IMDb > Ice Cream Man (1995) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Ice Cream Man
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Ice Cream Man More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 7:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [Next]
Index 68 reviews in total 

19 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

The Best 80s B-Horror Movie from the 90s

Author: jack_kai ( from Troy, NY
22 February 2003

A friend and I were down and needed a good 80s horror movie to perk us up. Ice Cream Man appeared to fulfill our needs down at the video store, esp. since our store only carried the version that lacked the blood on the outer box.

This movie was exactly what we expected, but better, a cheesey, histarically 80s horror movie with our favorite washed up stars, including Rebecca from Passions and the Proffesor from Teanage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2.

The only scary part of the movie was what we found out about it on : 1) The movie was made in '95 although the entire thing is right out of the 80s, just look at what they are all wearing and the size of thier hair.

2) The director Paul Norman has directed over 100 films, with Ice Cream Man being the only film that was not pornographic.

All in all this is a great movie if you need a laugh, you will get more than one.

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

The best bad movie I've ever seen

Author: ikiru1973 from Chicago, IL
11 December 2002

Technically speaking, this movie However, it's also hilarious. Whether or not it's intentionally funny I don't know. Horrible in every aspect, it also is the only movie I know of that has 1) a fat kid being played by a slim actor in a (very obvious) fat suit, 2) an attractive 30-something actress playing a character who's supposed to be in her late 60's, and 3) the most compliments for plastic yard daisies ever. Don't take this film seriously, just watch it for laughs....a great party movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Must find and own it!

Author: kristin_walker from United States
2 October 2005

My favorite quote: "Do you realize how long it takes to make butter brickle?" (after cops destroy his batch for seemingly no reason.) "Are you sorry you didn't find anything and wrecked my place or are you just sorry you didn't find anything?"

I love this movie. It's the worst made movie I've ever seen. I wish Mystery Science 3000 was still on cause this would be an excellent movie for them. Seriously, this is a must see.

The acting is absolutely horrendous, but they really see, like they are trying, and this makes it that much funnier. The cheesy script simply can't be beat... not even with an ice cream scoop.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Run Tuna!

Author: bela_bombastic from United States
19 September 2005

Yes, this movie was complete crap. But I'm not sure if it was meant to be crap or not. But I sho did love it. Probably the funniest movie of all time, for these reasons:

1. It has a fat kid named Tuna in it...and he's actually not fat in real life, but they made him wear some sort of fat suit. As if they couldn't find some kid who was actually fat! Brilliant.

2. The Miami Vice police duo. One has the stoic presence you could only see in Don Johnson while the other is always confused. A great rag-tag team, lemme tell ya!

3. The scene where the police team (not Don Johnson and confused guy) go through the ice cream man's ice cream "factory" and break all of the stuff and then leave, not finding any evidence though it would be easy to find at least one eyeball somewhere.

4. Fake sunflowers.

5. The mental institution scene. The police must investigate. So they go to the mental institution where everyone is insanely happy. Of course, the head guy there starts dancing while the police are being attacked by all of the loonies. The best part comes when they're both leaving the place and Don Johnson seems not at all scared or worried but casually pushes or slugs the crazies that are bugging him. The other guy, on the other hand, at least tries to look scared. They sure could have used more extras, by the way. The massive uprising looked pretty weak. But oh, was it funny!

6. The head in the ice cream cone. Talk about genius.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 12 people found the following review useful:


Author: Turnpkegates from Philadelphia, Pa
15 June 2002

If you like cheesy horror in the vein of "bad taste" and "jack frost" this is your flick. Cheesy plot with not much behind it but tons of laughs. Lots of fake blood, dead bodies and good ole' ice cream. The ice cream man plays the part to the tee. Can't wait for the sequel.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Poor Clint Howard...

Author: Mr. Pulse from Syracuse, NY
14 March 2001

You can see that if the flick ain't directed by his brother, this is the best he can do. And sad to say, his best just doesn't cut it. "Ice Cream Man" is a very bizarre horror film, that's a real blast to watch if you're in the right mood. In the wrong mood, it has been known to cause people to lash out violently at loved ones, so please, watch with caution.

Clint Howard stars (Does anything really star Clint Howard though?) as the "evil" "psychotic" "bizarre" (Yes all in quotes, he's not quite any of these, but he's getting close) ice cream man, who tortures the local children with bomb pops that are really melty and ice cream that has chopped up humans and dogs in them. Ick.

Anyway, the plot's really just an excuse to show of the...well,, well it's a plot. Oh wait, I know! It's an excuse to show off all the loser actor cameos! There's Jan Michael Vincent and Lee Majors II (The sequel?) as cops tracking the elusive man o' ice cream. And even Doug Lleyweln appears as a supermarket clerk.

Even better than that, are some of the bizarre goofs in the film. I really like the fact that for some reason, instead of hiring a fat actor to play the unhappy "fat" kid of the group, they just make this one kid wearing padding under his clothes. And the entire premise that anyone would by scoops of ice cream from a ice cream man. Who buys ice cream scoops from the ice cream man? Then there's the entire psychiatric ward scene, in which Jan Michael Vincent's acting ranges from mildly interested, to bored beyond the state of consciousness. These are the cops who also scour the Ice Cream Man's place for clues but manage to complete gloss over the ice cream truck (where, of course, the various bodies and such are kept). Oh well, better luck next time troops.

Howard himself overacts like he's making sure people two towns over can see and hear him. It's all just plain dumb. And fairly fun to laugh at in the fine tradition of The Pumaman or Gymkata. You'll have a GOOD laugh with the right sense of HUMOR. I love that one.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

A Tour De Force!

Author: jesusryals from United States
7 May 2007

Ice Cream Man is quite simply the best film EVER made. Clint Howard's performance as Gregory grips you from start to finish. One would only expect a performance this superb from Lawrence Olivier, but Clint Howard has proved again that he is the best actor of our time and has no equals. The film is studded with powerful cast. JoJo Adams (Tuna) has shown us that he is the next great child actor to hit Hollywood. The obvious pillow under his shirt throughout the whole film makes for good tongue and cheek moments of relief. This film is electrifying, spell binding and awe inspiring. Quite simply the best film ever made. This film is in the same league as Casablanca and Gone With The Wind, and many other cinema classics.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

"That's classified ice cream man. Classified."

Author: stepflan from Norway
23 February 2008

This movie is so bad; it's almost too good to be true. Believe me, I've seen a lot of bad movies over the years. I've seen everything from Troll 2 to Pteradactyl. Sure, these are some unintentionally hilarious movies. But nothing can compare to the Ice Cream Man. Ice Cream Man is a hilariously bad movie with terrible actors and even worse dialog. But the real hero behind all of this is Clint Howard, the Ice Cream Man. I cant believe this movie was made in the 90's. It looks like a cheap 80's movie. But what do you expect from a director which only movie experience is from porn movies.

I can't believe this is supposed to be a serious movie. The first time I watched this movie I had to rewind almost every scene. I couldn't believe my eyes. Where they really serious about this? At sometimes it seems like an exciting adventure movie for children, the ones where a group of kids make a secret club or something to catch the bad guys. Just like the Monster Squad. Other times it seems like a comedy, and some times even family movie. But then these nasty scenes appear and totally switch the tone of the movies so randomly. It's hard to explain, but I just can't seem to understand the setting of the movie, something that really bothers me about the movie. Not that you can take it seriously anyway.

I highly recommend this movie for anyone who loves trash cinema. This is accidental art.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

A Hilarious CrapFest

Author: reverendtom from Santa Cruz, CA
22 April 2004

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This is one of the dumbest movies ever! It rules. Clint Howard is excellent as the demented Ice Cream man of the title. The kids are good and dumb and give the movie a sort of "Bloodhound Gang" feel to it. The gore is great, albeit fake looking. We get to see: (spoilers): A man eat an eyeball (I think I'd notice if there were an eyeball in my Ice Cream), a dog get ground up, an ice cream cone rubbed on a dead man's nose, and just the magic of Clint Howard in general. This movie is dumb as hell and I love it! 8/10

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Watch Out For The Ice Cream Man!

Author: TheDraytonSawyer
21 April 2007

This is the best killer ice cream man movie I've ever seen. It's also one of the few movies of its kind. The only other movie with a killer ice cream man I know off my head is Mr. Ice Cream Man. Clint Howard does an excellent job at playing the creepy ice cream man. The story is mostly about the Ice Cream Man going around doing bad things and of course selling ice cream to the kids. There's a lot of gory moments in the movie too, one involving a very large ice cream cone! I won't spoil the rest, but this is a movie you must see. It's funny, creepy, and filled with ice cream! One part of the movie that I really found disturbing were the scenes with Gregory in the crazy house. Remember Gregory only Happy Happy Days! The way that Doctor said that was just creepy! Anyway go see this movie, or at least rent it. It's a brain freeze!

Was the above review useful to you?

Page 1 of 7:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [Next]

Add another review

Related Links

Ratings External reviews Parents Guide
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history