IMDb > Kickboxer 2: The Road Back (1991) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Kickboxer 2: The Road Back
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Kickboxer 2: The Road Back More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]
Index 44 reviews in total 

8 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Acceptable sequel

5/10
Author: sveknu
7 March 2010

First of all, I daresay that the rating for this movie is too low. I give it a 5 out of 10, which is more in line with the overall quality of this than the measly 3.3 displayed on the IMDb at the moment. It's of course nowhere near as good as the first Kickboxer, but it doesn't have to be. Sasha Mitchell is no van Damme, but he does his job in a way I won't complain about. One of the good things about this is the return of Michael Qissi as Tong Po. This gives a link to the first film and makes the whole thing more interesting. But most importantly, the fight scenes are decent, the plot is not that bad and if you sit back and relax you'll see that this movie is entertaining if you have the right kind of expectations beforehand. Nothing Oscar-worthy, but as a simple martial arts/action movie this is more than OK for a night's viewing.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

This movie never happened

1/10
Author: sliat_1981 from Australia
1 March 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This was just a dream. What REALLY happened after Kickboxer, was that Kurt and Eric decided to live in Thailand where they opened there own Muay Thai school. Kurt eventually married Mylee and they are still there partying today.

As the first movie pointed out, there was only two brothers. There was never a secret brother. The "brother" subplot was used in the first one, even if they did have yet another brother (man what a cheesy, excuse to do a sequel!), they obviously don't care too much about him as they said in the first one "there's only you and me". I can't imagine Eric saying. "Dad was always on my case. But he made me harder. Oh wait on me AND David! I somehow forget that I grew up with a brother here!" Satcha Mitchell is really weak and wimpy looking. He could never be the brother of Kurt and Eric (as Tong Po correctly states in this movie, "You're the weakest of all the Sloanes". That's no bulls**t. It's true). He's really boring and can't act. I would stick to 'Step by Step', Satcha, because as an action star, you're pathetically weak. Kickboxer was a success mainly for the presence of Van Damme. When you put in an unknown actor who's as dull as ditchwater, you know you're in trouble. It basically confirms that this is not a sequel as the actor you see in the flashback is obviously not Van Damme. Maybe this is another person Tong Po fought that was also named Kurt Sloan (cause the Kurt Sloan we know only had one brother, Eric). When you put in a villain that was already defeated (Tong Po), it's kinda mindless. But somehow, despite being soundly defeated, the movie attempts to show him as "stonger than before (how?)" And if Tong Po REALLY killed Kurt (which he didn't, as I said, this film didn't happen), just bashing him up in the end is not getting revenge. Knowing he is a killer, you can only be satisfied if he is killed at the end and gets what he deserves (which he doesn't), so there's no stopping him from doing the same to David Sloan. I could relate to Kurt, I certainly couldn't relate to this "David Sloan". I didn't know who he was and I couldn't care less. I hope the fans of him were just and p**sed off as I was about Van Damme, when he was dumped from the series. The unexciting presence of Satcha Mitchell led to this being a series of direct to video sequels, which he was happy to star in (being a no-name actor). To most of us he's simply making money by being in Van Damme's movies. He wouldn't even have got to be in those without Vann Damme, so don't you dare think of him as the Kickboxer actor. I suppose if David was killed off and it was revealed there was yet ANOTHER brother you'd call it cheesy. Well I found this too cheesy to contemplate. Like I said, this was a Kickboxer imitator, not a sequel. There is no such thing as a "David Sloane". Just Kurt and Eric who are still living it up in Thailand.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Steroids

Author: tedg (tedg@filmsfolded.com) from Virginia Beach
26 June 2002

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Spoilers herein.

This is porn. Fight pictures are based on perversions, pure and simple. The most common are cloaked in revenge, so the setup has to be something so vile, so unfair that we applaud the violent comeuppance of the villain.

This is a completely formulaic picture, so we spend much time discovering how kind and mild is our hero. Then we encounter the evil things done to him and friends because of him. And finally we have justice.

It is too easy to criticize this particular film -- for these to work, they have to be bad in terms of acting and such. So let's go further and say that the genre itself is just the sort of vile offense against use that is depicted.

I'm a gentle soul. But the industry keeps throwing these things at me, and worse at the whole world:

-- many of whom think the US is first and foremost like this

-- many of whom think of themselves as honorable souls (who doesn't?) and worthy of violent retribution

Do we need this stuff in our lives?

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Kickerboxer without Van Damme (spoilers)

Author: Darkness876 from ?
26 September 2003

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

No one really seems to like this film however i think it is a solid entry. Sasha Mitchell is no Van Damme but he holds a strong screen presence and his martial arts skills are excellent. Don't expect a great plot but if you enjoyed the original Kickboxer and like martial arts this one is for you.

The plot revolves around Kurt Sloan's younger brother David who owns a gym and teaches kick boxing in an attempt to stay out of the ring. Both Kurt and Eric from the original were killed by Tong Po after the match and in this film Tong Po's managers attempt to get David to fight Po in order for Po to regain his title. The climax is a great fight and the film even if it is low budget is entertaining.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

No Van Damme, What's the point?

2/10
Author: SnoopyStyle
24 May 2014

David Sloan (Sasha Mitchell) is Kurt's younger brother. He runs a gym in LA teaching kids kickboxing. Justin Maciah (Peter Boyle) runs United Kickboxer Association and wants him to fight. David doesn't want to fight like his brothers but the gym is struggling. His best protégé Brian wants to fight and even David has to fight to keep the gym open. After winning against the champ, David quits and bad-mouths UKA. They retaliate by burning down the gym and Xian Chow (Dennis Chan) returns to help David recover from the burns and the lost. Sangha (Cary-Hiroyuki Tagawa) has a plan to bring Tong Po to fight David. Tong Po had shot dead Kurt and thereby losing the opportunity to regain the country's honor in the ring.

What's the point if Jean-Claude Van Damme isn't in it? Sasha has just a fraction of Van Damme's charisma. It is simply a waste of time. It also lacks the exotic locations of the original and the fights are poorly shot. Besides all that, the story takes forever to get going. The crux of the drama is the return of Tong Po. That's the villain fans want to see. If Tong Po killed Kurt, I think that's enough reason for David to seek revenge. All the other stuff at the beginning is unnecessary. In fact, they should have Tong Po right at the start.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Once in a lifetime a movie comes along that changes your life.............

2/10
Author: MARVMOOCOW from Australia
8 November 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

...........sadly this film is not it.While I admit to watching this film several times,I really think that like most sequels to stand alone movies it suffers from lack of a good plot device,when the main character of the first movie is conveniently disposed of in flash back and quite easily at that and a new hero is introduced as a previously unmentioned brother you know that you are in trouble. I really enjoyed the first film I thought it was great,definitely one of Van Dammes best,and I wonder how this would've been had he returned for it but alas he wasn't offered enough money and passed on it. Sasha Mitchell came in as the lead and went for 3 films until his character was unceremoniously dumped at the start of Kickboxer 5 Redemption in much the same manner as Van Dammes was in this one.Sasha tries hard and isn't too bad its just the script let's him down. Peter Boyle must've needed the paycheque and Michael Qissi ( Van Dammes real life good mate) return's as Tong Po the Thai Kickboxing champion. Its not a bad way to waste n hour and a half of your life but its an hour and a half you could be wasting re-watching the original Kickboxer

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

The road leads nowhere...

5/10
Author: Frank Markland from United States
11 June 2006

David Sloan (Sasha Mitchell) is content to keep his nose clean and stay out of the kickboxing business (Yeah, right) and run a gym that caters to kids. However his gym is on hard times and the only way to keep the gym his brothers helped build is to fight again. Enter Tong Po(Michael Qissi) who is looking to regain his honor after losing to Sloan's older brother Kurt(Who was played by Van Damme in # 1) Suffice to say David will have to step into the ring. I picked up the Kickboxer 5 pack because I remember seeing these on Cable TV when I was younger and enjoying them a lot. While there is some fun to be had in this sequel there is far too much plot that stops the movie dead in it's tracks. Mitchell is an adequate martial artist and okay actor but the role gives him little to do and it's only the well staged fight sequences which give K2 the only watchable edge it has.

* * out of 4-(Fair)

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

The Best Damme Movie Ever! (wait a minute...)

Author: Elbow
8 August 1999

Kickboxer 2 is, well, an unnecessary sequel which unfortunately lacked the presence of the phenomenal Jean-Claude Van Damme. Despite this, the movie manages to be a great deal of fun. The fights are well staged and there is an excess of campy acting which is a requisite of this genre. It is one of many of these types of flicks which could make you cry if you take it seriously, in that you'll regret paying money to rent, or (God forbid) buy it. However if you ignore the lack of substance and enjoy it for what it is (which is very little), you will find that you may even start to love (perhaps pity) the movie for it's ignorant simplicity. Heck, Tong Po is back and in always ready for carnage. Sasha Mitchell makes a decent replacement for Van Damme perhaps lacking in physique and skill, but definitely on par in the brain power department. This is best described as a guilty pleasure.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

this movie rocks

Author: veinbreaker
16 October 2000

this movie is great it holds lots of memories for me it is written by the script writer of BLADE and DARK CITY so you know it has to be good. The cast is full of unknowns which deliver a fine perfomance for the genre. This film also has a great soundtrack which unfortunately was never released, Give it a chance cause this is a feel good martial arts movie along the lines of AMERICAN SHAOLIN. I own both films and I prefer this one to the VAN DAMME prequel. This movie is good so give it a chance. Also if anyone has the song 'BROTHER'S EYES' from the movie please let me know. I am desperate for that song because it gives me chills every time I watch the film

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

A bit boring but not too bad.

5/10
Author: The Bronson Fan from PA
22 July 2003

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Spoilers coming. Kickboxer two is not the worst movie in the rather dull series, but it is rather boring with low production values. Kickboxer two picks up with the apparent deaths of the Sloan brothers Eric and Kurt (Van Damme) from the first film and follows another brother, also no resemblance to the others and his gym. David Sloan (Mitchell) the youngest brother runs there gym in a run down hood with crapy equipment and low life brats coming around his gym. Story goes that his best student Brian ( Murdocco) wants to be a pro kickboxer, but David's holding him back in the mean time Sanga (Tagawa) has come to the US to help Tong Po get his honor back in a traditional pathetic showdown. Brian leaves to fight for Justin Mikia (Boyle), while David's gym is going under, so David goes back into fighting. David wins, but opponent takes revenge on him and needs help getting back into shape...enter Xian (Chan). He recovers while Brian fights for the title. The fight gets fixed and Tong Po comes out and proceeds to wreck Brian and kill him. David now must take revenge and fights traditional old school Muay Thai and defeats him.

Overall this movie is not all that bad, but really drags on at some points. It wants to have such a story in what should really be just a martial arts flick. There some aspects of the movie that are really annoying. The girl sidekick sucks and is a pain the entire movie. David's wanting to help out all the unfortunate gets old after while. And really David looks more like Brian in the movie that he looks towards what would have been his brother Van Damme in the first movie, I mean who cast this crap anyhow? The Acting is nothing to get excited about. Mitchell is Mitchell, nothing impressive and I had trouble seeing him out of his "dude" Cody role in Step by Step. Murdocco is another fighter turned actor who has been in some real turkeys, like Ring Of Fire, but again nothing that is total bad comes out of him and he's a good fighter. Tagawa is the man, he's evil in every film and is always a great lead bad guy, so I think he added to the movie well.

As for the fights. I was not that impressed with the rather cheap outfits and fight choreography. David is suppose to be poor, I know, but he wears like pajama pants into the ring to fight a guy twice his size wear tight blue spandex. What kickboxing match is this? IM a novice Kickboxing fan and believe me they don't wear that crap into the ring. And Matthias Hues who played Vargos would have owned Mitchell in the ring on any day. Lots of the fights are shown in slow motion, which isn't all that bad...somtimes. When Tong Po Fights Brian there are some really stupid scenes of Brian taking shots that don't even look like they land. Watch when Tong Po Throws the ref out of the ring with boxing gloves on, yet who ever through him out of the ring was bare handed.???? Cheap production. Even though Brian got killed and was a mess, who dumped all the blood all over his back, where did that come from? The fight at the end...typical. But it gets bloody and overall very fake, but it delivers violence so who cares. For some reason I kinda like this film, I think its 2nd in the series. I haven't seen 5 and 3 is the worst. So I'll give 5 out of 10 stars, I would have given it 6 had Mitchell knocked Brian Austin Greens teeth down his throat in his cameo scene as some wannabe tough kid from the hood. Brian Austin Green is a loser.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history