Space Ghost Coast to Coast (TV Series 1993–2008) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
41 Reviews
Sort by:
Nevr have I laughed so much.
chthon21 July 2003
My god, the people who thought up this show are geniuses. Put an outdated cartoon character on his own talk show with his old rivals, lower all their IQ levels by 20 points, and have pop icons be bombarded by pointless questions. This is probably the best talk show I have ever seen, which is funny consideing the host isn't even real.

I think it's good that this show never reached a wider audience, either. That makes it kind of special. Just a little something for those of us who stay up all night watching TV.
26 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
"Feh! Just who came up with the stupid idea of giving Space Ghost a talk show in the first place?"
craigjclark20 November 2005
Looking for the most unusual show on television? Well, look no further, because you've found it. "Space Ghost Coast to Coast" is more than just an animated talk show starring a washed-up '60s cartoon hero and his evil sidekicks. It's also a deconstruction of the superhero mythos, an attack on the culture of celebrity, and both a celebration and interrogation of the pop culture wasteland from which it sprang.

It's also one of the funniest shows that has ever been -- and ever will be -- on television. It features episodes that make you scratch your head ("Story Book," "Woody Allen's Fall Project," "Brilliant Number One"), ones that take you behind the scenes and show you their process ("Transcript," "Table Read") and ones of such dizzying inventiveness ("Jacksonville," "Pavement," "Joshua," "Knifin' Around") that they make you glad that someone, somewhere thought the idea of giving Space Ghost his own talk show wasn't so stupid.

"All right, my little unhappy monkeys."
16 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Move over Jay and Dave
drjykll2 May 1999
Look out late night! Space Ghost has beamed in! This show is some funny stuff late nights, I wish they had coast to coast on tape. Anyway, one of the best shows on Cartoon Network. Suprisingly good guests, hysterical lines you have to repeat, and a a death ray! What else could you ask for in a late night show?
11 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Cartoon Network's best original series.
SSJAniFan17 August 2003
Currently, Cartoon Network is adding all of these "Cartoon Cartoon," and "Adult Swim," shows, but they will never match the standards of this gem. Space Ghost is a total idiot, it's actually Moltar and Zorak who're the brains(but Tanzet and Brak are even stupider, and you'll know this about Brak if you've seen him in any other show he's been in). This series is funny as heck, what with Space Ghost frying Zorak, or even the guests, alien intruders popping out of nowhere, and a bunch of weird stuff going on. The show's plots make little to no sense, but that's what's best about it. You never know what's going to happen next, because the writers make it very unpredictable. Definitely a real classic.

BOTTOM LINE: Of all cartoons not on DVD yet, this one is screaming out to be given the digital treatment, so fans can see this hilarious talk show spoof where it deserves.
12 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
crazy, random, absurd, surreal, tangential, dumb... genius
MisterWhiplash12 August 2008
I never watched Space Ghost when it used to air, probably because I literally didn't know what I was missing (why I didn't watch it I can't remember, maybe it was on too late or it just seemed like the guests were sometimes unknowns to me, even as this wasn't the case at all). Now on DVD, I was curious to see it as part of other old shows from Cartoon Network. Seeing it now, it's... everything that's fun and smart in a really throwaway-joke kind of way in a cartoon when taking itself perfectly un-seriously. It's a spoof on old 60s cartoons, late night talk shows, hubris, rivalries, and many other things. Space Ghost and Zorak make for a great duo, with the other guy (can't remember his name now, the masked 'director' who sometimes sings if forced to in Zorak's absence) a notable third wheel, even as they're often ready to rip at each other's throats. The comedy is brilliant without even really trying, though I'm sure the writers worked their heads off to get certain scenes down (other times... you can tell they just chucked stuff at the wall, and I mean that as a compliment oddly enough). The writing basically makes up for the obvious goof-factor of the animation, which is repetitive and might just be ripped off of the 60s Space Ghost show (where else will I hear a line like "You smell like a farm!"), and it's probably one of the best ludicrous-type programs the Cartoon Network ever had. It's only my loss I didn't track down this crazy piece of work sooner, or watch it when it originally aired.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
iscream2215 September 2001
Not just the best late night show, but THE best show!

Highly addictive sci-fi talk show, with space ghost and his enemies interviewing celebs, and occasionally getting attacked by his enemies!

Watch coast to coast on adult swim on cartoon network!

Also Recomended: the brak show,and cartoon planet.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Space Ghost hosts his own Talk Show!
SonicStuart13 May 2004
The 1990's Space Ghost cartoons are hilarious! I like this show a lot because not only does it have Space Ghost but also it has him, along with Moltar and Zorak (sometimes Brak is on this show) interviewing lots of famous people. Like they interviewed with some of my favorites: Jim Carrey, Cameron Diaz, Matt Groening, Ben Stiller, Tyra Banks, Rebecca Romijn-Stamos, Sarah Jessica Parker, George Lowe, C. Martin Croker and some others. I am glad this show is still on Cartoon Network because some other the other ones are cancelled like Cartoon Planet, The Brak Show and Brak Presents The Brak Show Starring Brak.

User Rating: 10/10

8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Go with the "Ghost"!
Mister-624 June 2000
Space Ghost - super-hero, ego-maniac, braggard, simpering idiot... talk show host??

"Space Ghost Coast to Coast" gives us the most ill-fit host of any type to man the desk for fifteen minutes at a time while basically insulting, interrupting, arguing with, ignoring and even blasting away guest after guest on his show while arguing with musical director Zorak and camera man/director Moltar.

And, really, could you ask any more of a show than that?

The wit here is dry enough to blow away in a strong wind and sharp enough to leave a mark. Sometimes it's just downright mean, which is part of the charm (you can even see his live-action guests getting frustrated with the way things are going - COOL!)

All the while, SG has to put up with a never-ending barrage of insults from his "crew" that range from simple ("Jerk!"), to slanderous ("You dance like a girl!") to plain old nasty ("Did you get your BRAIN back?!"). And through it all, they keep plugging away - show after show. Is this how The Beatles worked in their later years?

One surreal moment (of many) comes when they show a scene from an old "Scooby-Doo" cartoon with SG, Zorak and Moltar supplying the voices of, respectively, Shaggy, Scooby and Velma. You HAVE to laugh when hearing Zorak growl, "Ray I rut in?" - how truly, inspiringly warped.

Of course, how much you like "SGC2C" depends on how much you like talk shows, Mad Magazine and/or poking fun at every living thing that breathes.

Myself, I LOVE it!

Ten stars, inequivicably, for "Space Ghost Coast to Coast"; the best publicity Hanna-Barbera ever had.

Not to mention Space Ghost.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
It is weird, that's why it's so good
Op_Prime20 December 2000
Space Ghost Coast to Coast is an excellent series. It's basically a parody of talk shows, but happens to be far better. The jokes are clever and hilarious. The premise is excellent and it's very funny what they do to the guests. The kind of humor here is the kind I love. My sides burst every time I watch an episode. And one episode is only 15 minutes long! Catch the show whenever possible.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Hard try to gain a mature audience for Cartoon Network.
insomniac_rod25 July 2009
I remember this show as one of the most complex efforts by Cartoon Network in order to generate a more mature audience.

The result was a smart, witty, talk show host program that caught the attention of young people and their parents.

To be honest, some of the dialogs between Space Ghost and his guests were hard to understand by a younger audience but at the same time, it generated a witty enthusiasm by children.

I remember some funny moments but also some really unfunny segments featuring Space Ghost's lack of black humor.

Still, it was one of Cartoon Networks'...most bizarre efforts but at the same time, a very interesting project.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
-Now when you say "Bob Costas", what do you mean by that?-Chambraine Episode. Need I say more??!!
Keith Wing29 September 2003
This show has given me many fond memories and hurt sides!! Once in while the show is a bit dry, but 95% of the time the humor is spot on and original! The best part of Adult Swim by far! A must see to anyone who wants to be highly amused!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
"Chambragne! It's shampoo...for your brain!"
Andy1 June 2003
One of the greatest poorly animated talk shows by a washed up superhero of all time...wait...nevermind. Anyway, you have to have a special breed of humor to appreciate what SG:C2C has to offer. The greatest episode has to be when he interviews Bob Costas. My sides almost split, and I laugh everytime I see it. I wish they'd make more, because they have had some great famous celebrities and some that weren't so famous, but were still great. The newer episodes are better, and this show only improves with age.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
There are other late night talk shows?
jackal74918 June 2000
Yes, Space Ghost is odd, off-the-wall humor. The dryness of the jokes really grows on you, though. I also suggest this to MST3K fans begging for something to watch since that show was - sob - ended. Monty Python I see not in this film, more a parody of late-night television. I love this show and suggest it to anyone and everyone.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
How does this stuff get on TV?
geiiga424 June 1999
Something that couldn't happen on network TV: A talk show that's actually funny. As Jeff Foxworthy put it, "These are the stupidest questions..." Space Ghost basically abuses his guests; when Donny Osmond came on his show, and attempted to plug his book, SG flipped to film of a panda in a cage. When Adam West attempted to do the same thing, he was just glared at. Of course, it's not just cheap entertainment at the expense of the guest...the shows often have a plot behind them that the guests are used to help out in some way. Of course, sometimes he just eats them. Zorak and Moltar are fun to watch, as are the rest of the council of doom (especially Brak and Lokar). This is one of my favorite television shows, and when I'm sitting alone in my house on a Friday night, it's on the tube.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
This show is beyond weird.
Jonathan MacKenzie26 August 2000
This has to be the strangest talk show I've ever seen. It has an odd, comical sense, and it can suck you in, much like a guilty pleasure.

I wouldn't say I like the show. I was just flipping channels when I think I may have seen Cameron Diaz on a TV screen with a man in a cape and a grasshopper insulting people. I thought "What?" at first, then realized it was Cartoon Network.

It has off-beat humor that really doesn't appeal to me. I just can't believe how strange this show is. It's also a mystery to how they got these celebrities to do this ludicrous, animated talk show.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
The very first animated talk show. And it was fantastic!
Cartoon King29 September 2011
"Space Ghost: Coast to Coast" was Cartoon Network's first fully-original animated TV show. It premiered in 1994 and ended in 2004. It was basically the launchpad for Cartoon Network's adult-oriented, late-night programming block "Adult Swim", which gave it the nick-name of "The Father of Adult Swim". It was also the first animated talk show, and pretty much the only one.

The host of the show was the 1960s Hanna-Barbera action cartoon hero, Space Ghost, who is now self-absorbed and stupid. His arch-nemesis Zorak is the band leader, and he's still as evil as ever. And another villain from the '60s show, Moltar, is the director.

Space Ghost interviewed actual celebrities. Including: Bobcat Goldthwait, Conan O'Brien, Fran Drecsher, Weird Al Yankovic, Mark Hammil, Jack Black, Matt Groening, Mike Judge, The Ramones, Hulk Hogan, Jim Carrey, Slash, Willie Nelson, Adam West, Emiril Lagasse, Carrot Top, Tyra Banks, Ben Stiller, and William Shatner among many others.

"Space Ghost: Coast to Coast" spawned many spin-offs. Which include "Cartoon Planet"; "The Brak Show"; "Aqua Teen Hunger Force"; and "Harvey Birdman, Attourney-at-Law". This show was very important to the history of Adult Swim.

"Space Ghost: Coast to Coast" was just a hilarious show. Surreal humor at it's funniest, and I loved the idea of giving a '60s Hanna-Barbera character a talk show. One of the best shows in Cartoon Network and Williams Street history. The characters were all hilarious, the voice acting was great, as I just said I loved the concept of the show, the limited animation actually made it even funnier, and the odd, surreal sense of humor was just great.

Rating: 9/10 "Excellent"
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
The Best cartoon in existence
solidsnake121116 May 2007
This is the best talk show and the best cartoon ever to be created. It original, hilarious and extremely enjoyable to watch. It contains many interview with a wide selection of celebrity's. If your looking for a totally original comedy, then look no further, because this is one show you DON'T want to miss out. With sidekicks such as arch enemies Zorak and Moltar constantly disrupting his show, this will make it turn out for the worst. This is one of Adult Swims most popular shows and i would recommend it to everyone, as this is one fantastic cartoon that you could watch over and over again!! Buy the DVD's and watch it Cartoon Networks Adult Swim. A++
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
The Best Ever!
jts040530 March 2007
Spac Ghost Coast 2 Coast is the ground breaking show that put Adult Swim on the map. Even though Aduly Swim started in the beginning of the 2000's, Spac Ghost Coast 2 Coast was around for nearly 10 years, running strong. It made itself just such an awesome show. Viewers loved it so much. I hope they will bring it back to Adult Swim, but if not I am buying all of the seasons and enjoying what used to be a classic of light nights. He is known for just having so many guests on his talk show that were big times movie stars and rock stars. To me, when he was a cartoon show it was OK, but when he became a late night talk show cartoon. That truly changed cartoons for ever. It changed the lines between adult and child cartoon on Cartoonetwork.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
S.R. Dipaling11 August 2005
The guys at CArtoon Network(literally Turner Studios) had reels of Space Ghost footage from the late '60s and had a brainstorm: Re-edit the voice tracks of the cult cartoon and re-edit the action to look like a late night talk show. And behold! Space Ghost Coast-to-coast is born!

The episodes are fifteen minutes long,so usually two are run per half-hour. Real,live guest sit through inane questions and banter from SG,his mortal enemy and band-leader Zorak,his producer,another villain Moltar and...well,whatever the heck once villain-turned-moron Brak is. INtermittenly,other space villains from episodes past will appear and often the ebb and flow of the show is interrupted,changed,mixed or completely blown-up,often replete with back story and side-references.

I was delighted to see it make a comeback(it AND The Brak show)on Adult Swim. It allows me to postpone(for now)having to go buy it on DVD.

I suggest anybody who gets a kick out of talk-show parodies and/or send-ups of old Hanna-Barbera cartoons go rent/or buy this on DVD,or at least TiVo it on Saturday and Sunday nights on CN.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Chance Encounter
fosterthedog10 August 2003
I had no idea this show existed until a chance encounter landed me on the Ghost Planet. No show compares to the 'fantastically stupid' level of inanity this show reaches. See it to believe it! The lineup of guests is outstanding.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Best Talk Show out there.
Joel4 May 2003
I've watched this show since the third grade, and I gotta tell ya... that's some funny stuff!

Virtually every episode (except a select few) were all very entertaining.

My favorite episode of all would be the one titled "Sphinx," where Mike Judge and Harland Williams appear on the show and towards the end of the episode, Judge does every voice that he ever did on Beavis & Butthead.

This show was very much watchable... I don't care what the critics say.

If you've never seen this show, you won't be disappointed.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
greatest talk show
Jason19 January 2003
Screw Jerry Springer. You don't need disfunctional families to have a great talk show, you need cheesy animation and a host with a short attention span. The show is funny. It's not slapstick humor and it's not subtle humor, it''s a type of humor that can't be described. I would call it stupid funny, but it's a lot more than that. A word of caution...If you like boring humor (Friends), you probably won't appreciate the humor of Space Ghost. As for the rest of you, watch the damn show.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Great animated talk show...
Arnold-1014 May 2000
Take "Late Night With Conan O'Brien". Throw in a little of "The Tick". Add a cup of Monty Python for good measure. Shake well.

Voila! You've got yourself a serving of some "Space Ghost Coast to Coast", one of the strangest, funniest, and most twisted shows on television. Chock full of purposely bad stock animation, this is an ingeniously written show that deserves to be considered among the funniest shows on the air today.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
The best 15-minute talk show ever.
Sebulba11313 December 1999
What can be said of the Ghost? He's an idiot. Coward. Lunatic. Etc. But this show is a genuine piece of comedy that comes along when smart, cultured people let their minds wander and don't hold them back. The fifteen minute run time is a good idea. Two shows in one week! Genius!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Great (but sometimes odd) Show
dancing-bug17 November 1999
This has to be one of the weirdest TV shows in history. The show's humor varies from sacastic-cornball to a very dark, strange humor. Most of the time the episodes have no plot, they just, kinda add-lib. Once you watch it though, it kinda grows on you. I reccommend watching this if you like MST3K, Monty Python, or Cartoon Planet.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews