IMDb > Honey, I Shrunk the Audience (1994) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
Honey, I Shrunk the Audience More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 12 reviews in total 

8 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

A True 3-D Experience

Author: Spooky2001 (btvsfan@gmail.com) from Woodinville, Washington
15 February 2002

I saw this at Disneyworld and Disneyland and I loved it. It had great 3-D effects and a bunch of surprises. Eric Idle(Monty Python) is very funny. Warning: This 3-D movie may be too intense for the younger viewers. Even adults liked it, my parents did. In fact my whole family liked it.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

A really great Disney attraction.

9/10
Author: Tommy Nelson from Long Beach, California
27 February 2007

Stars: Rick Moranis, Marcia Strassmen, Eric Idle.

Living in Long Beach, California, I know this show from Disneyland, taking up the theater that Captain Eo with Michael Jackson used to take up. This show is much better. The show takes place at the Inventor of the Year awards, hosted by Dr. Nigel Channing (Monty Python's Eric Idle). Wayne Szalinski is the winner and amusing chaos ensues. The 3-D is great, including a tiny flying machine right in front of you, a snake showing it's fangs and many other great effects. I highly recommend you see this when next at Disneyland, in Tommorowland.

My rating: *** 1/2 out of ****. 21 mins.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

This was a fun 3-D movie!

Author: Blaze-17 (gaja.zoo@sympatico.ca) from Toronto, Ontario
23 May 2000

When I went to Disney World, I went and saw this 3-D movie. It was so cool! The 3-D animation was great! It looked so real! It looked like real things were coming through the screen. If you go to Disney World, be sure to go see this movie. I'm pretty sure you won't regret it.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

This 3D film is awesome!

10/10
Author: Atreyu_II from The world of artists
1 March 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Who made this movie? Whoever it was, that person proved to have an incredible level of talent, imagination and creativity. The story is a parody to the known one of the 1989 film "Honey, I Shrunk the Kids", but the special effects here are kind of «never seen before special effects».

This 3D movie experience is something one has to see to believe. I saw this on Disneyland Paris in August 2000 (the year I went to Paris for a week, including 3 days on Euro Disney aka Disneyland Paris). That was on a day which start badly for me and I'm glad I watched this. It was a very amusing, unusual and strange but delightful experience.

What I saw is something I wouldn't have believed if I hadn't seen with my own eyes. The first thing that surprised me and amazed me here was when apparently the screen broke in pieces and with the 3D glasses it seemed that those pieces were going straight to my face. Me and my father even pulled out on our chairs but immediately after that "fright" I laughed hysterically with my family.

I also remember a lion's face so close to mine and then the lion seemed to scratch the public with its claw. My mother felt its claw, but I didn't (and ironically I was closer to the lion than her). Next there were "mice" around the cinema room. I only heard mice noises, but my mother and sister felt mice on their legs! The ending was also hilarious. They pull a curtain and then a dog appears, shows its head and sneezes straight to the public. I felt its sneeze on my face.

It was an incredible, unique and unforgettable experience! I recommend this to anyone who goes to Disney World or any Disneyland around the world.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Wayne Szalinski Has Made Yet Another "Tiny" Mistake!

Author: (robocoptng986127@aol.com) from U.S.A
1 December 2002

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

[CONTAINS SPOILERS]

We all remember inventor Wayne Szalinski and his shrink machine. Remember the time he shrunk his own kids as well as the neighbor's kids and they were lost in the backyard for two days? Or the time he enlarged his 2-year-old son? Well, Szalinsky will be receiving the Inventor of the Year award for that particular shrink machine. The head of the committee, Dr. Nigel Channing, is ready along with the crew. Even Wayne's family, wife Diane, children Nick and Adam are here. Even the family dog Quark is here. Adam accidentally feeds a mouse to a duplicating machine and a million little white mice scurry though the audience. Suddenly, something goes wrong with the shrink machine and Nick as well as the entire audience is shrunk! Watch out for Adam's pet snake! Wayne fixes the machine while Diane faints and Dr. Channing assures everyone they will be blown up in no time. Don't worry, that's a good thing. Slowly but surely, the machine is fixed and the audience is returned to normal size. So is Nick, but unfortunately, Quark got in the way of the beam and is now a giant dog!

A real cool attraction at Disneyland. It's part of the new Tomorrowland! The cast of Honey, I Blew Up the Kid is here! This was before that weak Honey, We Shrunk Ourselves! Nice 3-D effects, like when Wayne's hovercraft crashes into the electric sign, I actually thought glass was flying right at me! It's like you wanna reach out and touch these guys. It has replaced Michael Jackson's Captain EO, which was also a nice, but dated, 3-D- show. So next time you go to Disneyland, I recommend you go on Star Tours! After that, see Honey, I Shrunk the Audience!

-

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

A Fun 3D experience.

8/10
Author: John Taylor (jdtaylor@btinternet.com) from Bedfordshire, England
9 June 2000

I will start by saying i have seen the other 3 D shows Terminator 3 (Universal Studios) and A Bugs Life( Animal Kingdom)and this one does not compare to the Florida ones. If you have not seen this revolutionary type of 3D movie before you will be amazed .The film lasts about 15 minutes and the story is of no consiqence what so ever , in fact this story is stupid but it is not the story that you are concentrating on , its the 3D things that come out of the screen at you,they are quite amazing!I will not give anything away to anybody who is going to Disneyland Paris but what will say is that you are in for some great suprises. 8 out of 10

Was the above review useful to you?

Don't care for the movie, don't care for the attraction

4/10
Author: Thomas (filmreviews@web.de) from Berlin, Germany
11 September 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

"Honey, I Shrunk the Audience" is pretty much exactly what you would expect as a theme park attraction / short film about the pretty famous movie "Honey, I Shrunk the Kids". People who loved the film will maybe enjoy this, probably a lot more than I did. It's from start to finish a mix of mediocre sitcom with constantly new inventions that, of course, go all kinds of wrong. A bit shocking to see it takes 3 writers to come up with something mediocre and short as this one. The version I watched stayed easily under 20 minutes, maybe around 14, so I am fairly certain that the 23 minutes stated on the movie's title page are not correct. All in all, a forgettable watch. Not a must-see for anyone, but if you really adored the film, you can check it out. Thumbs down from me and it did not make me curious about the film at all. Looks also pretty dated, then again it opened over 20 years ago.

Was the above review useful to you?

A slick and funny Disney attraction short!

9/10
Author: OllieSuave-007 from California, USA
10 February 2015

I saw this movie short at the 3D theater Disneyland or Disney's California Adventure in August 2008. It was a fun-filled attraction that shows Wayne Szalinski (Rick Moranis) receiving the Inventor of the Year Award for his shrink ray. If you've seen Honey, I Shrunk The Kids, then you would surely get the clue from this movie short's title that you, the audience of this show, will be Wayne's science guinea pigs when he shrinks you and everybody else while attempting to demonstrate his invention.

The 3D effects were great and it makes you feel you are really part of this funny and adventurous movie with all its objects and animals jumping right out at you. There are also other effects that enhances the attraction, such as air and water being sprayed onto you.

See and experience the attraction for yourself and enjoy the ride!

Grade A

Was the above review useful to you?

Pretty damn impressive for 3D!

8/10
Author: TheLittleSongbird from United Kingdom
22 March 2010

I saw this twice at Disneyland, once when I was 9 and the other last year. For 3D this is pretty damn impressive, with the effects naturally stealing the show, with the dog sneezing on the audience and the snake opening its mouth scaring the life out of me both times. The storyline was daft but engaging enough which is pretty much the same for Honey I Shrunk the Kids as well, and the acting from particularly Rick Moranis and Eric Idle was very well done. Even the sound effects and music were excellent, and it ended nicely. The only let down was that on my second visit last year, the lip synching seemed a little sloppy on occasions. Still, it was an impressive and well rounded 3D experience. 8/10 Bethany Cox

Was the above review useful to you?

How DID they do the mice?

Author: Jusenkyo_no_Pikachu from Cyberspace
4 August 2002

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

CONTAINS SPOILERS

As basically all posts have said, this is a pure fun 3D movie. Basically you are entreated to a ceremony at the Imagination Institute, honouring Wayne Szalinski for his inventions. And he is asked to demonstrate his famous shrinking ray by shrinking some luggage. Unfortunately, the ray goes out of control and it shrinks you. Before you get shrunk, however, there are some gags which involve duplicates of mice that will have the youngsters freaked (and the rest of us wondering exactly how it was done).

Rick Moranis is, of course, in top form as the inventor he originated.

If you get the chance to see this, don't miss out.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history