IMDb > Indecent Proposal (1993) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Indecent Proposal
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Indecent Proposal More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 2 of 12:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [Next]
Index 119 reviews in total 

7 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Explores what love really means

8/10
Author: Dan Grant (dan.grant@bell.ca) from Toronto, Ontario
12 August 1999

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Warning, may be some spoilers

Indecent Proposal is a film that knows exactly how someone feels when it comes to jealousy. There is a great line in the film after Demi Moore comes back from her encounter with gazillionaire Robert Redford. Her husband, played perfectly by Woody Harlesson, is asking her questions that don't need to be answered. Because if they are, it will put a damper in their marriage. But he persists and finally Demi shouts out to him, " If I tell you he wasn't any good then I'm a liar. If I tell you that he was then I'm a whore. " What a brilliantly written line and it is one that lends a perfect ear to what the film is about in most senses. Jealousy is a powerful emotion but being broke and in love is just as powerful on the other end of the scale.

What is so great about this film is that is makes us all question what we would do in that exact same situation. Would you let your wife sleep with a man for one million dollars? Could you look at it and say that it was only one night and you can deal with it? Would you say that your marriage is strong enough to overcome something so meaningless? And that is the key issue right there. Is it really that meaningless? If you are married and in love ( if you are together in a monogamous relationship), is there ever a time when sex is meaningless enough to overlook, even if all of your financial problems are solved in the aftermath?

Indecent Proposal is a great film in almost every sense. The actors are great, especially Oliver Platt who has a cameo as their lawyer and he gets all the laughs. The direction is great as it never gets anywhere close to pornographic, and it lets the audience decide for themselves what happened on that fateful night. When you look at the whole concept of the film, you know it could get cheesy if handled poorly and irresponcibly. But it never does. It stays on course and delivers the goods. I highly recommend this film and I think it is good to watch it with someone that you love. It will invoke some very interesting conversations after words. But don't watch it with them if you are afraid of the answers that you might get. That, to me is good film making. Something that leaves you discussing it long after it is over. Indecent Proposal does that.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Not so good as I imagined

6/10
Author: Lady Targaryen from Brazil
1 October 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I heard so much about Indecent Proposal, and after watching it, I can say that it is not everything that I expected to be.

First,I thought it would have much more passion,drama and even mystery.

Second: I hated the end: it is totally unlikely. So Hollywood's style.

The character John Gage has too many contradictory actions: He bought Diana's and David's house,persues Diana in her work, and even goes after her in her citizenship's class,showing how obsessed with her, he is. Then,in the end, just because David was sad with his divorce with Diana,John decides to break with her,touched with David's action.

I mean, John already have destroyed Diana's and David's wedding,showing that he never cared about the fact that they were a couple, in love with each other. So, he breaking with Diana because he was sad with the situation, didn't matched at all.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

horrible

1/10
Author: penisandtesticles from United States
11 July 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This was one of the biggest pieces of crap I have ever had to watch. I mean, seriously. How would anybody else feel if they were in Woody Harrelson's shoes and your wife was even CONSIDERING it would be a good idea to sleep with the other guy even for a million bucks. After all, she was the one talking about it in bed and saying how it would be good for them since he can build his house or whatever with that money. Woody never fully agreed to it until she talked him into it. How CAN you trust her? Who the hell would actually even consider that if they were married? I don't care how desperate they were. That's the most ridiculous thing I have ever heard in my life. Then, he flips out on her. Apparently, he had no right to mistrust her, other than the fact that his wife just slept with another dude who is extremely rich and handsome. Oh and wait, then he's supposed to apologize to HER after she files for the divorce so she can be with the guy she slept with. Of course Woody has no right to say anything to her or mistrust her especially after she still has Roy Hobb's card in her wallet. Then, at the end of the movie, she's apparently so in love with Woody still and misses him so much, that she was not going to leave Hobbs until he made some ridiculously stupid story up to try to hint to her to leave, and she bleeping thanks Hobbs???? Are you bleeping kidding me? Was she under contract as his sex slave or something?? I mean what the bleep?? Oh and wait it gets better. She bleeping kisses him passionately before she gets out of the car. Yea, she's not a whore. Oh, thank you for letting me go, let me go make out with you one last time for good ole' sake. Smooch smooch, smooch even though I'm still married to a guy I left for a rich guy. I have never seen such a piece of crap in my life. How the hell are we supposed to feel good after that horrible ending? What was this movie supposed to represent? NOTHING CAME OUT OF THIS! This was the most pointless movie I have ever seen in my life. Two pathetic desperate people. If I were Woody, I would tell her to go drown herself in that body of water they were near. Apparently, he had no self respect. What the hell was Roy Hobbs thinking by taking this horrible role. I feel like puking after watching this. This movie was so bad, it was seriously laughable. I want those two hours of my life back that I wasted watching this piece of ****.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Pure subversive brilliance ...

8/10
Author: ElMaruecan82 from France
18 August 2013

What would you do if a billionaire were consenting to pay you one million dollars (or more) for one night with your wife? This is the titular "Indecent Proposal", from which millions of viewers, men and women, have been debated for years, placing themselves in the same tricky situation than David (Woody Harrelson) and Diana (Demi Moore), the ill-fated couple who met the devilishly sexy John Gage (Robert Redford) in Las Vegas.

I remember when I was younger; there was a guy in my neighborhood who told me that in every woman, there was a potential prostitute. To confront him to his own contradictions, I carefully asked him whether that statement also applied to his family. The cynical macho nodded but felt the need to reformulate his thought, he meant that there was no woman in the world who wouldn't sleep with a man if she needed something, that's "potential prostitution", and I must confess I was almost convinced. And "Indecent Proposal" is all the more interesting because it confronts this option not with a woman, but a couple. The husband is part of the game, and that's the strike of genius some distracted critics failed to grasp.

Think about it: did Jack Engelheard, the author of the original novel of the same name, take for granted that a single woman wouldn't have thought twice before accepting the deal? I bet he did and I happen to think the same. Refusing wouldn't be honorable but stupid, and I'm sure many women would agree with me. We're speaking of one million dollars for a sumptuous night, and not with the most ugly man of the world. I bet when today's women visualize the myth of the Charming Prince, they think more of Robert Redford (or Brad Pitt) as a billionaire than the nameless Princes of Disney classics. We'd all need money to achieve our dreams and selling one's soul for one night with one handsome rich guy and one million dollars isn't too high a price.

But the film is cleverly provocative because it already admits the venal nature of women, which provoked the anger of feminists. But I'd love to see them in Diana's heels. The question isn't whether they would have accepted the night for one million, but how about two or ten, how high could John Gage raise the stakes before they'd say yes? That was the point and we got it, money can buy a body, but how about love? It all comes to David. And that's the subtlety the angry mob of feminists missed just like the intellectual critics: the film also highlights the very hypocrisy of men who brand any woman who sleeps with other men as 'broad' or 'whore', by confronting them to the same situation. And I would have loved to ask the question to my macho friend, what if he was in David's place? Wouldn't there be, after all, in every man, a "potential pimp"?

To answer that, watching the film isn't even necessary, it's all part of cinematic pop-culture, and we all have an opinion on the subject. In fact, if Adrian Lyne's film had one merit, it was to feature one of the most memorable premises of Cinema's history, and handle it with a believable mix of realism and romanticism. It is crucial within the context of the film, because the theme is so sordid it had to be washed up by a poignant love story. And on that level, the chemistry between Harrelson and Moore works, and built our empathy toward this couple of sweethearts, watching the ashes of their fantasy dreams gone with the wind of the 90's crisis. In many other films, the fact that the husband is an architect and the wife a real estate agent would only be details, but they're significant in "Indecent Proposal".

Indeed, after the bursting of the US housing bubble, there was no offer for Diana and no demand for David. Inevitably, their descent into poverty guide their hopes toward Las Vegas, an interesting setting where two worlds coexist: people who need money and can't afford losing, and those who've got enough to lose one million a night without even caring. The film even succeeds to make a brilliant social commentary, behind the appearance of a cheap soft-porn flick; it subtly denounces the pervert aspects of liberalism, where free trade is synonym of salvation at the expenses of principles, totally worthless when money is at stakes. And the world sunk into liberal lows so eagerly it ended up giving a price to anything, and people have been so effectively brainwashed by greed and lust they would look now, at the half-full glass. Isn't there one word to say 'crisis' and 'opportunity' in Chinese?

I live in a country where many beautiful girls, students or salaried, go out with mature men, because they can buy them things they couldn't afford. Basically, they use their charm as an asset to overcome material problems. It's certainly what lured my macho friend into his certitude. But when you take the plot to larger scope, you realize it's less the selling-your- body dilemma than the eternal selling-the-soul-to-the-devil story, doing something morally wrong for a pay-off. Movies are made to provide some interesting 'what if' situations? What if we lived the same day again and again? What if we hadn't existed? "Indecent Proposal" is the ultimate 'what if' asker because this time, we can respond to the plot and relate to the protagonists, even more because we live in a similar economic context, and the world is crazy enough to feature such characters as John Gage. And Redford finds the perfect tone for his character: subtly obnoxious but always charming, one hell of a tempter!

And I guess part of the fascination doesn't come from our relief not to be in David and Diana's shoes but from our regret. And that's pure subversive brilliance!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

you think you are an invincible lovers ?! well ...you aren't .

8/10
Author: obadbayomi from cairo, egypt
8 April 2016

it seems to me after watching this movie , if you really want to test your bond with your lover ....well you should study hard to pass the test !...you can't only rely on your mutual memories & legacy ...but also you should try hard to re-earn what you you already earned ...this really good movie is so touchy in a lot of its scenes ....opportunities we missed because we were shy or poor ....opportunities we should use right now because if it goes it will never comes back again ...... opportunities we should leave to write a happier ends for every body's fate ....what a complicated touchy collection of emotions & experiences in such a case scenario ......nice but not super performance from Robert Redford (he was supposed to be the evil side in such a romantic story but i really couldn't hate him ...may be i was on his side allover this film ) also woody harlleson did a good job ....but the master's performance of all was the great Demi Moore ... i really got impressed by her performance & i hope i see more & more pieces of her admirable work soon .

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

It wasn't a great movie, but it entertained.

4/10
Author: joojoo3211 from Australia
31 March 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Only saw this movie late last night. I remember the hype of it's release and to be honest had I viewed it back then I maybe wouldn't have been so generous. I hate hype, it can ruin a movie. I think the movie glossed over the characters and put too much emphasis on Woody. He was good too - although kept wondering if he was stoned the whole time. It never went too deep. Redford was dark but not too dark and his character let me down in the end. To me he should have been more confrontational with Demi - throwing her out perhaps or telling her that she was paid for. After all he would have investigated them before he made the proposal - that's not shown in the movie, but no one in his perceived position would have made an offer to just anyone. He was cruel to the point of breaking them up and the last straw was the house and yet Demi fell for him? The passages giving an insight to Demi and Woody's relationship were the best part of the movie. There was a keen deepness that outshone the shallowness of John Gages character. He really could have been a lot stronger and as other people have alluded I think the movies draw-card was Redford and they didn't want tarnish his "image". I say what the hell Robert was old in this movie! Woody and Demi's characters were naive in a sense, but I think that was very intentional to draw you to their plight and champion their decision. But the reality is, they were losing their dream home and where did they go? Las Vegas? to gamble what little they had left and then accept a proposal from an insanely rich billionaire. I found their naivety when Redford was seducing them a little too unrealistic. The movie could have been so much more and other actors would have made a difference, but having said that on late night TV - it was enjoyable and I if you don't think too much - also palatable

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Good premise, poor execution.

2/10
Author: Da reel Nick Carter
4 April 2002

This film has a premise that is good enough to get anyone talking, and a sure-fire conversation starter. 'Would you sleep with someone you dislike or don't know for one million dollars?' While the film had lots of potential, poor execution turns it into a b-grade soap-opera. The film has a great lead up, and after the proposal is made, we are really into the film, but then it falls dramatically. The last 3 quarters of the film is spent by characters whinging, complaining and regretting what they have done! The ending was so cliched it had me in tears! This has a very similar premise to 'honeymoon in vegas' which is far better. See that instead.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

Don't Sell this one short until you Understand the reasoning.....

9/10
Author: Robert Esposito from United States
27 January 2006

Keeping personal views out of comments are what objectively reviewing a film is all about. I have to say this film is one that can pull at heart strings if you can immerse yourself in the emotion of what is actually happening. The film's premise is Love versus Money. The plot of the film is set to slowly pull you into the characters' who are presented with the temptation of the choice. Woody Harrelson really pulls off a serious character in this one. Having taken the deal from John Gage (Robert Redford) to give away his wife for one night in return for a Million dollars, Harrelson realizes too late that the choice he has made would damage the relationship beyond repair. Let me say this, watching Harrelson run to the closed door once he realizes what he has done is a powerful scene if you can put yourself in the situation. As the movie progresses it does a wonderful job of making the viewer have a hard time hating Redford's character. At times the viewer is convinced that Moore's character belongs with Redford. The movie then switches to Harrelson's character that is devastated and living on his own coping with the loss. As Moore's Character is seduced by Redford, Harrelson slips slowly into depression. Once again, the movie gives the viewer a chance to experience many different emotions. John Barry's Concerto playing throughout this movie really adds to the somber mood. A wonderful placement of this music as the characters slowly move towards the movie's end. Some good acting by all here is evident. Do not sell this movie short because on the outside it seems to be choppy. It was meant to put the viewer in all situations the characters are in. I recommend this one to anyone who is a hopeless romantic.

Best Scene: There are many…One that comes to mind is Harrelson's character reflecting on the relationship with Moore as he sits alone in his empty apartment with his dog by his side.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Beautiful realistic love story

9/10
Author: ranat85
24 January 2016

How can people give a low rating to this movie!! It's engaging, it's interesting and it's moving!

If you like romantic movies, you will love this one!

I give it 9 stars as its one of those movies that I won't forget.

It's not a silly romantic movie, on the contrary. It's about love, marriage, jealousy and fidelity. Definitely a favorite for the romantic souls.

Demi more gave a beautiful performance. Well done!

It's starts with humor and lightness and then the plot starts with an interesting twist.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Money Isn't Everything

9/10
Author: smart-47509 from United States
13 December 2015

The plot of this movie is fairly simple. Would you let your wife/husband spend the night with a stranger for a million dollars? I am surprised that the rating for this movie is so low. I thought the acting was good, I really got a sense that David Murphy (Woody Harrelson) and Diana Murphy (Demi Moore) were actually in love. I thought that the chemistry between Woody and Demi was extraordinary. The one complaint that I have for this movie was the way that John Gage (Robert Redford) would try and make it a point that money is everything. Robert did however, do a great job at portraying a millionaire. I do wish that would have went into more detail about the night that David and Diana earned their big paycheck. Was the night just strictly physical or did they both share something meaningful. Overall, I thought that the movie was excellent and well written.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 2 of 12:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history