IMDb > "Late Night with Conan O'Brien" (1993) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Late Night with Conan O'Brien"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsmessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 10:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [Next]
Index 95 reviews in total 

79 out of 90 people found the following review useful:

Easily the best late night talk show ever

10/10
Author: in_no_big_hurry
18 June 2004

Jay Leno, Johnny Carson, Letterman, they are all alright. but usually when i watch one of them, it is because an actor or musical act i like will be on. Conan is the only talk show i watch just to see him. they could have a channel of nothing but reruns of Conan shows, and i would watch it all day. i did not become a hardcore watcher(every night) of Conan until maybe six months ago, and i feel cheated for not being able to see the 10 years of shows he did prior. He is hilarious, Max is hilarious, all the little skits they do range from terrible to genius, but even the terrible ones make you giggle from the sheer stupidity of them. Hilarious. Truly one of the most consistently funny shows ever, up there with South Park, Arrested Development, and the best sitcom ever, Scrubs. The humor may not always work, but they are never afraid to attempt jokes and skits you can not believe are on a huge network show. Max and Conan have this chemistry, its like they have no chemistry kind of, and that is what makes it so great. I never get tired of Conan making fun of how crappy he and his show is, even though we all know it is the exact opposite. Definitely worth staying up for.

Was the above review useful to you?

55 out of 64 people found the following review useful:

King of Late Night

Author: cousteau
13 July 2001

Yeah, ok...most people still think Leno is, but that'll all change in time.

See Leno and Conan are complete opposites. Both hosts are extremely entertaining, but when Leno's up on stage, you can tell he's kinda' just a cute monkey in a suit who's told to read his cue cards. *Then* he sounds funny. But Conan actually starts off funny; doing physical comedy, reacting to his audience, etc., but it's often his writers that make him tell lame jokes. Don't get me wrong; they're not all lame. They can get repetitive though, and are actually sometimes too vulgar or tasteless for Conan's classy personality. The funniest parts of the show are when he actually expresses his "what the hell kind of joke was that?"face to what he just said. Conan's cool; he plays guitar, he can be very self-deprecating (though he's toned down a bit -thank goodness), but best of all..he always acts genuinely interested in his guests and always seems to try to learn from them.

I think that what about Conan appeals to a younger audience(19-30 crowd) is not only that he can get away with more explicit material on his show, he also on the other hand shows disgust in any kind of strange sexual taboo(this is what evens out the show.)Example? Like when Conan asked Max Weinberg "Now, come on. Why should *you* have your own generation? Because you're such a good drummer?" "No, because of my hundreds of iligitimate children." Conan makes a disgusted face and we don't know if it's toward the writers or the situation, but we always sympathize and have to laugh!

The only problem I have with the show is I think Conan should write his dialogue. I mean, come on, this guy went to Harvard to become funny and wrote for SNL & he Simpsons!

Long Live Conan! Har-dee-har-har! Me lucky charms!

Was the above review useful to you?

37 out of 41 people found the following review useful:

Late-Night Comedy At It's Best

Author: Canadian_Movie_Nut from Toronto, Canada
11 September 2004

'Late Night With Conan O'Brien' will put at least a silly smile on your face every time you watch it. Conan gives viewers a good and fun hour to just let loose. With all of the hysterical skits and witty humour, you'll wonder why you didn't watch this show to begin with. Conan O'Brien makes a delightfully wonderful host and can take even the boringest subjects and make it funny for everyone.

Granted the show has had its moments of non-funny stupidity, but there's no doubt that you'll be laughing again within the next ten minutes. Not only is this show great for laughs, but it features a wide variety of special guests varying from movie stars, singers, political figures, to some of the weirdest people you will ever meet. Conan has been praised in the past to be equal to or even better than 'The Tonight Show'! And you'll definitely know why when you see it.

I, myself, have watched this show for nearly seven years and I can assure that 'Late Night With Conan O'Brien' is late-night TV at its best.

Was the above review useful to you?

31 out of 35 people found the following review useful:

12:35 am is fun!

Author: AllisonLVenezio from Jersey shore, USA
18 April 2002

Who's that man with the carrot top hair? It's Conan O'Brien!!

Conan O'Brien, a former writer for both "Saturday night Live" and "The Simpsons" brings his irreverant humor to the barren wasteland that is late-night television. At the start of his hosting gig, he was branded for failure by every critic, but managed to push on despite the odds. Now, he's one of the most-beloved and praised talk show hosts today.]

I have personal experience with "Late Night," and I don't even work there. Two years ago, during my Junior year of high school (2000), I took a trip to NBC Studios NYC to see a taping of "Late Night." Seeing this experience set me up for life, as I am now a freshman Communications major (sophomore in Fall 2002) in college. I actually did get close enough to Conan--he shook my hand!! Quite possibly one of the greatest moments of my life!

I love everything about "Late Night"--especially the comedy segments. "If they Mated" is by far one of my personal favorites, as is the recent segments on "Inspiration Jesus Statues," and "The Moving Lips," where Robert Smigel superimoses his mouth on a politician or celebrity while on a television monitor. Triumph the Comic Dog is so disgusting, but so funny you can't look away, not even when he was humping the dog at the Westminster Dog Show. ("Tickle me Silly--she could tickle me silly anyday!", "How can such an innocent dog be such a filthy whore?" "For me to poop on!")

I am among many fans when I say that I miss Andy Richter, but this show is always wonderful, and I enjoy watching it. If you love "Tonight Show with Jay Leno," I highly recommend staying up late to watch this gem. Believe me, it's worth it!

Was the above review useful to you?

33 out of 39 people found the following review useful:

Best late night show, beats out competition by a mile.

Author: CatDog from NY
13 August 2000

I like Jay Leno a lot (with his headlines, and other things he does), but Conan is better. Why? He has an awesome ability to improvise, and he is a guy who can make fun of himself all the time. It was sad to see Andy Richter leave the show in May, but it wasn't a total loss (a show with a sidekick was an original idea, anyway). His agenda is set up perfectly are funny, too...short, but sweet monolouge, then 15 minutes of fun. I especially like the recent Masturbating Bear skit, and the one where Conan sings to the babies who are supposedly watching...you gotta see it to believe it. I give this show a perfect 10.

P.S. Now it's time to give Richie 'La Bamba' Rosenberg A Chance To Tell Everybody He's Gay!

Was the above review useful to you?

31 out of 37 people found the following review useful:

Brutally funny TV

10/10
Author: KingofCarrotFlowers from Espinho, Portugal
7 November 2004

This show is absolutely hilarious from start to finish and Conan is in my opinion the best talk show host around beating even Jon Stewart and WAY ahead of the once funny Jay Leno.The humour is so stupidely original that it shouldn't work in any level but it comes out swinging with such greats as the Texas Ranger lever,Conan Hates My Homeland,the deadpan interplay between Conan and Max,the neverending picking on La Bamba or even the celebrities ending sentences(my favorite-O.J.Simpson"I hate being recognized when...I'm killing people"). The guests are also always more loose with Conan(late night)and not desperate to plug stuff as in Leno.

Was the above review useful to you?

26 out of 29 people found the following review useful:

Funniest Guy Alive

Author: keisha_anne from Canada
22 February 2004

Conan is not only the king of late night, he is king of comedy. Period. The first thing you see every night on his show is this tall, sharp featured guy walk out on the stage. Immediately, he becomes animated and does his little trademark dance and jump that you can't help but laugh at. You're immediately put in what Conan likes to call "the laugh zone." His opening monologue, obviously not written by him, doesn't always have the funniest jokes. But Conan is the only guy I've seen that could take a lame joke and make it hilarious using physical, animated comedy played off audience reactions mixed with charm and wit uniquely Conan. His smiles and laughs are infectious and his facial expressions endless. You can't help but smile and sympathize with his innocence and self bashing (for instance, when talking to Ruben Studdard about the falsity of rumors, Conan exclaimed "Yeah, I'm not gay!" His smile immediately fell into an expression of "what the hell did I just do?" That you had to sympathize with). His sincerity is unmissable; he is always completely genuinely interested in his guests and what they have to say. He does everything possible to make them feel comfortable. In an interview of Conan he said it is his job to make every interview on his show funny and to make the guest comfortable. He says he never thinks "oh, that guest was a real lunker" because if the interview sucked, it was his fault, not theirs. As I Canadian, I have to say how lucky we were to have the best comic alive come and shed some light on our vastly overlooked country. I hope Americans found it funny and maybe know a little bit more about their neighbor. I hope all the controversy can be cleared up and forgotten and forgiven so that Conan can again soon come back to our country. My wish is that it becomes an annual thing. Or better yet, semi-annual!

You won't ever see a funnier, more animated, sincere or charming comedian than Conan. I don't watch much TV. Conan is the one and only show I make sure I watch regularly. There's never been a show were I didn't feel completely uplifted after. I could describe him for hours but you have to see him for yourself to understand. "Keep it cool my babies!" Long live the king!

Was the above review useful to you?

22 out of 27 people found the following review useful:

Still funny... and also repeats at 1 and 7 PM on Comedy Central

Author: Eric-1226 from Seattle, Washington
29 April 2003

This Late-late show is my favorite late night talk show, and it's still fresh and funny after 10 years on the air. (Has it really been ten years already?!). I still remember the very first show, and still remember some of the lines from Conan's first monologue.

I like the quirky, you-never-know-just-what-to-expect humor that Conan can spontaneously generate. I think he is able to do more "cutting edge" stuff - things that Letterman and Leno can only dream of. This is perhaps due to the fact that Conan comes on so late, that most viewers who don't have the necessary "cutting edge" sense of humor have already gone to bed - after having been suitably numbed by the more conservative routines of Letterman and Leno.

Though Letterman and Leno are both admirable comics, they have been relegated to little more than telling carefully thought-out jokes on their shows. Whereas Conan comes out acting spontaneously funny/crazy/weird; the show comes across as more of a mad-cap adventure for the viewer. So it's more fulfilling. Oh, and the Max Weinberg Seven: great band!

I'm glad that the Comedy Central channel plays the previous night's show every night at 7 PM then repeats it the next day at 1 PM. Now I no longer have to stay up late or even set my VCR.

(I think the only thing that helped me survive the Clinton presidency was the "talking lips" skit that Conan's show did all through the Clinton scandals. Those were priceless!)

***Edit*** I need to update my comment with more up-to-date info regarding the note about the Comedy Central channel airing repeats of the previous night's show. This is no longer the case. However, CNBC currently repeats the previous night's "Late Night with Conan O'Brien" at 4 P.M.

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 36 people found the following review useful:

My Fave Lines from the show...

Author: decrepitbricks from Australia
20 December 2004

MOVING LIPS: "you can't jingle half the way...you've got to jingle ALL the way!" (Making fun of Arnold)

"Of course I threw him off the cliff...how else is he gonna be gravity savvy?" (Steve Irwin's baby stunt)

"Ooh Conan, you're making bubbles devilish" (Michael Jackson)

FINISH THIS SENTENCE: "My first pet was...delicious" (Star Jones)

THE PROTECTORS SKIT: "The legal age to pose in this magazine is 18 years old. How old were you when you started?" "I was...21" "21? That's not exactly 18, is it? How dare you!'(Barely Legal)

I also LOVE the Walker Texas Ranger lever...Conan's a classic. 10/10

Was the above review useful to you?

23 out of 40 people found the following review useful:

funny and better music

Author: cheeseboy80
12 November 2000

not only this show is funnier than Jay Leno and David Letterman. This show have much better music guests than those shows. Jay Leno have mostly no-talent teenybopper popstars and sell-out bands. This show have mostly underground metal and rock music. You hardly will see any teenybopper bands on this show. That what make this show great and funny at the same time.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 10:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history