5.9/10
11,881
69 user 67 critic

The Dark Half (1993)

Trailer
1:50 | Trailer

On Disc

at Amazon

A writer's fictional alter-ego wants to take over his life...at any price.

Director:

Writers:

(novel), (screenplay)
Reviews
3 wins & 8 nominations. See more awards »

Videos

Photos

Learn more

People who liked this also liked... 

Crime | Drama | Fantasy
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.2/10 X  

A mysterious new shop opens in a small town which always seems to stock the deepest desires of each shopper, with a price far heavier than expected.

Director: Fraser C. Heston
Stars: Max von Sydow, Ed Harris, Bonnie Bedelia
The Tommyknockers (TV Mini-Series 1993)
Horror | Sci-Fi
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.4/10 X  

A buried UFO slowly turns local inhabitants into gizmo-building alien mutates.

Stars: Jimmy Smits, Marg Helgenberger, John Ashton
Monkey Shines (1988)
Drama | Horror | Sci-Fi
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.2/10 X  

A quadriplegic man has a trained monkey help him with his paralysis, until the little monkey begins to develop feelings, and rage, against its new master.

Director: George A. Romero
Stars: Jason Beghe, John Pankow, Kate McNeil
Bruiser (2000)
Comedy | Horror
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.3/10 X  

After years of being tread upon and cheated on, a man awakens to find his face has a been replaced by a blank, white mask.

Director: George A. Romero
Stars: Jason Flemyng, Peter Stormare, Leslie Hope
Fantasy | Horror | Mystery
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6/10 X  

A reporter is on the trail of a vampiric murderer who travels by plane.

Director: Mark Pavia
Stars: Miguel Ferrer, Julie Entwisle, Dan Monahan
Sometimes They Come Back (TV Movie 1991)
Drama | Horror | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.7/10 X  

Based on a short story by Stephen King, a man and his family return to his home town, but he is then harassed by teenagers that died when he was a kid.

Director: Tom McLoughlin
Stars: Tim Matheson, Brooke Adams, Robert Rusler
Knightriders (1981)
Action | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.4/10 X  

A medieval reenactment troupe find it increasingly difficult to keep their family-like group together, with pressure from local law enforcement, interest from entertainment agents and a growing sense of delusion from their leader.

Director: George A. Romero
Stars: Ed Harris, Gary Lahti, Tom Savini
Thinner (1996)
Fantasy | Horror
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.7/10 X  

An obese lawyer is cursed by a gypsy to lose weight...and lose weight...and lose weight...

Director: Tom Holland
Stars: Joe Mantegna, Robert John Burke, Lucinda Jenney
Sleepwalkers (1992)
Horror
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.1/10 X  

A mother-and-son team of strange supernatural creatures move to a small town to seek out a young virgin to feed on.

Director: Mick Garris
Stars: Brian Krause, Mädchen Amick, Alice Krige
Creepshow (1982)
Comedy | Fantasy | Horror
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.9/10 X  

An anthology which tells five terrifying tales based on the E.C. horror comic books of the 1950s.

Director: George A. Romero
Stars: Hal Holbrook, Leslie Nielsen, Adrienne Barbeau
Horror
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.7/10 X  

In a very old textile mill, with a serious rat infestation, the workers discover a horrifying secret deep in the basement.

Director: Ralph S. Singleton
Stars: David Andrews, Kelly Wolf, Stephen Macht
Cat's Eye (1985)
Comedy | Horror | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.2/10 X  

A stray cat is the linking element of three tales of suspense and horror.

Director: Lewis Teague
Stars: Drew Barrymore, James Woods, Alan King
Edit

Cast

Cast overview, first billed only:
...
Thad Beaumont / George Stark
...
Liz Beaumont
...
...
Reggie Delesseps
...
Kent Broadhurst ...
Mike Donaldson
...
Shayla Beaumont
...
Miriam Cowley
...
Rick Cowley
Larry John Meyers ...
Dr. Pritchard
Patrick Brannan ...
Young Thad Beaumont
...
Digger Holt
Glenn Colerider ...
Homer Gamache
Sarah Parker ...
Wendy Beaumont / William Beaumont
Elizabeth Parker ...
Wendy Beaumont / William Beaumont
Edit

Storyline

When Thad Beaumont was a child, he had an operation to remove a tumour from his brain. during the operation, it was discovered that far from being a tumor, the growth was a twin brother of Thad's that never developed. Years later, Thad is a successful author, writing his serious books under his own name, and his pulp money-makers under the pseudonum "George Stark". When blackmailed by someone who has discovered his secret, Thad publically "buries" George Stark. From that point on, Thad increasingly becomes the prime suspect in a series of gruesome murders. Written by Murray Chapman <muzzle@cs.uq.oz.au>

Plot Summary | Plot Synopsis

Taglines:

There are very good reasons to be afraid of the dark. See more »

Genres:

Horror | Mystery

Motion Picture Rating (MPAA)

Rated R for violence and language | See all certifications »

Parents Guide:

 »
Edit

Details

Official Sites:

Country:

Language:

Release Date:

23 April 1993 (USA)  »

Also Known As:

La mitad siniestra  »

Box Office

Budget:

$15,000,000 (estimated)

Gross:

$9,579,068 (USA)
 »

Company Credits

Show detailed on  »

Technical Specs

Runtime:

Sound Mix:

Color:

Aspect Ratio:

1.85 : 1
See  »
Edit

Did You Know?

Trivia

The Dark Half was the last novel Stephen King wrote before going totally sober. His addiction and his desire to go sober are reflected in the book's themes of dual personalities. See more »

Goofs

In the scene where Thad is writing in his office with the sparrows on the window, the sharpness of the pencil he uses changes back and forth from very sharp to very dull. This is the scene where Thad stabs himself in the hand. See more »

Quotes

Man in the Hallway: What's going on?
George Stark: Murder... You want some?
See more »

Connections

Features Today (1952) See more »

Soundtracks

Are You Lonesome To-night?
By Roy Turk & Lou Handman
Performed by Elvis Presley
Courtesy of the RCA Records Label of BMG Music
See more »

Frequently Asked Questions

See more (Spoiler Alert!) »

User Reviews

"We all have something of a beast inside us."
15 January 2012 | by (the Mad Hatter's tea party.) – See all my reviews

This is one strange, surreal literate piece of psychological horror pulp in the tradition of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde by film-maker George Romero who adapted it from novelist Stephen King. Thad Beaumont is a successful novelist who decides to literally bury his alter ego George Stark, who he used as a pseudonym for his overly violent pulp novels. This occurs because someone tries to blackmail him. But after putting an end to this alter ego, people are starting to be killed off and these are people who are somehow tied in to seeing George Stark finish up. However the evidence at every murder scene points to Thad and something is happening to him that he hasn't experience for almost twenty years. The sparrows are calling. Underrated work from Romero, which can be atmospheric in its vivid visuals, computer effects are ably done, the jolts are nastily macabre (the graphic climax of when sparrows attack) and the steadfast narrative gradually builds up its dread-filled suspense and stinging matter with precise control. Timothy Hutton plays the dual roles with outstanding ticker. Then there is solid support by Amy Madigan, Michael Rooker and a tiny part for Robert Joy.

"We shouldn't be writing trash."


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.  Was this review helpful to you?

Message Boards

Recent Posts
Any other films that deal with the doppelganger??? ceconomoujr
Secret Window? Blaidd_Drwg
Inept cops Jinx-to-Ennien
george's best film outside of the dead trilogy?? philystar
Gory? inkybowl
Which is better? missitaly1616
Discuss The Dark Half (1993) on the IMDb message boards »

Contribute to This Page

Create a character page for:
?