IMDb > Baby's Day Out (1994) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Baby's Day Out
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Baby's Day Out More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 3 of 8: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [Next]
Index 76 reviews in total 

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

I Love This Movie- It is hilarious!! Yes Laughter Is Still the Best Medicine!

10/10
Author: Gloryous from United States
5 November 2006

I love the premise of this movie. It looks like just a goofy movie with kidnappers of a baby. But it is one of the funniest movies I have ever seen. I laugh so hard each and every time I see it. The kidnappers, are so inept, and make so many mistakes and this baby gets away with all kinds of things. The baby is sweet, cute, and always one step ahead of the kidnappers. Three men who cannot quite do anything right, their expressions are classic as this little baby escapes their traps, and leads them on a long, and hilarious trail around the city as baby crawls around the town. The fun is watching the kidnappers getting hurt, mangled, whipped by zoo animals, and falling into a cement barrel, still the baby never gets hurt. It is so funny, it is a happy film, and makes my day every time I see it. Whoever wrote this film should get a medal. It will keep you laughing from the minute it starts to the end. I recommend this movie to families, and anyone else who like to laugh, because you will be laughing through to the very end. And still want to see it again and again. Great film!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Its better than the stupid rating at least

9/10
Author: mockay from United States
24 July 2006

The movie appeared to be quite popular when it released and compares nicely to the Home Alone series. For the most part of this movie, the concept actually does work. The baby is just an ingrediant of the underlying plot and concept but the villains really make the movie worth watching. I can't really recall if the plot was so very predictable or not but it have some tense moments despite many many flaws.Sure you've probably seen this 'baby' theme is pretty much every cartoon since Tom and Jerry but this is the only movie that implements something similar, but should certainly not be confused as exactly the same. Whatever the critics may barf, this is one movie you would enjoy with your family.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Just a really nice, enjoyable family movie

Author: themovieman3000 from UK
15 January 2006

Baby's day out is one of my favourite family films and very funny too and a well cast Joe Mantegna delivers. You could say the film is in the tradition of home alone - hint: it is actually a movie from the creator of home alone. So home alone fans, this is exactly what you want. Why only a 4.5/10? It really is that good cause if you don't think that its good you've got some serious problem. Anyway, as I liked this movie so much, i really wished there would be a sequel, you know - baby's day out to China. You think that will happen after you see the kid at the end with the China book. Shame it never happened. No reason though why it can't. So what's it about if you still have failed to notice this gem of a movie? Well, basically this baby is kidnapped by some crooks who blackmail this rich family for loads of money in return of the kid. He picks up this story that the crooks have and decides to do everything in the book. The crooks try to get him back, but to not much avail. You must watch this film - buy it on DVD now, i cannot recommend enough no matter what age you are.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Perfect example of Cinema Verite

Author: BentCrewStreak from The Bent Crew
10 February 2004



When my good buddy Wingnut(don't ask) raved about this movie, I was, to say the least, suspicious. "How is a movie about a baby who outwits would be kidnappers gonna fit into my rotation of Cambodian porn flicks?"

Well, I'm here to tell you...it does. I'm sorry I doubted this movie. It is, without a doubt, one of the funniest "laugh out loud" movies that I have ever seen. I'm not going to try to recap the movie. Others on this site have done a far better job than I could. I thought it was going to be a "baby" version of "Home Alone". But, it's actually closer to "Citizen Kane", with it's subtle majesty on display during each and every frame. The inspired antics of little Baby Bink will tug on the most hardened of heartstrings.

Superb performances throughout, especially Joe Pantoliano in the role of a lifetime as Norby. Rudy and I laughed many many times at the bumbling idiots as they tried time and time again to capture Baby Bink, but failed every time! It just never gets old! I've heard that the the best way to experience the rich detail in this tapestry of expert filmmaking is to see it with someone you love...or want to impress. I wholeheartedly second Hckyfn17's enthusiastic exclamation of "Wicked Awesome!" and also musts wonder "Where is the sequel".

John Hughes, why hast thou forsaken me?

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Funnier than the HOME ALONE films. WARNING: POSSIBLE SPOILERS!!!

Author: templer_doom (templer_doom@yahoo.co.uk)
18 October 2003

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The abduction of children is a big thing at the moment in England, with a number of real-life cases making the news. At first glance, BABY'S DAY OUT could turn into a movie-of-the-week tragedy, but in the hands of John Hughes, the tables are turned with glorious hilarity.

Playing like a Wile E. Coyote/Road Runner cartoon with criminals and a baby taking the respective places, it utilises simple scenarios throughout, but with rewarding moments of silliness that turn this into one of the most memorable comedies of the 1990's. It may not have made as much money as HOME ALONE 1 and 2, but it strikes an even funnier chord, thanks in part to the terrific performances of Joe Mantegna and Joe Pantoliano as the crooks who kidnap the baby in exchange for a $1 million ransom. The baby is the product of a high society couple (the wife played by Lara Flynn Boyle) who merely wanted their baby's picture taken. Simple, you might think. However, the baby's diminutive size proves to be a curse rather than a blessing and a series of incidents, notably involving a gorilla at the zoo and a building site which is reminiscent of some of the classic Laurel and Hardy two-reelers, more or less bring the chickens home to roost.

Pure family entertainment and worth seeing for a good belly laugh if you are feeling down.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

An hilarious comedy.

10/10
Author: husnain ali from London, England
18 October 2005

If you liked films such as Home Alone then this movie will suit you. This film is about a little baby(Bink)who gets kidnapped by kidnappers (Norby,Eddie and Veeko). But the baby is just to clever for them and causes more trouble than the kidnappers thought.

Unfortunately baby Bink escapes and now the three crooks are trying to get the baby back in order to get their money.Baby Bink has heard a book by his mother about kidnappers and he does whatever the hero does in the book and the kidnappers get all the punishment that the kidnappers get in his cartoon book.This movie is one of the best movie I have ever seen because it is an hilarious comedy.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Ordinary and absolutely not funny

3/10
Author: verminoz from Greece
24 September 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I just caught that film on TV and I took the time to watch it. To be true I never expected something really good but I was surprised by how ridiculous and awful it was. What we have here is a bad Home Alone copy with a lost baby outside of his home instead of a young boy inside his home.

So we're starting already with a suffocatingly trivial storyline. Then there comes a series of jokes which again are very ordinary. A lucky and smart baby makes fool of the, almost-stereotype, silly bad guys. A smart boss with two goofy partners find themselves in trouble trying to catch the baby! All these scenes not only are very unreal but they are not funny at all. Some reminded me of the death plans in Final Destination 3. For example there's a scene in a construction site where the three bad guys fall in traps a science fiction novelist would not imagine. And then the boss slips and falls down, gets smacked in the face by a flying hammer (what is so funny about that?) and then an extraterrestrial slime (which is very commonly found in construction sites) falls on him. Hmmm, I think I've seen that before in like 100 films.

So we come to the ending where the "wisdom wind" strikes the baby's nanny and she finds out that the baby has followed the exact story as in a fairy tale she used to read to him. How touching!!! The happy ending comes and reassures the audience that there's absolutely nothing new and nothing funny at all. In my opinion this film is a loss of time.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

Hilarious

7/10
Author: TheEtherWalk from Canada
26 November 2002

This movie is incredibly underrated. It has some of the funniest scenes I have ever seen. The park roshambo comes to mind. "THAT'S how you put out camp fires!" I had never laughed so hard in my life (until i saw Austin Powers 2)! Don't take it too seriously and just enjoy it, people. 7/10

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Baby's Day Out is Far Out!!!!

7/10
Author: Erik Goetz from United States
7 October 2012

This movie was capital G Good. I liked the three criminals the most. You had the weaselly thin one Norby (the brilliant Joe Pantoliano), the big goofy one Veeko (a breakout performance by the criminally underrated Brian Haley) and then the "smart" guy Eddie (and when I say smart, you will see that none of them are that smart) played by Airheads and Godfather 3 legend "Fat" Joe Mantegna. Three classic performances that carry the whole movie. I don't want to give too much away, but don't go to the bathroom when they get to the gorilla exhibit. Or the construction site!!! Those scenes almost made me go to the bathroom on my futon!!! The baby gets pretty boring after a while, but it's fun to think about how they had to keep rotating the twins every time one started crying or whatever.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Great film and classic

10/10
Author: wibas from India
26 November 2011

Movies are basically entertainment, and this film provides it the best. I wonder why it failed at box office, but its great fun to watch baby moving around the city and dumb wit kidnappers failing always. The scene with gorilla is hilarious, but the best part which I always look along is the "barbeque" fire. Joe Mantegna was the soul of the film. His expression in the fire scene is best. For me this film is a classic 10/10,period. Brian Haley, Joe Pantoliano added great entertainment. Oh, I forgot the construction scene and baby moving around.. and kidnappers getting dropped in paint cans or being hit by iron bars those are all fun to watch, truly classical scenes.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 3 of 8: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Newsgroup reviews
External reviews Parents Guide Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history