IMDb > Double Trouble (1992/I) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Double Trouble
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Double Trouble More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 18 reviews in total 

23 out of 25 people found the following review useful:

Peter and David Paul : The finest acting duo of our time?

Author: pcarroll25 from KC, MO
11 March 2003

I defy the hardiest film buff to offer up a better one-two punch in cinema than David and Peter Paul. The performances turned in by the "Barbarian Brothers" in Double Trouble is simply beyond reproach and, quite frankly, transcendent. Are these two young men the greatest acting tandem in the history of the universe? I think yes, my friends. Yes.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

the Barbarion Brothers rule!

10/10
Author: Brian Wozniak (BWozniak@cosmology.org) from Brighton, Michigan
11 December 2002

Yeah, this movie is totally cheezy, but the Barbarion Brothers never fail to crack me up, I love these dudes, they're just like big funny kids. This is probably even their least intentionally funny movie. Compared to Twin Sitters or Think Big, this one tries to be more of a real action/crime movie, which adds to the humor. Try to take these guys seriously as cops for a minute, you'll crack up laughing. If you like Terence Hill or the band Sparks, you'll probably get their humor. Goofy for sure! and with a positive attitude that makes you feel good.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Please sir, can I have another?

10/10
Author: Judge_Smails from Australia
26 November 2010

Only once in a lifetime does a movie come along that not only defines a generation but challenges the artistic community to match its awesomeness.

Double Trouble is that movie.

So corny and cheesy that it could feed a starving nation, more mullets than a Billy Ray Cyrus tribute night, a soundtrack swiped from a 70s porno, and acting so good that the only reason that the one of the Barbarians brothers didn't win an Oscar was because they were so inseparably brilliant that it would have been a crime to award it to only one of them.

Can anyone watch this film and see the brothers run (run brothers, run) without wondering if buffalo have become bipeds? Laugh? Though I'd never stop.

This movie was truly mega-awesome but as I watched, cramped in belly splitting convulsions, I felt that there was something missing, some icon that would confirm to me that I was experiencing cinematic nirvana... and then there he was... David Carradine. Enough said.

10 Dolph Lundgrens

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

A B Movie Classic

7/10
Author: staticb from United States
24 September 2007

Some say may say I have poor taste, but to me I just like to accept movies for what they are. Within the very first 10 minutes you can immediately tell this is a B movie affair. The production values are sub par and the acting is uh...basic. However with most B or perhaps C level movies you can find a whole lot of character if you sit on their level. And there is a whole lot of character here. On the whole this movie is charming and plenty entertaining on both a comedic and action level. Probably more so comedy wise than anything else. This movie undoubtedly suffers from the unintentional funnies. Total sober you can hear me giggling away every 3 minutes on the most irrelevant things from the way these muscle bound beasts run to how slightly more fat one is than the other. Not to say there aren't any legitimate laughs in this movie. The writing is decent, nothing too fancy. Plenty will say the Paul/Barbarian Brothers lack of talent. However, I believe there's enough there. They don't look stupid delivering the core content and they deliver the laughs by the truckload even on small liens. You kinda get that brotherly chemistry that I guess could only be gotten from some twins. Plus thanks to their frame they can handle some decent action scenes that appear to cater to what they do best (lift stuff). However, I will admit all hand to hand action was absolutely dreadful. But what do you expect for a B-flick?

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

The greatest movie made since Gone With the Wind

8/10
Author: Randall Phillip (monstermonkeyhead@yahoo.com) from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
17 September 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

For those of you who are not acquainted with the genius of "The Barbarian Brothers," I shall hereby inform you that they are twin body builders with fantastic hair. As opposed to actually being brothers in real life, in this cinematic masterpiece, they play brothers: One is a criminal and one is a cop. The contrast of such polar opposites makes for many peculiar situations between the two young men. Of course with such a highly profound concept, it attracted the stellar talents of Roddy McDowall and James Doohan (Scotty from Star Trek). Excellently, both these fine thesbians utter the eff word, which alone makes it worth seeing this movie. Also, Billy Mummy (The stupid little boy from Lost in Space and the writer/singer of the classic Fish Heads song) is all growed up here sporting a ponytail. He plays a brutally murderous thug with consummate skill and aplomb. And wouldn't you know it, Troy Donahue and David Carradine show up too! Back to The Barbarian Brothers. These guys are just so silly that one cannot help but like them. This movie is quite different from their most astounding classic, "Twinsitters," but it definitely delivers the great dialogue. When remembering their dear departed Dad, the touching conversation goes like this: "Didn't dad have old timer's disease?" "No, you mean Alzheimer's disease." "Yeah, he turned into like Ronald Reagan ya know. Couldn't remember anything. And one day, I guess he couldn't remember to wake up." Too funny! And there's lots more where that came from! There's actually a plot here too, but who cares.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Behold the power of this movie

10/10
Author: MaximumCheese (urbanconfederate@gmail.com) from Chicago
20 June 2005

I just acquired this movie on VHS after seeing bits and pieces of it on late night cable. This has to be one of the greatest movies ever. It combines all of the elements of awesomeness. The camaro, the outrageous mullets (there has to be some kind of irony there, they can't be under the impression that they're anything but a joke with haircuts like that), the cheesy music, the completely unrealistic guns, the hot early-90's chicks, a plot that's more broken than a Chinese motorcycle, the stereotypical "rich white guy" villain, angry black police lieutenant, washed up actors from Star Trek. If I could make two changes to this movie to make it perfect, I would remove the blatantly homoerotic weightlifting (those noises!!), and add some breasts. The acting is painfully cheesy, but that adds to the overall fun of the movie. The scene where the brothers fight is probably one of the greatest fight sequences of all time. I was doubled over with laughter and barely able to breathe due to the hilarity. WARNING: Everyone in this movie is a frustratingly bad shot. They may as well not even use guns, because no one ever hits anything unless it's at point-blank range. '

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

So bad its good? Almost.

3/10
Author: essankay from United States
31 December 2008

This movie is an anachronism. Based on the clothes, music, hairdos, and so forth, it seems like this should be an eighties film.

Horkheimer, Adorno, and others of the Frankfurt School of thinkers argued in the 1940s that mass media was used to control the people and ultimately resulted in sameness. Double Trouble certainly proves the latter. The plot and the villains are all plucked willy nilly from various 1980s films. One of the barbarian brothers accidentally steals a card that gives access to a vault of diamonds just above the subway in downtown LA. The other barbarian brother is a cop forced by the chief to partner with his larcenous brother. Oh, the other barbarian brother...

How could anyone wear what this guy wears? The Raiders sweatshirt/half shirt with high-waisted, acid-washed jeans? But all of that pales compared with the mullets sported by each brother. Paging Billy-Ray Cyrus. The guy can't run either. He has a worse gait than Keanu Reeves.

Whoever thought that wrestlers could act anyway?

This film is about as fragmented and nonsensical as this review of it. In the right company this could be part of a beer-fueled evening with friends, or consumed alone. Regardless, mouths will be agape. The horror, the horror.

Was the above review useful to you?

Come to the Dark side....

Author: mipablito from United States
14 September 2016

This was a great movie / comedy. I never followed wrestling, or knew of the barbarian brothers, but loved this movie. It was so funny when one of them quotes Darth Vader. Roddy Mcdowell plays such a delicious villain. Greedy and Evil. I can't believe he is gone (dies 6 years after this movie, from lung cancer). This is an entertaining, and a very feel-good movie. And, a family movie, with no vulgarity, or inappropriateness. I wonder what happened to the barbarian brothers? Also, takes place in LA.... nice to try to spot the places. Ten lines of text... they gotta be kidding. There is a verse in the Bible with 2 words.... Jesus wept.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Great movie for what it is!

10/10
Author: A P from United States
23 January 2005

sure it has some witty humor. some people seem to compare every movie with Oscar winning films. aesthetic distance....use it. its a great film in my view, but i say so because it is what it is. its not chock full of media hyped stars that line all the tabloids of your grocery store. However, on the level of just a relaxing, funny movie, goofy comedy... it shines through. This is how the majority of barbarian bros movies are. Take it like British comedy. shows like Monty Python are over overlooked for their style of dry humor in the states. however being that it involves you to think a bit, no wonder. This movie however isn't required much thought, but is reminiscent of the three stooges type of comedy. so take it how it is and don't come to the flick with expectations.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

One of the best from the Barbarian Brothers

9/10
Author: (zhoyt-1) from United States
3 April 2005

One of the things that makes the Barbarian Brothers so great is their ability to do both action and comedy and pull both off superbly. This film is no exception to them being able to showcase their unique talents. This film also continues the tradition of them working with great co-stars. Tiny Lister, Richard Moll, Martin Mull (all in Think Big) and now Roddy Mcdowel and David Caradine! In the face of the Barbarian Brothers, most actors just seem to sink into the background, but you have to hand it to these legends to be able to hold their own on the screen and not be drowned out by the amazing screen presence that the Barbarians have. To touch quickly on the movie- Peter and David are two brothers who are on opposite sides of the law but who come together to take down a crooked businessman who's trying to rob the international diamond exchange. As usual Peter and David have GREAT chemistry and it is so fun seeing them play off of their characters differences. This movie really has it all: action, suspense, comedy, tragedy. What else could you want?

Luckily for you fellow Barbarian fans, Encore has been showing this movie lately on both Encore and Encore Action! I've seen it three times so far, hopefully you can catch it and tape it like I did because we all know how hard it can be to track down original copies of Barbarian films. If you like movies, you will love Double Trouble. Don't miss it!

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings External reviews Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history