IMDb > Batman Forever (1995) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Batman Forever
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Batman Forever More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 7 of 56: [Prev][2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [Next]
Index 556 reviews in total 

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Not terrible...I like it. Is that a crime?

6/10
Author: xodanielcasterox from Williston, Florida
17 March 2012

I admit this movie was cheesy and over the top, and it is so not Tim Burton. But I have a soft spot for this one for a couple reasons: The style of the movie was a little too colorful but I like it anyway; Val Kilmer was a decent Batman but not a Michael Keaton, that's for sure; the music isn't bad it's actually cool; Nicole Kidman is sexy of course; but ultimately why I like this movie. Jim Carrey. Yes he was goofy but that's okay. He wasn't funny through the entire performance but at some times he was, and he plays an excellent psychopath without being funny if you think about it. And I like the fact that he is the leading villain.

Now on to the things I don't like: Tommy Lee Jones as Two-Face, too goofy and wacky; Tim Burton did not direct this; Danny Elfman did not compose the music, they didn't even use the old theme of his which was classic and brilliant; not dark and Gothic like the first two; and of course Michael Keaton is not playing Batman again which is total bullshit!

All in all, I liked it but it could have been better. I give it 6/10

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Schumaltzer should stay away from the Batman films...

1/10
Author: moviefreak-10 from Gotham City, unfortunatly the circus version
1 June 2002

...Because they sure aren't anything he's good at. I mean, Schumaltzer is capable of creating decent films (8mm, Tigerland, The Lost Boys) but here, blah. I had to force myself to see the whole thing.

Alright, first of all, guess what they have on the Batsuits. NIPPLES! Holy crap, Batman! Is this a porno? As what one guys said on eFilmcritic, "if they wanted nipples, Showgirls was still playing." Indeed!

Second of all, there is neon flashing everywhere. Was the cinematographer high on drugs while designing this? Also, how the hell could the Oscars actually nominate the cinematography? Did they see the original film? I mean, I know the original film won a few Oscars, but that doesn't mean they watch every film they are sent to, they basically only nominate (and choose winners) by doing what's expected of them.

Third of all, I'll stop here and say I hate nearly everything else of this pale imatation of the Adam West series with neon.

1/10

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Sure it is exciting but a drop-off from Batman and Batman Returns.

7/10
Author: Brian-272 from Oakwood, Virginia USA
17 January 2001

This third installment of The Caped Crusader (Val Kilmer) battling new villains Two-Face (Tommy Lee Jones) and the Riddler (Jim Carrey) has many changes from the first two Batman films. First a new director Joel Schumacher and he does take a new direction it is the total opposite of Tim Burton. Gone is Burton's mysterious and dark moody direction you have Schumacher make Batman more dull and ordinary and the sets in Batman Forever have lost the realism and the graphic art touch if you've noticed the buildings look fake just like a toy and every scene on the set looks unreal. Schumacher has plenty of action in this Batman though to keep our heart pumping. The real negatives on Batman Forever are many I know that Jim Carrey gives a good performance as The Riddler but I would have rather had Robin Williams play the part. Tommy Lee Jones as Two-Face was fantastic but still these villains were no match for the legends and most liked Batman villains The Joker (Jack Nicholson) and The Penguin (Danny DeVito). Not only does the performance of Nicholson and DeVito thrill us but both were just right for their parts I can't say the same for Carrey and Jones. Plus The Joker and Penguin are more dangerous criminals that are liked at the same time due to their wit. One of the best things of Batman Forever is Nicole Kidman she adds much needed sex appeal. Even most agree that her character Dr. Chase Meridian is out of place it just doesn't fit the Batman story as good as Vicki Vale (Kim Basinger) or The Catwoman (Michelle Pfeiffer) but Kidman provides the best sex appeal of the three. The addition of Robin (Chris O'Donnell) doesn't help that much I just never felt Robin was an important part of the Batman saga. Now the main character himself Batman (Val Kilmer) is very stiff and seems uncommon as Batman it's like he's been programmed to be a robot what was Warner Bros. thinking pay Michael Keaton his worth! Anyway the action of Batman Forever makes it very memorable and watch when you desire but a drop-off of good villain characters and most of all the absence of the dark moody direction of Tim Burton makes Batman Forever a drop-off.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

POW! BAFF! BOOM!

8/10
Author: Mister-6 from United States
2 September 1999

Okay, so "Batman Forever" is more a throwback to the old '60s series than it is the dark, sinister vision brought in by Burton's first two efforts. I can see why they did this.

The second movie ("Batman Returns") was a little too dark and forbidding to be considered entertainment. Kids watch movies like that and get scared to death. Of course, maybe that's what Burton had in mind. I dunno....

As far as entertainment value, however, "Forever" has it covered all over the place. The atmosphere carries over some of the sinister elements of the first two "Batman" movies, while still introducing a sense of fun that the second movie especially was missing.

Kilmer's acting job was neither too heavy nor light. There is still the sense of loss, despair and tragedy in his face, but there's moreover a man-of-action air that (in my opinion) Keaton's performance lacked.

Of course, the villains in these movies get the best scenes, and how could they not? Especially when they're Carrey and Jones as Riddler and Two-Face (respectively). Carrey's manic madcap and Jones' violent outbursts sprinkled with occasional flashes of calm are a perfect match.

Kidman exudes sensuality as Meridian, who feels strongly attracted between two men (little realizing they are the same man). Her scenes with Batman, admittedly, add up to more than what Kim Basinger's and Michael Keaton's did in the original. At least they simmer well together.

O'Donnell, as Robin, is kind of stiff as if he isn't sure what he's doing in this movie. He improves later on, but it's like he has to wait and see what everyone else is doing then catch up.

The best part, of course, is Alfred the Butler (Gough), always full of sage advice and snide comments. Of course, he and Commissioner Gordon (Hingle) are the real veterans here, right from the beginning of the series.

Of course, the story is filled with all kinds of psychological observations, thoughts on love, whether justice through anger is true justice, and so forth. All balanced out by huge sets, flashy special effects and Drew Barrymore and Debi Mazar as Two-Face's hench-persons.

Drew and Debi, now there's a couple of special effects.

All in all, it's a good adventure and if you like your movies big and flashy, "Batman Forever" is your hero.

Eight stars. The Dark Knight lives!

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Great film lots of good acting

8/10
Author: hamham100 from United Kingdom
5 October 2005

i thought this was a great film. The Ridler (Jim Carry) was very good at his part i thought Dick Gracen/Robin (chris O'Donnell) Played his part with great enthusiasm it was an enjoyable action comedy film that deserves high ratings. The riddles were very well done. When i watched this film for the 1st time i wanted to watch it again straight afterwards. The bat mobile, Bat wing and bat boat were very cool. This is a film anyone can enjoy it makes you laugh and the villains were the best part, Ridler and two face (Jim carry and tommy lee Jones) and Dr. chase Maridian played her part with spirit as well. But Batman did hi part very very well playing the billionaire Bruce Wayne and the Darknight wanting to live harmoniously it was very interesting. i would recommend this film to lots of people of all ages

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

By far, the best Batman movie of the four I have seen.

8/10
Author: policy134 from Denmark
26 March 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I love Tim Burton movies and if you watch Ed Wood you can't help but say that he is truly a unique filmmaker. But as far as Batman is concerned he really fowled things up. Not that the films weren't interesting to watch but the truly ugly characters in the first two movies were extremely hard to take. Jack Nicholson is usually one of my favorite actors but you could somehow tell that he was in the wrong movie. As for the second, it was a total disaster. The main villain so pathetic that everything he did almost made you vomit. Michelle Pfeiffer did have her moments but was buried under too much makeup and latex.

In '95 we got this very entertaining piece of fluff (let's be honest, that is the only way to describe it). The performances were pretty over the top from all the actors, except Val Kilmer, who seemed to be in some kind of a coma all the way through. It's funny to think that he got his big break in the spoof "Top Secret" where he was much more alive. Since then he has become like the second Brando, extremely eccentric and overall ham. Tommy Lee Jones has expressed his regrets in ever making this movie and who could blame him with a co-star like Carrey. Carrey pretty much bulldozes him in every scene they appear together. Nicole Kidman is kind of bland but that's understandable. What can you do when all the best lines go to the male actors. The only serious fault I will point out is Robin's background story. I think it was a mistake to have Bruce Wayne attend the circus performance where Dick Grayson's parents and siblings were killed. It robs the Robin character the mystery which has always surrounded the Batman character to simply show you what happens on screen. Other than that Chris O'Donnell was the right choice for the role. He shows the right amount of anger that fits his character.

The production design couldn't be better. As Roger Ebert has written: "It's great bubble gum for the eyes". To say that the dour tone of the first two movies needed to changed is an understatement and I think Joel Schumacher did a great job relieving the tension of very serious themes in the movie like revenge and scarred pasts. At one point the Wayne character says: "Even Chase (Kidman) thinks being Batman is a curse". That sums it up pretty well but in the end he also says: "For I am both Bruce Wayne and Batman. Not because I have to be, but because I want to be". Great exit line.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

And we have a comedy…

8/10
Author: Michael DeZubiria (wppispam2013@gmail.com) from Luoyang, China
25 October 2004

At the time Batman Forever was released I think I was in the height of my Jim-Carry fanatic days, which explains why I was so fixated on his performance in the movie but begs the question of why I never bothered to see the film until yesterday, almost a decade after it was originally released. At any rate, I continue to be impressed with the powerful casts that these Batman films generate, even Batman Begins, set to release next year, has such heavyweights as Gary Oldman, Michael Caine, Morgan Freeman and Liam Neeson. Since Batman Returns was not exactly greeted with open arms by the Burton-loving public, I'm glad to see that this franchise is still making some pretty big splashes.

Oddly enough, since I am a huge fan of Tommy Lee Jones, I was not particularly impressed with his performance. I guess his character in Under Siege is about as over-the-top as I like to see him go as a bad guy, and needless to say, Two-Face is WAY more over the top than the curiously named William Stranix. Tommy Lee Jones generally plays characters relentlessly after some truth, whether it be the massive cliché of world domination, as in the case here in Batman Forever (okay, GOTHAM domination, but keep in mind that in the Batman series, Gotham City is a planet in itself, like Detroit in the RoboCop movies) or, more commonly, justice, as in The Fugitive, The Client, Rules of Engagement, even The Missing and The Hunted, to a certain extent. In Batman Forever, he's insane, and despite his energy and his speed as an actor, he doesn't do this kind of crazy very well.

Jim Carrey, on the other hand, I can't say enough about. He plays exactly the same geek that Michelle Pfeiffer played in Batman Returns and exactly the same geek that Uma Thurman will play in Batman & Robin, but his portrayal of The Riddler is one of those rare instances where it seems that the character was originally invented for a movie to be made just so that this one actor can play that role. He is provided lines that allow him to stretch his considerably stretchable face ('What a RUSH!') as well as some that allow him to do some of his slapstick stand-up comedy ('A flock of freakin' Freuds!'). Sure, he has a long way to go before The Truman Show and the spectacular but massively overlooked Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, but I can't help thinking that it's a testament to his acting skills that he can be so funny in a movie and yet provide a better villain than Tommy Lee Jones did, and Jones' character tried to burn Batman in a giant capsule filled with acid.

I like Val Kilmer as Batman, but he is too much of a subtle actor to play an action hero. He's always got a lot going on beneath the surface in his roles, but all too often those things tend to be not so positive (see Tombstone and The Saint). Nevertheless, he fills the Batsuit and the role quite nicely, but it's still hard to follow two performances by Michael Keaton, who is also simply too good as Batman to be replaced. There were times when I thought it might have been better had the movie not even been made, but Jim Carrey's performance alone always changes my mind about that. Kilmer is capable of pulling off the role, but it's unfortunate that he had the double-whammy of having such a tough act to follow and, on top of that, being faced with the monumental task of getting people to look past the debut of the Bat-nipples.

It's pretty easy to see why the comedic content of the second Batman sequel was enhanced so much, since Batman Returns was so dark and so gloomy that it surely dimmed the interest in the series. Director Joel Schumacher smartly realizes that superheroes in movies as dark as Batman Returns are still superheroes, but they are superheroes in the dark. Even Batman's great heroics couldn't remove him from the atmosphere of the rest of the movie. Now we get Jim Carrey, the staggeringly beautiful Nicole Kidman as the new Kim Basinger, and Two-Face, a hardened villain but one who laughs almost as much as the Joker. And it's good that there are such powerful side-characters, because the villains and the love interest are more important to the Batman films than Batman himself, who tends to be moody and self-reserved no matter who plays him or who directs. It is significant that with four Batman movies currently in release, we still don't know much about him other than that his parents were murdered right in front of him and he has lots and LOTS of money.

Chris O'Donnell plays Robin, the largest character from the original comics to have been left out for this long. He fits the role well, but there are some moments in which the writing of his character is not given a lot of thought. I can understand that he is emotionally conflicted with not having been able to save the lives of his family members that died in the circus attack, but lamenting himself as a total failure is still laughable, even in the situation, since at the time he personally pushed a bomb that must have weighed hundreds of pounds out the roof of the circus tent and into the river, literally saving hundreds of lives. Then again, losing family is not an easy thing to get over, and it gives him a good reason to act like a jerk when Bruce Wayne is offering him free room and board in his cavernous mansion.

Robin's character is really brought into play in this movie mostly to introduce him to the franchise and briefly introduce the conflicts that will erupt between him and Batman in greater detail and scope in Batman & Robin, which focuses largely on their relationship and their troubles working together, especially against a villain bent on turning them against each other. We learn enough about him in this movie to know that he comes from a life as an acrobat in the circus where he experienced familial tragedies similar to Wayne's own and that he loves motorcycles, but Dick Grayson doesn't become Robin until just long enough for he and Batman to team up against Two Face and The Riddler and then set the stage for Batman & Robin.

Batman has now taken on a new actor, a new partner, a new director, and a new tone. The movie has lightened up more than a little bit, but the outrageous comic book villains are back, the action is emphasized over the noir atmosphere, and the movie has certainly taken some hints from its predecessor. Note: I don't normally do this, but the soundtrack is also excellent, especially for a soundtrack composed mainly of trendy songs, which I generally don't like. See, for example, the song 'Fun For Me,' by Moloko. Great stuff.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Fun, Fantanstic Movie

10/10
Author: GillyCat from United States
19 December 2005

Before I saw this movie, I looked at the ratings on IMDb to see how people have rated it. I completely disagree with the low rating, I think everyone in the movie played their role perfectly. Val Kilmer was amazing. He was serious, and funny at the same time. I don't think any of the other Batmans did such a good job. His good looks is an ideal representation of what Batman should look like. I believed him, even in such an exaggerated role. Chris O Donnell's debut as Robin was perfect as well. Although he was hot headed, we, just like Albert supported him. Albert was so lovable. All of the supporting cast was so great as well. I usually dislike Jim Carrey very much, but his portrayal of the Riddler almost stole the show for me. The exaggerated acting that normally would be annoying, was so funny when Carrey did it. Nicole Kidman played a cute girl but was very sexy as well. Even Drew Barrymore and Debi Mazar, just incredible. Same for Tommy Lee Jones. They were supposed to be ridiculous/ sarcastic/ corny kind of funny. And I found it hilarious. Besides the superb acting, the theme of Neon throughout the movie definitely reflects the point- its supposed to be flashy, out there, light and enjoyable. This movie deserves a much, much higher rating. To me, it was definitely the best of the Batmans and I had a great time watching it.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Best Batman movie!

10/10
Author: wacko_ruxi from Romania
14 July 2005

This is by far the best Batman movie. Val Kilmer is the best actor to play Bruce because he himself has an image of "tall,dark and handsome", the look in his eyes is very deep and mysterious. He is a great actor. Not to mention Nicole Kidman and Jim Carrey, another pair of great actors and some of my favorites. The story is fascinating and superior to other Batman movies. Another great thing about this movie is its soundtrack, "Kiss from a rose" definitely is perfect for the illustrating the ideas of the movie and until this day it is still one of the most beautiful love songs. The movie is a perfect combination of adventure, crimes and romance. If you haven't seen it yet, you should!

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Funny, funny, funny. Why? Riddler and Two Face have the funniest lines ever!

10/10
Author: markwiatrowski from United Kingdom
22 January 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The funniest Jim Carrey movie I ever saw! More funnier than The Mask! The Riddler has the best lines ever! "Joygasm!", "AH! YOU SUNK MY BATTLESHIP!", "And if I talked, what would keep you from slaying me?", and "Spank me!" Also, (this quote is said in the first sentence by Riddler and Two Face) "Twick or Tweet. (Alfred opens door, Riddler knocks him out with his question mark cane) Trick. If I was a superhero, where would I hide? Spank me." Even Two Face is funny "Fortune smiles. Another day of wine and roses. In your case beer and pizza!", and "And me. AND ME!" If you dare insult this comedy, you are a pathetic loser. Wheater you hate Jim Carrey or not.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 7 of 56: [Prev][2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history