IMDb > The Crow (1994) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Crow
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Crow More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 56:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 557 reviews in total 

189 out of 233 people found the following review useful:

The only thing...

10/10
Author: yusandra79 from Serbia and Montenegro
21 June 2005

The only thing i can say is that when i left the movie theater then i had no comment to give... This movie got to me deep! I was 14 and now i am 25,and still i remember it so well and i still watch it sometimes.. Brandon Lee did a great job as an actor like everyone else, but the story about his death is totally insane, which made me worship the movie even more. What an irony. I like the movie cause it's dark, but also lighted up with true emotions..there is action, horror, love, even poetry for god sake! I have never seen so many genre's in one movie. Anyway for me it has been one of the best movies i have ever watched. And one more comment, lots of of other movies got ideas from The Crow, meaning the setting, the action, music, whatever it is the crow was their start up. I am not going to name them, Crow fans probably know what i am talking about.. My favorite quote: "Can't rain all the time" By the way the soundtrack's are awesome, The Cure's best song ever made is in it! P.S. The Crow II and III sucked, i hated it. They just ruined the conception of the first one.. totally..

Was the above review useful to you?

128 out of 157 people found the following review useful:

One Amazing Film, With A Mezmerizing Performance From Brandon Lee!

10/10
Author: callanvass
11 February 2005

This is one amazing film, with a mesmerizing performance from Brandon Lee!. It's visually appealing, extremely well made, with amazing performances all around!. Loved the score, too, it fit with the film well, and there's plenty of action to go around as well. Michael Wincott is, very menacing as the main villain, and was perfect for the part. The flashbacks were very cool, however i wished, i could see more of Shelley's character. The Directiing is outstanding!. Alex Proyas does an outstanding job here, creating lots of, dark atmosphere, great use of the rain machine,cool visuals, and keeping the pace,action packed, and engrossing all the way!. The film is very violent, but not all of it is bloody. We get several knives in the chest, knife in the hand, lots of gunshot wounds, some bloody, some not, hole through hand, 2 slashings, slit throat,2 bloody impallings, sword in the neck and a crow pecks a girls eyes out. The Acting is WONDERFUL!. Brandon Lee, gives an Oscar worthy performance here, he is completely mesmerizing, creepy,kicks that ass and, just thought he was too cool, his AMAZING AMAZING performance here, will always be remembered, what happened too him was a tragedy, and i for one will never forget him!. Rochelle Davis is awesome here, and is very likable,her and Brandon, had very good chemistry and is one of the best kid actors out there!, especially since she hasn't acted since then!. Ernie Hudson, is terrific as the Sgt., very likable, and very convincing. Michael Wincott, is great as the main villain, i loved his voice, and he was very menacing!. Sofia Shinas, is very good as Shelley, however, she didn't have much screen time, but was great when on screen. Overall a MUST SEE at all costs!. ***** out of 5

Was the above review useful to you?

118 out of 143 people found the following review useful:

The best comic book to film translation.

Author: the_gray_reviewer from Canada
27 June 2001

The Crow is an excellent tragic film made even more tragic by the real life tragedies surrounding the film (Brandon Lee's death during filming, and the fact that the story is a result of James O'Barr's personal loss of his fiancée). Based on a very dark comic book, the film has the same dark feel. The movie does deviate from the comic book in some points, but in general is fairly faithful. If you can get it, I would recommend the DVD Collector's set with the 2 DVD version of The Crow (just to see the interview with James O'Barr is worth the price).

The story is a basically about revenge from beyond the grave, and how true love is forever. The movie has a good (but fairly basic) plot, excellent action sequences, and very good casting. Brandon Lee gives a good performance (not excellent, but good), as does Ernie Hudson. The supporting villains are excellent in their villainy, and you do feel better when they get it in the end. But the real star of this film is the mood and the feel. It feels gritty, bleak, and depressing, but surprisingly uplifting at the end. Alex Proyas did an excellent job of transferring this feeling from the book onto celluloid. All in all, one of the best comic book to film translations I have ever seen.

You do not have to be familiar with the comic book to thoroughly enjoy this film (like you do with some other comic book adaptations).

Rating : 4.5 out of 5

Was the above review useful to you?

93 out of 107 people found the following review useful:

the best Gothic comic book movie ever made

10/10
Author: Sean68 from United Kingdom
4 February 2005

This movie is fantastic. plain and simple. Brandon Lee delivers his lines to the point they were instantly memorable after seeing the film only once. The casting of both Michael Wincott and Tony Todd was inspired as these two guys have two of the most instantly recognisable voices in the movie industry. If i could ever be a movie or a lead in a film this would be it. I was initially put off the idea of the movie as i am a big fan of the graphic novel and there was an awful lot of hype around this film on its release. this proved to be my loss as i have only seen the film on the small screen. however i now have the 2 disc special edition DVD and watched it 3 times in succession the day i bought it and must have watched it at least 100 times since. my own personal opinion is that a movie should suspend disbelief, capture the imagination which this does in spades. it is truly a film that you can lose a couple of hours watching and at the end feel like you have spent a worthwhile couple of hours. would recommend this to anybody.

Was the above review useful to you?

78 out of 90 people found the following review useful:

There must be an angel ...

Author: didi-5 from United Kingdom
23 August 1999

I approached this film after reading the hype and controversy surrounding its making and release, not really expecting very much. Surprised to find it an intelligent, beautifully-filmed, engrossing and touching thriller. I'd recommend it to anyone who has a fondness for weird gothic mythological stories. I didn't find the horror aspect overdone - in fact it was believable, and the script was superior to other films of this genre I've seen. As for Brandon Lee, this really was a superb performance and it is a terrible tragedy that his life ended so abruptly. This film is a fitting memorial to what could have become a major star.

Was the above review useful to you?

76 out of 101 people found the following review useful:

An absolutely beautiful film that everyone should see at least once.

10/10
Author: ElphabaTheWickedWitch from United Kingdom
3 July 2005

This film is so amazing, I can't remember how many times I've seen it. You don't have to be interested in a particular genre of film to watch it, because there is something for everyone in this film. Romance, action, gory bits, humour, drama- you name it, The Crow has it. The tragic circumstances surrounding this film and Brandon Lee also add to it's allure.

Basically, it's about a rock star named Eric Draven, his fiancée Shelley Webster and the little girl they take care of, Sarah. When a ruthless gang of thugs viciously murder both Eric and Shelley on the night before their wedding, Eric comes back from the grave to avenge his fiancée's death by going after each member of the gang that killed her, and to say a final goodbye to Sarah.

An extremely moving film that I would recommend to anyone who has a heart.

Was the above review useful to you?

76 out of 110 people found the following review useful:

A masterpiece of cinematic wizardry

9/10
Author: nathangore (nathangore@hotmail.com) from Goondiwindi, Australia
3 May 2000

Alex Proyas milks the plot for all its worth and places The Crow beyond an average thriller and into the realm of motion picture brilliance. A heart warming tale backed up with enough gore and action to keep hard core violence fanatics interested. This stands The Crow as a masterpiece of cinematic wizardry, that is sure to impress even the most critical of viewers.

Was the above review useful to you?

75 out of 114 people found the following review useful:

"Suddenly I heard a tapping, as of someone gently rapping...at my chamber door"

Author: uds3 from Longmont, Colorado
5 November 2001

THE CROW, like 2001: A SPACE ODYSSEY separates those who see from those who do not! (who CANNOT). Alex Proyas will never achieve anything close to this masterpiece again and if Brandon Lee HAD to die, then there could never have been a better time and place (do not misinterpret my words or meaning here). Personally, I shall for ever be indebted to him for what he has left...a performance in a film that challenges, implores, conjures, paints. A surreal landscape of good and evil in almost equal proportions.

I am no Goth, have never read the original comic strip, nor do I wish to. I simply regret watching the unspeakably pathetic and inappropriate sequels...do not make the same mistake!

For all its grotesque violence, seediness and Gothic degeneracy, THE CROW is a pure love story, so pure, that even immersed within the blackest of adult fairy-tales its power cannot be dampened or lessened. Eric Draven's spiritual pursuit of those who murdered his beautiful girlfriend is less of a revenge story and more a reminder that karma balances out in the end.

Perhaps the best performance, other than that of the crow itself, is from Michael Wincott, a very underrated actor, as the incarnately evil gang leader. It is the role of a lifetime for him.

If I were in a position that I could see only two films again for the rest of my life, they would be 2001 and THE CROW. At no stage would I ever subsequently be able to say that I had seen EVERYTHING that either had to offer.

Was the above review useful to you?

82 out of 128 people found the following review useful:

Great movie

10/10
Author: KarateBoyBiff from United States
26 January 2005

In my opinion, The Crow is the greatest movie of all time. Brandon Lee's death had absolutely nothing to do with it, although it was a tragedy. That movie contained everything. Action, suspense, romance, horror, sci fi. It could literally fit into any category (accept for maybe porno). The diverse cast helped a lot showing that any one can be a bad guy. If you look at it, the character of Eric Draven is everybody. He's just your average Joe Shmoe who was scraping to make a living. There wasn't anything special about him until after he died. While Crow movies after this one may have had better special affects, or been less family friendly, there was a magic that these people brought to this movie that will never be recreated. Brandon Lee's death did not sell this movie, a story that everyone could relate to did.

Was the above review useful to you?

28 out of 34 people found the following review useful:

Brandon Lee at his best!

10/10
Author: daddyia from United States
2 May 2005

Although Brandon Lee did not have many films to his credit, this one turned him into a legend. With witty one-liners, and eye-popping action, The Crow was his best work ever. Whether its the scene where he embeds a crow-like design in Tin-Tin's chest, or leaves behind a fiery calling card after sending T-bird to his death, Brandon Lee left his mark. I was also impressed with the film's cinematography. With black being the picture's dominant color, I felt it was a perfect fit with it's storyline. Michael Wincott delivered an equally impressive performance as Top Dollar, the evil mastermind behind the two grizzly murders. Brandon Lee truly saved his best for last. Rest In Peace Brandon.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 56:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history