistic behaviour. We find him at the beginning of the film joyously hurtling thru a liquor market isle, promptly filling his shopping cart with bottles of liquor. From here on in we know that this is no ordinary film about an alcoholic trying to get off the booze, we are on a train to Bleakville, stops at Love and Liberation seem a very long way away.

Enter Sera, the sweet and wholesome prostitute, who having escaped the abusive and borderline psycho pimp, Yuri, is herself in need of liberation. But can she carry the burden of both as this unlikely and almost certainly doomed romance starts to become significant? Nicholas Cage as Sanderson is terrific, very compelling, realistic and segueing from zany wired comedy to the desolation of Sanderson's death wish descent within a heart beat. Elisabeth Shue as Sera is also incredibly potent, if perhaps guilty of looking too pristine, and prompting questions of why she would be drawn to Ben's world anyway?

Shue none the less works her socks off to make Sera sensitive and believable. Directed by Mike Figgis, who shot it beautifully in Super 16 film, the film won a Best Actor Academy Award for Cage, and garnered nominations for Best Actress {Shue} & Best Director and Best Adapted Screenplay {both Figgis}. Massively popular and praised on release, it has lost none of the impact that it had back then. 8/10
37 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Viva Greek Tragedies
hlcepeda5 January 2004
Not unlike John Huston's Under The Volcano, Leaving Las Vegas borrows from Greek mythology, obliquely mirroring the tragedy and pathos of Orpheus' failed attempt to rescue his dead wife, Eurydice, from Hades. Mike Figgis obliges us with a helpful hint in the scene where Nicolas Cage gives Elizabeth Shue a present of earrings: Greek cameos.

As in the ancient tale, love challenges the inevitability of death, although, in the case of LLV, roles are upended and sometimes blurred, and Orphean references are either thinly disguised, or non-specific to the point of being thoroughly sublimated. Academic, to be sure, but completely acceptable as long as LLV can sustain itself and remain engaging. And it surely does, thanks to Figgis' intelligent script and direction, Cage's role as a down-and-out writer and his protracted self-destruction, and Shue's portrayal of a lonely hooker, lifting that old bromide beyond what could have been routine, to a level not seen since Jane Fonda's character in Klute. Excellent performances all around.

With all that said, this film is not for everyone (in particular those who only respond to gratuitous sex, car chases, and mindless pyrotechnics). The lurid depictions of despair, self-loathing, and violence could put off even the most hardened social worker. In my mind's eye, I could see psychiatrists amongst the theater audiences, furiously jotting down their observations. Understandable; the two principal characters are, in the common parlance, screwed up. One cannot cope with failure, so decides to opt out, while the other does cope, but only barely, existing along the ragged edges of what passes for society in Nevada Hell. These details, though, tend to outline and, indeed, strengthen the true heart of this film: Sacrifice and Unconditional Love.

If this film is not for everyone, then who is it for? Those with real life experience and the maturity gained thereby. Those with strong emotional constitutions. Anyone appreciative of impassioned performances. Freudians. Alcoholics, recovering and otherwise. Pimps. Priests. Classicists. Petty whiners in need of perspective. And, more than anyone else, couples who plan on breaking up. In sickness and in health, 'til death do us part. 9.5 out of 10.
68 out of 88 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Leaving My Senses perhaps . . . but there's more here than meets the eye.
Bill Stoll7 June 2005
I've seen this film 5 or 6 times. It occurred to me on the last viewing that it could be the ultimate Touched by an Angel – Ben's time in Las Vegas, that is. I believe author John O'Brien thought he was living through a hallucination in the final throes of his diseased life.

The possibility rises out of several conspicuous dynamics in the film.

First, that Ben's life was invested developing Hollywood drama prior to being dismissed by his boss, who will clearly miss his talent and personality in the office, a talent singularly broken by the ravages of alcoholism. He is good at inventing and developing "story". If his occupation had been Investment Banking or Teaching, I'd feel differently. But John O'Brien bore him with a Hollywood mind. That lit the flame for me.

That Ben repeatedly calls Sera his angel during his demise - as he enjoys the best of - and endures the worst of - Las Vegas living. It is possible that all of it is a hallucination during the final pathetic act of his life. The invention of Sera makes his passing bearable, doable, a possible goal for him.

That Sera endures the college team horrors, discuses her relationship with the off-camera therapist to whom she confesses her soul-deep love for Ben ... even the problems with her pimp and landlord constitute deep back story in the mind of a man with a talent for such invention, desperate to flesh out the reasons why this angel will escort him to the next world. In my last analysis, she is an angel divined in his fertile mind to embody all of the good people and events in his life (the wealth flashback memories, e.g.). Sera has come to take him out while steeling the love in his heart. She sees him for what he is, because that's what responsible angels do.

This is a work with metaphor far beyond the veneer of the surface dialog. It's a film demanding to be viewed more than once. Or perhaps, I'm just going nuts, have lost it and I'm hallucinating in my own right.

Either way, enjoy. 10 out of 10.
110 out of 147 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Cage's Career Milestone
CurtMan@LVCM.com22 October 2004
"Leaving Las Vegas" is an insightful, harrowing experience about the binding forces of true romance, the power of encouragement and compassion, and the tragic effects of alcoholism. The performances are absolutely astounding: Nicholas Cage delivers one of the most unforgettable, genuine, and human performances ever captured on film (a well-deserved Oscar for every reason), and Elisabeth Shue, as his soul provider and protector through the trauma of his alcoholic turmoil is sentimental, passionate, and definitely deserving of the Oscar for Best Actress in 1995, providing us with the eye of Ben Sanderson's heart and soul, as his equally troubled lover who has pledged to stay with him through tears and trials. Director Mike Figgis is intensely effective in following the many turmoils of Sanderson as he copes with terminal alcoholism, even going so far as to declaring he will "drink himself to death in Las Vegas", and the effects of his struggle upon his functions, health, and spirit, as well as the corresponding attributes of his loyal lover, Sara. I'm certain that anyone who has experienced the turmoil of alcoholism or has been deeply involved with such an abuser will gravely appreciate the realism and depth of this film to address the egregious effects of drinking constantly, and how this alcoholism tears many lives literally apart. I was horrified by Sanderson's dependence upon alcoholism as a substitute for happiness and control, and Nicholas Cage's uncanny human performance, with all of his appropriate, convincing twitches and erratic movements, enhanced the compassion and torment I felt for this character, who has literally surrendered his life to this terrible disease of alcoholism. We gasp in horror as we see Sanderson taking a shower with a bottle of gin in hand, and trembling to the refrigerator for a bottle of vodka: these are the true, tragic symptoms of alcoholism, and this film does an excellent job in addressing them. A brilliant, tragic, yet extremely essential study of the disease of alcoholism and how it can destroy every aspiration, every desire, and every state of consciousness we have within ourselves, when we are constantly craving "one more bottle of vodka" 24 hours a day, 7 days a week... Nicholas Cage delivers one of the most heartfelt and eerily convincing performances in the history of film, and this is one lamentable, subliminal look at one of the saddest and unnecessary addictions in humans: striving to either enhance, better, or in this case, destroy their lives in constantly drinking intoxicating and deadly substances. Sanderson to Sara: "You can never make me stop drinking"--- the sad, yet frighteningly real state of mind of a disparaged, hopeless, alcoholic. **** out of ****
47 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Bravura Cage & Shue; latter day "Days of Wine & Roses"; flawless tragic love story
george.schmidt11 April 2003
LEAVING LAS VEGAS (1995) **** Nicolas Cage, Elisabeth Shue, Julian Sands. (Cameos: Richard Lewis, Steven Weber, Carey Lowell, French Stewart, Julian Lennon, Mariska Hargitay, R. Lee Ermey, Ed Lauter, Danny Huston, Lucinda Jenney, Lou Rawls, Laurie Metcalf, Shawnee Smith, Bob Rafelson,Xander Berkley). Uncompromisingly bleak and powerful portrayal of unconditional love between two tragic misfits. Cage in a bravura performance, that justifiably garnered him a Best Actor Oscar, vows to give up on life and heads to Vegas to drink himself to death where he meets and falls for pretty victimized hooker Shue (the performance of her career, and Best Actress nominee) who decides to love him for what he is. Excellent rapport and believably realistic performances and excellent adaptation of John O' Brien's semi-autobiographical novel of total despair. O' Brien committed suicide shortly after his novel was being produced into a film. Filmed in grainy 16MM and blown up to 35MM gives it an all too natural look. Look sharply for the film's director Mike Figgis as a goateed thug after pimp Sands.
27 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
beautiful cinematography
kimjoh1 May 2005
I remember seeing this film when it came out, not really knowing what to expect. the only thing i knew about the film was that Nicolas Cage was in it. i saw it with my girlfriend and i remember that throughout the movie nobody made a sound, no annoying popcorn munchers, no one getting up to go to the toilet, just complete silence. And after the film was finished and the credits were rolling across the screen people still sat quiet in their seats. The film is beautifully played and directed. The sober jazz music from sting fits like a glove. To this day my girlfriend want let me see leaving las Vegas again because i get mellow and "preoccupied" for several days.
37 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
I wish we could have this Nicolas Cage back.
Christian_Dimartino10 August 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Nicolas Cage and Elisabeth Shue are truly stunning in the 1995 film, Leaving Las Vegas, a powerful and tragic drama from director Mike Figgis(Internal affairs). The two stars give the best performances of their careers, in one of the best films of their careers.

Cage plays Ben, a man who has officially hit rock bottom and has gone to Vegas in a plan to drink himself to death. Until he meets Sera(played by Elisabeth Shue), a lonely hooker who falls for Ben. The film focuses on their relationship, pretty much.

You really grow to hate Ben, and you really grow to love Sera. And in the end, you feel really sad for her. The whole film is real. The film is mainly about two sad people who are having a midlife crisis, and watching them is intoxicating(no pun intended I swear).

Cage really earned his Oscar here, even though I sort of hated him. I think that Shue definitely should've won for her wonderfully sad performance here. We grow to truly care about these characters, and thats mainly why the ending is so sad.

This is a powerful and wonderful film that will keep you thinking about it long after its over. There is a lot to admire about it, but the main thing to admire is the remarkable performances by Nicolas Cage and the sadly forgotten Elisabeth Shue.

A
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Drunken Cage: A Cross Between Peter North & Arthur
JimS_868619 April 2009
I am not quite sure why Leaving Las Vegas was held in such high regard upon it's release in '95. This film was an abysmal failure in just about every respect. I guess if you enjoy seeing beautiful women bare their breasts frequently, the film will succeed for you on some level. But Nicholas Cage's character is pulling more trim than James Bond. He can pound a 5th quicker than Blutarsky, while operating a motor vehicle with such precision that he can outsmart a cop on a motorcycle who actually happens to witness him chugging vodka while driving down the Vegas strip. I guess the moral of this movie is: any slim, middle aged guy with a receding hairline could wallow through life acting like a pitiful drunken buffoon with a tolerance that would probably have eclipsed Farley's, and have gorgeous women constantly throwing themselves at them.

The problem here is with the casting. Perhaps I would have been able to take this material more seriously if Brad Pitt, Johnny Depp, or Zac Efron were cast instead of Cage. But even then, you're still faced with the dilemma of asking yourself: why a would a person want to kill themselves when they have all these beautiful women aggressively forcing themselves on them 24/7.

Elisabeth Shue channels Jennifer Jason Leigh as the hooker with a heart of gold. Her relationship with Cage does not amount to much more than mutual self pity for one another. Cage and Shue's chemistry seems forced. The film's frank and explicit sexuality appear to be the main selling point. Leaving Las Vegas may be memorable in terms of shock value and pushing R-rating boundaries, but that is pretty much it.

Literally every scene will leave the viewer scratching their heads. At the beginning of the movie, Cage is in a liquor store filling his cart to maximum capacity with top shelf liquor, and then in the very next scene they show him in a seedy bar begging the bartender to pour him another shot.

The scene where Cage crawls to his refrigerator and fumbles for a beverage is supposed to be a serious moment depicting the hell of going through DT's as a result of severe alcoholism. But Cage's idea of "method acting" in this scene is apeing Jim Carrey from Ace Ventura Pet Detective . Cage convulses violently as if he just grabbed a live electrical wire after getting out of swimming pool every time he takes a swig.

There is another scene at a casino where Cage wants a drink real bad and he loses it, flipping over a blackjack table in the process. Cops politely, gently escort him away with genuine sympathy. Even the dealer looks like she has fallen under Cage's spell. Whether it's a cop or a hooker, everyone Cage encounters in Vegas seem like they are extremely concerned, & care for him deeply. Even a friendly bartender working in a dive bar which gets little business refuses to serve Cage and begs him to seek help. Nobody ever seems the slightest bit annoyed by his buffoonish drunken antics - save for woman who runs a hotel and kicks them out after Cage shatters a glass table outdoors. Shue's character seems flabbergasted that the hotel manager isn't ready to take a bullet for the two of them.

Don't let Cage's Oscar win fool you. Leaving Las Vegas is a pedestrian effort in every respect. Upon it's release, Mike Figgis was hailed by critics as the next Scorsese. 14 years later, he is unheard of. Perhaps one could conclude LLV was a bit overrated upon it's release, and did not hold up over time. That person would be correct.

Top it all off with a terrible original score by Sting. Leaving Las Vegas is an thoroughly unimpressive, unintentionally laughable film that smacks the viewer in the face with it's implausibility at every turn. A movie you will not forget anytime soon.
35 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Wow, this is one of the best portrayals of late-stage alcoholism yet.
crf980938 January 2005
Warning: Spoilers
I've seen many films about alcoholism / drug addiction where the lead character starts off as a normal everyday person-who...starts experimenting...goes overboard...then gets clean. Figgis' and O'Brien's "Leaving Las Vegas" was far more realistic, as well as heartbreaking (Just as alcoholism truly is).

The film never explains how Ben Sanderson (Cage) became this type of alcoholic, or how his life was prior to the opening sequence. It just showed a late-stage hopeless alcoholic, such as I once was and certain members of my family still are, and his self-destruction and despair.

One of the most heartfelt scenes was when Ben was unable to sign his name due to experiencing DT's (Delirium Tremens), then he left, had a few drinks, came back, and was outgoing and complete as can be. This is actually how chronic alcoholism becomes.

The whole story of him going to Las Vegas to drink himself to death is very depressing and heartbreaking. In fact, the writer of the novel which this movie is based on took his own life and was also an apparent alcoholic.

Nicolas Cage was excellent as Ben, so was Elisabeth Shue as Sera. Two people who accepted and surrendered to their lifestyle.

My first time watching this, I thought it would have been a better ending if Ben sobered up, Sera quit hooking and they fell in love and lived happily ever after. But watching it again I changed my mind, I think the ending was appropriate to heighten the emotional climax. Because not all alcoholics/addicts do make it, most of them do in fact, suffer until their own fate.

9/10
10 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Catharsis!
Flixfixed17 April 2005
Warning: Spoilers
This movie does for me what, maybe, a 100 shrinks could not have done....

In one of the best essayed roles played by any actor across generations, Nicholas Cage drags his way through the movie to a wholly welcome release of death and permanently etches his place in the psyche of the viewers.

And to give him company on this journey to inevitable destruction as the archetypal "golden-hearted hooker", Elizabeth Shue delivers one of the most riveting performances ever.

What exists between them is not mere "chemistry" - it is a the deepest underlying bond between two human beings, one still fighting for her right to redemption (Shue), and another who is beyond redemption of any kind (Cage). The two of them bring out every conceivable emotion that could exist in a living breathing human heart, tugging at them mercilessly so much so that towards the end of movie you are torn - one part of you wants them to succeed against all odds, and the other part actually sighs with relief at the welcome end of Cage's miserable existence.

Seriously depressing, this movie is certainly not for those who seek entertainment - it is almost like therapy. It is a catharsis of all that inside us which makes us human - sad, happy, dejected, hopeful, angry, loving...

Also, strongly recommended that you follow up this movie with a light-hearted "happy" movie..

This movie deserves a 11 on a 10, and Cage his Academy...
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
The Least Enjoyable Movie I Have Ever Seen
noahk28 December 2001
Sitting through this film made me rethink how I view movies in general. Although this is a bold statement, I don't mean it as praise for this film. Quite simply, I found it so horrible to watch, it made me realize that I generally go to movies primarily to be entertained. Sure, sometimes I might be in the mood for something thought provoking, rather than outright entertaining, but "Leaving Las Vegas," was neither as far as I'm concerned.

The story essentially is about a man (Nicholas Cage) who, despite success in his career, has seemingly lost his family due to his drinking, and he has made a decision to go to Las Vegas and spend the rest of his money as he intends to kill himself drinking. In Las Vegas, he meets an unlikely kindred spirit in a hooker (Elisabeth Shue), and they embark on a rather untraditional relationship with nothing positive to be gained as a result of it.

The initial problem for me was, I didn't like either the characters or the premise. I found Cage to be without any value whatsoever and the movie would have been much better (and shorter, albeit entirely unnecessary) if he had just killed himself immediately and spared the audience from having to watch it. I had no empathy for him and the sad situation he had gotten himself into. Shue was slightly less pathetic, I suppose, but I still didn't find myself caring what happened to her. I'm not sure what about Cage's performance made it worthy of an Oscar-- he just acted like himself but a little bit dopier.. big stretch!

Overall, I found it an extremely unpleasant film to watch (to put it mildly) and I resented having wasted $10 on tickets and over two hours of my life suffering through it. I have never hated a movie with a passion as much as this one. Not recommended for anybody, as I fail to see what one could derive from such a movie. Rating: 1/10
35 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Cartoon alcoholism and gratuitous misogyny - Cage wins Oscar for unwittingly hilarious performance!
MikiUK14 February 2005
Warning: Spoilers
So tell me - what serious boozer drinks Budweiser? How many suicidally-obsessed drinkers house a fully stocked and barely touched range of drinks in their lonely motel room that a millionaire playboy's bachelor-pad bar would be proud to boast? And what kind of an alcoholic tends to drink with the bottle held about 8 inches from his hungry mouth so that the contents generally spill all over his face? Not to mention wasting good whisky by dousing your girlfriend's tits with it, just so the cinema audience can get a good eyeful of Elisabeth Shue's assets.

Cage seems to be portraying the most attention-seeking look-at-me alcoholic ever to have graced the screen while Shue looks more like a Berkely preppy slumming it for a summer than some seasoned street-walker. She is humiliated and subjugated as often as possible in this revolting movie with beatings, skin lacerations, anal rape and graphic verbal abuse - all of it completely implausible and included apparently only to convey a sense of her horribly demeaned state and offer the male viewers an astonishingly clichéd sentimental sexual fantasy of the 'tart-with-a-heart'.

Still - I did watch it to the end, by which time I was actually laughing out loud as Shue's tough street hooker chopped carrots in the kitchen wanly, pathetically smiling while Cage - all eyes popping and shaking like like a man operating a road drill in an earthquake - grimaced and mugged his way through the final half-hour...
26 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Incredibly realistic, very credible, an excellent movie
Chuck-14919 July 2000
Warning: Spoilers
In today's society, we have many diseases. AIDS, cancer, tuberculosis... However, a very underrated and, in my opinion, deadly disease we seem to forget is alcoholism. Being an alcoholic is like being drug-addicted. You may think it is easy to quit drinking but it is as hard as dropping drugs and once you've stopped taking alcohol, you can't ever have any again or you'll simply go back to alcoholism. This issue is the principle theme of Leaving Las Vegas. However, in the movie, we see as well how alcohol can grab a person and this person will never want to quit and even less hear people asking him or her to see a doctor to quit drinking.

Prostitution may be considered by many to be something of very low class but for some women, it is the only possibility they have to make some money. Some prostitutes are independent and others have a pimp. In Leaving Las Vegas, Elisabeth Shue works for a pimp with whom she has a relationship.

Finally, the last issue in this movie is love. Love with a prostitute more specifically. In 1990's Pretty Woman, Julia Roberts refuses to kiss her clients on the lips to avoid making a connection with them. In this movie, Elisabeth Shue does not even talk about this for she believes to be strong enough to avoid any relationship that a client may be trying to trigger between him and her because of her love affair with her pimp Julian Sands. These three issues, alcoholism, prostitution, and love with a prostitute are the center themes of Leaving Las Vegas.

The story is simple. Ben Sanderson (Nicolas Cage) is a script-writer who has hit rock bottom and upon being released from his job decides to go to Las Vegas to drink himself to death. There, he meets a beautiful young prostitute named Sera (Elisabeth Shue) with whom he spends the night only sleeping. He turns out to be Sera's only client that night and gives her five hundred dollars for her services. Her pimp Yuri (Julian Sands) is very mad but finally gets over it. Later on in the movie, Ben invites Sera to dinner but she refuses knowing that she must work to bring some money back to Yuri. However, when she goes back to Yuri, he tells her to leave and never come back. As she exits the hotel room where Yuri was staying she crosses three men going to Yuri's room. She goes back to Ben's motel-room and they go off to dinner. After dinner she invites him to live in her house and when he moves in, Ben explains that if Sera is to accept him into her life, she can never ask him to quit drinking. And so begins the love story between Ben and Sera.

Nicolas Cage walked home with that year's best actor Oscar and he deserved it. I believe that any alcoholic could associate himself to Ben. Elisabeth Shue is equally good as Sera, the sensitive but tough prostitute who accepts Ben as he is without judgment or prejudice. Mike Figgis's direction is exceptional. The fast-forwarding of the camera when Ben arrives to Las Vegas add to his drunk state of mind. But it is definitely Cage's movie all the way. The movie also tries to send a message which I believe is no matter what people look like, allow them to be themselves and do not judge them and that is all that Ben asks from Sera throughout the movie. There is a scene in a hotel in the desert where Ben and Sera are kissing and Ben is very drunk and as Ben gets up next to the pool, he knocks down a glass table and breaks it. A little while after, the owner of the hotel comes to help Sera pick up the mess and she tells Sera she wants Ben and her gone by the next morning. This scene is exactly the representation of what Ben doesn't want from Sera.

This movie may end a bit in the same way a tearjerker but it has nothing to do with that type of movie. On the contrary, it is a realistic moral on alcoholism with great performances and direction.
11 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Development of character
oldguybc12 January 2005
Warning: Spoilers
O'Brien's character development is really thought- provoking. I was really saddened to hear of his demise. It takes a special kind of writer that can take the time to develop such complex character traits that he laid down for this tragic tale.

In this movie Cage's character falls into the almost unheard- of category of someone who has convinced himself that his life is over and selects suicide by alcoholic consumption. I know a lot of drunks but none that I can honestly say ever really could be defined as trying to drink themselves to death although quite often their friends and family would tell them this if only to try to shock them into sobriety. Usually they were just a "party person that somehow lost control". Just before they realize they are at death's door they say "help me!" or some inane thing like that but it's too late by then.

Cage's character's burning of his possessions, among them pics of his family(?), his feeble bleat of "I'm sorry" to his boss upon being fired, his almost apologetic proposition of Shue's character, all of these defined someone looking desperately for pity but really defined a person who could care less about whatever the future held for him as long as it didn't allow him to suffer too much.

Shue's character, on the other hand, is the classic co- dependent sufferer. She personifies a kind- of long term Stockholm syndrome by accepting all this abuse from her pimp in nearly unconditional submission and then blaming herself for his eventual destruction that she really had quite a bit to do with but absolutely no control over. These flaws are not all that uncommon. Society would like you to believe they are uncommon but our overcrowded prisons and, unfortunately, sometimes morgues belie that assumption. In real life there is usually an underlying belief or condition that justifies this situation in the mind of the principle, and sometimes these beliefs and conditions are just about as weird as you can get but usually the principles have no trouble accepting them. The usual exception is that, in the movies these people are all beautiful, as they are in this one, but in real life they all look like they belong on the Jerry Springer show, or perhaps Jerry Springer rejects which is just about unimaginable. Am I making sense? Anyhow, the characters in this movie react to each other in situations so unlike what 99.9% of us ever experience that it fascinates us, that is why we watch these movies. We tell ourselves: "So this is what some people's lives are like? Wow, this is fantastic but it could never be me!" And then we watch the film credits and turn off the TV and go off to bed. Sometimes we have nightmares. I didn't. Didn't even consider it. Just too far- fetched to ever relate to my life. Thank god!
18 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
beyond bad
blanche-229 May 1999
Warning: Spoilers
A big disappointment for what was touted as an incredible film. Incredibly bad. Very pretentious. It would be nice if just once someone would create a high profile role for a young woman that was not a prostitute.

We don't really learn anything about this character, except that he seems to be a hopeless alcoholic. We don't know why. Nicholas Cage turns in an excellent performance as usual, but I feel that this role and this script let him down. And how, after not being able to perform for the whole film, can he have an erection on his deathbed? Really terrible and I felt like I needed a bath.
27 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
A Tour De Force Performance by Nic Cage....
namashi_115 April 2011
Nicolas Cage is a Remarkable Actor, and in 'Leaving Las Vegas', He Delivers A Tour De Force Performance, that Earned Him a Very Worthy Oscar, Golden-Globe & SAG, For Best Actor! His performance as a suicidal alcoholic, deserves distinction marks. I truly believe, that this is a performance that stood out in the entire 1990's.

'Leaving Las Vegas', superbly directed by Mike Figgis, tells the story of a suicidal alcoholic, played by Cage, who has ended his personal & professional life to drink himself to death in Las Vegas. While there, he forms a strong relationship with a hardened prostitute, played by Elisabeth Shue. It's a bittersweet love-story of dependence and obsession.

The Adapted Screenplay offers disturbing & courageous moments. And also manages to make memorable, well-etched, characters. Mike Figgis directs this unique tale, superbly. Cinematography, Editing, Sound Mixing, are satisfactory.

My review would be incomplete if I forget to mention, Elisabeth Shue. She delivers a wonderful performance as well, and shares a striking chemistry with Nic Cage.

On the whole, A must watch, for, primarily, it's lead star's powerful performance. This Is Some Fine Acting.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
A stark and depressing portrayal of the failure of love.
bobsgrock3 September 2008
Leaving Las Vegas is a great film, but not for the reasons most associated with it. Yes, the acting is very good with Nicolas Cage giving one of the best performances I have ever seen on film and Elisabeth Shue playing it very straight and hard as a seen-it-all prostitute. However, it is the simple story about two people that come to meet each other in the harsh, loud, nonstop environment of Las Vegas and form a relationship unlike any other in the movies.

Ben is an alcoholic, pure and simple. He knows and accepts that fact and indeed has come to Las Vegas to drink himself to death. When he meets Sera, they realize about the only thing they have in common is that they are both lonely. Still, being with each other isn't enough for them. Thus, while they are together, Ben must continue to drink and Sera continues to walk the streets.

This is not an easy film to watch, but after watching it twice I have a better understanding of why people do self-destructive things and will not stop. Ben cannot stop drinking not only because his body won't let him but also because he has no other way to try and alleviate the pain and hurt he has gone through. Sera won't stop because of money and because Ben is not an able partner in his condition.

This movie is extraordinary because it shows that love does not always win. Sometimes, the pain and suffering overtakes the love two people have for each other. And while Ben and Sera did love each other, it was almost inevitable that this end in tragedy. See it, but only if you have a strong stomach for a depressing and moving tragic love story.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
You could not pay me enough money to make me watch this again!
ruth102624 July 1999
I once read a book that started painfully slowly. I was just about to put it down when suddenly, it picked up so much that I wasn't about to put it down. Unfortunately, this one experience has compelled me to read all the way through bad books and sit through many bad movies. After watching all of Leaving Las Vegas, I may finally be cured of this compulsion.
15 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
The most misogynistic film in recent memory
nybackus19 December 1999
That Nicholas Cage received an academy award for this dreadful film is incredible. Any actor worth his salt (and Cage certainly is) can turn in a performance as an alcoholic without breaking into a sweat. Yet these roles always seems to appeal to academy voters for some strange reason when really difficult and challenging performances get passed up. (Not to mention brilliant comic performances.) The film is a dreary male fantasy: you're suicidal, drinking yourself to death, and a gorgeous (make that, drop-dead, gorgeous) hooker falls hopelessly in love with you despite the self-loathing and the vomit and makes it her goal in life to get you to orgasm. Yeah, right!
19 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Leaving Mike Figgis
justincward31 May 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Spoiler: An alcoholic (sacked) screenwriter and an abused prostitute find true love in Las Vegas. Except she gets gang raped and he dies. Apparently John O'Brien, the author of the novel, killed himself while the movie was in production. Mike Figgis may or may not have let him in to see the rushes.

Oh God, it's Mike Figgis again. I caught this pile of tripe on a low-rent TV channel, and it occurred to me that the L'Oreal ads with over-lit, over-made-up, underdressed models were more realistic than this trite, shallow, exploitative pile of garbage.

The Mike Figgis checklist:

1. Completely static character arcs? Check.

2. Characters behave idiotically in order to advance story? Check.

3. Characters suffering physical injury or abuse come back stronger than ever in a day or two? Check.

If you want to hear Nicolas 'Oscar for doing retard' (alcoholic counts) Cage and Elisabeth Shue saying naughty words then Leaving Las Vegas is for you. If you have any discernment whatever is isn't.
11 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews