IMDb > Indecent Proposal (1993) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Indecent Proposal
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Indecent Proposal More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 3 of 12: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [Next]
Index 111 reviews in total 

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

An example of how some cliches still have life

7/10
Author: tmensamaster-2 from Calgary, Alberta
15 October 2002

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Before I viewed this film, I have always considered Adrian Lyne to be a sleazeball. He always has to make these, as he calls them, ''relationship dramas'': I've always just thought he made porn. I howled through '9 1/2 Weeks' , especially in the ''slide-show scene'', I think 'Fatal Attraction' has a ''kick-in-the-teeth'' ending and 'Flashdance' was pure crap. His 'Jacobs Ladder' had promise but also didn't have a satisfactory ending. I didn't think I'd ever see a good film of his till I watched 'Indecent Proposal'.

My God is the film a cliche!!! But what an effective one. The film is about a destitute couple[Demi Moore and Woody Harrelson] who accept a wager from a zillionaire[Played by Robert Redford] that Moore will spend one night with Redford for one million dollars. 'Another sleazeball plot from Lyne' I thought but decided to watch it for laughs. But I was surprised.

I was touched by this film. I know its just a cliche from beginning to end but it has life in it. Redford was the perfect pick for the millionaire[I've always considered him to be a bit shifty] and Moore and Harrelson give the best performances possible given the material. The plot is fairly 'daytime soap' stuff and it follows that kind of formula. But Lyne somehow infuses it with life and makes us care. I have to say I was touched by the ending and liked the way it was done[POSSIBLE SPOILER...Moore walking through the fog on a pier, reminding me vividly of 'Requiem for a Dream']. Even their stupid whining and moaning is compelling, in a bizarre way. I did have problems with Moore's relationship with Redford though[does she love him too?] but I didn't seem to care about it sins against logic. At the end, all I could think was ''I actually like an Adrian Lyne film !'. Give its cliches a chance and you may like it too............3 out of 4

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Don't watch this for a million dollars...

1/10
Author: jc-osms from United Kingdom
1 March 2009

Notoriously provocative film made at the apex of the "Greed is Good" culture of the late 80's / early 90's and without doubt the worst film I've ever had the misfortune to watch.

No doubt the director thought he was positing a high moral dilemma for adults but like today's version of the question which I've read more than once in celebrity interviews, which goes along the lines of "For you to collect £50 million, one unknown person in China has to die", the answer's a no-brainer and in any event totally inadequate to carry a movie. In any case, the point has been well-made before that to really hammer home the moral dilemma aspect, the Redford character should be a sleazy overweight balding slob and not a handsome, elegant Alpha male.

Add to this! direction with all the high-gloss, no-depth style of an MTV rock video, the corniest dialogue this side of "Pearl Harbour" and plain bad acting and honestly if I could have marked a "0" I would. What possessed Robert Redford to take part I'll never know, although I'm likewise unsurprised by the appearance of the over-ubiquitous Woody Harrellson and sensation-fodder Demi Moore. And just what my fellow- Scot ex-pats Billy Connolly and Sheena Easton are doing in the background is anyone's guess!

Redford sleepwalks his part like a latter-day re-run of Jay Gatsby, only without Fitzgerald's wonderful prose, Harrellson shows us the whole range of emotions from "A" to "A" (with thanks to Dorothy Parker) and Demi Moore gives another trademark drama-queen performance. I could add that I don't even get just what Redford sees in her mannish looks but to do that would suggest that the movie engaged me in some way.

Well, it didn't, it couldn't and never would. This is a movie supposedly about the abuse of power and the desperate steps to which need can drive "ordinary people" with a tacked on love conquers all ending, but in the end it's just a cheap and nasty dissertation on the subjugation of women and another excuse for Demi Moore to get her kit off.

Trust me, avoid this one at all costs.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

The single worst movie I have ever seen

1/10
Author: Isak Robinson-Gilden (alexrg@mail.utexas.edu) from Austin, TX
4 August 1999

There is a group of five movies, all within one or two degrees of separation from one another, that I consider the five worst movies ever made. They are: Fatal Attraction, Disclosure, Showgirls, Basic Instinct, and the single greatest cinematic atrocity of all time, Indecent Proposal. Redford and Woody should be ashamed of themselves for appearing in this vapid, misogynist piece of excrement. On the other hand, Demi Moore, probably my least favorite actress of all time, is appropriately cast as the female lead. I don't think even the most gifted living writer would be capable of putting into words just how passionately I hate this movie. Long, boring, idiotic, and based on a non-issue (should a woman take a million dollars to sleep with Robert Redford?), Indecent Proposal represents everything I hate about Hollywood. And to top it off, all of the five movies listed above use racy content and an "R" rating to lure unsuspecting viewers into watching films that take an essentially puritan, prudish attitude towards sex and sexuality. Watch at your own risk. God, I hate this movie!

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Good premise, poor execution.

2/10
Author: Da reel Nick Carter
4 April 2002

This film has a premise that is good enough to get anyone talking, and a sure-fire conversation starter. 'Would you sleep with someone you dislike or don't know for one million dollars?' While the film had lots of potential, poor execution turns it into a b-grade soap-opera. The film has a great lead up, and after the proposal is made, we are really into the film, but then it falls dramatically. The last 3 quarters of the film is spent by characters whinging, complaining and regretting what they have done! The ending was so cliched it had me in tears! This has a very similar premise to 'honeymoon in vegas' which is far better. See that instead.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

Don't Sell this one short until you Understand the reasoning.....

9/10
Author: Robert Esposito from United States
27 January 2006

Keeping personal views out of comments are what objectively reviewing a film is all about. I have to say this film is one that can pull at heart strings if you can immerse yourself in the emotion of what is actually happening. The film's premise is Love versus Money. The plot of the film is set to slowly pull you into the characters' who are presented with the temptation of the choice. Woody Harrelson really pulls off a serious character in this one. Having taken the deal from John Gage (Robert Redford) to give away his wife for one night in return for a Million dollars, Harrelson realizes too late that the choice he has made would damage the relationship beyond repair. Let me say this, watching Harrelson run to the closed door once he realizes what he has done is a powerful scene if you can put yourself in the situation. As the movie progresses it does a wonderful job of making the viewer have a hard time hating Redford's character. At times the viewer is convinced that Moore's character belongs with Redford. The movie then switches to Harrelson's character that is devastated and living on his own coping with the loss. As Moore's Character is seduced by Redford, Harrelson slips slowly into depression. Once again, the movie gives the viewer a chance to experience many different emotions. John Barry's Concerto playing throughout this movie really adds to the somber mood. A wonderful placement of this music as the characters slowly move towards the movie's end. Some good acting by all here is evident. Do not sell this movie short because on the outside it seems to be choppy. It was meant to put the viewer in all situations the characters are in. I recommend this one to anyone who is a hopeless romantic.

Best Scene: There are many…One that comes to mind is Harrelson's character reflecting on the relationship with Moore as he sits alone in his empty apartment with his dog by his side.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

Shameful waste of talent

1/10
Author: anonymous from Gettysburg, PA
16 June 1999

Obviously, a number of agents didn't see beyond dollar signs when they signed up their clients for this 117-minute *omage* to the courtesan complex.

Sure, the film could have been alright, had the $1 million been left out of it. Seriously. The amount of the check doesn't matter,prostitution is still prostitution and no amount of "love conquers all" can change the fact that no marriage vows ever meant to imply "for richer for poorer, for pimping as in fidelity". Picture the story otherwise, though: 2 kids, flat broke, borderline "desperate" and completely stupid. They collide with wealthy business man. Kids' marriage is strained by imperfect times and the fact that the husband is something of a loser. Enter Mr. Tuxedo, oozing charm and stability -- a virtual magnet for the ticking biological clock -- and with him the wife's temptation, tensions, suspense. Whom will she choose? Maybe, under those conditions, I could actually care. As-is, frankly, Redford's selfish and manipulative playboy winds up the sympathetic character. A woman who will sell herself is just about what a guy deserves who will pimp out his wife. The indecent proposition makes the husband a TOTAL loser, deficient in every positive male characteristic, and makes the wife a cheap strumpet seduced by money rather than confused by another potential love, a woman devoid of moral center and self-respect.

All the impressive talent (acting, directing, cinematography) wasted on this film -- and it was an impressive amount -- couldn't save it from its splashy-but-too-trashy $1 million pitch line. If I see this turkey at one more bridal shower, I'm going to roast it! (Or maybe cross it with Titanic and pitch the tape in the ocean!)

Was the above review useful to you?

A Lot to Say About Love... Love lost and true love

Author: inkslayer from United States
24 July 2015

Interesting movie (adapted from the book by Jack Engelhard) with a lot to say about love... Love lost and true love.

Did this movie go over the heads of those who gave it a poor rating?

Indecent Proposal is not about sleeping with someone for money as other reviewers have stated. It is about a man who missed the opportunity to be with his first love, and a happily married couple who lose sight of their values and vows.

When John Gage (Redford) first sets eyes on Diana (Moore) at a Casino pocketing chocolates, he's smitten. We assume he's eyeing her because he's a dirty, middle-aged rich man. It isn't until later in the movie - during one of the many touching scenes - that we learn Gage isn't going after Diana because he can. He actually is experiencing love at first sight. Unfortunately, cupid has sent him a happily married woman.

Despite that Diana's married, Gage makes his proposal: One million dollars to spend the night with him. Gage's proposal is an interesting one because it tells a lot about David (Harrelson) and Diana. And it is their decision to accept Gage's proposal that causes their marriage to slowly sour and eventually implode while Gage sits back and patiently waits for Diana.

There are a number of touching moments in Indecent Proposal. One is when Gage tells Diana about the girl he fell in love with during a fleeting moment on a train.

Toward the end of the movie Gage and Diana are in his car. Gage goes into this discourse about other women. It is the most touching scene in the movie because it reveals the kind of person Gage is - someone who realizes what true love is.

Redford plays Gage brilliantly. He was made for the part. Gage is patient and expressive without saying a word. Just a smile or a playful look and you know what he is thinking and feeling. Harrelson plays the loving, then anguished husband well enough. Moore is miscast against both Redford and Harrelson.

Despite this flaw, Indecent Proposal is worth watching because we step into the world of a happily married couple who assured themselves they would survive an unorthodox way to solve their problems. We also step into the world of a man looking for true love.

One last thought: Adaptations are usually a bitch for most writers. I did not read Engelhard's novel. So, I do not know what was added or subtracted to the screenplay. Either way, I found the story nicely paced, well-told, and with no loose ends. Bravo Amy Holden Jones!

Was the above review useful to you?

A film suitable - only - for those capable of true love

9/10
Author: ohhnoo from United Kingdom
16 March 2015

You don't have to be in a relationship to watch this film, you don't even have to have been in love to watch it! This is a film about what love is capable of doing to you.

But to truly watch and enjoy this film, you must be a believer of 'True Love', the fairy tale kinda love. If however, your of the 'love em and leave em' kind, or if your a 'I've had many relationships that last months/years, and when it ends, it doesn't really bother me' kinda person, then you might wanna watch something else.

The film isn't really about the money either, which could be a million or a billion, or maybe only a few hundred. How desperate you are is relative. What matters is your reason for accepting/refusing. How much do you love yourself, would you 'allow' them and still want to be with them? How much do you love your partner & could you forgive them? If you agree, can things ever return to the 'fairy tale' you had before? If you want/allow them to accept, can you risk losing them to the person paying money? After all, if you believe in fairy tale love, a night with a handsome stranger should be enough to ignite the flame of both passion and love in both parties, whilst your on the side-lines?

This film isn't about a one night stand! Its about your emotional attachment to your partner, and your future wants and desires, and what life might bring in the future for you both.

This film is a true 1990's masterpiece. The music of Sade sets the tone perfectly! It will take you on a roller-coaster of emotions, and leave you asking yourself, and your partner; "would I, would you, would we"?

I don't understand the score this film has (5, really!) but I suspect its too many people focusing on the money, not being able to fully comprehend the feelings/love, but I give it a 9! It would have been a 10, but I just can't believe in the ending, but you might!

Was the above review useful to you?

You might enjoy it

7/10
Author: slightlymad22 from United Kingdom
1 October 2014

A struggling married couple (Demi Moore and Woody Harrelson) lose all their money in Las Vegas. Whilst there, they meet a charismatic billionaire (Robert Redford) who offers them one million dollars for one night with the wife.

Demi Moore has never looked better than she did in 'Indecent Proposal' so it's easy to see why Redford would be willing to pay $1,000,000 to spend one night with her, and Redford is very charming here, despite what is a very sleazy offer.

But it's Harrelson who is the stand out performer for me, I'd only seen him in the TV show 'Cheers' and the comedy 'White Men Can't Jump' the previous year and was very surprised and impressed with his performance here as the tortured husband.

Seymour Cassel and Oliver Platt are good supporting players worthy of mention, and I must also mention the score by John Barry is hauntingly beautiful.

Was the above review useful to you?

Have I ever told you I love you?

8/10
Author: Glen 'Anthony' Allison from Lincoln, England
27 May 2014

After falling in love with the soundtrack before watching the film, I was already anticipating a good sob-fest!

John Barry captures the delicate emotions with his score in a simple melody that will play in my head for days to come. Demi Moore's performance is just brilliant! The way she and Woody bounce off each other truly makes you believe their relationship is solid. A different approach to any other love story I've seen, exploring issues of trust, power and money in new ways that make you look at things with a new perspective.

Overall, a very lovely film with a perfect ending, turning an old movie into a new favourite!

How do you think you'd react to this situation?

This film is definitely worth a watch... Grab a bucket of ice-cream and a glass of wine and don't expect a blockbuster... this story is a gentle ride for those can that find romance in the most unlikely places - like a pair of pants burning on a stove!

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 3 of 12: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
Newsgroup reviews External reviews Parents Guide
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history