IMDb > Scorchers (1991) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
Scorchers More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 27 reviews in total 

14 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Most inspiring movie I've seen

10/10
Author: sophia1jg from United States
28 December 2004

I've held Scorchers as my favorite movie since it came out in 1991. I was only 13 at the time of it's release and I have held it dear to me for fourteen years.I adapted the script for the stage as an educational project in 1999 to earn my directing degree. I know every word from every character and I still feel deeply moved and laugh heartily with every screening. The tone and rhythm of the language alone is worth the time. Characters have depth and simplicity, acting is detailed, with subtle moments carefully placed. Direction is fantastic: it's laden with great cinematography and extensive brilliance in regard to honesty, authenticity and commitment. Be ready to experience the hunger of life!

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Basically a play put on film -

8/10
Author: jrome-4 from United Kingdom
2 March 2005

and once you've accepted that then you are fine. Acting as a curtain between scenes are cuts to a camera zooming over a bayou. That said, this is one of my favourite films.

Erotic though it is not. The main topic of the film may be sex but this is more of a psychological exploration than a bit of light porn. If you have rented this film for a night of risqué entertainment then I can see why you might be bored but this would be a problem of marketing more than anything else.

The acting is excellent - especially the scenes between Dunaway, Elliot (it was one of his last films), Jones and Tilly. The music is great as well.

Of course my family crawled from the bayous themselves so that would explain some of my affection for the film but I still highly recommend that everyone see this at least once just for the scene in the local bar which is brilliant. No explosions or special effects but just some really well crafted dialogue being delivered by some very good actors.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Worth a first, and second, look

8/10
Author: debra-ward from Canada
26 January 2005

This is a wonderful movie that my husband found by accident on a movie channel one night several years ago. He said "I have no idea what I'm watching, but it's great" We both were hooked and have been fans ever since. The movie isn't a conventional anything -- it's hard to categorize, and that may be why it hasn't received the attention it deserves. I'm glad it's finally coming to DVD.

Excellent cast portraying odd, but very human and gentle people. Not a love story, but it's certainly about love, and lust and belonging. It also has one of the best father/daughter relationships I've ever seen depicted. Honest even down to the mixed emotions a parent feels when their daughter becomes a grown, sexual person. Funny and warm, its one of the few movies that my husband and I agree on wholeheartedly.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Unexpected

7/10
Author: chriswarren from North of Cuba
3 February 2005

Resembles a stage play. I have only watched it about 15 times in the past few years. The more it is watched, the more it becomes relaxing and comfortable. Unlike the action packed style that we have become used to, this movie does not move at a rapid pace. Very laid back. All of the actors do a fine job. The viewer soon discovers that there is no way to prepare for, and "know" what is going to happen next. After having visited the area, this appears to be based on real people, in real life situations. Answers a few questions that stay in the back of your mind, that you would never ask. Like any work of art, if you don't like it the first time, watch it again. Eventually, it will ease up on you. Like the swamp gator.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

highly recommended

9/10
Author: ndcoder from North Dakota United States
21 July 2005

This movie really took my wife and I by surprise. It starts with a long session of a talking head. I was immediately turned off by this format. However, I continued to listen and found myself hooked. How many directors or writers can make a talking head not only hold your attention but have me riveted to the screen.

We found what I took to be a look at Cajun culture and philosophy to be a beautiful story about love, lust, and family relationships. We now own this DVD and have watched it several times. It is sad to think that this film did not do well at the box office. Most of the our favorite films died at the box office.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Mr Beaird, have I got an idea to have it on DVD?

10/10
Author: jpdegaspar from Madrid, Spain
24 August 2004

Just to keep this alive. If you haven't seen the Europe version of the movie you have missed something really great and special: a five minutes speech of Leland Crooke looking directly to the camera during a long and slow traveling in one single take in which he scratches the surface of magic. The kind of magic you are about to see. Scorchers is a wonderful movie but I am afraid we won't watch it again as it doesn't seem the producers are going to commercialize it on DVD. Maybe only if mister Beaird makes a major hit movie and becomes a major selling director some greedy executive will think about making a DVD of it: "Scorchers, from the director of Beyond The Limits of the Limits" and, maybe only in this one case, greed will become something to be grateful of.

Mr Beaird, if you ever read these pages be merciful. You must have a copy of your movie. Digitalize it WITH the Leland Crooke beginning and hang it on the web. You know they'll never make it on DVD.

Besides, if I am wrong, don't you think that we, the bunch of fans of your movie are not buying it the very day of release, even if we already have it from the internet?

I have been looking for your movie for seven years, since the first time, which was the last time, I saw it on TV. I never succeeded...

You are our last chance! we can't see NTSC in Europe, I don't understand German as it is Germany the only country of the continent where they sell it! I don't even understand English enough not to miss a very important part of the dialogues! I need subtitles!

We Know you won't fail us. You'll hang it or you'll make the smash hit Beyond The Limits of the Limits, just for the greedy executive solution (like Peter Jackson did with The Lord of the Rings to allow the fans having the Bad Taste DVD)

But in case you couldn't, just leave a message right here and I will start German lessons or get myself a green card and I'll make my living in the USA just to have the pleasure of watching your movie again (after the G W Junior's administration, of course)

Thank You

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Scorchers is one of a kind

10/10
Author: jezia73 from United States
16 January 2006

For those that really know great film this is one that you might appreciate. Scorchers is one of the best movies that I have ever seen. The beginning of the film just drew me in and had me captured with the haunting air of the ambient sound in the back ground. Actually the whole movie had a glow that reminded me of when I spent a summer in Georgia. Next the beautiful Emily Lloyd played her part well as the bride that is nervous about her wedding night and has to overcome her problem. There are also many wonderful character in this film that one has to watch it in order to fully understand it's beauty. I have to say this is a must see for it's humor, it's love and it's originality. I wish that more films could capture me in it,s web as this one has. I have been waiting forever for this fantastic film to go to DVD, unfortunately it seems that this will never be. All that I can hope for is for the director to one day become famous enough that the world might know of this wonderful film that will stay with me always.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

one of the best movies I've ever seen

10/10
Author: kalina from Oakland, CA
13 October 1999

Excellent acting, not only by the Big Names...James Earl Jones, Denham Elliot, Faye Dunaway, and Jennifer Tilly give excellent performances... but also by Leland Crooke, who has become a personal favorite of mine because of this movie. It's hilarious, intelligent, beautifully shot and directed, and it's about how people really are. This is one of the best movies I have ever seen.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Fairly unknown movie with great acting and involved plot

Author: noskcire from Northeastern Colorado
18 January 2001

Thank you Kalina, (above). This is a great movie. It is about the discovery of life and meaning. The father, Jumper has become a favorite of mine as he takes his daughter through a grief process worthy of any psychologist. The interplay of the lives of people in a small town, and their discoveries of who they can be is a model for anyone who feels stuck or trapped. The humor is wonderful, the acting of James EArl Jones, Denholm Elliot, Emily Lloyd, Leland Crooke, and Faye Dunaway is beyond compare. I guess if you didn't like this movie, you just don't know how to go around corners. Too bad!!

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Excellent movie - a must see before u r too old...

10/10
Author: Barmaley from England
1 June 1999

This is an excellent film and a must see when you are still in your early twenties! The roles played by a cast of excellent actors represent not so much traditional characters but rather TYPES leaving in this small Louisiana town. To enjoy the action of the film watch it a few times, and pay attention to the tiniest details and motives of the narration.

Look how much there is to look out for:

Love and lust - what a great tragic comedy in the lines of Emily Lloyd and Jennifer Tilly...

Love and talent for sale - Faye Dunaway is at her best!

Vision of art as a miracle, something that escapes your grasp - Denholm Elliott and James Earl Jones should have got and Oscar for their dialogues and dancing :-)

And finally, there is that great theme of life and death, justifying and reconciling both over the smoky waters of the Yellow River...

On the whole, this film can be interpreted as an excellent essay about love of life and a fight for both of them in the lines of a great calling that everyone should seek.

Mahler's music is in romantic contrast with the zesty country rhythms of the Scorchers county. So what is it so special about it?

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
Newsgroup reviews Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history