The Wrong Trousers (1993) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
93 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
10/10
A true mile stone of animation
letmein-111 March 2001
Nick Park's hysterical plasticine duo Wallace and Gromit are back in this, their second outing, pitting themselves against the plotting penguine whose devious nature is taking advantage of Wallace's niavity. However, the ever suspicious Gromit is seeing through the Penguine's frosty exterior and sets out to uncover his secret scheming shadowy plan. The Wrong Trousers is the best so far from Peter Lord and Nick Park, putting even the outstanding Chicken Run and Close Shave in it's shadow. The characterisation is simply electrical. The ever suffering but mute Gromit and the clumsy well meaning Wallace muddle their way to stopping a truely outstanding criminal genius penguine (whose pesona is portrayed with such subtlety and effect that the cute bird becomes the very essence of evil). Park and Lord's pace and cinematography in this animation medium are truely world leading, climaxing in the mad mayhem of a train-set chase through their house. The plot is simple yet full of nuances and details (check out the headline's on Wallace's newspaper and the wall paper in Gromit's bedroom)raising this above even the best that that big studios can produce. A film almost without fault which pays homage to the greatest and most farciscal works of the great Ealing comedy era (there is something sinister happening but, it isn't that sinister really). Watch this film and let the quality and clarity of the humour seep into your soul. A true mile-stone of animation which deserved it's oscar like no other animation ever will.
35 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
cracking good story
Markc654 September 2001
The best film of the Wallace and Gromit trilogy, and one of the greatest films, period. Nick Park and the animators at Aardman are some true talents and gifted storytellers. Nick Park has made some great clay stop motion cartoons before, such as Creature Comforts, but with The Wrong Trousers he really topped himself. The technical aspects of the movie are amazing. The noirish lighting, the attention to detail, the small jokes in the background, the camera compositions and the fluid animation (it doesn't have that herky-jerky look of most clay animated films) are awe-inspiring by themselves, but combined with such a witty story and appealing characters the result is something that truly deserves to be called a classic.
24 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Wonderful – Gromit steals the show and the penguin is superbly sinister!
bob the moo28 September 2002
In order to help make ends meet Wallace decides to rent out their spare room. However the new lodger takes Gromit's room and puts him out in the dog house. Meanwhile Wallace continues work on a pair of remote controlled trousers. But is the new lodger as innocent a chicken as he appears? Wallace finds himself part of a major jewel robbery – can Gromit return in time to save him?

The second of the adventures of Wallace & Gromit sees the animation greatly improve and the comedy oh so very sharp and funny. The basic plot is a little silly but very well crafted considering this is a short film – I wish many `proper' films had plots this clever and imaginative. It is also absolutely a wonder to watch – even when I wasn't laughing I was easily charmed by the wit and imagination of the whole thing.

The animation is superb, Wallace is as good as ever and Gromit is much more fully developed and is easily the star. The penguin however threatens to steal the show as well as the jewel. How can a plastercine penguin with a glove on it's head that likes listening to organ music be threatening? Well it can – here he snaps his head round and stares with such menace that it's frightening! They all work well together but Gromit takes the film by a nose.

With all those brain dead kids cartoons around on TV this should be treasured. Adults will love it as there is plenty of detail for them to enjoy and kids will totally fall for the rich comedy and well animated characters. A wonderful little gem.
23 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
"The Wrong Trousers" is filmmaking history that may never be paralleled
SwingBatta9 September 2001
Wallace & Gromit: The Wrong Trousers (1993): Calling this delightful and hilarious Oscar-winning masterpiece (brought to us by Nick Park, co-director of "Chicken Run," one of my all-time favorite films) the best claymation short ever is a lot like saying that someone just bought the best vehicle from a used car lot, so I'll go ahead and call this the best animated short ever, which it definitely is. No questions asked. It's brilliantly shot, paced, scripted, directed...to paraphrase Mary Poppins, it's practically perfect in every way. You can't help but fall in love with every single character on the screen, from our always-lovable cheese-loving inventor and his loyal canine companion to even the devious jewel-thieving penguin Feathers McGraw (the subject of the bestselling "Have You Seen This Chicken?" T-shirts). They are so well-rounded that Feathers nearly steals the show; it's impossible to keep a straight face at the sight of a penguin nervously wiping sweat from his brow, disguising himself as a chicken and firing a revolver, all while wearing the same stolid expression in his little peppercorn-black eyes. The wild train ride near the conclusion is a breathtaking segment that will never be topped by any other animation studio in this millennium or the next. I cannot recommend this work of genius enough. If you find anything whatsoever to dislike about it, I suggest seeking professional help immediately. Otherwise, pop this into your video or DVD player, put your feet up and watch this piece of animated history unfold before your very eyes. 10/10
27 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Claymation Spectacular
Dockelektro5 December 2002
A prodigy of animation, "The Wrong Trousers" won the Oscar for best animated short. Nick Park is at fine shape here, as he displays not only the skill of his craft but also a narrative coherence and care that nearly overpasses the artistic talent. It's the advantage of stop-motion animation: each shot is carefully studied and considered, and the story moves forward having Gromit the dog as the main character, and he succeeds all the way in convincing us of his "acting skills", even though he doesn't say one word or make one sound. The film has a great plot: Wallace and Gromit are forced to let a room, and a grim penguin applies for it. Soon, the intruder takes over the house and replaces Gromit as Wallace's best friend. But there is more than meets the eye, and the rest of the story is too good to be spoiled. Constructing suspense to the very end, with hair-raising sequences until the last spectacular showdown and applying all the formulae that make a god movie, this is animation on the top of its game, and a great opportunity to see just how much you can raise the bar on claymation short features. Talent has never been so evident.
19 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
The short that proves one shouldn't let one's spare room to unfamiliar penguins without excellent references!
Robert Reynolds18 December 2001
This marvelous short won the Academy Award and is the best of the series, though all so far have been delightful! The praise heaped on Wallace and Gromit has been vast and well-deserved, so my additions are gilding the lily, but I'll still say something. The Wrong Trousers is funny, sad, insightful and just plain mad, frequently all at once. If there's any justice, they will remain in print in perpetuity. Most recommended.
22 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Fantastic, entertaining work of art, with no Hollywood smut
Ken-27223 May 2001
This is a clever picture that gets better the more times you watch it. The attention to detail is amazing. It makes you wonder over and over again - How did they do that?

I have this on DVD and enjoy taking time to check some segments out frame by frame to catch all the background details like book titles on the shelf and news paper headlines. It's enjoyable for youth and adults alike.
25 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Very funny
rbverhoef22 January 2004
Together with 'Wallace & Gromit: A Close Shave' and 'Wallace & Gromit: A Grand Day Out' this is one of the funniest things I have seen. The clay animation looks great, the stories are very ingenious and the jokes are great. If you get a chance to see this, please do so. You will have a great time.

I guess this one is the best from the three, although 'A Close Shave' comes close. You must see all three of them anyway, so it doesn't really matter.
14 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
a modern classic
Lee Eisenberg26 December 2005
In my opinion, Wallace & Gromit are to modern animation what Bugs Bunny was to classic cartoons: they truly set the standards. Following "Creature Comforts", Nick Park made "The Wrong Trousers". W&G take in a penguin as a boarder, and the little guy soon becomes Wallace's favorite. Gromit decides to leave, but then it turns out that this is no ordinary penguin.

I think that my favorite scene was Wallace "walking" around in the trousers; they must have had fun filming that scene. Watching these cartoons, one can see that "Chicken Run" was coming eventually. All in all, this is a cartoon that you can't afford to miss. Perfect.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
highly enjoyable
rebeljenn22 October 2005
'Wallace and Gromit: The Wrong Trousers' is a highly enjoyable claymation tale about an inventor man and his dog companion, who happens to be smarter than the man himself. This tale involves a rogue penguin with an evil plan involving Wallace and Gromit and his inventions.

This is a warming tale about friendship and realistic characters, and children are sure to enjoy the imagination behind the story and the claymation and humour. Adults are also sure to love the same on a higher level. It's rare in a film to find a tale enjoyable to both children and adults, but 'The Wrong Trousers' succeeds in this.

This is a charming little short film, and it should be watched and enjoyed by all. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Forget CGI. Claymation is the best!!!
metalgatesolid6 May 2005
Warning: Spoilers
Wallace and Gromit are great! Fact! And eccentric inventor, that looks like Prince Charles if he were bald, and a very clever dog whose eyebrows express his feeling more than words, makes for very enjoyable bank holiday viewing. The first 'film' (I put it like this because they are only about 30mins long) saw the duo fly to the moon. The third saw a cyborg dog. But this one, the second, surly wins it. A penguin disguised as a chicken, giant robotic trousers, a diamond robbery, and the greatest chase sequence ever, make this the best claymation film ever. Lets star at the beginning. Its Gromits birthday. He gets given a giant pair of mechanical trousers that Wallace makes to help take Gromit for his "walkies". Bills are too expensive so they have to rent out the spare room. A small penguin takes the room, however in the process kicking Gromit out the house, and stealing the trousers for a robbery. The only one who can stop him is Gromit. I wont give too much away, but its worth watching the first 20, very enjoyable, minutes just for the train chase at the end. I have these on DVD and i will never tire of that sequence. Its just brilliant!!
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Who knew?
SSmith-513 March 2000
If you had told me that sitting for 30 minutes watching bits of clay would be entertaining, I would have said you were mad.

But you would have been right.

Thanks, Nick Park, for making this old man feel like a kid again.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Superb Entertainment
Theo Robertson28 March 2005
This is a touching story . When Gromit found himself second to Wallace's affection I thought my heart would break . Poor Gromit , poor poor Gromit as he packs his bags and leaves the house my heart was breaking and the tears were flowing down my cheeks .

Did I mention that Gromit is a plasticine dog in an animated movie ? No ? Believe me I'm not some bleeding heart animal loving do gooder - I'm a very prolific IMDb reviewer perhaps the most cynical one on this site and I was totally moved and entertained by this animated film . If I enjoyed it how can anyone else not enjoy it ?

THE WRONG TROUSERS is the second and best of the Wallace & Gromit shorts . As with Nick Parks other work the animation where animals have idiosyncratic humanized personalities is superb but its the script co- written by Park and former DOCTOR WHO scriptwriter Bob Baker that is so enjoyable . The plotting and character interaction makes it touching and exciting and even this childless cynic enjoyed every single moment of it

If you're a parent and are wondering how to keep the kids quiet for over an hour maybe you should show them an episode from the new DOCTOR WHO series followed by THE WRONG TROUSERS . If that doesn't work as family entertainment nothing will
16 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
"No more lodgers - more trouble than they're worth"
ackstasis26 February 2009
There's no use prevaricating about the bush, 'Wallace & Gromit in The Wrong Trousers (1993)' is a whole heap of fun! Having not seen the film in years, I'd almost forgotten that it was so uproariously entertaining. It was 'Creature Comforts (1989)' that took home the Oscar in 1991, but Nick Park instead planned a sequel to 'A Grand Day Out with Wallace and Gromit (1989),' a short film that, in my estimation, showed far more promise. This next effort sees the pair with their feet firmly on terra firma, but in an adventure that is no less wacky than the last. Despite economic woes, Wallace has built a impressive contraption for Gromit's birthday – a pair of mechanical trousers. To offset his financial losses, Wallace opens up his home to lodgers, attracting the business of a creepy and silent penguin named Feathers McGraw. The sinister flightless avian soon sets about systematically severing the immortal bond between master and pet, in preparation for a devilishly cunning heist scheme.

Nick Park's films are held in reverence by the animation community, and with good cause. Rarely before had the claymation medium been utilised to create such rich animated characters; even previous successes like 'Closed Mondays (1974)' couldn't evade the fact that they were produced using shifting masses of clay. 'The Wrong Trousers' boasts but three characters – only one of which can speak – and yet the relationship between the three is superbly authentic. Maybe it's the personal touch of recognising the animators' thumb-prints on every character, but somehow Park manages to capture every nuance of their behaviour, every tiny inflection of emotion. In half an hour, Gromit doesn't utter a single word, and yet he communicates his sadness, anger and excitement through an affectionate glance or downcast eye. Likewise, the sinister Feathers McGraw attains creepiness precisely through his silence. That he doesn't speak keeps his motives veiled in secrecy, and those beady, ominous eyes are probably enough to give young children nightmares.

Of course, most people love 'The Wrong Trousers' for its humour, and there's plenty of it. That sparkling British humour is truly allowed to shine, and the gentle voice-acting of Peter Sallis has the sheer sincerity to carry the frequently-offbeat jokes. Whereas 'A Grand Day Out' was a homage of sorts to the science-fiction genre, probably more in line with Georges Méliès than anyone else, this effort is an affectionate satire of the British crime films of the 1950s and 1960s. The evil penguin has the eccentric malevolence of Alec Guinness in 'The Ladykillers (1955),' though without the fondness for articulate speech. The object of the villainous heist scheme resembles the titular jewel in 'The Pink Panther (1964).' With mock seriousness, amateur sleuth Gromit paces his way through the clichés of the genre, culminating in a hilarious madcap locomotive chase along miniature train-tracks, which our hero must lay down as he goes. This sort of impeccable entertainment deserves to run for far longer than thirty minutes.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Tenants, Trousers & Trains!
ccthemovieman-11 February 2007
This was the second in a series of three short BBC programs featuring a man and his dog. With a full-length feature film that came out a dozen years later (just recently in 2005). Wallace & Gromit is now far better-known. But, to those of us who "discovered" W&G back in the mid-to-late '90s, they were a fun pair we enjoyed in these three 30-minute shows.

"The Wrong Trousers" is best at the end with a very funny chase scene inside a toy train set. Earlier, Wallace, the inventor, is trying to invent a pair of remote-controlled trousers. He's a bit short on money so he rents out a room in house. The lodger prefer Gromit's room. Gromit is Wallace's pet dog. The dog is literally put out in the dog house, and is not happy about this.

In a crazy series of events, the tenant - an evil penguin - gets Wallace inadvertently involved in a jewel heist and Gromit has to come to the rescue. It's very silly but the unique animated cinematography helps make this a winner.
13 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
It doesn't get better than this
b_havag28 December 2008
Warning: Spoilers
Wallace and Gromit first came to my attention about ten years ago when I saw the film "A Grand Day Out" on TV. An excellent short which I gave a 9/10. "The Wrong Trousers" is even better.

Wallace is an English inventor with a love for cheese, crackers and his cup of tea. Gromit is his dog, and the star of the shorts. He doesn't talk at all, but he doesn't have to, all is said through facial expressions and body language, and done perfectly so. Gromit is the work of a comedy genius.

In this short Wallace is short of money, so he puts up a room in his house for rent. Soon after a penguin, yes a penguin, turns up at his door. Like Gromit, he doesn't talk at all. The penguin takes great interest in Wallaces new invention, a pair of remote controlled metallic trousers.

I won't tell anymore, you'll have to see for yourself, but all the thirty minutes we are served very clever comedic details, you'll find more and more the each time you see it, generally a lot of craziness and especially "the train-scene" which will make you laugh your head of. A must see. 10/10
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Too Good To Miss
screenman6 January 2008
Warning: Spoilers
This cartoon is not just wonderfully created, it is hilarious. How can anyone get such emotional and behavioural subtleties out of plasticine? They make a lot of human actors seem less animate.

The comedy elements allied to Sallis's voice are amongst the best imaginable, and all done with stop-go animation. What makes a perfectly ordinary penguin with a rubber glove on its head - or a 'chicken' as it's called - look so menacing by simply turning its head? I just don't know. Remember; this isn't CGI. And then there's the jam-flinging gadget that gets unexpectedly out of kilter. The result could have been lifted from the best of Tom & Jerry. Techno-Trousers - ex NASA, just the thing for walkies. Gromit is yanked off without ceremony, just a stifled yelp of surprise. When that faithful but rejected dog decided it was finally time to leave home and the musical pathos welled-up, I saw a grown man wipe his own eye.

The devil's in the detail, and Nick Park misses very little.

What is also extremely imaginative is the sound track. Heard on a good system, it's really quite amazing. The echoey slap, slap, slappity-slap of little penguin feet in a lonely side-street, or the booming clamour of the air-conditioning plenum on the museum roof as Gromit's Techno-Trousers blunder about; all have a genuinely believable stamp. There's even the sound of wind blowing up there.

And finally, check-out the chase around the house on a toy train-set. It really does begin to look like magic. I love the little 'foop' as the pilfering penguin drops conveniently into a milk bottle. Witty and hilarious in equal measure.

Later, more sophisticated offerings like 'Chicken Run' seem to be just a little overblown and contrived. For me, 'The Wrong Trousers' will always be Nick Park's masterpiece.

Has anyone else noticed how similar his and Wallis's expressions are? Methinks he found his inspiration in a mirror.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Charming, brilliant - for kids and adults alike.
adam-blackley15 June 2005
Warning: Spoilers
In order to help make ends meet Wallace decides to rent out their spare room. However the new lodger takes Gromit's room and puts him out in the doghouse. Meanwhile Wallace continues work on a pair of remote controlled trousers. But is the new lodger as innocent a chicken as he appears? Wallace finds himself part of a major jewel robbery – can Gromit return in time to save him? The second of the adventures of Wallace & Gromit sees the animation greatly improve from the brilliant but very amateurish 'A grand day out' and the comedy extremely sharp and funny. The basic plot is a little silly but very well crafted considering this is a short film – I wish that all those other 'proper' films that have been a complete waste of time to watch had plots this clever and imaginative. It is also absolutely a wonder to watch – even when I wasn't laughing I was easily charmed by the wit and imagination of the whole thing. The animation is superb, Wallace is as good as ever and Gromit is much more fully developed and is easily the star. His physical comedy is brilliant, with the slightest twitch animated so well that we fall about laughing. The penguin however threatens to steal the show as well as the jewel. How can a Plasticine penguin with a glove on its head that likes listening to organ music be threatening? Well it can – here he snaps his head round and stares with such menace that it's actually frightening! They all work well together but Gromit takes the film by a nose. With all those brain dead kids cartoons around on TV this should be treasured. Adults will love it as there is plenty of detail for them to enjoy and kids will totally fall for the rich comedy and well-animated characters. A wonderful little gem, and something that all animators should look to as a reference for what really good animation is like.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Funny, orignal, animation was invented for this
FLC30 January 1999
'The Wrong Trousers' is an ingenious bit of filmmaking/cartoon making...whatever you want to call it. It combines lovable characters with cute personalities and a humorous plot to make an enjoyable film. I can watch this again and again and again, and it's still good. Why? Well, maybe it's the writing. It's witty enough to humour you, but not too clever to confuse those little kids which this would probably attract, yet the catchphrases and gimmicks assigned to each character are good enough to make me fall on the floor with laughter. If this was played out real life, it would be a monty python style caper woth elements of Mr Nielson in there..he's make a good Gromit. The lip sync is perfect and and the voices are sooo good. Peter

Salis is sooooo Gromit i can't belive it. This is how REAL animation should be done, Walt, eat your heart out (and have some wensleydale and crackers to wash it down ). Cracking.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
The best Wallace & Grommit
fuzbuddy9 September 1999
This is my favorite of the three Wallace & Grommit cartoons. Nick Parks is just brilliant. The animation is fantastic and Grommit's facial expressions are priceless. Everyone in my family - from my 7 year old niece to my 57 year old father - has seen it and loved it. I recommend this video to everyone I know.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
An absolute delight!
Chrissie15 May 1999
Words fail me. My advice is to rent this little gem, gather all your friends in a home with a big screen TV (bring the kids too!) and enjoy. Absolutely everything is poignant and funny, from the dog reading "Pluto's Republic" at the breakfast table to the evil penguin who listens to Muzak.

The only -- and I stress, ONLY -- drawback is that it should be labeled "Warning: Choking Hazard! Do not consume food or beverages during this film. Sudden uncontrolled laughter could cause substances to be inhaled." But hey, it's only 30 minutes -- you can live that long without pizza and Coke.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
The "Citizen Kane" of animated shorts?
RobT-28 April 2002
I'm not the only one who thinks "Citizen Kane" is a great film because Orson Welles and his collaborators thoroughly exploited the potential of the sound film in telling their story, combining fine acting, intricate plotting and editing, and well-composed visuals and sounds in ways that just NAIL the viewer. Very few films have ever juggled so many filmmaking resources so well, but one of the few to do so, in my opinion, is the English clay-animated short "The Wrong Trousers".

As in "Kane", Nick Park and his crew of animators expertly combine a variety of methods in telling their story. The "acting," or rather the character animation, is wonderful, more so for the dog Gromit than for the goofy-looking human Wallace; Gromit's subtle expressions conveying everything we need to know about what he's thinking. Even more subtle is the penguin lodger, with a deliberately bland face but expressive gestures and body language. The plot is ingenious, with hardly an ounce of fat, and perfectly paced, starting slowly and gaining momentum almost imperceptibly until the climax.

The visual storytelling is excellent, especially since so much has to be conveyed without dialogue, and the clarity of the climactic sequence at the end marks a high point for film editing. The staging includes dramatic lighting and other bits of visual texture with which few animators bother. Finally, the music is one of "Trousers"'s most overlooked features--the sequence in which Gromit leaves in the rain while the penguin watches from the window offers a neat demonstration of music's effectiveness as a storytelling tool.

I don't really think "The Wrong Trousers" is really BETTER than "Citizen Kane", in an artistic sense. Of course, Orson Welles didn't try to make "Kane" as a 30-minute animated film with only three characters (two of whom are silent), either. As with "Kane", however, I get more out of "The Wrong Trousers" every time I watch it.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Who couldn't love Wallace & Gromit?!
MartinHafer12 February 2008
This is the second Wallace & Gromit film and unlike the last one, which was only nominated for the Best Animated Short Oscar, this one was this prestigious award. While it is pretty much more of the same type entertainment from the first, it is a bit more polished and fun--plus it's still Wallace & Gromit and who couldn't like this?! Wallace, ever the tinkerer, builds Gromit a strange robotic device. It looks like the lower half of a person (hence 'trousers') and was designed to take Grmoit "walkies" whenever he wanted. Around this same time, a strange penguin comes to board with them. Little did they suspect that the penguin is evil and will ultimately use Gromit's new trousers for evil! The film, like all Wallace & Gromit films has a lovely and gentle sense of humor and a certain likability that captivates people who watch it. Top animation, voice acting and direction make this a big winner.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
'It's the wrong trousers Gromit, and they've gone all wrong!'
TheOtherFool11 June 2004
This is my first experience with the clay animated Wallace and Gromit series, and for sure it's not going to be my last, as this must be the hardest I laughed at a movie for years!

Wallace and Gromits quiet lifes come to an end when Wallace, who seriously needs the money, rents Gromits room to a penguin. Gromit immediately thinks something's going on when this penguin leaves his light and music on all night, but sneaks out of the house himself. Wallace however finds the little penguin a great treat, as he brings him the newspaper and his slippers.

Gromit thinks he's of no use anymore and leaves the house, right after his birthday on which he got a pair of mechanical trousers, which are playing a large role in this 30 minute comedy. You see, anyone with the remote can do with the trousers what they want, and the evil penguin is making a use of that.

So one day he lets Wallace slip into these trousers, makes him tired so he will fall asleep in the trousers. That way he can rob a diamond from a museum, and he succeeds. But Gromit was onto the little guy and when both come back to the house he's waiting for them to stop the penguin. A hilarious chase on little trains is the result.

So much for the story, let's start with the praise.

The animation is fantastic. The story is entertaining, compelling and even has some scary moments. The side gags are endless(ly funny). My favorite: while shadowing the penguin Gromit is watching him behind his newspaper. In the newspaper there's a story about: 'Dog reading paper'. I love that. And what about the scene when Gromit slips from the bed into the chair, and there isn't any toast ready. You know what's coming next, and Gromit as well... it's just fantastic!

But the end scene on the trains is the best part IMO. I don't know if anything can ever match that... it must've been the funniest thing I ever witnessed.

I would have written more, but I can't wait to watch 'Cracking Contraptions' next, so I'll just leave you with this: if you don't see in the fun in this, you're a lost cause. 10/10!!!
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Probably my favorite Wallace And Gromit Short.
LebowskiT100022 August 2002
Nick Park and his crew really out-did themselves with this film! I thought this installment was even better than "A Grand Day Out", the story is more interesting and even funnier. The little penguin guy is hilarious! And the entire scene with the toy train is superb!

If you liked "A Grand Day Out" then you should definitely check this film out as well. If you like claymation, then you should also definitely check this film out. This film is great, and I hope you like it too. Thanks for reading,

-Chris
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews