MOVIEmeter
SEE RANK
Up 37,489 this week

Under Heat (1994)

 -  Drama  -  June 1994 (USA)
7.8
Your rating:
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 -/10 X  
Ratings: 7.8/10 from 31 users  
Reviews: 3 user | 1 critic

Add a Plot

Director:

Writers:

(novel), (screenplay), 1 more credit »
Watch Trailer
0Check in
0Share...

User Lists

Related lists from IMDb users

a list of 64 titles
created 17 May 2012
 
a list of 35 titles
created 04 Jan 2013
 
a list of 63 titles
created 11 months ago
 

Related Items

Search for "Under Heat" on Amazon.com

Connect with IMDb


Share this Rating

Title: Under Heat (1994)

Under Heat (1994) on IMDb 7.8/10

Want to share IMDb's rating on your own site? Use the HTML below.

Take The Quiz!

Test your knowledge of Under Heat.

Videos

1 video »
Learn more

People who liked this also liked... 

Drama | Romance | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.9/10 X  

Two friends must choose whether to help a third friend who was arrested in Malaysia for drug possession.

Director: Joseph Ruben
Stars: Vince Vaughn, Anne Heche, Joaquin Phoenix
My Way (2012)
Biography | Drama | Music
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.9/10 X  

A biopic of French pop star Claude Francois, most famous for co-writing the song 'My Way'. Tracing his life from childhood in Egypt through success in France to his untimely death in Paris in 1978.

Director: Florent-Emilio Siri
Stars: Jérémie Renier, Benoît Magimel, Monica Scattini
Drama | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.1/10 X  

On July, 4th in Houston, a teenager finds a human hand in the sewer. Captain Swaggert is investigating the discovery of seven hands over several years, each one precisely severed and with a... See full summary »

Director: Michael Cohn
Stars: Ally Walker, Martin Sheen, Ron Perlman
Love & Sex (2000)
Comedy | Romance | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.3/10 X  

When her rather explicit copy is rejected, magazine journalist Kate is asked by her editor to come up with an article on loving relationships instead, and to do so by the end of the day. ... See full summary »

Director: Valerie Breiman
Stars: Famke Janssen, Jon Favreau, Noah Emmerich
Comedy | Musical | Romance
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.8/10 X  

A New York girl sets her father up with a beautiful woman in a shaky marriage while her half sister gets engaged.

Director: Woody Allen
Stars: Woody Allen, Goldie Hawn, Julia Roberts
Swatters (2002)
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.3/10 X  
Director: Irving Schwartz
Stars: Shelby Fenner, Robert Knepper, Josie Maran
MugShot (1996)
Crime | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.2/10 X  

A white guy wakes up in a deserted building in Harlem with no money, ID, and no memory of how he got there. He has also been beaten up when a black man finds him and tells him its not safe ... See full summary »

Director: Matt Mahurin
Stars: Michael Kenneth Williams, Robert Knepper, Robert Walker
You Are Here (1997)
Comedy | Romance
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.3/10 X  

A romantic screwball comedy in the tradition of Preston Sturges and Howard Hawks. Boy meets girl and soon find themselves sharing a disastrous and hilarious weekend in the country.

Director: Tom Rooney
Stars: Robert Knepper, Jenny Robertson, Reed Birney
The Stringer (1998)
Action | Drama | Romance
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.9/10 X  

Vadik Chernyshov is an impoverished dreamer who spends his life drifting though Moscow with a video camera, hoping to shoot footage that will interest Western press agencies. He falls in ... See full summary »

Director: Pawel Pawlikowski
Stars: Sergey Bodrov Jr., Anna Friel, Vladimir Ilin
Edit

Cast

Credited cast:
...
Simon
...
Father
Dion Flynn ...
Bobby Zane
...
Jane
...
Maureen
Olivia Isopo ...
Claudette
...
Milo
Lily Knight ...
Velda
Tia Phillips ...
Daphne
George Rafferty ...
Police Officer
George Sartiano ...
Drug Dealer
Erik Swanson ...
Dean
Edit

Storyline

Add Full Plot | Add Synopsis

Genres:

Drama

Edit

Details

Country:

Language:

Release Date:

June 1994 (USA)  »

Also Known As:

Exapseis  »

Filming Locations:


Company Credits

Production Co:

 »
Show detailed on  »

Technical Specs

Sound Mix:

Color:

See  »

Frequently Asked Questions

This FAQ is empty. Add the first question.

User Reviews

 
Differences Between Writer and Director
10 April 2003 | by (Athens, Ohio) – See all my reviews

Under Heat is an incredible story that suffered in the translation from novel to screen due to artistic differences between Peter Reed (the director, who also shares a writing credit) and Michael Brown (author of the book, who shares a writing credit). The story itself interweaves two sons' dilemmas of AIDS and heroin addiction with their mother's breast cancer. The minor flaws with the film deal with these gaps between the novel and the picture. Reed, as director, took complete control over the script: he made multiple writing requests and undertook changes himself. The acting is well-done overall. Lee Grant, the mother, and Roger Knepper, Milo, both do a good performance in the movie. Unfortunately, Peter Reed died of AIDS the same year the film was released.


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.  Was this review helpful to you?

Message Boards

Discuss Under Heat (1994) on the IMDb message boards »

Contribute to This Page

Create a character page for:
?