Como agua para chocolate (1992) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
155 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
8/10
Rich and satisfying
saraarts28 May 2000
Years ago, in California, I walked into a gas station convenience store to buy some consumable or other. The man who took my money was a Mexican emigre, and he saw that I was carrying a copy of the book Like Water for Chocolate by Laura Esquivel. He asked how I liked it, and I told him I was loving it. He told me not to miss the movie.

"Oh," I answered, "but I always worry that the movie will never be as good as the book."

"It doesn't matter," he told me. "This is a very great film. And it is the first real Mexican film I have ever seen shown in this country. You know, to everybody, not just the Mexican community."

I smiled and told him I would check it out, but honestly, I had no idea what he was talking about. After all, I knew who Dolores Del Rio and Cantinflas were, and the movies with them that I had seen were shown in L.A., to everybody.

But now, at last, I have seen this movie, and now, at last, I know what this guy was talking about. Like, wow! This really is a real Mexican film! Art! Cinema! More than just a bit of popular fluff!

Tender, compassionate and very witty, like the book on which it is based, this movie celebrates Mexican culture -- not just on the food, the preparation of which forms the premise of the story, but as kind of a rollicking take on the history of the young country at the turn of the century. It celebrates the music, the style of life on a ranch, the strength of the extended family, the beauty of the land, and the ethnic mixing pot that is every Mexican.

There is so much reckless joy and passionate love in this film, even when it portrays pain. It openly depicts female eroticism. (Plus, for a big change from US cinema, we get to see beautiful men and women of many shapes, sizes and colors all on the same screen.) The acting is flawless, and the star, Lumi Cavazos, is absolutely charming, full of life and credibility.

The only flaws I found in this film were minor and had to do with timing. For example, the final ascent to the climax seems to have been shortchanged a little bit. I would have liked to reach through this scene a little more slowly.

To judge Mexican cinema by the type of films I had seen before this one would be like judging U.S. cinema on the basis of Jerry Lewis or some cheesy melodramas from the '40s and '50s, but not taking into account any of our real film art. I'd love to know what else I've missed. Can't wait to find out.
46 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Let it cast its spell on you
dwr2467 March 2006
Warning: Spoilers
When I first saw this movie, I thought I didn't like it. But when I found that I could think of nothing else for the next several days, I realized that it had cast its spell on me. Indeed, it will take you to a magical place if you let it.

The plot is apparently a common one in Spanish literature. A woman in a loveless but proper marriage has three daughters. Shortly after the birth of the youngest, her husband dies, leaving her a widow with a ranch to run and three daughters to raise. Family tradition dictates that the youngest daughter must never marry, but rather stay and care for the mother as she ages. It is this youngest daughter, Tita (Lumi Cavazos), that we follow as she struggles with this oppressive tradition, which her mother, Elena (Regina Torne) forces upon her. Tita, a beautiful young woman, is loved by Pedro (Marco Leonardi), but his request for her hand in marriage is spurned by Elena, who suggests he marry her eldest daughter, the homely Rosaura (Yareli Arizmendi). Pedro does this so he can live at the ranch and be near Tita. Tita's other sister, Gertrudis (Claudette Maille) and her nurse, Nacha (Ada Carrasco) are sympathetic to her plight. Rosaura is oblivious of Pedro's preference for her sister. Elena, however, is quite well aware of it, and it only serves to enhance her cruelty towards Tita. It's a no win situation for Tita, but she manages to make the best of it, by putting her repressed emotions into her cooking, with some surprising results.

It's not the pleasantest of stories, nor the most sensible. One would think that Elena, who is supposed to be a fairly intelligent woman, would treat Tita more kindly since she is forcing Tita to stay with her. Their conflict resonates throughout the movie, driving the story along with a great deal of power. Along the way, we get a little magic, a lot of humor, and an unfortunately tragic ending. And it is a tale that stays with you long after the movie has finished.

The acting is wonderful. Cavazos gives us a heroine you can't help liking. Balancing her is Torne, who plays Elena with malice that would give even Joan Crawford pause. Arizmendi does a nice job with Rosaura, giving us a character who starts out pleasant enough, but whose upset at what befalls her causes her to become just like her mother. Maille's Gertrudis is a wonderful, if slightly manipulative, free spirit. Leonardi's Pedro is a bit wimpy, making me wonder what Tita and Rosaura see in him, but still turns in a good performance.

The cinematography is gorgeous, giving an enjoyable view of the Mexican countryside. And the presentation of the food is stunning, making your mouth water.

This film is a delight for the senses, and one that is well worth seeing.
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
A cookbook turned fairy tale
donaldavis13 May 2003
Usually when I read a book, I am disappointed by the movie; there is so much more in the written word than can be put on screen. And when I see a movie I never want to read the book afterwards. This was the first movie that I read the book after seeing the movie; Como Agua Para Chocolate is THAT good a movie! And the book is WONDERFUL! The fairy tale aspect of this movie is told subtly, but with a strong Hispanic sense of mysticism-- you have the evil (step)mother, the heroine as Virgin Mary, who has magical powers, unrequited love, the unobtainable prince, and other classic fairy tale elements. This combines with the real elements of the Mexican Revolution and old world family practices revolving around family relations, martimony, and most of all cooking. Food plays a major role in this movie, but even more so in the book. I recommend both the book and the movie.
32 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Very enjoyable movie, educational and entertaining
dthal-14 May 2005
Warning: Spoilers
Like Water for Chocolate is a wonderful romantic movie set in Mexico at the turn of the 20th century during the Mexican revolution. It is the story of a woman named Tita and the love of her life Pedro. When Tita is young, Pedro asks Tita's mother for her permission to marry Tita; however, due to the fact that Tita is the youngest daughter, family tradition bans her from marrying and she must remain unwed to care of her mother. Pedro then marries Rosaura, Tita's sister, and tells his father that he is only marrying Rosaura to be closer to Tita. Very upset by all of this and her loveless situation, Tita infuses her passion and love for Pedro into her food and thus, when people consume her cooking they become intensely aroused, at one point resulting in her sister Gertrudis getting lustfully swept away by a revolutionary soldier. Tita's mother sees that she and Pedro are becoming quite close and so she sends Pedro and Rosaura off to go and live in San Antonio. Tita becomes very depressed and even more depressed when she hears that Pedro and Rosaura's son Roberto has died; so depressed that her mother sends her to an asylum. At the asylum, Tita is brought back to health by a doctor named John Browne. No sooner does Tita begin to recover when her mother is injured by rebel soldiers in a raid and she is forced to return home to her ranch. When Tita returns home, her mother is very bitter and refuses to eat thinking that Tita's food is poisoned and soon dies.

After Tita's mother dies, Tita is allowed to marry and the doctor, John Browne, proposes. John asks Pedro to bless the marriage and when talking to Tita about this Pedro lustfully takes her virginity. The movie continues with the main premise of who Tita will choose to spend her life with, Pedro or John Browne and her battle against her mother's ghost.

The movie interestingly depicts revolutionary Mexico and the soldiers involved. The Mexican Revolution was mainly between supporter of Díaz, very conservative, and supporters of Madero and Zapata who believed in land reform and more help to the indigenous. The fighting between the two factions continued quite intensely until February 9, 1913 when President Wilson sent Madero a message saying that his fighting in Mexico City was dangerous to U.S. citizens and property. Madero hated this foreign intervention, but Huerta was placed in power to quell the fighting. Huerta was well liked by the aristocracy, the capitalists, and church but was hated by Zapata, Pancho Villa, Carranza and Obregón who led the opposition right after his induction as president. The fighting then continued and later even began within the liberal faction, but died down when Carranza was named President.

The movie does a good job showing the different types of soldiers, those with Díaz and those with Madera and Zapata. Tita's sister Gertrudis runs off with a revolutionary and returns later as a general in charge of an army of fifty five men. Tita's mother was harmed by soldiers as well, but a more violent type of soldier. The movie does an excellent job illustrating the uncertainty of the period and the different roles people played. The history is accurate, but I thought it might be a bit helpful for their to be a little bit more background for it could be hard to someone who does not know about the Mexican Revolution to understand what is happening.

All in all, the acting was very good, the storyline was enticing, and the cinematography was excellent. It is definitely a movie worth watching, both as entertainment and as something educational. Rating this movie out of ten points, ten being the highest, I give it a ten easily. It is a very enjoyable movie.
28 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A visually exciting, intensely erotic movie
FrankL17 June 1999
This is a wonderful, fanciful and very erotic movie. It is a rare film that is as good as the book on which it is based. It was a wise decision to have Laura Esquivel, the author of the book, write the screenplay. The story contains so much fantasy, I thought it might be very difficult to translate it sucessfully to the screen, but the results are superb.

The scene in which Tita's sister is so aroused after eating Tita's Rose Petal soup that she literally burns down their outdoor shower from her body heat and then runs naked across the plain only to be scooped up and carried away on horseback by a bandit is one of the sexiest moments ever put on film.

This movie is not for everyone, but if you enjoy erotic (but NOT pornographic) fantasy, try "Like Water for Chocolate"!
27 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A Breath of Hot Oxygen: 10/10
anyazontova4 August 2002
Like Water for Chocolate is a masterpiece in that it conveys the essence of our ancestors' knowledge forgotten in the fast pace of modern living.

It centers around the wonder of cooking: a sacred ritual, not a boring chore; and when done right, with love, it creates magic. Raised and taught to cook by her old Mayan nanny, Tita (exquisitely performed by Lumi Cavazos) masters the near-magical ability of transferring her love and other feelings into her creations passed into one who eats them.

The characters‘ senses are so refined, they enable everyone involved in this family drama to be tuned to the finest nuances of their world, opening the door to non-material pleasures. Rich with metaphors, their language reflects the skills of keen and sometimes humorous observation. The story brings our perception to a different level - as its characters' empathy borders on miracles and magic, and things we only sense and feel become real. Tita's virgin breasts, feeling `like dough kneaded' by strong hands, turn into mature breasts under Pedro's burning eyes (to later start lactating) - their glances, just like her food, becoming the means of communicating their forbidden love.

Yet all magic becomes wasted in the face of a man's choice. The Universe may scream into Pedro's ears about the path he is to take, but if he doesn't follow it, no magic can save him. We witness the story of a fatal attraction between two soulmates, whose passion, confined by an enslaving family tradition, lights up everyone around them... But for themselves, it's so intense, it literally engulfs the lovers in flames. Did they have an alternative? It is for the viewer to figure out.

You may ponder, however, over the young doctor's Indian grandmother saying that `each of us is born with a box of matches inside but we can't strike them all by ourselves; we need oxygen and a candle to help. The oxygen would come from a lover's breath; the candle could be a food, a melody, a word, a caress, or a sound...' He remembers her warning, though, that `it is important to light the matches one at a time' because otherwise the heat generated would produce too dazzling a brilliance.

Thus the wisdom of the ages, just like the power, is passed here through women and the men who are in tune with them. And the intense interactions between the colorful characters of five generations extend to dead family members who continue to counsel or despise the living.

When coming into her room with Pedro after 22 years of their waiting for each other, Tita is greeted by her long deceased nanny lighting her bed and the room with multiple candles. And the consequences of one's actions carries on beyond time - as each person continues her path notwithstanding death.

Hot yellow-red colors intermixed with dense lighting rekindle one's passion for living and appreciation for the gifts and mysteries of the Mexican land. The magic realism becomes a way of living in a culture connected with its heritage.

I recommend Like Water for Chocolate to anyone who feels like he/she is lacking color and passion in life - if watched with an open mind and heart, this beautiful and enigmatic film will stir your senses and imagination and light up your box of matches!
26 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
A great film representation of magical realism
burgan62031 December 2004
I'm greatly surprised at some of the negative comments for "Like Water for Chocolate", many of which state how it utterly failed to capture the passion or the mystical tone of Laura Esquivel's book.

I suppose it's only a matter of opinion(like pretty much everything, I guess), but I thought the movie represented the book's magical realism in a great way. The filmmakers knew not to exaggerate or take everything over the top(which could've been very easy), and this gives the fantastical moments-- such as all the guests becoming ill at the wedding or the shower bursting into flame as Gertrudis bathed-- an essential grounding in reality. This fact is also buttressed by the erotic musical score and the whole cast, who fit the characters from the novel perfectly IMO.

I would recommend giving the film of "Like Water for Chocolate" a go; and trying out the book as well.
16 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A deeply moving and sensuous tale of forbidden love...
entrapment2710 November 2003
I saw Como agua para chocolate partway through on the spanish channel and was immediately entranced by it's raw beauty and emotion.Thank God for those subtitles or I would have moved on. It's a tale of old traditions in Mexico and Tita, the youngest daughter, is the one doomed to follow them.The tradition is that the youngest is to stay with her mother and take care of her and remain single the rest of her life while her oldest sister gets to marry. For Tita though, it's too much for her to bear having fallen in love with Pedro, the one that her sister is to marry. Later he admits to Tita that he only married her sister to be near her.The rest of the story is for you to uncover.

I have never seen a more romantic scene in any movie where Gertrudis runs from the burning shower down the road and is swept into the arms of her lover and carried away. It's a stunningly sensual film that is deeply moving. If you haven't seen it, watch it with a lover.That only adds to the romance of the story!
21 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A Fabulous Fable
Jim B-216 August 1999
Scenes of incredible beauty and humor. This film appeals to all of humankind's tastes (visual, intellectual, gustatory, sexual, etc.) It is one of the greatest romantic comedies showing the lives, values and beliefs of another culture ever presented as a gift to the American public. Be aware though that it is not an experience that will appeal to everyone. You won't enjoy it if you don't love food, have an imagination and understand that daytime soaps are not art.
24 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Unpredictable and romantic
rosscinema19 August 2002
The two things that stood out for me in this film are the telling of this story and how you had no idea what was going to happen next and of course the performance of Lumi Cavazos. Its one of those rare experiences that stay with you long after you have seen the film. Both strong and self assured. Whats really amazing is that its Cavazos first film role (That I know of, anyway) her natural charm is essential to this story. Not a film for all taste's but a very unique movie overflowing with romantic grandeur.
15 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Food can be so Romantic
Mr.Uxo5 January 2002
This film is a palette for the taste buds, a feast for the eyes and an awakening for the romance. In Spanish with English subtitles, Like Water for Chocolate has nothing to do with water or chocolate but rather the magical qualities of food when you put love into the cooking. Its romantic, erotic, dramatic and very funny and highly recommended.
14 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
If giving a movie 0 out of 10 stars was an option.......
Rebecca13 April 2011
Warning: Spoilers
This movie would certainly receive it. After reading the novel, I was really anticipating seeing the movie. The book has excellent imagery, and the plot is extremely captivating. As I was watching the movie, however, I noticed that some things did not make sense. First of all, the novel is just as much about food as it is about forbidden love. So much so that even the title involves food, and every single chapter is based around a certain recipe that is important to the De la Garza's family history. Then why is it that there are so few scenes involving food in the movie? When Tita makes the cake for Rosaura's wedding that makes everyone vomit, there is no visual depiction of her tears flowing into the frosting which is essential to the guests reaction to the cake. What happened to the wonderful description of this scene that is in the novel? Didn't the director find that at all necessary to the plot? I guess not. Another complaint I have is the awful use(and sometimes lack there-of) of magical realism that is described in the novel. Tita's birth is badly filmed and obviously fake. And what about the flood of tears Tita cries after Chencha gives her the ox-tail soup? That appears to also have been unimportant to the director to add into the film, even though it makes for such a touching scene in the novel. Finally, I find the depiction of the Mexican Revolution in the film completely offensive and uncalled for. The director made it seem like the Revolution was so fine and dandy, with the soldiers happily dancing and making cream- fritters. The horribly stereotypical Mariachi music played whenever the soldiers come on camera also makes the film seem quite ridiculous. You can really tell that Esquivel and the director of the film were catering to the Hollywood crowd and not to people who actually understand the seriousness of revolution and how important it was to Mexico. Overall,the bad acting, the telenovela-esque music, and the straying from the original plot made this movie in my opinion, a complete and utter disappointment.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Magic meals and flaming passions
EThompsonUMD8 February 2009
Warning: Spoilers
One of the most favorably reviewed and box-office successful foreign language films ever distributed in the United States, "Like Water for Chocolate" was the collaborative product of Mexican actor/director Alfonso Arau ("El Guapo" to fans of "Three Amigos") and his wife, Laura Esquivel, author of both the film's screenplay and the novel it was adapted from. Like the novel, the film's narrative materials show the heavy influence of "magic realism," a Latin American style of storytelling first popularized in North America and Europe in the late 1960s through the translation of the novels of Nobel laureate, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, especially his masterpiece, "One Hundred Years of Solitude."

As with other works of magic realism, "Like Water for Chocolate" blends elements of realism, dream, and myth to create a world whose surface is mundane but where the fantastic emerges regularly and matter-of-factly. Much of the magic in "Like Water for Chocolate" is linked to cooking, an ordinary feminine domestic activity that becomes a powerful, preternatural vehicle for unleashing the heroine Tita's creativity and passion, both of which are repressed by the machismo culture and absurd female-binding traditions of early twentieth century Mexico.

Befitting the story's origins in the romance genre, passion is at the center of "Like Water for Chocolate." Indeed, the Spanish phrase "como agua para chocolate" is purportedly a familiar Mexican expression describing a person who is about to boil over with sexual desire. (The American expression "hornier than a hoot owl" is a non-culinary - and rather less romantic - equivalent metaphor.) Passion - its expression, repression, or absence - shapes not only Tita's life and marriage, but also the characterizations of the intimidating Mama Elena and of Tita's sisters, Rosaura and Gertrudis, contrasting foils in the matter of female sexuality. Rosaura is bound by paternalistic traditions of restraint and denial while Gertrudis becomes literally inflamed by sexual desire along with adapting a pre-feminist political assertiveness and egalitarianism.

Supporting the unfolding of this Mexican Cinderella tale, the cinematography of "Like Water for Chocolate" exhibits great range and beauty, by turns subtle and breathtaking. The film's lighting styles and color palette are equally effective either in establishing the fable-like mood of the stark Coahuila Desert or in detailing the more realistic ranch house where many of the interior scenes are set.

Topping all, of course, are the set pieces of Tita's sumptuous meals, endless quilt, and fiery bed, unforgettable images through which her sexual being is triumphantly expressed.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Failed experiment
Andy Hall18 October 2002
I expected to like this from what I was told by friends, but it failed as a piece of magical realism and ends up being both goofy and boring. Filled with disgusting offhand comments, bizarre circumstances and completely unlikable characters, I was wondering what people saw in this.

It is pathetic when a women who runs down the road naked, becomes a prostitute and then later turns into a general in the Mexican army is the most realistic character. The rest are just one note characters who never develop into anything.

In other movies which use food as a device, the food serves to bring people together and express something about the characters who made it. In eat, Drink, Man, Woman it is food that holds the family together but is just eye-candy without real flavor until the family is allowed to grow naturally then it turns into a feast. In The Big Night, the fantastic dishes that emerge from the kitchen are not only a great feast but also express the joys that hope can bring.

In this movie, the food is only a symbolic device. It fails to nourish anything.
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Gorgeous cinematic experience that defies categorization
saska-326 June 2003
Warning: Spoilers
Perhaps it is fortunate that I saw "Como agua para chocolat" before I read the novel on which it was based; too often I hear criticism of the film not living up to the book, and feel badly for the viewers who were so busy comparing the two in their minds that they were unable to enjoy what was, for me, one of the best cinematic experiences of my life.

I learned from "Como agua para chocolat" that American movies are constrained by their existence in a single genre. This film is a drama, an achingly tragic romance, a lighthearted comedy, and a fairy tale. It gives equal screen time to each element, without gravity during the "realistic" scenes nor too much levity during the "fantasy" sequences. It tells the story of Tita, the youngest daughter of a wealthy landowning Mexican family, whose fate according to tradition is to care for her mother and live a spinster's life. It is Tita's misfortune to fall in love with - and be loved by - a man she cannot have; he chooses to marry her eldest sister in order to be able to remain in the house with her. The film follows Tita through this pain, her mental breakdown, her return to sanity and her displaced love for her American doctor, who she later marries. It threatens to climax with a happy ending we know we don't deserve, and even when it turns dark, we're left with a sense all the main characters got exactly what they wanted in the end. In an American movie, these actions would either have consequences (and therefore be a drama), or they'd be farcical (and it would be a romantic comedy). Alfonso Arau gives us a history lesson, told with Laura Esquivel's wry wit and deep emotion.

The cinematography and direction are also outstanding; sweeping Mexican landscapes ground the film in both time and place while reverence is paid to the traditions that form the basis of the story. An achingly beautiful sequence details the dressing of the marriage bed for Tita's sister and her new husband. Later, Tita's madness is gently revealed when she is shown staying awake nights knitting a blanket, and is later carted away to a sanitarium wrapped in that same blanket, which trails behind her horse-drawn carriage well beyond the edge of the frame.

Some of the cinematography is lost when reading the subtitles with the film, but I strongly recommend watching this DVD with English subtitles (rather than the English dub) if you do not speak Spanish. There is a richness of delivery in the Spanish dialogue that does not translate in the dub.

I read Laura Equivel's novel several years after I first saw this film, and cooking plays a much greater part in the novel than the film. However, I believe the film wisely centers on the human emotion of its human protagonists, and I am glad the adaptation was in the original author's hands. She knew what she was up to all along.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Definitely over-rated: Can't understand all the good reviews this item received
valleycats28 May 2002
Unless there is some unwritten law that dictates that ALL foreign imports should receive not just a favourable review but also the unflinching adoration and recommendation of movie critics, I simply don't understand all the fuss that was generated about LWFC. If you want to see a really good movie about women, food, love and life, please skip this one and watch Babette's Feast instead. The tragedy of LWFC is in the fact that its story and characters are too idiotic even to watch on the Satellite of Love. This turkey should come with a warning : If forced to watch, fake a headache and go to bed early.
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Starts out well, descends into melodramatic drivel
PeachHamBeach25 April 2011
Warning: Spoilers
SPOILERS FOR SURE

You think you'll be saying Yum, but you'll end up saying Yuck! This story about early 20th century Mexican/Texican women falling in love and grappling with family tradition began on a very promising note. Young Tita is in love with handsome Pedro...though you're never given any real reason to latch onto them or cheer them on. You don't get a story about how they meet, what drew them together...maybe just good ol' hot Latin lust (ew)? Anyway, Pedro marries Rosaura, the older sister, to "be close to his true love" while Tita is bossed around by her bitch of a mother, who isn't satisfied just ruining Tita's lovelife, she has to ridicule and criticize Tita's every move. Tita escapes her daily misery by whipping up delicious foods in the kitchen, but even this isn't given much screen time. Aside from the quails with rose petal sauce, most of the recipes are given a perfunctory glance. Most of the movie consists of Tita and Pedro pining, exchanging a few hasty kisses, and the one sex scene is completely in the dark. In short, this movie really has nothing to offer, even for us pervs who like passionate, if vapid, sex scenes as a last resort for entertainment. The grand climax comes when the two lovebirds finally get their opportunity to be a legit couple, and a spectacular fire erupts as a result of their illicit passions...Repeat after me: vomitrocious!!!

I got this movie because I wanted to see all the recent/semirecent movies about food and love. This one stinks.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Love and cooking, a special combination
dancingmike31 May 2007
Not too much I can add to the great reviews above. The cooking scenes were very close to erotic for me and, apparently the rest of the audience I saw it with. As the film moved along there were more and more audible "yums" and other noises associated with a good meal.

At the end of the film there was a near stampede out of the theater and to the local restaurants. People were running to get there first! My friend and I quickly walked another block for our food. The place filled up rapidly. The host told us he hoped "that film stays there forever, it's almost doubled our business". How often have you been so moved by a film that you sprung into action the minute it was over? That alone puts it in my movie hall of fame.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
The movie was extremely dull compared to the book.
donnact1238 May 2002
I personally think that a movie was very dull, and did not meet the standards that were set by the book. When making this movie I thought that left out many of the important details that were in the book, for example the importance of food which was hardly shown throughout the film. Not one of he recipes were ever said which just made Tita's work seem like mindless acts, and never showed the love that was put into creating each one of the meals. This made the movie seem choppy which made each scene that they showed very short and incomplete. Also it was hard to picture many of the parts because where they supposedly using magical realism just didn't work. By reading this book you get a much better sense of what their family lifestyle was like, and how important food actually was to the family, then watching it on film. After watching this movie i would definitely choose reading the book.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
An Unusual Tale
mnlauer4 July 2002
I liked "Like Water for Chocolate" because I enjoy off beat stories, and this certainly is one!

It was crazy, but fun! I doubt that many will like it because of the sub-titles, but I did not find them a hinderance to the story.

If you are getting tired of Hollywood's "same old-same old" you will like this one!
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
good premise, poor execution
bpalizzolo2210 March 2010
This film had all the ingredients to be a great movie, however, it never materialized on screen. With so many interesting characters, it was disappointing that none of them except Tita connected in a meaningful way and evoked much emotion from from me. Pedro was a prime example of this. Instead of rooting for him, i found myself not only disinterested in his wimpy character but actually disliking him altogether.

Again, i thought this film had a great premise, but failed to deliver on screen. i truly loved the magical realism, and thought the director should have focused more on Titas ability to connect to people through food.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
A true love movie that shows the growing up process of a woman.
Ashley Robinson17 December 2005
Warning: Spoilers
Like Water for Chocolate is a movie that was directed by Alfonso Arau in 1992 that is based on the novel written by Laura Esquivel. Like Water for Chocolate is very interesting and different. For example, there are several elements of magic and the two most important themes of love and the journey of growing up revolve around the script. The main character is a young girl named Tita and the movie tells the entire store of her life. The movie begins with her birth and ends with her death. Most of the magical elements come about through Tita's cooking. Tita loves to cook! Her life is very sheltered because her mother, Dona Elena, is very strict; therefore cooking is the way in which Tita displays her true emotions.

Like Water for Chocolate is about a girl named Tita and her family. Tita is the youngest daughter of her mother, Dona Elena, and because of this status and an old family tradition, Tita is not allowed to marry. Instead, Tita's life duty is to care for her mother until her mother dies. Tita does not approve of this rule, but throughout her youth Tita is always very obedient. However when Pedro, Tita's childhood crush, asks for her hand in marriage, many problems begin. Due to Tita's family tradition of her not being able to marry, Pedro instead marries Rosaura, Tita's older sister, so that he can be close to Tita. Throughout the movie Tita grows as a woman and learns who she really is. She finally stops obeying her mother and decides to live her own life. She becomes more vocal and stops only expressing her feelings through her food, she has a relationship with a doctor named John Brown, and tells her sister off about what happened with Pedro. At the end of the movie, Tita and Pedro finally get to be together. This shows that true love is forever, and what will be will be. The plot is very interesting and true about life. It shows the difficulties and joys of changing from a young girl into a woman. It shows the marvelous journey of finding out who you are. Like Water for Chocolate is a story that is not only about love, but also about the personal growth of a woman. In the beginning, Tita is very nice and very obedient. So much so that even when the love of her life, Pedro, marries her sister Rosaura, Tita remains silent and obedient to her mother. However, as time goes on Tita becomes more independent and begins to make her own decisions, even about her lover Pedro. In Like Water for Chocolate, Alfonso Arau paints a marvelous picture of this transition and of the strong love that exists between Tita and Pedro. The actors and very believable and the music is very emotional moving. For example, when Tita cooks, her emotions can be felt by the audience. Like Water for Chocolate, is a very good and interesting movie. It shows the journey of a woman from birth to death. The audience sees Tita grow up right in front of their eyes. It is a story that makes you laugh and cry at the same time. It definitely shows that love conquers all and that growing up is a wonderful learning process. It is truly a movie that is worth seeing.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
great job at what it is trying to be
tacotiobeto27 June 2005
might not be for everyone but a well done work.

very much of the LatinAmerican "magical realism" school. if you enjoy tales by the likes of Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Isabel Allende, Jorge Amado, etc. and get a kick out of Almodovar films then you will most likely enjoy this.

if those aren't the types of stories that put wind in your sails then I would steer clear of it.

also enjoyable for creating a wistful world on the Texas-Mexico border at the edge of the two cultures and distinctly its own.

happy viewing.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Leonardi and Rodriguez
payoguiri28 April 2006
The film is "loyal" to the novel (Esquivel wrote the novel and the script). Reallized in an expensive way where the American character is NOT the bad guy!

Esquivels novel is very similar to "Las casa de Bernada Alba" from Garcia Lorca!

"Like water for chocolate" was shot in Ciudad Acuna, the town where Carlos Gallardo (the Mariachi from "El Mariachi"!) lived. Robert Rodriguez and him observed the shooting and learned from Araus techniques. In the following summer Rodriguez shot his "El Mariachi" in Ciudad Acuna, where he also made "Desperado" 2 years later.

The young Marco Leonardi who plays the roll of Pedro in "like water for chocolate" appears in Rodriguez' "From Dusk Till Dawn 3, the Hangman's Dauther" as the gunfighting protagonist "Madrid". In "Once Upon a Time in Mexico" he is the third drunken Mariachi next to Antonio Banderas and Enrique Iglesias!

All this because Rodriguez met him in "Like Water for Chocolate"!!!!!!!!1
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
She just can't get it off.
cerniagigante9 November 2005
Warning: Spoilers
If the analogy between food and sex has to be taken to the letter (as the directory desperately and didactically tries to tell us), I'd say that the movie is quite dull and fails to "reach" that spot. There's no development whatsoever in the characters, no blossoming, no flavour history, no smell track: it lacks all the elements that it tries to underline; the only effective character played by the cast is the wicked mother. Too sanitised, unengaging, boring, pathetic. I haven't read the book, but I'm sure the movie has very much spoiled a good book.

Mexico has produced many good movies, this movie doesn't do honour to the Mexican filmography. So much for those who think that the movie is good just because it made it to the US box offices.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews