IMDb > "Grace Under Fire" (1993) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Grace Under Fire"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsmessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Grace Under Fire" More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 9 reviews in total 

24 out of 27 people found the following review useful:

Grace is my co-pilot.

Author: Jenny Nemesis from 9th Circle of Hades
23 September 2001

I don't understand these complaints about "cliched strong women" and "yet another brassy know-it-all female"-- all TV ever gives us is bimbos as role-models, and you complain about a rare jewel like Grace? Just goes to show how fragile men and their little egos can be. This show was the best of the best. I'm sad the Big Recession had to end and all these Strong Women shows are over, and the Man Shows are back... because we NEED more brassy know-it-all women like Grace. We need an alternative to show our daughters on TV, to keep them from developing bulimia and learning phrases like "Math is hard! Let's go shopping!"

If you had a hideous screeching racist mother-in-law, delinquent kids, a retarded deadbeat ex-husband, and a bunch of goober co-workers at the oil refinery, what would stop YOU from getting loaded? The fact that Grace stays sober under all this is as perfect a role model as you could wish for. The character doesn't (because she's a TV character), and I frankly don't care what the actress does. Grace is brilliant, incisive, witty, vulnerable, and after all, human.

Where else can you hear lines like: "When we're married, we treat our men like vegetables; when we're divorced, we treat our vegetables like men"? All hail.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

My Favorite Sitcom

Author: connel from South Carolina
13 October 2000

"Grace Under Fire" was a great sitcom. It had unique characters and a wonderful story line. Brett Butler was able to use some of her own life experiences to make the show realistic, yet funny. She did an excellent job of portraying Grace Kelly. Brett is the only comedian that I think fitted the role of Grace perfectly. The other cast members of the show were just as perfect for their roles. This show had a lot of talented people on it, and I wish the show was still on. This is, and always will be my favorite sitcom.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

A Fire that needed stoking by the end

Author: Flippitygibbit from Yorkshire, England
16 August 2001

I loved this series, starring Brett Butler as a strong, yet fallible, recovering alcoholic with three children and a history suitable for talk shows. Or I loved the first few seasons, anyway - my local station messed the show around so much that, when I finally got to see it again, the characters had changed, and most of the humour had gone. With the initial seasons of 'Grace Under Fire', I found it hard to believe the rumours about Butler's personal life intruding onto the set. In fact, I found it hard to believe that Grace Kelly (with a mother-in-law called 'Jean' Kelly - I loved those subtle references, and contradictions - how different could Grace have been from her film star namesake?) wasn't a real person. Everyone on the show in the early years were very believable and very, very funny, Butler and Dave Thomas (Russell, the pharmacist) especially. And far from being another cliched show about 'survivor'-type women, I admired the character of Grace in a way that I didn't with 'Roseanne', a show with a similar premise of a woman (and mother) battling against life. But, as with anything, I think Grace finally ran out of steam, and introducing an older, illegitimate son tipped the balance, in my opinion.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

A comedy with a somewhat realisitic outlook on life

Author: JET ACE
20 March 2001

A sitcom, that proved comedy could be down to earth. I enjoyed this show. It wasn't that bad. The strength it had was the characters. By season 5 the decision to get rid of one character altered the shows chemistry. However, BRETT BUTLER proved she had talent and the writing at times was not bad..in fact, the stories not bad either. GRACE UNDER FIRE, was about a working mom trying to keep her head above water. I enjoyed the performance of WILLIAM FICHTNER as SPARKS and "JIMMY" GEOFF PETERSEN....who could probably play a cop in a action move. The funny thing is by season 5 there seems to be a effort to move the character of grace and jimmy back together yet , this was hampered when the show was cancelled. The show was entertaining and can be seen in syndication. However, when it was released was very popular. The show took serious topics like alcohol and unrequieted love and spousal abuse and made us laugh and sometimes think. Not a bad show for ABC, in the day before the current rave REALITY BASED GAME SHOWS.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Good stuff.

Author: NiaRhiannon
10 January 2002

I'd just like to combat the last viewer comment I saw up here, which was slightly sexist and rather negative about the show. 'Grace Under Fire' did slip in its later seasons, but originally it was a clever, well-written show with a tight, vibrant cast and some great lines. I'm glad to see it airing in syndication now.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

I loved this show!

10/10
Author: kurtka69 (kurtka69@yahoo.com) from Massachusetts
31 July 2006

It ran during a time when I wasn't watching much TV, but I really enjoyed it. I just caught a rerun on the Oxygen Network, and it was nice to see it again.

Brett Butler is one of the most talented actors ever. Her show was clever, smart, and free of the saccharine that plagues a lot of sitcoms. The supporting cast—Dave Thomas, Paul Dooley, Tom Poston and others—fleshed out a genuine portrait of America with believable, sympathetic characters. I'd love to see Ms. Butler do another TV show. I know I'd watch it.

I caught her once on "Celebrity Jeopardy," and she showed that she's as smart as she seems. I don't mean to ignore the rest of the cast, but hell, Butler is one of the greatest talents out there, and I miss her show.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Brett, You Are Still # One With Me!!!!!

10/10
Author: CYNDY MOORE from United States
2 September 2006

"Grace Under Fire" was a show that I could understand and identify with, it was very realistic, it was entertaining, and at the same time, it touched on a lot of subjects in a short period of time. I am very sure that she touched a lot of other lives as she has touched mine. I continue to watch, and tape her reruns, and when I need a laugh or a pick-me-up, I put one of my many tapes in and watch them. (they are 8 hr tapes so I get a lot of joy from them) I have just discovered that her shows are out on DVD, That is good news to me, I am checking into that. I wish that there was a way that someday she would make a comeback or something similar, I miss her wit and brass charm. A True Fan Forever. Cyndy

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

A great start, a tragic end

Author: SpideyTerry from Ardmore, PA
9 January 2000

Grace Under Fire was a great show that was very funny. The series was clever and witty and very humorous. But Butler's apparent (and might I add obvious) problems hurt the show. At the start, the show's quality didn't suffer, but the final season took a massive blow. Bretler's problems had finally really hurt the show in the ratings and caused it's cancellation. A shame.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 37 people found the following review useful:

Grace Under Fire

Author: Tim Cox from Marietta, OH
21 September 1999

One of the great mysteries in the history of television: How did this show last? So-called comic Butler broke into prime-time television with yet another sitcom about a brassy, know it all female who tells it like it is. When Butler wasn't drunk or busy on drugs, the show was occasionally humorous. Frankly, the fact that the show lasted as long as it did shows ABC's "eye" for talent.

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history