IMDb > "Dennis Miller Live" (1994) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Dennis Miller Live"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsmessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Dennis Miller Live" More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 9 reviews in total 

4 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

What the heck is HBO thinking?

Author: Fard Muhammad from Chicago, IL
4 August 2002

Dennis Miller Live is the very reason I watched HBO to begin with. Miller's fast-talking, metaphor-filled, vulgarity-laden jokes and rants make the show one of the most edgy, provocative, and therefore funniest talk shows in the history of television.

And HBO is canceling it.

Sure, it's been nine seasons, and most shows are lucky for lasting that long, but there is no conceivable reason for HBO to cancel DML while Miller still has some steam left. His rants after September 11, 2001, were some of the funniest he has ever done, since he was chronicling a very severe change in American society with the same rapier wit that he used to observe the minutiae of that same society in the days of pregnant chads and Monica Lewinsky.

HBO has really let go of a true gift to television, and they should have let it run until Dennis himself felt is was time to close up shop, not because the network wants to fit an extra episode of "Six Feet Under" or "Sex in the City"...

Well, there will always be the reruns on the "HBO Comedy" subnetwork, so I could be able to enjoy the episodes that I haven't seen yet when they first aired, and I can enjoy Miller's books of rants- however, they will not be topical anymore. I'll be hearing jokes about President Clinton and his affinity for French fries. The jokes will still be funny, but just dated.

First Monday Night Football, now this... 2002 is just not the year of Miller, cha-cha.

Here's to hoping that DML can get picked up by another cable network (I know that none of the broadcast networks will allow Dennis Miller's seemingly vicious language) for at least a couple more seasons. Good luck, Dennis. You've done a great job with a fantastic show for the past 9 seasons, and we will miss you when you leave the airwaves, babe.

Of course that's just my opinion.... well, you know the rest.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

ROTFLMHO!!!!!

Author: Adam Lawrence Welsh from St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
3 August 1999

Before I start my review of this program, I should probably mention a few things first.

First of all, I live in Canada. Therefore, we only got Dennis Miller Live earlier this year. Here in Canada, the HBO program airs on a channel known appropriately enough as "The Comedy Network" as comedy is the only genre it deals with. (Its basically the Canadian version of Comedy Central, except no bad movies)

Here is the unfortunate part. You see, The Comedy Network is supported by airing comercials like most channels are. However, Dennis Miller Live does not air commercials. For this reason, some material has to be cut for the Canadian airing to make room for advertisements (here in Canada, the show is sponsored by Volkswagon). Fortunately, the producers only cut what they find to be the least funniest moments, (this includes the closing credits). Unfortunatly, this editing and shipment takes 8 days, therefore, episodes air 8 days after there original airdate on HBO. It is a pain, but I've pretty much gotton over it.

Now on to my review. I think this is one of the most funniest programs on TV today. For those of you who have never seen the show, here's the basic overview. The program begins with Dennis making one quick comment about something going on in the world today. After that, the opening titles roll. Following the titles, Dennis presents a typical talk show-esque monolouge (albeit, with abrasive language wherever Dennis can find a place to put it.) Following the monologue is something known as The Rant. As its name suggests, Dennis begins a pre-writen rant on a particular topic. He begins by saying, "I don't want to get off on a rant here, but..." (famous last words) and always finishes with "...Of course, that's just my opinion. I could be wrong," which is a line that I'm sure he only uses to avoid lawsuits, but its funny too. After his rant, Dennis brings out a guest. Normally, this guest is on tour promoting a movie or TV show or book or whatever, but on Dennis' show, they are usually just there to chat. People call in at this time and chat with Dennis and the guests as well. The topic they chat about is usually the same topic of the rant. After this is over, the show closes with The Big Screen, or as Dennis calls it, "I gotta go do the news." In The Big Screen, Dennis presents pictures from various newspapers devoid of their origianl stories. Dennis then gives his own amusing line for it (Example:A picture of Bill and Hillary Clinton, in which Bill is holding the side of his face prompts the following line from Dennis, "Message received, Hillary. Could you please let go of the left one now?" As soon as the show is done he announces his infamous line from SNL's Weekend Update: "Folks, that's the news, and I AM OUTTA HERE!!"

What I like about Dennis Miller Live is that, although it is a comedy show, more than half the stuff that Dennis talks about are true. While he rants about a particular topic, you can't help but laugh , and then say, "Hey, he's right!" Its funny, 'cuz its true, which has always been Dennis Miller's style of comedy. Overall, I give it 4 out of 5 stars.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Dennis Miller is the most brilliant comedian who has ever lived.

Author: LOTON1542 from El Paso Tx
16 July 2001

For those of you who have never had the pleasure of witnessing the 30 minute phenomenon that is DENNIS MILLER LIVE I frankly feel sorry for you, because you are missing out on such an amazing show. Dennis Miller has done for talk shows what is long overdue. He has given a completley different feel to the ever growing stale talk show. Dennis Miller and his staff have found a way to do what every other talk show has not yet done,cut through all the sugarcoating and started to tell it like it is.Not only does Mr. Miller beautifully mesh brilliant writting with a unrestricted(we owe ya one there HBO)but tastefull dialogue with topics that are actually interesting and not superficial like we see on so many other shows. I cant for the life of me figure out why he has not won every award for writting there is. While Dennis Miller Live is not lacking in humor,taste or just plain old fashion fun I do have a couple of complaints. For starters its only 30 minutes long. There has not been a time when I have not been sad to see the show end. If it were up to me it would be a minimum of 60 minutes. My second complaint is that they have not yet devoted a channel for Dennis Miller. Im talking 24/7 of all Dennis all the time. Trust me on this. Its a good idea. For closers,, if you do not have HBO I suggest you get it and if for no other reason get it for Dennis Miller Live, but if you can't go to your nearest bookstore and pick up his books. He has three of them.1) I rant therefore I am 2)The rants and last 3)Still ranting. These books contain the opening monologue wich in my opinion are the best part. Do your self a favor if you havent already and start exposing yourself to Dennis Miller Live. You wont be disappointed. Of course thats just my opinion and trust me Im not wrong.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Now I Don't Want to Get Off on a Rant Here, but...

Author: MisterWhiplash from United States
11 April 2000

Dennis Miller Live is the best Late Night program of it's time, I'd compare it to David Letterman that it's so good. I feel that thanks to Dennis Miller bringing his witty styling of comedy with bashing the public figures and giving great interviews, this is the best thing to come onto late night in a long time. Miller is as smart, witty and funny as any other person in the media, and since he doesn't have to act as their equal, he becomes stronger. A++

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Good show

Author: Inliten from Colorado
1 June 2003

We didn't get HBO until a couple of years ago, but since we've had the channel, we've watched Dennis Miller. The guy is sharp as a tack, and a lot of fun to listen to. Sure, he's a little on the pedantic and self-important side, but not to the point that it gets annoying. It was nice to see many of the re-runs that HBO would show throughout the week, and it's a shame that the show was canceled. Of course, I'll take Bill Maher's show over Miller's any day.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Boy do I like to hear Dennis rant! Miller is a man that is never at a loss for words.

Author: Brian-272 from Oakwood, Virginia USA
8 June 2001

If you want to hear humor talk at it's best then "Dennis Miller Live" is the show for you especially if you like to hear a rant! This HBO late night series for years has caught many viewers attention for the way that Miller is very opinionated on the world of politics, entertainment, and society in general. Each show Dennis starts off with telling what's new in the world for the week talking in a funny manner, then he rants about a selected issue making the most fun and humor he can. Yes famous guest are always on "Dennis Miller Live" to talk about the topic that Dennis has selected. Believe me if you want the most laughs and enjoyment from an honest and most opinionated talk show host then "Dennis Miller Live" is a show to watch. Be like me and millions of others and watch and listen to Dennis.

Was the above review useful to you?

Look at the world events critically

Author: oscar-35 from working in Movieland
22 August 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

*Spoiler/plot- 1994, Rather mad TV show series exploring the celebrity scandals, political subterfuge, social deviance, and Dennis Miller ranting on them righteously to his audience. He also visits with guests on his show to ask them about their views on the week's news.

*Special Stars- Dennis Miller and guests.

*Theme- Look at the world events critically and you will understand and only laugh at life's troubles by seeing the funny side of life.

*Based on- Dennis Miller's stand-up and his SNL comedy performances.

*Trivia/location/goofs- This is a live audience show, uncensored, and a topical look at the events of the week as surveyed by one of the most acerbic, witty comedians working today. This show was nominated for TV's 'Emmy" and ran many years on HBO cable.

*Emotion- This film provides us with an experience of Dennis Miller at the height of his career and is a special film for anyone to watch. This film was full of great thoughts and features show guests that are seldom seen on any other TV show due to Miller's popularity. Miller shows us a feel good movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Funny, but too short

Author: cheeseboy80
15 August 2000

This show is much better than Jay Leno, David Letterman, and Conan O'Brien because it's on HBO. On HBO, there's no limits. You can do anything you want on HBO. The only problem I have with this show is it's only on 30 minutes. I think the show should be on longer than that. What about 60 minutes??

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Disgusting hate-monger

Author: eldraque
22 June 2003

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This review contains spoilers.

In the post 9/11 world, some American personalities showed patience and rationality beyond what many expected (George W.) and others shocked us by becoming rabid dogmatists. Dennis Miller belongs to this latter category. If you listen to his pre-9/11 "rants", which I happened to enjoy for the most part, you will find few precursors to the outpouring of hatred that came after pivotal day. It's understandable that he should voice anger at the Islamic fundamentalists that preach violence against America. But the environmental movement, the ACLU, and any hint of liberal sentiment is now maliciously vilified by Miller. It's especially galling because Miller clearly doesn't know what he's talking about, especially in the case of the environment.

He managed to remember the value for mean annual temperature rise in the 20th Century. And then left out any corrolary to extreme weather phenomena, rising ocean levels, disruption of trans-Atlantic jet streams, increased cloud cover, and other exponentially destructive effects that result from the addition of GHG to the atmosphere. Could Miller even be able to define a Geographic positive flow-system? I doubt it. So why is he teaching us geography, after claiming to have "done his research, since [he] has kids". He really infuriated me with his know-it-all ironic posturing.

Stand-up comedy is about more than making people laugh. It's extremely political and is the most effective tool for grafting your ideology on other people. In the 21st Century, America needs better comics than the likes of Miller.

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history