IMDb > Scent of a Woman (1992) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Scent of a Woman
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Scent of a Woman More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 5 of 32: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]
Index 313 reviews in total 

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

A movie that has a large mixture of everything good!

10/10
Author: Sneaky_Pete_XXVII (sarimos@hotmail.com) from Napanee, Ontario
22 August 2002



"Scent of a Woman" does everything, and has everything that a movie should. With a unique and strange blend of boldness, emotion, cars, booze, women, etc, this movie seems to pull it off perfectly, effectively and with a hint of class. Both Al Pacino and Chris O'Donnell do an excellent job of performing as the roles of Lt. Col. Frank Slade and Charles Simms. As if they were born to take those roles, they both seem to slip into the character with complete accuracy. Not only do we see a great blend of fascinating material; but we also see a large amount of versatility in Pacino. We see a person who is both bold and sensitive, angry and supportive, etc, etc. As for O'Donnell, we see a character who's naive and understanding, smart and gentle. What I'm getting at is that "Scent of a woman" is a movie of great excellence and would probably be enjoy by anyone.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Al pacino shines in scent of women!!!

Author: chinaboy from China
30 May 2001



A blind ex-officer Lieutenant Colonel Frank Slade (Al Pacino) goes on a trip to New York city to end his miserable life with a top student Charlie Simms (Chris O'Donnell) who serves as a baby sitter. Their Friendship and affinity are brewing on such a soul- searching trip. Having gone through all the twists and turns, they both find their renewed lives back. The simple plot has nothing to do with the eye-catching title, but Al pacino¡¯s performance really inspiring. Judging from its script, this movie might be nothing but a tedious and even repellent one, but The two protagonists Al pacino and Chris O'Donnell amazingly elevate this low-budget and silly-plotted movie on to one of the classic Al¡¯s masterpieces. Al Pacino again brings his artistic talents into full play by playing the blind officer, who enjoys flirting with girls, tends to speak sentimentally and possesses such an ability to see through others with his sharp eyes that nothing can escape his notice. Al, in this movie, talks Charlie into joining him on the trip, then manages to keep him in company. There are many delicious moments of the movie , among which Tango is no doubt an excellent scene, in which Al shocks me with his fantastic and masterful dancing skill!!! In contrast,Chris O'Donnell gives a fine and competent performance although he by no means matches up well to Al. He is a student with full scholarship. He goes to Al in response to an advertisement for a baby sitter, but only to find Al is the one he needs to care for. At first, Al is knotty and troublesome, but as movie goes on, Al¡¯s true life and past reveals, he becomes aware of the real purpose of his trip.While experiencing ups and downs together, his curiosity about Al grows as his compassion for him develops. He prevents Al from committing a suicide which Al thinks himself is a glorious end. In a sense, he helps Al recollect faith and courage which used to be suffocated by his blindness by an accident in war. In the meantime Chris O'Donnell is caught in trouble back in his school. He is being used as a scapegoat for the trouble made by his wicked fellow classmates. In the end of the movie, he is put on a trial in school. When he is faced with a bitter choice between being expelled and retaining his seat in the prestigious school at the expense of his integrity, Al saves him by showing up and giving a inspirational speech on truth of friendship and importance of life choice. I think car-driving and suicide attempt deserve a second viewing. As a blind car driver, Al shows excitement and calmness about driving in contrast with Chris O'Donnell nervousness. Although in my opinion this suicide attempt seems a little contrived , Al still captures Lieutenant's mentality exactly. The only flaw in the movie is Chris O'Donnell, who could have delivered a much better performance if given a more intelligent script and more room to act emotionally. Finally, the speech by Al in the end is full of wisdom and inspiration. Faced with choice between betrayal and integrity, Charlie hesitates but eventually chooses integrity instead of selling friends. Al defends and protects him by defying the absurd accusations by school authority and convinces them of the truth of friendship and importance of life choice.¡°He has come to the crossroad , he made a choice and he choosed the right path, this boy¡¯s future lies in yours hands, it is a bright future, embrace it , not destroy it, believe me, one day you will be proud of it.¡± Al¡¯s voice is always so real, so convincing, and so reasonably aggressive!! I just enjoy watching and listening to him !!! the movie earns Al an Oscar award for best actor in 1992!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

A Hearted Story

10/10
Author: Amsomnia Studios (lerkim@gmail.com) from Denmark
21 February 2006

This movie i Thought i would lay out my meanings about. This movie is so special in my heart and so i promise it will in yours also. It is probably the best ever made my Alpacino. Well i cannot really put so many words to it but i shall try. Beautiful,Hearted,Special,Awesome. Hmm it is a little hard to say what this movie means to me but i will say this movie will make you cry and feel a special sensation in your heart. And last i just wanna say you cannot leave this world before you have seen this it is so special that it needs to be seen thats what i think. Alpacino is doing what he does best he plays a blind Man who is taking a trip to new york with a babysitter in some sort but i will not say more

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Performances to Remember and Treasure

10/10
Author: gradyharp from United States
8 February 2006

Now and then it is refreshing to turn back time and elect to watch older films of substance, a reminder that there are certain cinematic characters that have become indelible. SCENT OF A WOMAN provided Al Pacino a stage on which to perform a true character, unlike any he had played before, and make it one of those creations that still, 15 years later, evoke a smile and applause.

Blind, acerbic, loudmouthed, irascible Lieutenant Colonel Frank Slade (Pacino) hires preppy, in need of money, Charlie Simms (Chris O'Donnell) to escort him to New York for a 'final fling'. Charlie has his own issues that depress him, but the two end up having such a grand time in New York that they bond strongly - until Slade dresses for his final moment. The tearful Charlie convinces Slade not to off himself, Charlie's innate character wins Slade's gruff heart, and Slade ends up defending Charlie in an unforgettable prep school 'mock trial'.

The complete manner in which Pacino inhabits this role is a stroke of studied genius: as a blind man his every physical and verbal movements are wholly convincing. There are many fine moments in this film, not the least of which is the famous Tango scene, or the confrontation between Charlie and Slade regarding a suicide plan. Pacino won Best Actor for his role and it is richly deserved. This is a film to cherish. Highly Recommended. Grady Harp

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

For me, more moving than 'It's a Wonderful Life'

10/10
Author: landline from United Kingdom
23 September 2005

I just watched this movie again on the TV and have done at intervals of maybe four years since it's release. For the first time it has brought tears to eyes! It's just a beautiful, beautiful film. The performances are superlative, particularly of course from The Maestro, the soundtrack is thoughtfully and expertly mixed (as is the cast) and the interplay between the leads is genuinely heartwarming. Of course, the script and story underpin the work but the premise of adult learning from youth has only been rivalled by 'Rushmore' as far as I'm concerned. It's just lovely : ) Watch it, and when your kids are old enough to understand it make them watch it too.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

A blind man with a perfect Vision

10/10
Author: iamnobody from India
12 August 2005

Al Pacino at his best. Never seen a better drama that this. The background music is wonderful and the sentiment flows through out the movie. Charlie simms the ideal student with excellent integrity has some trouble going on in the university. He has to work in the weekends , find a part time job for his livelihood. He is a merit student and is excellent with his academics. To his dismay(initially) his weekend job turns out to be more adventurous than he could ever imagine. With his troubles already at peak in the university, his adventure turns out to be learning lesson for him and also to the person who is none other than Al Pacino(blind retired army officer). The whole movie glitters with exuberance. The last 30 mins are quite remarkable and to be honest the heart of the movie especially the climax scene. To be frank i saw the climax about 20 odd times :) and i dare say that every man on the earth will like it.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Pacino's brilliant Oscar winner!

Author: Elizabeth (endofroad2@aol.com) from NY
29 January 2002

Al Pacino gives one of his best performances as Col. Frank Slade, a blind man who just exists after a drunken accident caused his blindness. Chris O'Donnell is also great as student Charlie Simms, who agrees to be a sort of guardian to Slade during the holidays in order to raise some money. The relationship that develops between the two men is, in my opinion, one of the most memorable in film history.

Everyone remembers certain scenes (the tango scene, Colonel Slade driving, etc.), but the rest of the movie is also fantastic. This is a must-see movie for every film fan. I give "Scent of a Woman" a 10 out of 10!

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Nowadays, it's hard to believe that this was directed by the same guy who did "Gigli".

8/10
Author: Lee Eisenberg (lee.eisenberg.pdx@gmail.com) from Portland, Oregon, USA
11 October 2005

After twenty years as an A-list star, Al Pacino took home an Oscar for his role in "Scent of a Woman". He plays blind Lt. Col. Frank Slade, who talks like he's ready to tear your throat apart, but has a heart of gold. Sound like a cliché? Well it's not. "Scent of a Woman" succeeds where so many movies have failed, probably because Al Pacino is in the lead role (almost anyone else very likely would have turned the character into a maudlin dweeb).

Anyway, the story has college student Charlie Sims (Chris O'Donnell) agreeing to be a caretaker for Col. Slade, and the colonel takes Charlie on an adventure that he'll never forget. Along the way, a rather unusual event happens at Charlie's college (that scene will most likely make you at least giggle if not break out into laughter), and the colonel sees no choice but to get involved.

Among other things, this movie has a number of people who weren't yet famous but would make their marks in later years: Philip Seymour Hoffman as Charlie's friend George, James Rebhorn as the dean, and even Frances Conroy several years before "Six Feet Under". "Scent of a Woman" is like a breath of fresh air in the stench of so many lousy movies. Which brings us to the question: why did director Martin Brest have to direct that god-awful "Gigli"?

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

A very moving piece.

8/10
Author: Ben Parker (ben.cheshire@optusnet.com.au) from Australia
27 November 2003

The sentiment in "Scent of a Woman" does not feel false or forced - it is yearned for. This is the first movie in a long time where i've not found myself looking at how long there is left about half way through. I didn't want it to end, and now its over i have this lingering affection for it. I knew this would be a beautiful movie, no matter the outcome, when Colonel Frank Slade (Pacino) lets his newly hired assistant Charlie Simms (Chris O'Donnel) know, as they sit at a lush meal, in an expensive restaurant, where they came from their hotel, the Walforf-Astoria, that while they are in New York, Slade plans to drive a ferrari, sleep with a beautiful woman, and lay down on his bed and blow his brains out.

This is a movie about what there is to love in life - what reasons there are to live. And for Colonel Slade, above all things, that is making love to a woman - and a distant second, driving a ferrari.

Feminists may find themselves uncomfortable when seeing this movie - because it indulges in a traditional stereotype of women, putting them up on a pedestal, so that they're so special they can not even be spoken to as a man can speak to a man. In many ways (contrary to what you might think) this is a man's picture. Its about the brotherhood between men, where the highest virtue is integrity; and its about man's love of women. In fact, women only pop up in this picture to serve the needs of the male characters, and the male scriptwriters. The most memorable of these cameos, of course, is Gabrielle Anwar, in the magestic (and famous) tango sequence. It surprised me that Anwar didn't return, until i realised that she was only there to dance with Slade, and what was important was the relationship between Slade and Simms.

So although this movie is very much about men, and is very old-fashioned in its value system, it is these things in an affectionate way. Since women consider this a chick flick (i think), then perhaps they like the way they look through men's eyes?

In any case, this is a special movie, which leaves you with a lingering feeling for it.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Al Pacino's finest performances

10/10
Author: Mika Pykäläaho (bygis80@hotmail.com) from Järvenpää, Finland
25 March 2002

I've often wondered what is the very greatest, most colorful, stylish and intense performance of an adored movie legend Al Pacino. It's such a hard choice to pick just one role considering how outstanding his career has been. He played Michael Corleone in the celebrated "The Godfather" -trilogy, Tony Montana and Carlito Brigante in Brian De Palma's marvelous masterpieces "Scarface" and "Carlito's way" and he has an enormous amount of terrific roles in amazing films like "Dog day afternoon", "Heat", "Donnie Brasco", "The Devil's advocate" and so on.

I haven't come to my final conclusion yet and I probably never will but naturally it goes without saying his phenomenal, Oscar awarded performance in "Scent of a woman" is one of the most magnificent highlights of his career. Chris O'Donnell is surprisingly good in his fourth film role as youth called Charlie Simms but Pacino indisputably steals the show with his clever and impressive acting. Story is rather touching, definitely funny and to cut it short: irresistible. No doubt Pacino is one of the great ones and if I claim that he's still going to be in the numerous excellent films I think my expectations aren't gratuitous.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 5 of 32: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history