IMDb > Married to It (1991) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Married to It
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Married to It More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 12 reviews in total 

11 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

One To Shout About

9/10
Author: jhclues from Salem, Oregon
9 September 2000

A common thread provides the bond that draws three diverse couples together, ultimately leading to a friendship through which they explore the foibles of life and love in `Married To It,' an engaging look at contemporary relationships and perspectives, directed by Arthur Hiller. There's John and Iris (Beau Bridges and Stockard Channing), a jaded social worker and the wife of many years who sees him through it all, has given him two children (now preteens) and only of late has come to realize that he's given up on her and on life in general; Chuck and Nina (Robert Sean Leonard and Mary Stuart Masterson), an ambitious investment broker and his wife, a school psychologist; and Leo and Claire (Ron Silver and Cybill Shepherd), a toy manufacturer and his second wife, a sophisticated woman of society who is unable to make a connection with his daughter, Lucy (Donna Vivino). A school function and commitment to a committee bring them together, and they soon find that although they each compete in different arenas of life, they are in the end not so different from one another after all. In fact, they soon come to depend and rely upon their newly founded friendships more than any of them could ever have imagined possible. Hiller has crafted an emotionally stirring study of want, need and expectation that will be readily identifiable to just about anyone who has taken part in the game of life. And it's skillfully delivered through an outstanding ensemble cast, highlighted by the exceptional work of Stockard Channing, a gifted actress who seems to thrive in a project like this. She brings Iris to life from the inside out and creates that necessary connection with the audience that spills over onto the rest of the cast, all of whom deliver dynamic performances as well, most notably Cybill Shepherd as the aloof sophisticate who finally realizes what is really important in life. But what really makes this movie work is the depth of character that each of the actors involved brings to the core of the story. It's as if the derive energy and incentive from one another; and when actors can give as much as they receive, as they do here, it shows in the polish of the finished product. That they all worked so well together also reflects the skill of the director, and Hiller obviously did a fantastic job of creating an atmosphere in which his actors could excel. Rounding out the supporting cast are Don Francks (Sol), Jimmy Shea (Marty), Nathaniel Moreau (Kenny) and Diane D'Aquila (Madeleine). One of the great things about the video revolution is that terrific movies like this one, that for whatever reason go largely unnoticed in theatrical release, get a second life and with any luck the attention they so justly deserve. `Married To It' is a sleeper you should shout about from the rooftops; it's a well made movie with exemplary performances, a great story and a terrific ending. A film as good as this simply cannot be ignored, because this, my friends, is what movies are all about. This is one you have to see and tell your friends about. I rate this one 9/10.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Great movie

Author: goomba8 from St. Louis
7 September 2003

Don't understand why critics hate this movie so much. Great cast, great acting (excluding Cybill Shepard, but what can you do?), and different angles used to show how marriage is different things to different people.

As a lifelong bachelor (no, I'm not gay), this movie gave me additional insight into marriages (besides the ones I've observed in real life), and sometimes reflected my experiences I have been through in long term relationships.

I really like this movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

A great "circle of friends" movie

Author: Larry (artguylarry@yahoo.com) from Oklahoma City, OK
29 March 2003

I loved it. But then you have to love this KIND of movie to enjoy it. It's not an epic motion picture, it isn't CGI laden, it's just a movie about people and the relationships and camaraderie they can form in spite of their vast differences. This is one of those movies where at least one of the characters is so you, someone you can really relate to. Sure it's not for everyone, but I enjoyed it.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

I really loved this movie

10/10
Author: (82abhi@gmail.com) from United States
30 October 2005

This movie was a genuine attempt to bring people down to earth about good old family values in a world where they seem to be less and less relevant. The characters are seen to work real hard to deal with the ups and downs of everyday life - The nuts and bolts that wear out as time goes by. It is truly touching the way they end up supporting and helping each other during tough times.

I give this movie a thumbs up because its characters have a sense of morality, I wish they had a bit more depth though. Over all the movie is a wonderful experience, for the whole family to enjoy. But it is not for everyone. This is one of those movies that some people will like and other will hate. Whether you like it or not will most likely depend upon what your parents taught you when you where kids. So give it a try. The 'f***' word is used at one point but I do not feel it makes the movie any less enjoyable for the family.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Vital Film!

8/10
Author: vintkd from Russia
28 June 2012

I have always been delighting Arthur Hiller's films and particularly such movies as "See No Evil, Hear No Evil", "Author! Author!" and "Outrageous Fortune". His comedies are kind and timeless and they can raise my mood always. "Married to It" is not typical Hiller's comedy. It's a film about relationships between people, about conceiving of a friendship between strangers, about differences between us and resemblances. It's very vital and clever story, here is very much funny and serious things, that we can to wonder. I very liked characters who play remarkable actors Beau Bridges, Stockard Channing, Robert Sean Leonard and Cybill Shepherd, they are real, charismatic and lovely.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Thank Joni Mitchell

5/10
Author: TedMichaelMor from United States
29 November 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I don't know what to make of this movie. Dubbing it into French might help because it superficially resembles films by Éric Rohmer, except that those films celebrate intelligent dialog that contrasts with the contradictory behavior of the protagonists. There is nothing intelligent in the speech of these characters.

Further, Rohmer uses movement in his films; this movie moves from set piece to set piece. The cast is terrific but trapped in a bad screen play with indifferent direction. That is a shame because Mr. Hiller directed some splendid films, including the great "The Americanization of Emily", the entertaining "Silver Streak" and the winsome "Romantic Comedy", all well worth seeing. That last film is witty, ironic, and playful the way a Rohmer film is.

The children's play around which the story emerges is a splendid interpretation of the enchanting song "The Circle Game" by Joni Mitchell. I wish the rest of the film had that charm. My rating is high because of that sequence.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

The cast does their best, but this is stagy stuff which sat on the shelf for a good couple of years. I wonder why…

4/10
Author: callanvass from victoria b.c canada
22 August 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I was lurking around my local rental store, and came across this. The plot looked interesting, and the cast is what really intrigued me; what a disappointment! This is a movie Tyler Perry would be foaming at the mouth to do. I can't begin to tell you how stagy this feels. It didn't feel like a movie; everyone felt phony to me, and I really couldn't empathize with most of the characters. Most of them are very selfish and abrasive people who I'd have no interest in spending time with what so ever. The character I empathized the most with is probably a three way tie between Ron Silver, Stockard Channing & Mary Stuart Masterson. Most of them have problems that most marriages do. But the way they go on about it is incredibly annoying. Beau Bridges and Cybil Shepherd are the worst, though. Beau fantasizes about someone else's breasts whilst Cybil can't understand children. Marriage is supposed to be about honor, loyalty, trust, and respect among other things. It's one of the reasons I am probably never going to get married because a lot of married couples forget why they fell in love the first place. This movie does a poor job of explaining it, but it still reaffirms my thoughts about marriage. All the actors do well, but I couldn't sympathize with most of them. The subplot between Nina (Masterson) & Lucy (The daughter of Silver's) is probably the most likable thing in the film. And of course there is the biggest cliché in the book. The happy ending!

Final Thoughts: I got through it OK, but it's definitely a flop for a reason. It's unlikable, pretentious, and wastes an excellent cast. If you have nothing else to watch, maybe give it a go, but even then; that's pushing it...

4.5/10

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

hardly a bad movie, but certainly out of place in the 1990s

5/10
Author: Michael Neumann from United States
4 December 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Three more or less happily married couples with absolutely nothing in common except for their Manhattan zip code meet by chance and become good friends. The numbskull title and corny scenario (each couple survives a crisis which prompts them to re-evaluate the vow 'for better or worse') ought to be enough to frighten off any self-respecting film buff, but within the TV sit-com material is a modest and disarming (light) comedy, with a well-chosen cast doing credit to roles which could easily have become stereotypes.

Former Woodstock hippies Channing and Bridges fare best; 20-something yuppies Leonard and Masterson leave less of an impression because their characters are so unbelievable squeaky clean; and the talent of Ron Silver is mismatched to a lack of the same in Cybill Shepard, who at least delivers some great lines, providing evidence to the questionable notion that a bad actor never yet defeated a good script. The film is an optimistic, if entirely conventional, celebration of monogamy, friendship, family values, and happy endings, with the expected sentiment becoming too explicit only during the sappy, self-conscious climax, at a children's school pageant dedicated to the Summer of Love (complete with a freeze-frame peace sign finale).

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Good when it was funny

Author: vchimpanzee
13 December 2005

Chuck and Nina Bishop grew up together in Iowa and have moved to New York City, and they are the cutest couple. He is successful in the investment world (though not too successful, since they can't afford nice furniture yet), and she is a school psychologist. Chuck has to compete with Jeremy, who is charming and cares more about money and success than rules (which is truly ironic since Paul Gross later impressed us as the impeccably straight mountie in "Due South").

John and Iris Morden were hippies and part of the 60s culture that protested injustice. He works in the welfare department and seems to have lost his enthusiasm. Former Mayor Ed Koch misses Iris but never says exactly what she did. She seems to work in some arts-related job now. The couple has two sons who appear relatively normal, though one has hair like Bart Simpson.

Leo runs a toy factory and apparently gave that a higher priority than his first wife Madeleine, who seems to despise him. He spends some time with daughter Lucy, who hates Leo's new wife Claire, a spoiled rich ... rhymes with witch.

These very different couples are brought together by a common interest--Lucy and the Morden boys attend the same exclusive school where Nina works.

All three couples have their problems, and for two of the couples the difficulties become serious enough to require lawyers.

I enjoyed this movie when it was funny, which was most of the time. I especially liked seeing Cybill Shepherd being obnoxious, acting like the whole world must cater to her every need and expressing surprise that not everyone has all the comforts and advantages. Donna Vivino was adorable as Lucy. Most of the leading actors gave good performances.

Where the movie had problems was in getting too dramatic. This would not be a bad thing for everyone who watches is, but I was watching to laugh. The ending, however, was satisfying.

Overall, I was happy.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Good Movie, but the "Happy End" results too much predictable

6/10
Author: Santiago from Zaragoza / Pontevedra, Spain
20 May 2003



Stockard Channing is the best actress in this film. Her character (Iris) develops a trajectory during the film: first is the help-line for the rest. Try to solve all the problems that everybody have but her own problem. After, Iris thinks about herself and look for a solution for her situation.The dialogues in the Town Hall party, explaining her feeling and demanding proper attention with "you are f***ing me but never kiss me" are very good. I recommend this film, with romantic but realistic point of view.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history