IMDb > Baby's Day Out (1994) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Baby's Day Out
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Baby's Day Out More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 4 of 8: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [Next]
Index 76 reviews in total 

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Not up to John Hughes' usual standards, but still pretty good

6/10
Author: (g.zimmerman1@comcast.net) from Lindenwold, New Jersey
14 April 2004

Baby born to rich parents is kidnapped by men posing as baby photographers. What they don't know is that this baby is very smart, and always seems to be a step ahead. The baby gets them into all kinds of trouble, including a dangerous chase through the framework of an unfinished building, a nod to classic cartoons of the 40s & 50s. The baby also wanders into a gorilla cage, where it seems as though the gorilla is protecting him. (The gorilla never harms the baby, but scares off the kidnappers whenever they try to get near the cage). Joe Mantegna, in an unusually unintimidating role, plays the head kidnapper. In case you didn't hear it mentioned once early in the movie, Baby Bink's real first name is Bennington. Overall, this is a decent family film, but there are many others that are a lot better.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Great Film. Falls Under The HOME ALONe Catagory, only with a smart baby.

Author: Ryan Towle (Sk8ta1987@aol.com) from Boston, Massachusetts
8 October 2002



If you like the HOME ALONe trilogy, you will really enjoy this movie. The kidnappers fall into a bunch of traps as they continue to follow a rich baby through the streets of Chicago. The blundering trio chase the baby through the streets, the department store, the zoo, the park, and the climax, the building under construction. In the end, the kidnappers are brutally beaten. A real funny one.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Did we watch the same movie people?

9/10
Author: bigguns
24 September 2002

I think this is a wonderful family movie. It doesnt take itself seriously at all. The score is a pretty big cue IMHO.

So it is not Shakespeare? What did you expect? If you want light entertainment with plenty of laughs for all the family then you cannot go past this movie. Granted it is not as good as Home Alone, but it is still most enjoyable.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Decent movie

10/10
Author: jvperret from Louisana
30 March 2002

This movie was not that bad. My kids got it, watched it a few times and thought it was the funniest thing ever. I watched it with them, and it wasn't bad at all. Some of the effects are dopey, but it is extremely funny and kids will love it.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Superb Movie!!..

10/10
Author: powerbrain from Kuwait
14 January 2007

Baby's Day Out is hilarious movie. I saw it once and I felt like watching it again and again. I don't understand that why such a good movie is rated very low on IMDb? I believe that this movie should at least get 7.0 or more out of 10.

If any of you have missed this movie by any chance, just watch it. Its worth to spend few bucks and own a DVD.

I believe this movie is for audience who is between 6 - 60 years old.

Baby's Day Out is hilarious movie. I saw it once and I felt like watching it again and again. I don't understand that why such a good movie is rated very low on IMDb? I believe that this movie should at least get 7.0 or more out of 10.

If any of you have missed this movie by any chance, just watch it. Its worth to spend few bucks and own a DVD.

I believe this movie is for audience who is between 6 - 60 years old.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

If you like the comedies of Bugs Bunny, you're like this one

10/10
Author: parhat from Bangkok, Thailand
6 April 2005

Since my favorite cartoon is Bugs Bunny and Elmer Fudd and all the slapstick comedy that go with it you will like this movie. For those who wished those antics be done in a live action movie, with the help of CGI, this would be one of the first movie to explore this idea.

While the movie offers nothing new, it does offer a moment when you were watching those cartoon in the movie and wondered what it would look like if real people are playing them along with impossible gigs and CGI. For me, it is certainly better than Spaceballs.

Of course, not everyone will like this film. And my girlfriend dumped me because of my poor taste in entertainment, at least that is one of the many reasons.

For those who want to enjoy this movie, just stop thinking logically for once that it cannot be done by a baby to crawl through a towering construction sites and everything like that. Forget that, I know it can't be done. The point of the movie is to enjoy the comedy only on the slapstick comedy and funny situation. The Gorilla in the Cage with the baby, the burning and stomping of fire on the crotch, the terrible disguise of the photographers, the crooks who argue with each other and others are truly classic slapstick.

So don't take your friends out to see this (they will kill you) or your girlfriend who will immediately dump you for it. Just enjoy the movie on its own merit - at your own private room - even though this movie is meant to be a family show,not everyone likes cartoons or Three Stooges, Abbott and Costello or early Bob Hope Movie, Jerry Lewis comedies or Mr. Ed. Well I do! Great job - from a minority.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Easily one of the best films ever made!

10/10
Author: Anupam K Sinha from India
16 February 2004

The movie is a silent-era classic. Even with the sound muted, the movie works and then with the sound on it just rocks! Funny Nursery Rhymes, nice animals and a good blend of near death experiences for the crooks makes the movie funny. It is a cartoon movie made with people. I would like to see more of such movies being made. Honestly!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Perfect example of Cinema Verite

Author: BentCrewStreak from The Bent Crew
10 February 2004



When my good buddy Wingnut(don't ask) raved about this movie, I was, to say the least, suspicious. "How is a movie about a baby who outwits would be kidnappers gonna fit into my rotation of Cambodian porn flicks?"

Well, I'm here to tell you...it does. I'm sorry I doubted this movie. It is, without a doubt, one of the funniest "laugh out loud" movies that I have ever seen. I'm not going to try to recap the movie. Others on this site have done a far better job than I could. I thought it was going to be a "baby" version of "Home Alone". But, it's actually closer to "Citizen Kane", with it's subtle majesty on display during each and every frame. The inspired antics of little Baby Bink will tug on the most hardened of heartstrings.

Superb performances throughout, especially Joe Pantoliano in the role of a lifetime as Norby. Rudy and I laughed many many times at the bumbling idiots as they tried time and time again to capture Baby Bink, but failed every time! It just never gets old! I've heard that the the best way to experience the rich detail in this tapestry of expert filmmaking is to see it with someone you love...or want to impress. I wholeheartedly second Hckyfn17's enthusiastic exclamation of "Wicked Awesome!" and also musts wonder "Where is the sequel".

John Hughes, why hast thou forsaken me?

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Funnier than the HOME ALONE films. WARNING: POSSIBLE SPOILERS!!!

Author: templer_doom (templer_doom@yahoo.co.uk)
18 October 2003

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The abduction of children is a big thing at the moment in England, with a number of real-life cases making the news. At first glance, BABY'S DAY OUT could turn into a movie-of-the-week tragedy, but in the hands of John Hughes, the tables are turned with glorious hilarity.

Playing like a Wile E. Coyote/Road Runner cartoon with criminals and a baby taking the respective places, it utilises simple scenarios throughout, but with rewarding moments of silliness that turn this into one of the most memorable comedies of the 1990's. It may not have made as much money as HOME ALONE 1 and 2, but it strikes an even funnier chord, thanks in part to the terrific performances of Joe Mantegna and Joe Pantoliano as the crooks who kidnap the baby in exchange for a $1 million ransom. The baby is the product of a high society couple (the wife played by Lara Flynn Boyle) who merely wanted their baby's picture taken. Simple, you might think. However, the baby's diminutive size proves to be a curse rather than a blessing and a series of incidents, notably involving a gorilla at the zoo and a building site which is reminiscent of some of the classic Laurel and Hardy two-reelers, more or less bring the chickens home to roost.

Pure family entertainment and worth seeing for a good belly laugh if you are feeling down.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Taken in the right context a very funny movie

9/10
Author: Robert W. Anderson (bayareabob@mac.com) from United States
5 May 2001

Unlike a number of the others who have written reviews I really enjoyed this film. I'm not sure everyone realized that they should not take this film seriously. This a farce, a living cartoon. Joe Montegna turned a very good comedic performance. It's good for a lot of laughs

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 4 of 8: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Newsgroup reviews
External reviews Parents Guide Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history