Interview with the Vampire: The Vampire Chronicles
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 12 of 40: [Prev][7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [Next]
Index 398 reviews in total 

Lestat is so hot!!!

10/10
Author: kaylee_smith75 from Canada
12 July 2005

I think Tom Cruise played Lestat so good i almost fell off the couch when he did his parts in the movie. Iterview with the Vampire!!, I wish that I could of been the kid vampire and be able to think what it feels like to be a vampire. Lestat is such an awesome person it must of been cool to act in a movie like that. I've always wanted to become a vampire to be able to fly around at night, sleep in coffins and to stalk the night. Just to do whatever you want almost anytime and anywhere,and if this isn't enough information I have just no idea what else I could tell you. Except that I'm extremely obsessed with vampire movies and I know every character in them and where they live.

Was the above review useful to you?

Great

10/10
Author: jmfrjunk from United States
10 July 2005

Interview with the Vampire is the best movie in the world. I think I know every word of it. I love the book also because it goes into more detail than the movie. If you read this Ann Rice I want to let you know keep it up with the vampire stories I love them, and if you decide to make another book into a movie I would love to play a part. I think I would be very good at it. I loved the movie so much I did a critical analysis on it when I was in high school. I never want the story to end. Everybody thinks I am weird because I like vampire stories, but they are just so interesting. It is exciting to believe for a little bit that vampires are real.

Was the above review useful to you?

Interview with the vampire is one of the best movies I've ever seen!!!!!!!!!!!!!

10/10
Author: karenvdb9 from Belgium
22 June 2005

Interview with the vampire is one of the best movies I've ever seen. Because you've almost all kinds of feelings: love, hate, hope, sadness, happiness, fear, ... The special effects were wonderful and also the story was very good. The music could really make you happy, sad, ...... Just like the character was feeling. That's amazing. All that blood and violence made it scary, all that love and sadness (and also pain) made the movie dramatic, romantic, ... In a lot of movies you can't have all those aspects/feelings. I hope that I can find it somewhere and can buy it. Cuz' I like to see it again. I've seen it a couple of times before and it remains a very good movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

An amazing film in its entirety

10/10
Author: rokateruri from United States
10 June 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Louis, portrayed by Brad Pitt, is a vampire made in the late 1700s. He is tormented by the desire of the Blood, and is accompanied by the dazzler, Lestat, played by Tom Cruise. Quickly following Louis' creation is the creation of Claudia, wonderfully captured by Kirsten Dunst. Claudia quickly is pained by the idea that she will forever be prisoner in a child's body. Her pain flows into Louis, which adds to the tone and mood of the film. Overall, this movie sticks to the book.

Brad Pitt's performance in the role of Louis is spectacular; he captured the torrent of emotions that run through Louis' soul. Tom Cruise is very close to the Lestat that runs in my mind (I am an avid reader of Anne Rice, and I have read every one of the Vampire Chronicles... much of my bias of Tom Cruise comes from this.) Cruise is arrogant and lovely enough for the role, but hey, who am I to say that? Kirsten Dunst is the ideal Claudia, capturing her pain and torment, as well as her love of Louis and life. Her childish body is perfect, for her talent portrays the depth and intelligence of Claudia in the Chronicles.

My one and only complaint of the movie is Antonio Banderas in the shoes of Armand. In the Chronicles, Armand is an angelic-faced vampire, made as a young man (17-18). Do not get me wrong: Banderas is a fabulously talented actor, but he was just wrong for the role. The rest of the Theatre de Les Vampires is well cast, accurately capturing the chaos and the decay of old ideas found in the book.

This is a wonderful movie, and I highly recommend it to any fan of the books, as well as to any one interested in the Gothic/Horror genre. The film is beautifully set, and well directed.

Was the above review useful to you?

Surprisingly well cast until the end.

9/10
Author: rikhannon from United States
20 May 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

A movie that held with fair faithfulness to the book and the style of the author...and with the quality of the book, what more could one ask?

Tom Cruise as Lestat de Lioncourt and Brad Pitt as Louis de Point du Lac were as unlikely a pair of choices as I could imagine on first hearing of the movie, yet both carried off the roles with flair and with a level of faithfulness to the characters as written by Rice that was intensely surprising...especially, I understand, to Anne Rice, herself. (Christian Slater as Daniel...no surprise, and no reason for surprise: the role was not that demanding.) Kirsten Dunst as the child vampire Claudia was wonderful, and her portrayal of the growing anger of an immortal permanently trapped in a child's body was possibly the best performance in the movie, and heralded a career to come that has met that promise.

Given all the above, one can only wonder at what point the casting agency stopped reading the book. Antonio Banderas was utterly miscast as the Vampire Armand, who was (in Rice's books) a perpetual teenager with fair complexion, blue eyes and golden hair. The obvious choice was Leonardo diCaprio, and if he was unavailable or uninterested, there were twenty better choices than Banderas waiting in the wings...second choice would have been to cast Daniel differently and give the role to Christian Slater, but Ricky Schroeder, Mark-Paul Gosselaar...the list is too long to bother, and second-guessing the casting director is futile, but it did render the end a great disappointment to Anne Rice fans.

Was the above review useful to you?

its a great movie

10/10
Author: pandawahwah from United Kingdom
7 May 2005

its my very favourite movie pf all time and my favourite line is:Her blood coursed in my veins sweeter than life itself and as it did Lestats words made sense to me i knew peace only when i killed and when i heard her heart in that terrible rhythm i knew again what peace could be . Even though I'm only 13 i feel so passionately about this film and have done since the first time i saw it . My mum never argues with me about it because i know it inside out. i am totally in love with Brad Pitt and Kirsten wears some great dresses i especially like the blue velvet one and i am hoping to purchase it in 3 years . Anne Rice is a fabulous author and Neil Jordan is the same with directing.Yours faithfully MELxxx

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Good, but could be better

6/10
Author: jpfloydster from Canada
21 December 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Unfortunately, the story, adapted by Anne Rice from her best-selling novel, sucks at the neck a little too long. A 23-minute snipping from this 123-minute movie would have done wonders. And there's at least one other problem. Fans of the book may be divided on Rice's screenplay, which dispenses with many minor characters, introduces "The Addams Family"-style one-liners and significantly alters the ending. But they're bound to be uniformly upset about the casting of Tom Cruise. In the crucial role of the vampire Lestat, his performance pulsates with that hyper- motivated pep many find appealing, but he just ain't The One. Picture "Blade Runner" replicant Rutger Hauer, picture Nazi commandant Ralph Fiennes, picture really big guy John Goodman before you picture Cruise.

As the movie opens, Christian Slater, the interviewer of the title, is waiting for stranger Brad Pitt 'the vampire' to recount his life story. For the first time since they've met on this dark night, Slater sees Pitt's face in the light. His protruding veins, scary blue eyes and pale skin prove he's the real thing. Pitt then tells a long saga, which starts in 1791 in Louisiana and which involves dealings with his archenemy Cruise—the one who initiated him into the undead family; a young vampire-girl (Kirsten Dunst), whom Pitt brought into vampirehood; and Euro-vamps Stephen Rea and Antonio Banderas, who introduced Pitt to a bigger world of the damned.

"Interview" saves its better stuff for first, particularly as Pitt—after Cruise turns him into a night creature undergoes on the job training. At first squeamish about killing people for blood, he settles for rats and other animals. At one point, faced with killing an aging matriarch, he goes for her white poodles instead. She screams bloody murder. Director Jordan, who made "The Crying Game," misses no opportunity to interlace eroticism and horror. When he's on the prowl, Cruise likes to seduce young women before exacting his dark red sustenance. With alarming swiftness, the victims switch from sexual excitement to outright horror, as Cruise's murderous purpose becomes clear.

The humor, more subtly embedded in the book, has been brought to the surface as if this were a weekly sitcom called "Pardon Me but Your Teeth Are in My Neck." When Dunst becomes a vampire, she becomes precociously murderous, killing willy-nilly like a child with too much power. Cruise and Pitt follow her around like perpetually carping parents. At one point, she kills her piano teacher right in front of the piano.

"Claudia," says Cruise. "What have we told you?"

"Never in the house," says Dunst.

Scenes like this will undoubtedly play well with audiences, but they also mark the beginning of the creative end. Does this comic material flow organically from the novel or is it being milked for cuteness? It is from this point approximately the middle of the picture that the movie's energy starts to drain like blood from a vampire's victim. You'll feel that ebb, sooner or later, as you begin to glance regularly at your watch.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

The ultimate vampire movie

9/10
Author: annc1 from United Kingdom
7 October 2010

I first watched Interview with the Vampire some years ago and have seen it again recently. I find it a very gripping and atmospheric film with a haunting music score and an excellent script. All the actors give fine performances. I have never been a fan of Tom Cruise, but think his betrayal of Lestat was brilliant, by far the best I have ever seen him. Brad Pitt as Louis, while good, did irritate occasionally, for example, in his final scene with Armand his continuous monotone became wearisome. Kirsten Dunst also put in an exceptional performance as Claudia the child vampire.

Although I have never read the book on which the film was based, I understand the portrayal of Armand by Antonio Banderas was contrary to his description in the book. I have read however, that the director Neil Jordan stated that this was because of the sexual undertones between Louis and Armand. With there already being undertones between Louis and Claudia, Jordan felt that an older Armand would be preferable. That having been said I think that Banderas turned in a captivating performance and truly conveyed a vampire that was "powerful, beautiful and without regret".

You can keep the Twilights and New Moons etc. – this is THE vampire movie!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Great Movie

9/10
Author: George Rodriguez from Puerto Rico
15 January 2007

I think this movie is great and have been a great performance by all the actors, specially by tom cruise... He show us what he can do... Congratulations to him. The cast is great and combine all type of actors... I recommended to everyone to see this movie... you would love it. i have heard about Anne Rice (the writer of the novel), was concern about the performance of Tom Cruise as Lestat of Lioncourt, the villain... but i think that his doubt was clear and without effect after seen the excellent performance he had made of this character. All the actors has a merit in this movie, because all of them play them well their role and very important, they knew how to play it without intention of standing out. Great Movie, Excellent Casting

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

The most realistic vampire movie ever made.

8/10
Author: Boba_Fett1138 from Groningen, The Netherlands
15 July 2006

It of course sounds like a silly statement, calling this movie the most realistic vampire ever made, since its very safe to assume that vampires never really excited at all. But that's not what I mean by calling this movie realistic. I mean that it's detailed, it concentrates on the issues what it means to be a vampire, what will it do to you, what's the purpose, how to handle the immortality etcetera. It's far from your average every day vampire movie. It's stylish, detailed and full of deeper meanings and therefor provides us a realistic view at what it means to be a vampire.

The movie tells the epic tale of the vampire Louis (Brad Pitt). A vampire who still has a sense of decency and remorse, much to the annoyance of his 'maker' Lestat (Tom Cruise). Louis is full of questions by which he is torn- and that he wants answered. What follows is a realistic view in the world of vampires. It takes us to the sensual, almost erotic like, world of vampires but also shows us the dark and less pleasant side of the vampire world.

Above all "Interview with the Vampire: The Vampire Chronicles" is a very stylish made movie. The movie looks beautiful with nice looking sets and period costumes. Despite being full of deeper meanings and long, poetic like conversations, it yet still always manages to be interesting, as well as at times exciting.

What makes the story definitely work are the fine actors that portray the characters. We see Tom Cruise in a role we don't see him often enough in; that of a villainous character. He plays his character with style and delivers an unforgettable performance. He makes the character Lestat one of the best and most memorable vampires, next to father of all vampire. Dracula himself. I'm quite surprised that he didn't even got an Oscar-nod at least for his role. Also impressive was Kirsten Dunst in an early role. Also she, plays one of her best roles out of her career, at the age of 12. Other fine well known actors in this movie are Brad Pitt, Christian Slater, Antonio Banderas and Stephen Rea, who is a very underrated and underused actor in my opinion.

The beautiful Oscar nominated music is from Elliot Goldenthal, who unfortunately doesn't that often compose more scores like this one.

A vampire movie that doesn't concentrate on the formulaic stereotypical vampire movie elements but instead chooses a realistic approach with deeper meanings. Stylish movie with great performances, that is a must-see for every vampire fan.

8/10

http://bobafett1138.blogspot.com/

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 12 of 40: [Prev][7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
Newsgroup reviews External reviews Parents Guide
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history