IMDb > The Fugitive (1993) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Fugitive
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Fugitive More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 6 of 29: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [Next]
Index 286 reviews in total 

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Intense and Outstanding Acting,

8/10
Author: Dillon Harris from Ireland
22 February 2014

The Fugitive is a brilliant movie with a very well developed storyline and a very professional and dramatic cast.The movie is intense and action packed all the way through and also very exciting.As far as performances go ,this is without a doubt one of Harrison Ford's finest performances and without a doubt Tommy Lee Jones best performance,he really stole the spotlight from Ford in this movie,an Academy Award dosen't lie.The character development for both Ford and Jones characters is also top notch,especially for action movie standards.The movie is filled with action but never gets too carried away or drags out ,which I liked because it bothers when they take you away from the story too much.The Fugitive is a great movie that I would recommends to all moviegoers,especially if you're a fan of action,adventure or the two main actors.

A doctor goes on the run after a court finds him guilty of murdering his wife.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

"A hard target search of every gas station, residence, warehouse, farmhouse, hen house, outhouse, and doghouse in the area"

9/10
Author: romanorum1 from Rhode Island, United States
15 September 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

In the popular TV series of the same name (1963-1967), David Janssen played the lead role of a doctor who had been tried, convicted, and sentenced to die for the murder of his wife. The doctor, Richard Kimble, was innocent of the crime. Because of a train wreck, Kimble was able to escape and subsequently search for the one-armed man that he knew was the real culprit. Folks tuned in every week to see how the doctor fared. Despite many close calls and being fanatically pursued by a relentless Lt. Gerard, Kimble remained elusive. Finally, after four years, Kimble and his quarry were trapped atop a water tower in the presence of Gerard, who shot the one-armed murderer from the ground. That final episode on a Tuesday in August of 1967 garnered a 72 percent share of all USA TV viewers.

The 1993 movie of the same name maintains the same premise although the plot is rather different. An innocent doctor (now a vascular surgeon), Dr. Richard Kimble (Harrison Ford) is on the run and is, at the same time, trying to locate the one-armed murderer of his wife, Helen Kimble (Sela Ward) before the authorities close in and execute him. In the movie's brief prologue, all available evidence had pointed to the doctor's guilt. The sentence was surprising and unusually swift. So, without any hope for deliverance, he finds himself handcuffed while riding in a prison bus to his hapless destiny. Directly because of a mêlée, the bus tumbles down an embankment directly onto train tracks. The massive collision of a freight train and the bus is as sensational as ever seen on screen. The locomotive may be derailed, but its momentum chases Kimble as he desperately runs for his life (No models: The train and bus were real!). Skillfully able to evade his pursuers, Dr. Kimble works his way back to Chicago where he resumes contacts with his friends and sympathizers. With few places to lick his wounds in a hostile winter and with no resources – and even slightly wounded – Kimble somehow defies the odds and stays free. See how he casually walks into a hospital, and, as a doctor knows exactly what to do: (1) self treat his wound, (2) grab a quick meal, (3) shave his beard, (4) clean up, (5) find suitable clothing, and (6) leave in an ambulance.

Kimble's pursuit is led by Deputy US Marshal Samuel Gerard (Tommy Lee Jones). Gerard is obsessed with catching Kimble, and his manhunt is on a massive scale. Tommy Lee Jones as Gerard, whose screen presence is immense, is steadfast in his mission. He is alert, intelligent, and weather-beaten, and leaves no doubt who is in charge. He often adopts a superior tone. But, in the course of the film, as new facts are presented, Gerard's facial expressions and body language subtlety change as he comes to realize that the beleaguered surgeon may be innocent after all. Yet, he doggedly keeps up the chase, as he has a job to do, and not judge (Kimble: "I didn't kill my wife!" Gerard: "I don't care!"). He has a team that includes right-hand man Cosmo Renfro (Joe Pantoliano), Erin Poole (L. Scott Campbell), Noah Newman (Tom Wood), and Biggs (Daniel Roebuck). There are other characters, like Kelly and Rosetti of the Chicago Police Department; Kelly is especially adamant about Kimble's guilt right up to the very end.

Meanwhile Kimble, using his brains as well as his wits, is eventually able to gain access to Cook County Hospital, where he searches for those who have prosthetic right arms. The doctor narrows the search to a manageable five names. He finds one man, a Frederick Sykes (Andreas Katsulas), an ex-policeman working in the security business. In the meantime Kimble finds a place to stay in a Polish woman's basement apartment. He is betrayed by her drug-dealing son but escapes. Back in the hospital, Kimble is instrumental in saving a boy's life by a quick diagnosis and altering the regular hospital doctor's instructions.

Kimble meticulously pieces the puzzle together and realizes that he, and not his wife, was the real target. Kimble breaks into sullied Sykes apartment for more information. Dr. Lentz, deceased (actually murdered) the previous year, and Kimble's supposed friend Dr. Charles Nichols (Jeroen Krabbe) falsified the records/research of the dangers of a new drug (RDU 90 = Provasic) that caused liver damage to line their pockets. Knowing that Kimble would be against them, they hired Sykes to do their dirty work. There is an altercation on the Chicago El with Kimble and Sykes. Kimble then heads for the Grand Ballroom where an honorary dinner is being held for Dr. Nichols, who is touting the dangerous new drug as a miracle. The final confrontation occurs on a rooftop and in a laundry room.

The movie, focusing on two determined, smart, and hardy men pitted against each other, builds suspense and excitement with plausible situations (except for the dam leap, the origins of which may be Alfred Hitchcocks' 1942 feature, "Saboteur"). The chase is stronger than the murder plot, which can be confusing. But the performances are very good, and Harrison Ford certainly appears in his element although Tommy Lee Jones won the coveted Oscar. Although Sela Ward's character died early, flashbacks enhance her screen time. Great cinematography and on-location shooting are always a plus. A final word: Unlike many modern movies, the language is not vulgar. "The Fugitive" is enjoyable even after many viewings.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

The best fugitive movie in the world. Highly underrated though...

10/10
Author: Mithil Bhoras from India
26 October 2011

The Fugitive is a classic detective movie. It is stylish in every aspects: the music , the editing, the direction, the story. There are many surprising moments as there are in any crime movie. The music is classy and fits in any modern detective movie. It has many great punch- lines. I loved the U.S. Marshals too. They were ever-ready and completely active.

Harrison Ford was great. He is a smart fugitive who is convicted of killing his own wife and he is innocent. His efforts to prove his innocence was quite smart and that's the most entertaining part. But, in my opinion, Tommy Lee Jones was the best. He acted very well as a bad ass U.S.Marshal who will stop at nothing. His role in this movie is one of my all time favorites.

All in all, Fugitive is surprising and age had no effect on this masterpiece. IMDb really surprises me sometimes by giving quite low ratings to great movies like these.

Still it doesn't change a thing for me. Just go for it!

10/10

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

A Truly Great Film

10/10
Author: Phill-13 from Anderson, Indiana
24 June 2010

"THE FUGITIVE" I remember watching the weekly TV series starring David Janssen as a small boy back in the 1960s. Well, I just watched the remake of David Janssen's "The Fugitive," this one starring Harrison Ford, Tommy Lee Jones, and Joe Pantoliano and I must say it's great. I normally don't say this about remakes, but this film really is great. It's emotionally charged from beginning to end, takes you on a roller-coaster ride all the way through keeping you riveted to the edge of your seat with heart-pounding action all the way through. I give it a "Thumbs-Up!" And, that's not something I do with very many remakes. Thanks guys, for a great movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Fast and highly likable thriller

8/10
Author: Stampsfightclub from United Kingdom
27 October 2009

After a traffic collision convicted murderer Dr Richard Kimble (Ford) tries to clear his name whist Samuel Gerard (Jones) attempts to track him down.

This Andrew Davis picture brings together a slick plot flowing with action and intrigue and with Tommy Lee Jones and Harrison Ford on perfect form this is the perfect remedy to an absent action injury.

With James Bond being "reborn" these last few years and The Bourne trilogy racking up plaudits from everywhere it seems we have reinvented the term of thriller in a genre that is often scrutinized for its lack of realism in context.

What makes the Fugitive tick? For starters this is a fun adrenaline soaking thriller that needs minimal explanation to get the blood pumping. From waterfall jumps to train crashes this has enough to fulfil the viewer's requirements.

There is an array of credited actors who have broken barriers in their lifetimes previous to this Oscar winner. Tommy Lee Jones (winner of best supporting actor) has of course starred in plenty of action thrillers. Under Siege, No country for old men and possibly Men in Black he knows how to tackle the action. Having just reviewed the Oscars from 15 years ago I must confess to having liked John Malkovich's protagonist in the Wolfgang Peterson thriller In The Line of Fire plenty more. The swagger and evilness of Booth was elaborate, eccentric and malicious with a delicious cunning that made his character seem approachable but undeniably sick and evil. Jones nevertheless presents a character with baggage but does not convey it and with an intelligent appreciation of law and crime he sets the benchmark to the law breaking citizens of America.

Ford establishes himself as mystery man in the early stages where we believe he could be good or evil and when the plot momentarily loses its balance we know the truth of his innocence.

This narrative of a man needing to escape and prove his name as innocent is reflective of numerous other thrillers there's no question. Bearing in mind this concept can become tedious when seeing repetitive viewings of various thrillers it is significant to recognize this was one of the early films that brought this technique to the attention of the critiques and various other filmmakers. It is a stunning concept that adds tension and mystery from every aspect.

The scene setting is wonderfully exuberant. The forest setting generates the feeling of isolation exquisitely whilst the montages of the flashbacks fittingly reflect this isolation and gives the central character development and contemplation.

There are lapses in the action with an overhaul in dialogue and the Bourne series has shown the meaning of thriller but this is undoubtedly fast and fun mystery.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Not just great then but also great today - 89%

9/10
Author: Benjamin Cox from Hampshire, England
8 April 2009

You know how you have that "Must See" list of films that you never get round to watching? I had "The Long Kiss Goodnight" on my list for 10 years but this movie trumps that, a long 16 years after release! Question is, was it worth the wait? Well, yes and no. Obviously, no film is worth waiting that long for unless you're the sort of obsessive fan associated with certain sci-fi franchises. But "The Fugitive" is, perhaps surprisingly, still a quality action movie that continues to be a benchmark after all this time. Tense, thrilling and lifted further by Tommy Lee Jones in blistering form, this is one movie that has not lost its power over time.

Based on the TV show of the same name, "The Fugitive" opens with the brutal murder of Helen Kimble (Sela Ward), the wife of brilliant Chicago surgeon Dr Richard Kimble (Harrison Ford). Wrongly convicted of her murder and sentenced to death, Dr Kimble escapes and sets out to find the one-armed man who did kill her. Trying to catch him is relentless US Marshall Sam Gerard (Tommy Lee Jones) and his dedicated team who don't really care whether Kimble did it or not. And so begins arguably the best manhunt ever committed to film...

A bold statement but compare this to the half-hearted sequel "US Marshalls" (despite Jones' presence) and you begin to understand why "The Fugitive" is held in high regard. There's no CG stunt work, no pointless explosions or needlessly slow-mo gun fights. This is simply a great film that doesn't patronise or try to be anything other than a gripping battle of wills that never lets go of your attention. In fact, the only fault I can think of is that you are just as likely to cheer for Jones as you are for Ford - he thoroughly deserved his Best Supporting Actor Oscar as the helplessly charismatic Gerard. Actually, there is another fault but only if you're a fan of the TV show "Scrubs" - Neil Flynn's all-too-brief appearance will raise a faint smile which breaks the tension somewhat but it quickly passes, thankfully. But from the moment where Kimble escapes from a wonderfully staged train crash, the film rarely lets the tension relax as both Kimble and Gerard get increasingly desperate to get what they both want.

Chances are, though, that you won't have waited 16 years to catch this fantastic action blockbuster. But if you have then prepare yourself for a movie that not only thrills and entertains with ease but one that still can produce the goods today. It stands head-and-shoulders above any other chase movie you could think of (including director Andrew Davis' other famous chase movie "Chain Reaction") but is also a cracking thriller movie that actually delivers the goods. All you have to do is now go out and catch it...

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Love this film with more viewings{{SPOILERS MAybe?}}

10/10
Author: S.R. Dipaling from Topeka, Kansas, USA
9 February 2009

I saw this first in the theater shortly after its' August 1993 release. I saw it again on fresh video release about seven months later,and sometime later on a medium I don't immediately recall. EAch time I am struck by the fact that,despite my(And anybody's,really)ability to practically recite,not only the plot but the sequence of events,even some of the exact lines spoken by each character,this film just plain simply DOES NOT lose its potency,interest,energy or even suspense. Credit goes to the actors--not only HArrison Ford and Tommy Lee JOnes as pursued and pursuer,but also JOnes' posse of fellow feds(Joe PAntoliano,Tom Wood,Daniel Roebuck among them)and the shady side characters such as Dr.Kimble's colleague(Jeroen Krabbe)or the one-armed man himself(hulking,brooding Andreas KAtsulas)--for building the interest through intelligence and uncanny acting AND reacting. Director Andrew DAvis,a whiz at action films,is able to camera shoot and plan practically every element of this film to exquisite perfection! David Twohy's script is parts construction and ad-lib(if you see the extras on the DVD,you'll know what I mean),and the ability for Ford and some minor players,such as Ron DEan and Joe Katsulas as the arresting and highly suspicious(!)detectives,to be able to create a great sense of conflict and reaction to add tension.

I just caught this again as a free rental,and to me there's really no price on it. I'd buy it,I'd see it on the tele. Maybe you all know the story of the beleaguered and ultimately innocent Dr.Richard Kimble and his chief,cunning, "Les Miserables"-like law enforcement pursuer Philip/Samuel Gerard,but that still shouldn't hinder one from seeing and--for me,anyway--enjoying this excellent piece of big budget film-making(a somewhat rare commodity it seems anymore)again and again.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

The first to show that TV series makes a great film

10/10
Author: kingismyworld from United States
10 August 2007

Well here's a rarity. A film based on a 1963-67 TV series would've been laughed at in the early 1990's. In 1993, Andrew Davis took a beloved TV series and turned it not only a critically acclaimed movie but a $183 million dollar box office smash that also won the 1994 People's Choice Awards, Golden Globe nominations, The Critic's Choice Awards and not but not least, The Oscar For Tommy Lee Jones as best support actor. Very rare that a movie based on a TV series would earn such praise.Dr. Richard Kimble (Harrison Ford)is a surgeon who after a party, finds his wife, Helen (Sela Ward) murdered and is attacked by a one armed burglar. With his wife dead, fingerprints all over the crime scene and a 911 call by Helen, this would seem to indicate that Kimble is the killer. Kimble proclaims his innocence but the evidence seals his fate. Convicted and sent to die by lethal injection, fate has an unusual hand for Kimble. On a prisoner transport. a riot ensues, causing a train wreck that frees Kimble and begins his quest to clear his name. On his trail is US Marshall Sam Gerard (Jones) an officer that is determined to get Kimble,alive or dead. As the two men play cat and mouse, Kimble will find evidence pointing that the murder of Helen was meant for him and uncovers a web of greed and medical corruption while Gerard also finds the same evidence that shows that Kimble may be innocent. Will Kimble find the answers to clear his name or will Gerard and his team capture him? Sounds like a great premise for a movie and in 1993, it was. With a great script, taut direction and great performances by everyone, The Fugitive destroyed the notion that TV shows can't make great movies. By taking basic ingredients and turning it into there own, the film wound up being the first film to get award nominations and publicly acclaimed too. Buy it or rent it and see why it remains a classic even today.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Harrison Ford vs. David Janssen

9/10
Author: possumopossum from United States
28 September 2006

When this movie came out in 1993, I was curious about several things. (1) How Harrison Ford would play the role as opposed to David Janssen. Ford did a great job of playing a specialist in a big city hospital. I thought, though, that since David Janssen's Dr. Kimble was a pediatrician in a small town, his was a more likable character. Also, Harrison Ford's Dr. Kimble had a pretty weak motive. Why would a vascular surgeon want to murder his wife for money? David Janssen's Dr. Kimble at least had a bone of contention with his wife, although I know we can't blame Harrison Ford for that.

(2) How would they handle Dr. Kimble roaming from town to town solving everyone's problems and moving on in the neighborhood of two hours? (3) How long could Dr. Kimble run and hide, considering forensics were much better in the mid 90s than they were in the mid 60s? I admit I went into that movie ready to compare it to the original TV series, and was ready to rip it to shreds. However, the more I got involved in the movie, the more I forgot that it was spawned from my all-time favorite television show. This movie is pretty doggone exciting. By the time I got out of the theater, I had made up my mind that The Fugitive was a great movie and a great TV show. 9 out of 10 for this one.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

The chase is on!

10/10
Author: dee.reid from United States
13 December 2005

I've seen "The Fugitive" dozens of times over the years, and it's one of the most enduring and intelligent thrillers ever made. Like any thriller by director William Friedkin, it's basically one long chase that never pauses or lets you take a breather; it's that exhausting an experience to watch "The Fugitive." And it has the performances to boot. Based on the television series, Harrison Ford is Dr. Richard Kimble, a respected Chicago surgeon who is wrongfully accused of brutally murdering his wife (Sela Ward). Sentenced to die by lethal injection by the courts, fate and an attempted jail break (culminating in one of the most exciting action sequences in the film) spring Richard free, and place him on the run for his life as he searches for the real killer. The killer in this case, a one-armed man, is the obsession of the good doctor as he dawns disguises and tries to stay one step ahead of dogged F.B.I. marshal Sam Gerard (Best Supporting Actor Oscar-winner Tommy Lee Jones) and his team of law enforcement officers. And the chase is on. As the picture roles, we're in the action with two men who are both chasing after radically different goals; it's the hunter and the hunted. We're with Ford's desperate doctor as he searches vigorously for a fiendish murderer, and we're with Jones' agent as he tracks Kimble's trail. Andrew Davis ("Under Siege") directs the film's frequent chase sequences with intense focus that is reminiscent of what we've become used to in Friedkin's action films. It's really exciting stuff here.

10/10

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 6 of 29: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history