IMDb > Speed (1994) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Speed
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Speed More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 7 of 39: [Prev][2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [Next]
Index 384 reviews in total 

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Quick Reviews!!

9/10
Author: malkane316 from NI
16 December 2004

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

One of the last great action movies, fast moving, exciting, action packed, with good acting, Speed is still better than all the Summer blockbusters they try to feed us now. No-one is trying to destroy the world, we just have an old fashioned psycho who wants revenge. Dennis Hopper plays an ex bomb disposal guy who was chucked out of the force, and believes he deserves due payment. When his plan is stopped by Reeves, a reckless cop, and Bridges, his calm partner, Hopper decides to put Reeves through a series of tests. He puts a bomb on a bus, which will be armed if it goes above a certain speed, and then detonated if it goes below 50. Reeves begins a race to find the bus, stop the bomb, save the innocents and find the bad guy. On the bus he meets Sandra Bullock, Annie, who has to take over driving the bus when the driver is shot. They form a partnership and try to find the bad guy.

It is clearly the stunts that are the selling point for the film, and they are superb. The action is directed well, and the good guys never seem to get a break, with every situation scraped through narrowly. Reeves is good, Bullock sparkles in her first big role, and Hopper does the mad thing brilliantly. The rest of the cast all perform well also. many memorable moments, and lots of fun, with a plot full of humour and tension.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Action thrill all happening at very high pace.

Author: ank_jabberwocky1 from India
4 October 2004

Speed this 20th century Fox presentation is different in one way .Its non stop.i saw this movie way back in my school days but still i love the movien for me its still fresh.Keanue Reeves justifies n fitted to the role in a best possible manner.

The movie can be divided broadly into three parts the elevator one, then bus and finally the train, but the bus sequence was the central theme.The biggest assets according to me what this movie has is its relevance to the common people.Reeves looked like a just another cop and Sandra bullock looked like a normal working lady this adds to the reality value of the movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

A road rage dream come true!

Author: (poorlittlerichboy@hotmail.com) from New Zealand
24 January 2004

SPEED (1994)

THE GOOD:

--The storyline to the film is simple yet original and very effective. A bus must keep above 50km/h (whatever time measurement) or it will blow up. This provides for a lot of great action sequences, and a pace that never lets up. The storyline provides the film with its greatest asset - the suspense. My oh my, how I was gripping my couch throughout the film! It was suspenseful to say the least!

--Special effects and sound are perfected, they seem very realistic. The Academy Award noms and wins were very well earned; these technical aspects are pitch-perfect. The editing is also terrific.

--Director Jan DeBont has atmosphere dripping from the film, and the direction is very well done. DeBont has a great knowledge of claustrophobia and uses it wonderfully in many circumstances, providing for some nail-biting thrills.

THE BAD:

--Dennis Hopper I like a lot, but his performance here was a joke until he finally comes out of his room. I just couldn't stand how cheesy his role was up until those final 20-30 minutes. Anybody who knows me knows I hate it when characters talk to themselves, Hopper does this A LOT. It's not his fault; it's the screenwriter's fault. He just doesn't have all that much to do until those excellent final scenes.

--I don't mind a bit of comic relief, but some parts of this film were too cheery. They're on a bus that's might blow up, you'd think they'd calm down on the 'we-saved-the-summer-camp' cheers and cheesy lines.

RATING:

8/10 - "Speed" is a road rage dream come true!

IF YOU LIKED THIS MOVIE I RECOMMEND:

Collateral Damage (7/10) Rush Hour (7/10) Rush Hour 2 (6/10) Speed 2: Cruise Control (2/10) Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines (8/10)

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

One Hell Of A Ride

8/10
Author: Steven H (0001660) from motherwell scotland uk
12 November 2003

This is the best action thriller film of the 1990's as it has almost everything you would want in a action film A tough cop, the girl, the brillant older baddie, lots of explosions and a race against time. It stars Keanu Reeves as Jack Traven. A LA cop who saves 20 civilians from being bombed by a madman,but that is only the beginning.The madman sets up a task which Jack does not want to fail, but is this a task too far for the rookie cop?

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Greatest Movie Ever

10/10
Author: STFU from STFU
1 November 2003

Pop Quiz Hot Shot:

Combine the greatest Action, Comedy, Drama, Suspense, Mystery, Science Fiction, and Exploding Buses into one movie, What do you get? What do you get?

You get the masterpiece of a film known as Speed. This movie is in a class of it's own. Edge of your seat action, laugh in the pants comedy, cry your eyes out tragedy, and Exploding Buses make this THE GREATEST MOVIE OF ALL TIME! There is no equal.

To show that no movie equals the greatness of Speed, compare it to Speed 2. Speed 2 was a terrible movie, and it made Speed all that much better, number one, in fact. BUT, if you added Keanu Reeves into Speed 2, and then also added an Exploding Bus that drove around the cruise ship, then it would go out of the terrible category and rival Speed as the GREATEST MOVIE EVER.

There will be no movie that equals Speed in Quality ever. Speed is one of a kind, the best of its kind, the only kind. If you have to watch one movie ever for the rest of your lifetime, it should be Speed.

SPEED is the GREATEST MOVIE OF ALL TIME, it has no equal.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

faster... (like the Manic Street Preachers' song)

Author: dbdumonteil
14 September 2003

Try to imagine this: a trapped bus that contains a bomb. It mustn't come down to 80 kilometres an hour, otherwise the bomb is exploding. This is about this interesting idea that Jan de Bont designed one of the most successful movies released in 1994. He made a spectacular and suspenseful action movie where he can constantly sustain the interest. Obviously, it contains a few implausibilities: in one sequence, the bus's managing to cross a bridge that is very large. Moreover, the movie also distills a kind humor. At the end, "Speed" is an honorable success and Dennis Hopper is an excellent terrorist. As Alfred Hitchcock said: "the more successful the bad guy is, the more successful the movie will be".

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Best movie i´ve ever seen

10/10
Author: JackTraven from Germany
31 August 2003

The best movie i have ever seen. The soundtrack is the best action soundtrack i have ever heard. Keanu Reeves is so a great actor at this movie. Speed was the first movie, which i had buy. Now, 8 years later, i watch Speed every week, because this film is so cool.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Wow...

Author: 98005314 from California
3 June 2003

LAPD Officer Jack Traven(Keanu Reeves) must get on a bus that is set to explode if it goes below 50 MPH. Also starring Jeff Daniels and Sandra Bullock.

This movie was by far one of the best of the 1990's action genre. While the whole 50 mph thing might a little far-fetched, it works! I mean, most films that deal with bombing has to do with a time-limit, but this is totally different and why it is called "Speed". I don't think anyone else would have come up with that kind of idea.

Great film, great acting, great special effects, great everything! I still love watching this after 9 years since it was released. I can't believe it was that long ago, but anyways, BUY/RENT IT!!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

fantastic action-suspense spoof

10/10
Author: SylviaMeagan from Sinclair, Wyoming
8 April 2003

keanu reeves is excellent as jack. sandra bullock was superb as love interest annie. dennis hopper was top-notch as the madman bomber. the acting is right on track and the action is thrilling. it's possibly the best action movie ever made. i would give speed 10 out of 10.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Come along for the ride!

8/10
Author: TimBoHannon from Seattle Washington area
14 March 2003

Following an enjoyable business luncheon, several high-ranking employees get onto an elevator in a 40-floor building. Howard Payne (Dennis Hopper), who has wired the elevator's cables and emergency brakes with C4 explosives, sits in a freight elevator elsewhere in the building. After blowing the cables, Payne informs the police that unless 3 million dollars is paid to him in 60 minutes, he will detonate the brakes as well. Officers Jack Traven (Keanu Reeves) and Harry Temple (Jeff Daniels) are ordered to examine the bomb, and end up saving all of the elevator's passengers, thwarting Payne.

Just days later, Payne contacts Traven. Howard has concocted a new game, and this time he wants 3.7 million. A Los Angeles city bus has been wired with a bomb that will arm itself when the bus reaches 50 miles per hour. Once it falls below that speed, the bomb will detonate. If there is any attempt to evacuate, Payne will detonate the explosive remotely.

"Speed" is without a doubt one of the truly great action films of the 90s. It is grandly suspenseful and sucks the viewer in for one thrilling ride. The aggressive soundtrack is superb, as is Jan De Bont's directing. From the elevator job, to the scene of the rogue bus hurtling through the streets of LA, to the phone dialogue between Payne and Traven, to the awesome climax, "Speed" remains true to its hypertension-inducing form.

In a similar manner, the movie presents the effect of the crisis on the innocent hostages. It presents them as normal, everyday people thrust into an extreme situation. Sandra Bullock delivers her usual strong performance as a commuter who ends up driving the rigged bus. She is the only passenger who is not one-dimensional, but even with the others frozen in their simple roles, we feel like we are on the bus with them. This creates an ideal atmosphere to tell the story in.

As the lead, Keanu Reeves performs well in all facets of his role. He comes across as a complex person whose different strengths and personal qualities come into play in the various situations he encounters. His acting talent is often called into question, but his portrayal here is strong and leaves me wondering why so many are hard on him.

As the antagonist, Dennis Hopper comes through with possibly the top performance of his celebrated career. It is hard to imagine anybody else playing his part at the same level. Payne is one of the most potent villains I have ever seen. He is a brilliant and well-prepared man. Howard Payne trails only Elliot Carver for villain of the decade.

All of these ingredients add up to an outstanding film worthy of multiples viewings. From exceptional stunts and pyrotechnics to the intense plot, "Speed" appeals to all categories of action fans. "Speed" will treat the viewer to a capital thrill. It not as good as they say. It is better.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 7 of 39: [Prev][2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history