IMDb > The Legend of Drunken Master (1994) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Jui kuen II
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Legend of Drunken Master More at IMDbPro »Jui kuen II (original title)

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 3 of 15: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [Next]
Index 141 reviews in total 

the best martial arts movie of alltime, and jackie chan's best

Author: daworldismine from United Kingdom
26 May 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

this jackie chan movie is a masterpiece, and quite possibly his best moveie, it has the best fight scenes I've ever seen, as well as some great stunts, and the movie is also very funny delivering everything you expect from a jackie chan movie, my only criticism of the movie is its a little too long, but never the less this movie is always entertaining, at times breathetaking, even though this is a sequel of sorts to 1979's drunken master, but you don't have to have seen that to enjoy this as there doesn't seem to be any connection between the two, this is the better one though, and it remains one jackie chans best movies and i highly recommend

Was the above review useful to you?

Just add a lot of scotch with your martial arts

7/10
Author: david-sarkies from Australia
7 January 2012

This is a Jackie Chan movie made by his Hong Kong producers. Jackie Chan directed this movie himself (as he seems to do a lot) so all the bizarre stunts that he does, he does because he chooses to do them. This movie is not a movie sponsored by American money, as was Rumble in the Bronx, and thus has all of the typical quirks of Hong Kong Cinema.

Jackie Chan, his brother, and his father go into China to get hold of some ginseng. As they come to the border post they realise they must declare the goods so they smuggle it on board through a British ambassador. They then must get it back so they sneak into first class and take the package. Unfortunately there are two similar packages and they take the wrong one. They also confront another martial artist who wants the other package. Through this they uncover a plot by the British to overthrow the Chinese Emperor (or so it seems).

As with typical movies of this sort, there is little in the way of deep, in-depth thought. Jackie Chan is about stuns and martial arts, and you get plenty of that here. The interesting thing in this movie is the portrayal of the British. They have their guns while the Chinese have their martial arts. Even with their skill, they are under the yoke of the gun. But when the Chinese get the guns, they discard them in favour of the martial arts.

The specific martial art that Jackie Chan uses here is what is called Drunken Boxing. He is reasonable, but very beatable sober, but when he gets drunk he becomes invincible. Thus, when he finds that he is fighting a fight that he probably will not win, he seeks as much alcohol as possible and becomes blind drunk.

This is a reasonably good movie, and as typical for Jackie Chan, quite funny as well. When you watch it though, make sure that the version you have has reasonable subtitles, because it is really annoying watching a movie when you don't know what is going on because you cannot understand the dialogue.

Was the above review useful to you?

This is without a doubt the single greatest martial arts movie .

10/10
Author: stefgrig from Greece
16 July 2011

This is in many ways , a typical Jackie Chan movie . Entertaining , funny , full of action .

But the action is unbelievable . It is SO well done that in in my humble opinion it will be the yardstick to measure every other martial arts movie . There is only a handful of movies that can hold a candle to this ones choreography , action , dedication .

And full of action it is . The fighting scenes take the better part of the movie , and every second of it is brilliant . The end scene in the steel mill is the best of its kind . Inventive , intense , brilliant in every aspect .

It is the single greatest martial arts movie , and a deserving 10/10 .

Was the above review useful to you?

Some good martial arts moves and a bit of the goof to be honest

Author: alienworlds
4 May 2010

Great action sequences-and Jackie Chan pushed his stunts perhaps beyond the point of where he should in this-all in the name of making a good flick. Dialogue choppy dubbed in English, probably better to watch in Chinese with sub-titles. There is a tendency to be overly goofy in this movie, which mars it a here and there but fundamentally it is an excellent martial arts movie. I think some western audiences will think JC a fool for is over acting, but I think that is a form of cinema that is supposed to look that way, like a Chinese version of slapstick complete with slapping, kicking and throws. It is sometimes ridiculous, but then again, so is life at times. I only gave it a six because I think it was in fact perhaps a bit too goofy, despite the deliberateness of it all.

Was the above review useful to you?

Drunken Master II

8/10
Author: Scarecrow-88 from United States
7 November 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The only real detriment to me as I watched the exhilarating Drunken Master II was the dubbed version I had to endure. Besides that and a rather mediocre story which, let's face it, is merely fodder to feed to the amazing martial arts sequences, Drunken Master II sure held my interest particularly Chan's climactic battle with Low Houi-kang(..as the corrupt Chinese business partner working with evil British Embassador attempting to steal a precious jade seal from the Great Wall, among other artifacts, raping the heritage of the people)in the Steel Mill. Also phenomenal is the tea house action sequence where Chan and Liu Chia-Liang(..as Master Fu Wen-Chi, attempting to retrieve the seal from those wishing to confiscate it)must defend themselves against the "ax army"(..this includes a terrific use of a splintered bamboo stick)where plenty of bodies are thrown through windows and tables, with stairs that are collapsed. The scene where Jackie Chan actually moves through hot coals is a hair-raiser..now this is dedication!

Jackie Chan returns to the role of Wong Fei-hung, the son of a renowned martial artist, Wong Kei-ying(Lung Ti), whose fighting skills improve the drunker he gets! And, let me tell you, his unusual fighting techniques are something to behold! Anita Mui lends comic support as Mrs. Wong, Fei-hung's mother, herself a bit of a troublemaker who often motivates her step-son into action. The mistake of substituting a banzai tree root for a ginseng root is just one of several ordeals the two get themselves into..and this causes the one who uses it for tea to get deathly ill! I must admit, though, that asking us to accept her as Chan's motherly figure is a bit much, but they have wonderful scenes together on screen.

Anyway, the film also shows how the steel mill is being used by those in authority to overstep their bounds, by forcing the steelworkers into overtime and lack of pay. Over the steel mill is the slimy British ambassador stirring up the problems plaguing the Chinese people. The ambassador also wants Kei-ying's Po Chin Lam school and grounds so he'll do whatever it takes to secure the property for his own financial purposes. All this is to develop those enemies we are to loathe and it doesn't take much to root for Fei-hung, drunken or otherwise. 1994 was pretty much Jackie Chan's coming out year, attracting the same western audiences as Bruce Lee had done.

Was the above review useful to you?

All star cast Part II of a great movie

7/10
Author: ebiros2 from United States
18 June 2009

This movie's credit reads like who's who of HK cinema with Eric Tsai and Karina Lau directing, and Anita Mui and Yvonne Hung also lending their talent. The movie has no connection to the original drunken master's plot and is a completely new story.

I liked drunken style of Jacky Chan better in the original than in this one. What I liked the most about the movie was Anita Mui and the coffee shop ladies who were her mah-jong friends. Anita Mui was so cute and charming in this movie, and in my opinion, she stole the show. And the coffee shop ladies she was with are gorgeous with Yvonne Hung being one of them. It'll be a shocker to see ladies like this walking down the street if it was in real life.

Maybe the reason why I don't like this movie as much as the original is Jacky is not the one playing the comedy here. It's Anita Mui who's doing all the comedy, and oh, she does one heck of a job. After seeing this movie, I realized her loss was great.

Was the above review useful to you?

Some of the things Chan does in this film defy belief - the drunk sod!

9/10
Author: Thomas Hardcastle from United Kingdom
27 August 2008

I'm a massive Jackie Chan fan. I have most of his films, and this has to be one of my absolute favourites.

The film is choc-full of memorable fights, and incredible stunts, some of which may cause you to yell out at the screen in mental anguish. The most incredible stunt has to be when Jackie is pushed onto white hot coals, and has to crawl backwards across the pit (apparently, he did this twice - ever the perfectionist).

The storyline is never the reason anyone would be gripped by a Chan film, but in this case, it's basic, yet more than acceptable.

The drunken boxing style is given a good go in this film, with Jackie demonstrating the style to magnificent effect. Watching this film, you certainly get a feel for Jackie's creativity and incredible ability to pull off some of the moves that simply no one else can perform. The sheer brilliance of some of his work in this film suggests that Chan never faltered from his quest for absolute perfection.

Overall, if you're a fan of Chan, then you'll probably adore this film. If you're a casual Chan fan (ie Rush Hour, Shanghai Noon) then this film will surely lighten up your knowledge of just how amazing this martial artist is.

Was the above review useful to you?

Great film!

10/10
Author: laciecondor from United States
7 July 2008

Drunken Master is Jackie at his best. Ho-Sung Pak was also phenomenal.

The American productions are so lame and really did Jackie a disservice. The U.S. directors don't know action if it bit them on their behind.

I highly admire and am stunned watching Jackie Chan's drive, ambition, and productions.

While the first half of this movie is a bit slow, the time is used for great character development and to establish the plot line. The second half is classic Jackie Chan action, great plot, and many laughs. And the infamous fight scene with Ho Sung and Chan's bodyguard.

I was actually a bit impressed with this one, the first time I saw it.

Get through the sometimes slow first half, with horrible dialog, and dubbed voices, to enjoy the action-packed fast-paced, all out rousing second half.

Was the above review useful to you?

Great action from Jackie Chan

8/10
Author: dbborroughs from Glen Cove, New York
18 August 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Jackie Chan's return to classic martial arts film was a film filled with behind the scenes stories. Simply put Chan and his director fought, which maybe good for us since the result is one of Chan's better movies. The premise is that the drunker Jackie gets the better fighter he is. Of course there are plenty of opportunities for that to happen. The title Legend of the Drunken Master is actually a retitling since the film is a sequel to one of Jackie's first and biggest hits. Called Drunken Master 2 in the rest of the world the film was bought by Miramax who retitled it and cut out some of the film. I have a copy from a Chinese laser disc from its original release and for the most part I can't see many differences, though there is one very telling change.SPOILER In the end, Jackie drinks impure alcohol for lamps in order to fight the bad guys. The American version changes the ending so that there is no mention that the impurities have rendered Jackie blind, the final shot being Jackie with dark glasses staggering around.END SPOILER Ultimately it makes no difference since the film is quite good, lifted by some amazing action sequences.

Was the above review useful to you?

Do yourself a favor and hunt this down -- you won't be disappointed

8/10
Author: Don Bendell from Germany
25 January 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

"Jackie Chan returns as Wong Fei-Hung, the folk hero he took to stardom in the first Drunken Master movie. While helping his dad bring back some medicine, Fei-Hung accidentally switches packages with a mysterious old kung fu master (Lau) and obtains a rare Chinese artifact. Eventually, Fei-Hung finds out about a smuggling ring taking some of China's most precious treasures and decides to try and stop them.

This was Chan's first "traditional" martial arts movie in about 10 years (after making cop pictures like Police Story), but Chan clearly hadn't lost a step. Not only is Drunken Master II his best traditional film, it's his best movie period. Watching this movie for the first time is a thing of pure enjoyment. The plot develops at a breezy pace; you never can really dwell on facts such as Fei-Hung's mother (Mui) looks younger than him. Speaking of Mui, she's a refreshing change of pace from the airheaded females featured in recent Chan films. She steals the show in every scene she's in as Fei-Hong's wise-cracking mah jongg-addicted mother. Ti Lung also gives a believably stern performance as Fei-Hong's exasperated dad.

But what's a Jackie Chan movie without action? Believe me, once you see the fight scenes in Drunken Master II, most others (even Chan's) pale in comparison. Words cannot do these masterpieces justice. If the climatic fight between Fei-Hung and two thugs (played by Ken Lo, Chan's real-life bodyguard and Ho Sung Pak, the model for many of the characters in the popular "Mortal Kombat" video game) doesn't get your pulse going, you must be dead or severely intoxicated. Supposedly, the fight took months to film and it shows. Chan has never looked better.

Do yourself a favor and hunt this down -- you won't be disappointed."

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 3 of 15: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
Newsgroup reviews External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history