Doctor Finlay (1993–1996)

TV Series  -   -  Drama
Your rating:
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 -/10 X  
Ratings: 8.0/10 from 92 users  
Reviews: 8 user

Add a Plot

0Check in

User Lists

Related lists from IMDb users

list image
a list of 98 titles
created 12 Oct 2011
a list of 1706 titles
created 11 Nov 2012
a list of 430 titles
created 8 months ago
a list of 30 titles
created 7 months ago
a list of 392 titles
created 4 months ago

Connect with IMDb

Share this Rating

Title: Doctor Finlay (1993–1996)

Doctor Finlay (1993–1996) on IMDb 8/10

Want to share IMDb's rating on your own site? Use the HTML below.

Take The Quiz!

Test your knowledge of Doctor Finlay.


4 | 3 | 2 | 1


1996 | 1995 | 1994 | 1993
1 nomination. See more awards »


Series cast summary:
 Dr. John Finlay (27 episodes, 1993-1996)
 Janet MacPherson (27 episodes, 1993-1996)
 Dr. Alexander Cameron (27 episodes, 1993-1996)
Gordon Reid ...
 Angus Livingstone / ... (24 episodes, 1993-1996)
Margo Gunn ...
 Brenda Maitland (17 episodes, 1993-1996)
Jessica Turner ...
 Dr. Jennifer Napier / ... (14 episodes, 1995-1996)
Jackie Morrison ...
 Rhona Swanson / ... (13 episodes, 1994-1996)
 Dr. David Neil (12 episodes, 1993-1994)


Add Full Plot | Add Synopsis


AJ Cronin's famous characters are lovingly recreated in the popular Scotish period drama.




See all certifications »




Release Date:

9 May 1993 (USA)  »

Also Known As:

Doctor Finlay  »

Company Credits

Show detailed on  »

Technical Specs


(27 episodes)

Sound Mix:


See  »

Did You Know?


Referenced in Ideal: The Boss (2006) See more »

Frequently Asked Questions

This FAQ is empty. Add the first question.

User Reviews

Haphazard Release of the episodes!!
27 April 2006 | by (Kent, England) – See all my reviews

According to the running schedule for this show, there were 27 episodes shot in the beautiful town of Auchtermuchty, Fife, Scotland. To date, there are three seasons released onto DVD in the UK. This means there are 8 episodes missing - where are they? The DVD sets themselves are nice but the order in which they are released is all over the place. DVD Set One comprises 6 episodes only, and they are: The Return/Working Together/Winning the Peace/A Bitter Pill/Forbidden Fruit and The Good Doctor. Can't find what's on Set Two (why don't online retailers put this info up??) Set Three comprises: Old Flames/Time Will Tell/Private Lives/The Earth's Sweet Being/A Natural Mistake/The Greatness & The Power and No Time for Heroes. I am waiting for set Two to arrive and when it does I'll post it's contents. Why, oh why can't distributors and TV companies work together to get the episodes out in the correct order and not just cherry pick a few eps here and there - we'd like the whole set please.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.  Was this review helpful to you?

Message Boards

Recent Posts
Mercury wendy-lundie
Mercury - Carrickfergus mikepsingleton
Brenda Maitland. vanfox12
Not the same without Dr. Neil jlw96
Discuss Doctor Finlay (1993) on the IMDb message boards »

Contribute to This Page

Create a character page for: