IMDb > Reservoir Dogs (1992) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Reservoir Dogs
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Reservoir Dogs More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 11 of 88: [Prev][6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [Next]
Index 873 reviews in total 

Quentin Tarantino is here to stay

8/10
Author: blazesnakes9 from United States
16 June 2014

Before making his name well known in Hollywood, Quentin Tarantino worked as a video store clerk before directing his first feature length movie. Reservoir Dogs was his first feature and boy, it was very good. In fact, I believe that when they pick out the best Tarantino movie of all time, my best guess is that they will have a field day with this film and his other works.

The story centers around four professional criminals with false aliases. They are: Mr. White,(Harvey Keitel), Mr. Blonde, (Michael Madsen), Mr. Pink, (Steve Buscemi), and Mr. Orange, (Tim Roth). All four men are involved in a robbery that went wrong. The bosses, Nice Guy Eddie, (Chris Penn), and his father, (Lawrence Tierney) got the message clear. But, what went wrong and who is the rat? Told through sharp dialogue and in flashbacks, the criminals try to figure what to do in this situation. The plot of this movie is dialogue driven and every piece of information is either spoken directly from the characters or told through flashbacks.

Tarantino has a ear for words. In fact, this independent film was made on a low budget and doesn't consists of any big budget special effects or explosions. While I was watching Reservoir Dogs, I was reminded that the artistry of the movies is not about action, but dialogue. It seems that in this world of today, movie goers are somehow drawn to the loud and sometimes obnoxious world of action. But, this is more than just your average crime caper film. An example of just how sharp Tarantino writes dialogue is the opening scene where we see the gang having a conversation in a diner. With this, we, as the audience, feel like we are eavesdropping on their conversation. Even more to the point, these characters aren't really talking about the actual crime they are going to commit. Rather, they are talking more about Madonna "Like a Virgin" than the robbery. That kind of trademark is always essential in all of Tarantino's movies. The main characters talk about pop culture and especially make movie references in either a diner or a restaurant.

The performances by Harvey Keitel, Tim Roth, and others including Penn and Tierney are very good. Keitel, who was also in another daring performance in Bad Lieutenant that same year, gives a commanding performance as Mr. White. Out of all of the main characters in the movie, I happen to enjoy watching Keitel's character walk through this movie, trying both to figure what happened and also keep his loyalty and respect to his boss. Tim Roth, who played Mr. Orange, is wonderful and also very realistic. The reason why I mention realistic is that throughout the entire time, Mr. Orange can be seen bleeding out on the floor for a very long time. Also, the bonding between Mr. White and Mr. Orange resembles a symbol of camaraderie between two soldiers who have went through a harrowing and violent scenario. But, one character who is different from all of the other characters is Mr. Blonde, who is played by Michael Madsen. He is very twisted when it comes to violent. One famous sequence in the movie is when he tortured a cop by tying him up in a chair and cutting off his ear. Later on, he threatens to set him on fire. That kind of violence is not glorified, but a lot of people were stunned and disgusted by that scene. For me, Tarantino know how to cut away from the violence so that you don't see the razor slicing the cop's ear.

Tarantino often writes movie references in his scripts and at certain times, bring influences to other genres as well. This is evident in Reservoir Dogs. The characters stated movie references from the 60's and mostly the 70's, creating a sense of pop culture. I know for a fact that for all of its intentions, this movie deserves to seen more once. It is twisted because of the story of a gang trying to recover the diamonds and also figure out what went wrong. It is screwy in the way that these characters talk and act toward each other. Unlike other crime movies, the characters who portrays criminals are more calm and more relaxed than other movie criminals. In other crime movies that I've seen, the criminals act rough toward each other and also to the women. Here, there is one minor female character, which is the waitress in the beginning of the movie. But, after that, no other female speaking parts.

Reservoir Dogs works as a mystery film, as a violent and bloody gangster picture and also as a movie of its own. If there is one other thing that I would say is that Quentin Tarantino will be around for a very long time. ★★★ 1/2 3 1/2 stars.

Was the above review useful to you?

The masterpiece

10/10
Author: wasim sk from India
1 June 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

this is my first review so don't expert much of a critic from me and also i am not much of person who really thinks about a movie to depth while watching , i am just a person who loves to see movies and feel awesome whenever came across a really great movie like this, i am writing this review just so i can complete the profile checklist given by this site, i am quite nervous as i am not much of a writer and i don't want make a fool out of myself by judging some movie i saw few times. so i m writing a review to the movie i saw many times and can still watch for hours in my free time this is that kind of a movie. i just liked it so much that i felt in love with this movie and its characters. i love all the characters but for me to pick one i will go for Mr.Blonde it was the first time i liked a character who was a psychopath (after joker of course.) and didn't felt awkward about it. the best part about the film are its dialogue. i want to write more more but i am way too lazy about it but its a one of best movies i have ever seen and i recommend anyone and everyone about this.

Was the above review useful to you?

I am hooked on a feeling!

9/10
Author: daleksek1 from United Kingdom
23 May 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This is one of my favourite first debut films from a director, Reservoir Dogs is a classic film. Very quotable and will go down in history as the best heist film, that never shows the heist. It has one of the best movie soundtracks of all time! All brilliantly timed. The acting in this movie is outstanding. Harvey Keitel is cool and calculated. Steve Buscemi is awesome in a very Buscemi like performance! Tim Roth is the standout performance to me, he plays his character with such precision. The Story is simple, but effectively entertaining. A master class in Budget film making. It does have a shock scene, when someone ear gets hacked of to a 70's song. It is quite uncomfortable to watch, but gets the idea of brutality across to the viewer I love this movie and so should you!

Was the above review useful to you?

Brilliant

10/10
Author: grantss from Sydney, Australia
19 April 2014

Brilliant crime-drama. Quentin Tarantino's first movie as a director. With a meagre budget, he made a masterpiece.

All the Tarantino trademarks are there: the witty dialogue, gritty characters, graphic violence, elaborate and detailed - yet watertight - plot, the character development, the backwards-and-forwards-in-time effects, excellent, well selected soundtrack.

Casting was spot on, and every actor plays out of his skin. Nothing seems forced, and the characters gel perfectly - you wouldn't even know anyone was acting.

One of the most brilliant movies ever made. Certainly the best directorial debut ever.

Tarantino went one further with his next movie, making the greatest movie of all time - Pulp Fiction.

Was the above review useful to you?

Sharp direction, sharp dialogue and sharp suits.

9/10
Author: BA_Harrison from Hampshire, England
15 March 2014

There are two ways one can view a film like Reservoir Dogs (and, indeed, much of Quentin Tarantino's work): a) as an uninspired hodge-podge of ideas blatantly lifted from countless other movies (in this case, a large helping of '80s Hong Kong action thriller City On Fire with countless 'nods' to other crime classics along the way), or b) as an exciting, stylish and highly entertaining exercise in revisionist film-making that sees a bold director mining the work of others to forge a classic of his own.

Even though I find description a) applicable to a fair number of QT's films, I cannot help but fall in the latter camp with his debut offering, finding it to be a testament to his deep understanding and appreciation of his medium and his remarkable acuity as both writer and director (he acts in the film too, but two out of three ain't bad, I suppose). In the hands of a lesser film-maker, such an 'homage' would simply be deemed a lazy and unethical exercise in plagiarism, but with Quentin at the helm, infusing proceedings with his unique sense of cool, the whole affair becomes a mesmerising melange of movie-making techniques, a patchwork of pulp excellence that bristles with pithy dialogue and contains many a memorable moment.

I can't say the same about Jackie Brown, Kill Bill Vol.2, Death Proof or even Django Unchained.

Was the above review useful to you?

A new dog in town that can show old dogs new tricks

8/10
Author: videorama-759-859391 from adelaide, australia
13 March 2014

This is Tarantino's baby, the film that started Tarantino mania. While this one was the sister, the widely more popular Pulp Fiction being the brother, here is a new trend in storytelling that works beautifully. Basically the plot has a diamond heist go wrong when one of the thief thugs is undercover. You'll find out later in the film, who is it. With the two holding out in a warehouse, a rendezvous, where one of them has been shot, and losing a massive amount of blood, the sight would make you faint, if you were in his place, it now becomes a waiting game, where more people start to show up. One being of course, the notorious Mr Blonde (Madsen) in a 'never live it down' role as a psycho thief, responsible for that infamous ear hacking cop scene, where he likes to throw torture and dance in together. Our anxious and p..sed off dogs retrace their steps, as to how the heist became a bungled mess, one of them, Mr Pink, (the wuzz of the group) convinced they have a rat among the group. Reservoir Dogs has a simple plot, but it's brilliance, lies in the way in how the stories told, in interesting use of flashbacks. I've never seen them work more beautifully in this film while being darn entertaining. We have nice little extras too. We hear a dirty side splitting tale, told by Penn, regarding an incident involving a p..is and wacko glue. We have another one in fictional flashback tale, as told by Roth in the Men's, which is occupied by four deputies. How the film starts off, is admirably great, in that pancake house where the suited up guys, all of dangerous ilk, are chinwagging and disputing the story behind Madonnas's hit 'Like a Virgin'. Minutes later when it comes to tip time, Mr Pink who eventually backs down (wuzz) argues over the point of tipping these waitresses, where through some of the dialogue here, sex is inferred. But also Mr Pink, argues about his low quota of coffee's he's been served. Then we hear more on the subject of tipping from Keitel's character here, who does the film solid. There's great moments of conflict and some frank and brutally bloody moments, like Roth bleeding all over the backseat, and in perpetual moments in the warehouse. Too is another cool scene, involving two cops massacred in their car, as Mr Keitel (Mr White) unloads. RD is a colourful crime thriller, and a great starting point for Tarantino. It's always the one fans are gonna look back on, as what evolved was a cult following from this uniquely talented young director who honestly can't be outdone. You couldn't ask for a finer cast or kickarse dialogue and script in a beautifully executed telling of story.

Was the above review useful to you?

Hilarious Yet Entertaining!

8/10
Author: Govind Nair from Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
9 March 2014

The movie is definitely one of the very few amusing crime thrillers. Although the content exhibited is explicit, it might have probably been the need of the script or to enhance the entertainment sector. The story is about the chaos which unleash when a jewelry heist goes wrong. Story-telling has been unique and absorbing. Certain sequences throughout the movie are ridiculous yet rollicking. The acting department has been well taken care of. The movie possesses a zestful pace and a totally unanticipated climax.

The cast chosen is unquestionably electrifying. Harvey Keitel, leading from the front has been a treat to watch. Accompanying him were Tim Roth and Steve Buscemi who did a splendid job as well. Other characters enacted by Michael Madsen and Chris Penn were comical and lively. Supporting roles played by Lawrence Tierney and Kirk Blatz too were above average. Also, Quentin Tarantino in a cameo appearance was pleasurable.

The direction and the screenplay were the prime reasons behind the movie's success. Drawing out a movie like this is not a piece of cake, but Quentin Tarantino clearly managed to make a hit. Editing has been supreme. Due to limited number of locations, there was no requirement of skilled cinematography. Music department was mediocre as well.

All in all, the movie is a fun-feast for entertainment-loving audiences. The movie has sequences filled with violence, foul language and outrageous conversations. People who take interest in watching movies with a very light topic may not enjoy this one. QT fans are bound to get impressed.

Was the above review useful to you?

A great early work by a brilliant director and writer

10/10
Author: Rachel Pierson from Scotland
21 February 2014

All-time classic by Tarantino.

This was the film that launched Quentin Tarantino's writing and directorial career into the heights later achieved. It's a dialogue-driven, low-budget crime thriller that engages from the very first scene through to the tense finale. Not having a huge special effects budget to give audiences a reason to keep watching, Tarantino's script had to be a good one to keep this film off of the straight-to-video path it could have taken. He manages to keep the viewer's attention beautifully, just by using engaging dialogue brought to life by talented actors. Michael Madsen is particularly watchable as the psychotically efficient Mr Blonde, and he really should have been able to build on his increased profile from this film more. (Shame on the network execs who cancelled Vengeance Unlimited a few years later - that was the perfect vehicle for him to go on to bigger things.) Back when this film was first released, it was immediately clear that it represented the inception of a special talent in Tarantino. He's deserved every piece of success he's earned since then. His scripts and director's touch are up there with Sidney Lumet or Orson Welles at their heights. Great stuff.

Was the above review useful to you?

I'am $%$#@ dying here!!!!

7/10
Author: Adam Sentiff (Asentiff2004@yahoo.com) from Houston, Texas
26 January 2014

Six criminals with no connection to one another botch a jewel heist only to begin to question whether one of them is a police informant.

A cult classic with wonderful acting, wonderful pacing and a gripping story. Tarantino makes his big screen debut with this film one in which holds true to his eventual style. Violent, gritty and raw, with a blend of humor as well as a touch of drama. The humor of aspect and the chemistry between the character is part of the undeniable charm of this film. This film in this viewers opinions one of Tarantino's best films and matches the wit and charm of his later films. The music of this film follows suit with its intended emotions. Not specifically an art house film but with an art house feel to it. Wonderful acting by all its principal actors, the viewer will feel as though the walls are closing in around them, with each passing moment. Some detractors of the film may disagree with its glorified violence but it truly is a part of this film that doesn't detract from the overall plot or pacing of the film. Overall any fan of film noir or of a good crime/caper film will find themselves hard pressed to find one that delivers with the overall same feel and approach as this film

Was the above review useful to you?

Despite It's Slick Style And Unique Take, It Leaves You Underwhelmed

6/10
Author: donuthaters12
6 January 2014

Reservoir Dogs is the debut film from Quentin Tarantino and I can definitely say that he is definitely a dime a dozen. Tarantino was bold with making his debut film so unique from the it's competitors at the time.

Reservoir Dogs is written by Tarantino and Roger Avary contributing some dialogue for the film. What Tarantino has written is a twist of a staple story in the crime genre, where the events of the actual robbery is not seen but rather shine a light the events after the robbery. Tarantino could have kept it with that road but instead the film flips back and forth between origin/specific robbery stories and the post-robbery events. The film is driven by dialogue, which is now considered a principle in his films, and the dialogue is definitely different from crime films that preceded this film. Instead of physical actions and deep insight of the character's emotional core, characters are instead shaped by Tarantino's dialogue with characters speaking about themselves or others which in turn shapes our perception of these characters, which I think is important in order to view the plot objectively and not gain a deep attachment to these characters. The issues I had with his script is the underwhelming origin stories that doesn't really show off the wildness and absurdity that is found with many of his future films. The screenplay also felt a little held back on pushing the boundaries of the dialogue when compared to his succeeding films. The dialogue also from time to time jump from being a natural and organic conversation, regardless if they are in a crisis situation, to basic plot driving dialogue.

Quentin Tarantino is an amazing director and even though all of his films are not always in excellent condition, though his worst are miles better than most films it competes with, he still brings a sense of style that defines the film and it's fresh unique take allows us to be curious on what could come on the next scene. Reservoir Dogs is his first film which is the main reason why this film felt a bit rushed or amateurish, not in a bad way but rather in an inexperienced way. The film definitely is limited by a budget and that in a way restricted Tarantino, as he seems to show more crazy and fun sequences when he has the budget for it. The film for the most part keeps me interested with it's great pace and it's characters play with his dialogue, though Mr Orange's backstory did feel tiresome and did feel like walking through a mountain after the swift two thirds of the film. The film's non-linear approach does kind of play off the style that Kubrick applied for The Killing.

Andrzej Sekula is the cinematographer for this film and he returns again in Tarantino's sophomore film. Sekula and Tarantino felt like they were held back in this film due to the budget therefore the film felt like it has this rushed hand held style that a lot of the moments of the film contains but this film does show hints of the photography style that Tarantino employs in his future films, with crooked angles, long takes and long shots of dialogue-full moments allowing the film to feel like a play, which is obvious in this film due to it's budget and boxed story.

This film doesn't include a score and this does in a way allow the film to suffer with moments that felt overstretched and needed that cinematic flair. Pulp Fiction also has these features but it makes up for it by having a sufficient amount of musical nuggets throughout the film that keep it from being stale. Though the musical moments that do cameo in this film are top notch with moments that actually feel more gruesome and horrific than what it already is.

Reservoir Dogs' cast is confined to 10 people and they are given the majority of the screen time, and it most cases it is shared. The actors do play off well with each other and along with the strong dialogue it makes the film entertaining. The standout actors in this film is Harvey Keitel, Steve Buscemi, and Michael Madsen, when they are bantering they all just bring the intensity that the scene required and are able to stay strong and fresh in long takes that includes monologues and subtle physical acting. Tim Roth was a bit of a distraction though, his American accent and the slight over the top acting did have me cringing.

Tarantino's debut does bring something unique and fresh to the crime genre but with an underwhelming screenplay and the inexperience and budget constriction does bring the film down.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 11 of 88: [Prev][6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards Newsgroup reviews External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history