The Immortals (1995) Poster

(1995)

User Reviews

Add a Review
21 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
This movie was amazing
naria3 November 1998
Wow. Another crime/robbery movie, but this one with a great twist....a must see and all that. I usually don't like this genre, but this movie is good for anyone. Has moments for all kinds of people. It is strikingly profound and this surprised me, that it was much different from the normal shooting/blood splattering movie type. A 10 from me.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Pleasantly surprised
tommonster3k6 February 2007
I just saw this film for the first time (Feb 07). I bought it for a buck on VHS. I'd never heard of it and realized the cast was a definite B-level cast at best, but I thought, what the heck? Just a buck.

I was pleasantly surprised. It's definitely no great film, but I actually enjoyed it. Sure, it's cheesy here and there, and it would've benefited from better direction. But I'd call it a hidden gem for any crime film fan to find.

An original, if bizarre, premise leads to some left-field drama and several genuinely funny moments. It's simply one of those late-night pleasures.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Standard Heist Thriller with an Unusual Twist
chain6715 April 2001
On the outside "The Immortals" just looks like another in a long line of standard heist thrillers, with the only difference being that this one's probably much more violent. But as the story starts developing we find out that all these characters aren't your stereotypical 'I want money' robbers, they're all doing it out of necessity. Thats the very unexpected and unusual twist in this very violent movie.

The plot isn't extremely complicated. It's about a nightclub owner, Jack(Eric Roberts who shows why all his movies lately have been direct-to-video) who picks 8 people(Tia Carrere, Chris Rock, Joe Pantoliano, Clarence Williams III, William Forsythe, Keiran Mulroney, writer Kevin Bernhardt and Brian Finney), all with terminal illnesses to rob a crimelord(Tony Curtis). But when they get betrayed it turns into an all-out battle for survival...and a very entertaining one at that.

After the movie gets into its second act it turns into 'Predator' style game of who's next to die. But one thing that raises "The Immortals" above the average heist thriller is that the characters aren't stereotypes but real people. I actually cared for the characters when they died.

While "The Immortals" won't win any Oscars, and won't make any critics top ten list, it's still an entertaining rental. 7/10
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
The value of life is relative
david-sarkies7 December 2012
Warning: Spoilers
For some reason my friends did not think that much of this movie. They liked it but said that they could not watch it again because they knew all of the twists. When I mentioned the deep dialogue that permeated parts of the movie, their reply was that they did not think that the dialogue was that deep. I beg to differ, especially how they have only seen it once and if they watched it again they might change their mind. Still, there are movies that I liked, but doubt that I could watch again. I usually do not have them in my collection.

Anyway, this movie is about death, and life leading up to death. Jack, a nightclub owner, works for the mafia, but has decided to rip them off, so he hires a number of people with past criminal records to get these cases. What is unusual is that these people have records ranging from petty fraud to armed robbery, and all that is required is to walk into some place, place a gun in people's faces and take the money. Something not that difficult. Even more strange is that he has paired people up with people whom they do not like.

The ploy becomes apparent when one of them returns and learns that his partner also has aids, though he got it from sharing a needle. A quick questioning of people reveals that they are all dying of incurable diseases. A couple we learn nothing about, and one of them is retarded. Jack does this because he knows that it is a very dangerous job and that by taking people who are going to die anyway, they will have nothing to loose.

The idea raised in this movie is that we are all going to die sometimes. There are times when there is the idea of giving up all hope of doing anything, and another time there is the idea of life itself being relative, all life is precious to somebody who is going to die. We see the first idea with the Harvard graduate. At first we think that he may be lying but when he is running from the police, he gives an accurate description of the crimes that he has committed and the maximum penalties for each. So we wonder what a Harvard graduate is doing committing crimes when he could be earning a very good salary. Either he doesn't want to work hard, or he wants easy money. It is neither because he tells us that he has a brain tumor. He we see somebody working very hard, only to learn that all of this work has been in vain because he is never going to be able to reap the rewards.

This is a common biblical theme. In the book of Ecclesiastes we read how everything is meaningless, including toiling under the sun (which is work). What is the point of working hard for a lot of money, when you are going to die and leave it to somebody who is simply going to waste it. On the other hand Jesus speaks of the man who plans on retiring on a huge lump sum only to die the day before he retires. Working for a reward in the end is meaningless because we may never get to spend it. What point is there of working for something that we are never going to use? It is true that if we do not work, we do not eat, but beyond that what point is there to life if all of our toil is going to end in nothing? The other theme is that life is precious to one who is going to die. This is seen clearly when the guy who is dying of aids points out that it does not matter whether you have two months to live, you have two weeks to live, you are still going to die. This is what we should remember. These people have something that we don't have, they know when they are going to die. Unfortunately we don't want to think about that, and because of that we simply procrastinate. We should remember that we will all die, it is something that we cannot escape, and because of it we should live our lives as if it were the last day on earth.

The culmination of all of this pain and suffering was when Jack and George (the retarded guy) stood in a tunnel and a light appeared at the end. Standing in the light was a long haired man. George looks at this man and says, "I have read about you, you are God." Of coarse it was not God, but this is the culmination of all of this death. Here we are facing God, and what do we do. We might all try to predict what God is like and what he is going to do when we meet him, but we can never work anything out unless we are told. What is the point of saying that God will do this when nobody has told us that. It is like saying that Fred down the road will give me $50, even though I have never met Fred and have been told nothing about him. How can we say that, yet we think we can. The only way we can know what God wants is to listen to what he has to say, and that is seen in the bible.

The Immortals is a very good and very deep movie. My friends probably feel uncomfortable with it because it delves very deep into the idea of death and how we all have to die. This isn't a simple shoot them up, this is people who are dying of forces beyond their control. Death is really close here because any of us could be in this position.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Good film, to my surprise
Tito-816 July 1999
A surprisingly well-known and talented cast help to make this an unexpectedly enjoyable film. In particular, Roberts and Pantoliano are solid as usual, and Chris Rock has some funny moments, as you would probably expect. Things do slow down midway through the movie, but a wonderful plot twist breathes new life into the film towards the end. The ending scenes are all too typical, but by the final minutes, there had already been enough clever writing and creativity to keep me happy. Despite some slow spots and a routine finish, this is still a movie that is definitely worth a look.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
'Time doesn't matter'
SoapboxQuantez0811 April 2016
"Time doesn't matter when you're talking about eternity." At one point in the film: One of the eight one-time convicts (who were hired to steal suitcased loot in pairs) says this to a fellow thug (who, in turn, points a gun on the declarist's forehead). Every character in this flick has a reason to be on-edge, and we discover those reasons at the end of the film, which is blessed with a magnificent cast. Eric Roberts leads the pack with style, Chris Rock plays a goon who boasts, and Kevin Bernhardt is a tough guy that delivers extremely-timely lines. The hostage "Cleopatra" adds plenty of sex appeal, sporting some fine threads and some fine cleavage, almost distracting the viewer. There's a certain '95 film that may seem cousin-bound, but to compare this film to "The Usual Suspects" is blasphemous. 'Suspects' doesn't have the action, humor, or the Cleopatra that this film has. TUS simply has an unusually inferior cast and script to this action-comedy. This crowd-pleaser also stars Bill Forsythe, known for his villainous role in 'Out for Justice'. In this one, he seems to play a homophobe who bickers at Kerry, and early in the film they visit a titty bar. In this one, however, he doesn't battle Steven Seagal at the end. But gay or straight, they all slowly but surely realize they have more in common than they initially thought. And whether you're an Eric Roberts fan or not, this has to be considered (along with 'Nature of the Beast') a 1995 timeless masterpiece.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Making Amends
Melissa Mendelson1 November 2009
The Immortals is a true masterpiece of suspense and drama. With a powerful cast do eight strangers plus Jack come to life, and through their struggle to survive their fate do they hold our heart in their hands. And the storyline is a sweet symphony that wastes no time sweeping us off our feet and stealing our breath away, and as the story spirals to its climax does it hold us spellbound, captivated by the bonds that form and the fight for life over death. And in the end does humanity give light to this intense movie, and do we remember a powerful roller-coaster ride that pulls us down into characters to be unforgotten.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Death Throes And Slot Machines
shannon71514 February 2002
Enter Eric Roberts (American Strays, Purgatory, The Grave) a manager of a mobster owned (Curtis) high-rise hotel and eloquent casino. He arranges eight individuals, all unknown to each other to rob the other four casinos that also belonging to Curtis. Pairing them off, he sends them out with similar masks at the precise time of casino collections. Thus begins ninety minutes bloody shoot outs, humor and an interesting plot that catches the viewer off guard at the end. Chris Rock and Tia Carrere make an interesting team. Forsythe is superb as he lies shot and bleeding profusely and decides, `This is as good as time as any to take that last hit of acid I was saving.' As the plot thickens, they all realize they have more in common than just being robbers. To say anymore would give it away as that movie dude did with `The Crying Game.' And we don't want that, do we? On a scale of One to Five, I would give it three and half stars purely on the fact I think Roberts and Forsythe are great actors. But as the critic I'm not (laugh Barb) I'd probably give it four.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Could have been something, but...
Wizard-814 November 1998
Although this movie had an intriguing premise, and a few good ideas, it overall just didn't work. The directing and editing were really sloppy, and I didn't care for any of the characters. It looked cheap as well. Tony Curtis was the best thing about this movie, though sadly he only appears for a few minutes; his scenes and a funny scene in the nightclub kitchen barely save this from being a total bomb.
3 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Not The Usual Heist Thriller
Comeuppance Reviews13 May 2010
"The Immortals" looks like the usual heist thriller but it's not. Jack (Roberts) assembles a team of thieves to rob money from different parts of town and it leads up to the double cross of gangster Dominick Baptiste (Tony Curtis). On the outset it looks the thieves have nothing in common except one thing....which I can't reveal because it's pretty original for a direct to video action movie.

Speaking of action, it never stops. If you like bloody gunfights, this is your movie. It was a good idea to cast Tony Curtis. He classes up the movie. Eric Roberts is excellent as usual. William Forsythe, Joe Pantoliano, and Tia Carrere as the thieves step up to the plate and give it their all in the roles. Chris Rock, on the other hand, looks confused to why he's in the movie.

In the end: "The Immortals" is worth watching for the different plot twist and non-stop bloody action.

For more insanity, please visit: comeuppancereviews.com
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Entertaining, for what it is.
Matt Kracht9 September 2011
This movie is never going to end up anyone's top ten list, but it's still pretty entertaining. I like the twist quite a lot, but, beyond that, it's pretty much a standard heist movie. The ensemble cast is better than most of this type, with some pretty big names at the time. I remember watching it mostly because I was a big Chris Rock fan, and I was desperate to watch anything with him in it. I ended up enjoying this movie more than I thought I would. If I had to recommend an ensemble heist movie to someone, this probably wouldn't be my first pick, but I'd still mention it.

Interestingly, it was co-written by one of the leads in Hellraiser 3. Can't say I saw that coming.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Clumsy and ambitious action drama that deserved a Cimino as helmsman. Eric Roberts movies—(3): The Immortals (1995)
Cristi_Ciopron14 December 2007
Warning: Spoilers
The main problem is it's not over the top in the needed direction. It's a movie made of several, disparate attempts.

I'll put it this way:if The Immortals (1995) is unsatisfying, it is nevertheless interesting and,in an odd way, ambitious. It seems to set itself up for something. The things get rather phony sometimes in this movie—because it is badly written and it looks like they didn't receive the whole script, but only parts of it. The premise is also unacceptable—Roberts didn't need sick ,terminally ill people for his plan—it's not like it was all that motivating. In a word, The Immortals (1995) is an action drama badly written, but ambitious and unconventional. With the exception of Roberts himself, the cast is made of third—hand actors. (No offense of course to old Curtis, but his role is strictly ornamental.)

This film is sometimes a grim comedy, and sometimes an action drama. The idea was good, the literary means were poor. The movie needed a script and a style. Even the gore and violence are badly managed.

With a totally uninspired and useless director, The Immortals is still interesting and thrilling. The pace is good.Making an action drama with many characters (at least ten, in this case: Roberts, the eight lowlifes and Curtis) is a good thing. Then you have, of course, to be somehow able to manage these many characters.

The Immortals (1995) deserved a better and more skilled writer. As it is, it's very heterogeneous in a way that seems sloppy and clumsy. It also needed a Cimino as a director—to give the movie a form. On the other hand,if this film could of been better, it's anyway good that it was made. It suffers from a complete lack of style; but it is interesting for Roberts _completists or simply for anyone who would like to have an unconventional, above the average film.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
it's so bad, it's actually watchable
cliff-20127 November 2008
The scenarios are absolutely ludicrous and just plain daft. The characters are so ridiculous and their life stories so totally unbelievable. The film must have cost, without actors wages, about how much it would cost to hire out a nightclub for a week, a few guns and blanks, 10 packs of smokes, half a dozen cops uniforms and lots of tomato sauce?!

The problem with this film is that you can see, by the end, that the script itself must have been an amazing read but they don't give it justice in the film, even though there with some good, and now well known, actors. That said it actually IS watchable.

Amazingly enough you can buy it on DVD! So spend the $8, put it in the collection, watch it, put it away for 6 months, get it out again with a sideways glance at the cover, watch it again then put it back with a shake of the head and a deep sigh...repeat...
2 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Going Terminal
wes-connors18 January 2010
Dirty double-crossing Eric Roberts (as Jack) assembles four pairs of parolees - bald auto thief Joe Pantoliano (as Pete Tunnel) & recovering alcoholic Clarence Williams III (as Benny Hayes), long-haired gunman Kevin Bernhardt (as Billy Knox) & dim-witted arsonist Brian T. Finney (as George Daniels), shapely check forger Tia Carrere (as Gina Walker) & stand-up fraud Chris Rock (as Deke Anthony), yuppie druggie Kieran Mulroney (as Kerry DeVain) & statutory rapist William Forsythe (as Tim James) - who are ordered to rob gum-chewing godfather Tony Curtis (as Dominic) for his money, not his hair.

Played for low-budget laughs and mindless action, Brian Grant's "The Immortals" isn't as bad as you're thinking. Mr. Roberts and Mr. Curtis are inspired enemies. Mr. Rock gets in a few of his own good lines, though Mr. Finney's "George Daniels" (after Milton) walks away with the funniest performance thanks, in part, to co-star Bernhardt (who also scripted). The acting kudos probably should go to Mr. Williams' "Benny Hayes" (after Linc), who is most engaging. The dramatic "bigots learning to work together" (Pantoliano v. Blacks, Rock v. Asians, Forsythe v. Gays) subtext is appreciated, if not original.

**** The Immortals (10/5/95) Brian Grant, Kevin Bernhardt ~ Eric Roberts, Brian Finney, Tony Curtis, Clarence Williams III
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
A Precursor To OCEAN`S ELEVEN ? ....
Theo Robertson6 July 2003
.... Well that`s what I thought THE IMMORTALS was going to be like in the opening scene with Eric Roberts character telling his cohorts that he wants them to take part in a heist . Roberts is certainly cool enough to have easily fitted into the recent remake of the rat pack movie , but unfortunately he`s best known for cable and straight to video movies and the problem with THE IMMORTALS is that it has all the production values of a straight to video movie , especially the script which feels like it was written by screenwriters who`ve been watching Tarantino movies a bit too often . The plot twists and turns as you`d expect from Tarantino but the plot does so in an underdeveloped silly way instead of being smart and funny which I take was the original intention
2 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Mindless mayhem.....
merklekranz4 February 2008
Another Tarantino wannabee failure. Why the movie industry insists on elevating Tarantino's mediocre movies with copycat films is perplexing. I mean, copying a copycat? This effort fails on several levels. Anytime a movie introduces a dozen characters all at once, character development is usually nonexistent, and indeed "The Immortals" has zero character development. Anytime you have a bare bones script, there is nothing else left but shootings, car chases, and explosions. "The Immortals" has plenty of these because the script is sorely underdeveloped. Eric Roberts is his usual quirky self, however the rest of the mostly no-name cast has nothing to do but look busy, and pick up a paycheck. - MERK ............. I don't know what movie "Melissa" (above review) was watching, but it obviously was not "The Immortals" . I am now dropping my rating to 1 (should be zero) to offset her obviously misinformed 10 rating).
2 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
As exciting as watching paint dry...
hijinx27 June 1999
...though I think watching paint dry might be more interesting. Sometimes you see a movie that makes you wonder, like The Matrix. Sometimes you see a movie that makes you laugh, like There's Something About Mary. And sometimes you see a movie that moves you inside, like Schindler's List.

The Immortals made me want to do nothing. In fact, I nearly fell asleep. The acting is roughly fifth-rate, the plot forgettable, and all in all, the movie is a waste of tape.

0.0/5.0 stars. Yuck.
3 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Awesome
darkfairy122819 February 2005
I really enjoyed this movie. It had an interesting story line, good characters, with dark humor thrown in to it. Even for a violent movie it was really good. Some of my favorite exchanges were between Billy and George. I enjoyed each and every character. I think the movie was underrated. It was one of the few movies that was released straight to video that truly kicked a$$!!! Eric Roberts, who has recently become on of my favorite actors, was incredible. I also enjoyed the actor who played Billy. Chris Rock was really kind of annoying in this movie, but as you get more into it his character becomes more interesting.I recommend the movie to anyone who just want to watch a really awesome movie.
1 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Solid cast can't rescue an exasperating mess of an edit and screenplay
lemon_magic6 December 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Well...there were scenes (and even individual lines) that didn't ever have a chance of working; there scenes (and lines) that should have worked, but didn't; there were scenes that shouldn't have worked, but did; and there were a scattering of scenes, setups and pieces of dialog that actually did work pretty well (although not as well as I imagine the director thought they would.)

I started out hating Eric Roberts' performance but ended up liking it by the end of the movie; I started out liking Tia Carrera's and Tony Curtis' performances but hated them by the end of the movie; I liked Joe Pantoliano pretty much all the way through; I didn't care about William Forsythe one way or another; and I pretty much wanted to punch Chris Rock's character in the mouth all the way through.

I'll give the movie credit for trying to give 10 characters (counting Tony Curtis' mob boss) balanced amounts of exposure and screen time, but most of the team-ups in the 2nd act don't add all that much interest - I could almost flawlessly predict what the characters in each time were going to say to each other and how they were going to interact. That's not a good thing,either given that this is already a genre gangster movie.

Given the overheated premise of the screenplay and the cats-in-a-laundry-bag interaction of the cast of characters and the indifferently staged gunfights and the character revelations that are supposed to make you gasp but you can actually see coming way before they arrive...given all those problems, I can't recommend this to anyone other than a die hard crime-drama fan who just wants to see tough guys snarl fatalistic noir dialog and shoot each other.

Of course, if that's what you want - enjoy!
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
My words speak for themselves. Crime at it's best.
Bobby Boring17 August 2000
Surprisingly, Quentin Tarantino is not the only man that can create a criminal movie, with an interesting plot. With good casting, and meaning, The Immortals tell a story of a series of robberies set up by Jack(Eric Roberts), to bring together a group of small time thugs, with nothing to live for. In short, Chris Rock is hilarious, the action is stunning, and although the script isn't "Reservoir Dog"-ish, The Immortals can challenge it for best Mexican Stand Off in a movie.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Interesting blend of familiar faces.
NateD0gg30 July 1999
This is a memorable movie full of those actors that even a casual movie watcher will recognize. You'll love the hook of the plot. I thought it was another crappy "Made for Video" movie, but as it had Chris Rock I decided to give it a try. Was I surprised. Very good stuff with lots of action and sweet cameo's and it let's actors that normally steal the show anyway, be showcased. Worth a rent.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews