IMDb > Hot Shots! Part Deux (1993) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Hot Shots! Part Deux
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Hot Shots! Part Deux More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 8 of 10: [Prev][3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [Next]
Index 97 reviews in total 

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Better than the original by far!

9/10
Author: John (opsbooks) from Blue Mountains, Australia
31 May 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This sequel to 'Hot Shots' is a cut above the original. I watched one after the other and got a lot more laughs this time. The script is much, much tighter and there are rarely any dead spots as was the case with the first movie.

For me the best tribute (and there are a lot in this movie) to earlier classics is the one to 'The Wizard of Oz'. It's brilliant, without going over the top.

Once again Lloyd Bridges is the star; well, after the chicken - slash - arrow! The guy who plays a certain well known Middle East dictator is truly awesome as well. And of course they had to throw in the 'Sea Hunt' sequence; nice to see but perhaps it should have been included in the original movie.

Charlie Sheen and Valeria Golino work well together as well, and can ham it up with the best. So all up, a fun movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

it is the funniest thing ever

10/10
Author: alex-leverich from United States
3 March 2005

this is probably one of the funniest movies i have ever seen. if you don't like it then you have no sense of humor and you don't deserve to be watching such a "hi quality movie".the first time i saw this movie i was told it was a war movie and was fully prepared to be depressed out of my mind. then when i started seeing how silly it was i loved it. there is not a serous scene in the whole movie making it so much fun for the whole family.there is also the fact they they try to make it look like it is a sad movie. but with all the randomness there is no way anyone could take it for real. this is an amazing movie that me laugh and cry at the same time.(the reason i was crying was because i was laughing so hard.) all i have left to say is "gummy bears! gummy bears!" "Sprinkels! sprinkles!"

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Mix of comedy, action and adventure!!!

10/10
Author: Dozermelon from Matrix world
23 January 2005

I like this movie... Charlie sheen also did a very great acting in the movie... I liked the part that Charlie used a chicken as a arrow to shoot the soldier and i also think that was pretty amusing enough though...

More actions and adventures I am say... This comedy movie has made people laughed all along and also a war movie too.... I forgot to add that part too....

A good classical mix of comedy, action, adventure and war... This movie may be seen in TV... But it needs a long time to appear on TV though....

This movie deserved a high rating of mixtures: 10/10

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

As Spoofs go it's the best

Author: sroby989 from Washinton
27 October 2002

This sequel out does the first by leaps and bounds. Topper is back and this time he is fighting the Iraqi. After a noble piece prize-winning scientist who invented the artificial appendix is kidnapped Topper is sent in to rescue the scientist and the other rescue teams. This is a comedy with slapstick and just all around impossible happenings including the part where Saddam gets his `fun stick' stuck in a hand vacuum. If there is one word to describe this movie it's classy.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

More of the Same Thing Again.

Author: tfrizzell from United States
14 March 2002

Nutty sequel to the highly surprising original which was a box office smash in 1991. This time "Rambo" is the primary film that cannot escape the dubious distinction of being parodied. Charlie Sheen, Lloyd Bridges and Valeria Golino return from the original and Richard Crenna of "Rambo" fame also has a large part. The film just avoids obscurity with a few gags that do put a smile on your face. 2 stars out of 5.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Watch it again for the twentieth time

Author: (ddougan@butler.edu)
13 August 2001

I have seen "Hot Shots! Part Deux" more times than I would like to remember, yet it's still funny. The same thing holds true for its ancestors like "Airplane!" and "The Naked Gun: From the Files of Police Squad." In fact, I just saw it last night and noticed a sight gag I hadn't ever seen before. When Arvid Harbinger (one of Charlie Sheen's men on the mission to rescue POWs...played by Miguel Ferrera) is cowering in fear of the battle, he hides behind crates that conveniently contain "Spineless Jellyfish" and "Yellow Bellies." Also, does it strike anyone else as odd that they are supposed to be invading Iraq, but the scenery does not look desert-like? The movie was so bent on making fun of Rambo that Iraq suddenly is covered with trees and looks more like the Amazon rainforest than an Arab nation near the Persian Gulf. Denton Walters (the appropriately-used Richard Crenna) is quite funny - especially since he practically walks out of his jail cell to grab the keys required to open it. The chemistry between Topper Harley (Charlie Sheen) and Ramada Hayman (Valeria Golino) is absolutely spectacular...and the script makes me laugh just thinking about it. For all of the talk about what the critics will say about the movie, you would never know that this was a spoof by observing their deadpan faces.

Funniest moments: Lady and the Tramp parody. Harbinger's cheer directly to the camera after blowing away a few Iraqi soldiers: "War. It's FANtastic." The theme park-like map of the Iraqi camp. The shockingly lifelike animal sounds that the crew makes after knocking out a few Iraqis. (Related - their remarkably effective Three Stooges-like guns.) The scene with the living former Presidents. The banana peel duel between Rabinowitz (Ryan Stiles from "The Drew Carey Show" and "Whose Line Is It Anyway?") and an Iraqi soldier. The entire monk scene is very funny. The body count meter. A great cameo by Martin Sheen. President Benson (the late and great Lloyd Bridges) reference to Sea Hunt. Actually, every single scene involving Bridges is incredibly funny. The silly credits, including several female characters listed with the maiden name "Rodham" and a rather mean-spirited Michael Bolton reference.

Gags that fell flat: The stupid chicken-as-an-arrow bit...apparently the thought process was, "Chickens are always funny." Not true. There would have been much better shots for the poster/video box. (Such as Charlie Sheen with his hands dipped in sprinkles and M&Ms.) The fishing boat scene was a bit lame and silly. (What were you expecting, sophisticated humor?) Using Rowan Atkinson without any reference to Mr. Bean was absolutely tragic...the writers missed a golden opportunity. Atkinson, as usual, was still very funny. Let's face it ... that whole wounded scene after the fishing boat scene was just an excuse for Valeria Golino to tear her shirt and show some skin. It was not really funny. The script sort of admits it. The fight scene between Golino and Sheen was kind of stupid and unnecessary.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Could not be made better

10/10
Author: (salilkhetani) from Bombay, India
1 August 2001

This is my favourite movie because there is not a single second in the movie where the comedy does not stop. Charlie Sheen should play more comedy roles.The way he keeps a straight face when there is absolute dumbness around is worthy of praise.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

I love this movie!

9/10
Author: gmharris from Oregon
22 May 2001

Just the opening sequence alone, with the failed rescue mission, leaves me in stitches. Every time I watch it I notice something new and funny. The movie is helped by some comic pros like Ryan Stiles and Rowan Atkinson, but it also gets good work from leads who are not known for comedy. Great use of Richard Crenna.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

The best comedy ever made. Seriously.

10/10
Author: jasper (nieuwes1@freeler.nl) from Schagen, the Netherlands
14 September 2000

You want subtlety? Go watch American Beauty. You want intelligence? Go watch Groundhog day. You want dumb, unpretentious fun? Look no further, because here you have the film with the most laughs per minute, a sexier babe than Sharon Stone and of course Charlie Sheen who seems to have talent for every movie genre. Jokes are fired at the viewer with the regularity of a an Uzi, it moves fast and on the way it spoofs every classic film imaginable. What more do you want on your Friday night???

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Brilliantly funny!

10/10
Author: DWaterson from Birmingham, UK
3 April 1999

Much funnier and far more absurd than the original, you'll have to watch it a few times before you notice all the clever sight-gags.

Favourite quote?:

- "Of all the movies in all the cinemas in all the world, you had to come walking into this one."

- "It's the sequel. I had to come."

How Charlie Sheen keeps a straight face with such ridiculous lines as many of these I don't know. Enjoy!

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 8 of 10: [Prev][3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history