IMDb > Kickboxer 2: The Road Back (1991) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Kickboxer 2: The Road Back
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Kickboxer 2: The Road Back More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]
Index 40 reviews in total 

8 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Acceptable sequel

5/10
Author: sveknu
7 March 2010

First of all, I daresay that the rating for this movie is too low. I give it a 5 out of 10, which is more in line with the overall quality of this than the measly 3.3 displayed on the IMDb at the moment. It's of course nowhere near as good as the first Kickboxer, but it doesn't have to be. Sasha Mitchell is no van Damme, but he does his job in a way I won't complain about. One of the good things about this is the return of Michael Qissi as Tong Po. This gives a link to the first film and makes the whole thing more interesting. But most importantly, the fight scenes are decent, the plot is not that bad and if you sit back and relax you'll see that this movie is entertaining if you have the right kind of expectations beforehand. Nothing Oscar-worthy, but as a simple martial arts/action movie this is more than OK for a night's viewing.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Steroids

Author: tedg (tedg@filmsfolded.com) from Virginia Beach
26 June 2002

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Spoilers herein.

This is porn. Fight pictures are based on perversions, pure and simple. The most common are cloaked in revenge, so the setup has to be something so vile, so unfair that we applaud the violent comeuppance of the villain.

This is a completely formulaic picture, so we spend much time discovering how kind and mild is our hero. Then we encounter the evil things done to him and friends because of him. And finally we have justice.

It is too easy to criticize this particular film -- for these to work, they have to be bad in terms of acting and such. So let's go further and say that the genre itself is just the sort of vile offense against use that is depicted.

I'm a gentle soul. But the industry keeps throwing these things at me, and worse at the whole world:

-- many of whom think the US is first and foremost like this

-- many of whom think of themselves as honorable souls (who doesn't?) and worthy of violent retribution

Do we need this stuff in our lives?

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

this movie rocks

Author: veinbreaker
16 October 2000

this movie is great it holds lots of memories for me it is written by the script writer of BLADE and DARK CITY so you know it has to be good. The cast is full of unknowns which deliver a fine perfomance for the genre. This film also has a great soundtrack which unfortunately was never released, Give it a chance cause this is a feel good martial arts movie along the lines of AMERICAN SHAOLIN. I own both films and I prefer this one to the VAN DAMME prequel. This movie is good so give it a chance. Also if anyone has the song 'BROTHER'S EYES' from the movie please let me know. I am desperate for that song because it gives me chills every time I watch the film

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

No Van Damme, What's the point?

2/10
Author: SnoopyStyle
24 May 2014

David Sloan (Sasha Mitchell) is Kurt's younger brother. He runs a gym in LA teaching kids kickboxing. Justin Maciah (Peter Boyle) runs United Kickboxer Association and wants him to fight. David doesn't want to fight like his brothers but the gym is struggling. His best protégé Brian wants to fight and even David has to fight to keep the gym open. After winning against the champ, David quits and bad-mouths UKA. They retaliate by burning down the gym and Xian Chow (Dennis Chan) returns to help David recover from the burns and the lost. Sangha (Cary-Hiroyuki Tagawa) has a plan to bring Tong Po to fight David. Tong Po had shot dead Kurt and thereby losing the opportunity to regain the country's honor in the ring.

What's the point if Jean-Claude Van Damme isn't in it? Sasha has just a fraction of Van Damme's charisma. It is simply a waste of time. It also lacks the exotic locations of the original and the fights are poorly shot. Besides all that, the story takes forever to get going. The crux of the drama is the return of Tong Po. That's the villain fans want to see. If Tong Po killed Kurt, I think that's enough reason for David to seek revenge. All the other stuff at the beginning is unnecessary. In fact, they should have Tong Po right at the start.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Kickerboxer without Van Damme (spoilers)

Author: Darkness876 from ?
26 September 2003

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

No one really seems to like this film however i think it is a solid entry. Sasha Mitchell is no Van Damme but he holds a strong screen presence and his martial arts skills are excellent. Don't expect a great plot but if you enjoyed the original Kickboxer and like martial arts this one is for you.

The plot revolves around Kurt Sloan's younger brother David who owns a gym and teaches kick boxing in an attempt to stay out of the ring. Both Kurt and Eric from the original were killed by Tong Po after the match and in this film Tong Po's managers attempt to get David to fight Po in order for Po to regain his title. The climax is a great fight and the film even if it is low budget is entertaining.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Whats Up With The Biased Negative Reviews????

8/10
Author: Vivekmaru45 from Kenya
17 February 2011

A solid 8/10. This sequel continues from the original Kickboxer. Kurt and Eric Sloan have been killed in revenge by Tong Po, under instructions from his manager Sanga. David Sloan (Sasha Mitchell), the youngest and last of the great Sloan dynasty, struggles to keep the family kickboxing gym afloat. His hopes rest on his pupil Brian Wagner (Vince Murdocco) who is a talent for the future and David hopes to get him into the big fights soon.

Financial problems eventually force Sloan to fight again in a new organization run by a crooked promoter (Peter Boyle). His surprising comeback ultimately attracts the attention of Tong Po who, having been disgraced by Sloan's older brothers, seeks to lure their younger sibling back into the ring.

David defeats opponent Neil Vargas (Matthias Hues) and retains his title.

But when Sloan announces his retirement after the bout, Po's manager Sanga (Cary-Hiroyuki Tagawa) hires a group of thugs to burn down the gym, injuring Sloan and killing one of his young students.

While recovering in the hospital, Sloan is visited by Xian Chow (Dennis Chan), who trained his brother Kurt in Thailand. Though David initially wants nothing to do with him, he finally relents and allows Xian to nurse him back to health. Meanwhile, one of Sloan's most promising students (Vince Murdocco) has secured a championship bout and invites Sloan to watch the fight. However, his slated opponent is unexpectedly replaced by Tong Po, who brutalizes the young man and kills him in the ring. Now with no other recourse, Sloan is forced to accept Po's challenge....

Albert Pyun takes over as director. The fight sequences are competent enough, but he should have asked Jean-Claude Van Damme for some guidance.

I particularly like the song played in the opening credits: Suns will set and suns will rise, But I still see my brothers eyes, Suns will set and suns will rise, But I.... I'll always see my brothers eyes...

Or something like that! But this on on DVD and enjoy!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

This movie never happened

1/10
Author: sliat_1981 from Australia
1 March 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This was just a dream. What REALLY happened after Kickboxer, was that Kurt and Eric decided to live in Thailand where they opened there own Muay Thai school. Kurt eventually married Mylee and they are still there partying today.

As the first movie pointed out, there was only two brothers. There was never a secret brother. The "brother" subplot was used in the first one, even if they did have yet another brother (man what a cheesy, excuse to do a sequel!), they obviously don't care too much about him as they said in the first one "there's only you and me". I can't imagine Eric saying. "Dad was always on my case. But he made me harder. Oh wait on me AND David! I somehow forget that I grew up with a brother here!" Satcha Mitchell is really weak and wimpy looking. He could never be the brother of Kurt and Eric (as Tong Po correctly states in this movie, "You're the weakest of all the Sloanes". That's no bulls**t. It's true). He's really boring and can't act. I would stick to 'Step by Step', Satcha, because as an action star, you're pathetically weak. Kickboxer was a success mainly for the presence of Van Damme. When you put in an unknown actor who's as dull as ditchwater, you know you're in trouble. It basically confirms that this is not a sequel as the actor you see in the flashback is obviously not Van Damme. Maybe this is another person Tong Po fought that was also named Kurt Sloan (cause the Kurt Sloan we know only had one brother, Eric). When you put in a villain that was already defeated (Tong Po), it's kinda mindless. But somehow, despite being soundly defeated, the movie attempts to show him as "stonger than before (how?)" And if Tong Po REALLY killed Kurt (which he didn't, as I said, this film didn't happen), just bashing him up in the end is not getting revenge. Knowing he is a killer, you can only be satisfied if he is killed at the end and gets what he deserves (which he doesn't), so there's no stopping him from doing the same to David Sloan. I could relate to Kurt, I certainly couldn't relate to this "David Sloan". I didn't know who he was and I couldn't care less. I hope the fans of him were just and p**sed off as I was about Van Damme, when he was dumped from the series. The unexciting presence of Satcha Mitchell led to this being a series of direct to video sequels, which he was happy to star in (being a no-name actor). To most of us he's simply making money by being in Van Damme's movies. He wouldn't even have got to be in those without Vann Damme, so don't you dare think of him as the Kickboxer actor. I suppose if David was killed off and it was revealed there was yet ANOTHER brother you'd call it cheesy. Well I found this too cheesy to contemplate. Like I said, this was a Kickboxer imitator, not a sequel. There is no such thing as a "David Sloane". Just Kurt and Eric who are still living it up in Thailand.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Makes the 1st film seem pointless but its a deep movie.

10/10
Author: fullenw from United States
30 May 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The main story has Tong Po's manager trying to bait the younger brother of Kurt & Eric Sloan into fighting Tong Po.

The worst thing about this movie is the fight scenes. They aren't bad but 80% of the fight scenes are in slow motion.

Dennis Chan reprised his role as Xian and thats a plus as he helped provide the comedy relief.

The story was deep displaying the emotional torture of David Sloan. Then there's the human game of chess Tong Po's manager plays with multiple characters.

Sasha Mitchell did a exceptional job succeeding Van Damme. This does make the 1st movie seem pointless but its a decent film.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

A bit boring but not too bad.

5/10
Author: The Bronson Fan from PA
22 July 2003

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Spoilers coming. Kickboxer two is not the worst movie in the rather dull series, but it is rather boring with low production values. Kickboxer two picks up with the apparent deaths of the Sloan brothers Eric and Kurt (Van Damme) from the first film and follows another brother, also no resemblance to the others and his gym. David Sloan (Mitchell) the youngest brother runs there gym in a run down hood with crapy equipment and low life brats coming around his gym. Story goes that his best student Brian ( Murdocco) wants to be a pro kickboxer, but David's holding him back in the mean time Sanga (Tagawa) has come to the US to help Tong Po get his honor back in a traditional pathetic showdown. Brian leaves to fight for Justin Mikia (Boyle), while David's gym is going under, so David goes back into fighting. David wins, but opponent takes revenge on him and needs help getting back into shape...enter Xian (Chan). He recovers while Brian fights for the title. The fight gets fixed and Tong Po comes out and proceeds to wreck Brian and kill him. David now must take revenge and fights traditional old school Muay Thai and defeats him.

Overall this movie is not all that bad, but really drags on at some points. It wants to have such a story in what should really be just a martial arts flick. There some aspects of the movie that are really annoying. The girl sidekick sucks and is a pain the entire movie. David's wanting to help out all the unfortunate gets old after while. And really David looks more like Brian in the movie that he looks towards what would have been his brother Van Damme in the first movie, I mean who cast this crap anyhow? The Acting is nothing to get excited about. Mitchell is Mitchell, nothing impressive and I had trouble seeing him out of his "dude" Cody role in Step by Step. Murdocco is another fighter turned actor who has been in some real turkeys, like Ring Of Fire, but again nothing that is total bad comes out of him and he's a good fighter. Tagawa is the man, he's evil in every film and is always a great lead bad guy, so I think he added to the movie well.

As for the fights. I was not that impressed with the rather cheap outfits and fight choreography. David is suppose to be poor, I know, but he wears like pajama pants into the ring to fight a guy twice his size wear tight blue spandex. What kickboxing match is this? IM a novice Kickboxing fan and believe me they don't wear that crap into the ring. And Matthias Hues who played Vargos would have owned Mitchell in the ring on any day. Lots of the fights are shown in slow motion, which isn't all that bad...somtimes. When Tong Po Fights Brian there are some really stupid scenes of Brian taking shots that don't even look like they land. Watch when Tong Po Throws the ref out of the ring with boxing gloves on, yet who ever through him out of the ring was bare handed.???? Cheap production. Even though Brian got killed and was a mess, who dumped all the blood all over his back, where did that come from? The fight at the end...typical. But it gets bloody and overall very fake, but it delivers violence so who cares. For some reason I kinda like this film, I think its 2nd in the series. I haven't seen 5 and 3 is the worst. So I'll give 5 out of 10 stars, I would have given it 6 had Mitchell knocked Brian Austin Greens teeth down his throat in his cameo scene as some wannabe tough kid from the hood. Brian Austin Green is a loser.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Good movie...(contains some spoilers)

7/10
Author: Andy (murgaine@yahoo.com) from Tampa, Florida USA
19 February 2003

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I have heard a lot of flack over this movie because it doesn't star Jean Claude but I thoroughly enjoyed it and think Sasha Mitchell did a wonderful job picking up where his predecessor left off.

Sasha stars as the kind, caring and human David Sloan, the youngest and last surviving member of the Sloan brothers, sole owner of the gym that has been left in his care from his deceased brothers.

Throw in a loud mouthed, wise talking, street smart little girl named Jeanell, played with wonderful realism by actress Heather McComb, who hangs out with David, and you have the start of a great movie.

Sasha brings a more human touch to the movie than was evident previously and shows that even though the Sloans are forces to be reckoned with, they are just like everyone else, at least David is.

Matthias Hues as the gorgeous, larger than life kickboxing phenom Vargas is great as he always is in "heel" roles.

And of course you can't go wrong with Cary-Hiroyuki Tagawa as Sanga, the major heavy in the movie and as ruthless as they come.

Peter Boyle did a nice job as the suave but ultimately too naive and trusting for his own good promoter, Justin.

Dennis Chan appears halfway through this movie as Xian Chow, Kurt's former trainer in Thailand who journeys to the US to help David train for the match of his life; an upcoming battle with Tong Po, played as only it can be by Michel Quissi.

Dennis Chan brings extraordinary realism to the part of Xian, the devoted and ever patient trainer who won't let David give up, no matter the odds and no matter the adversity he faces.

This is a great movie and I am proud to say that I own it. I highly recommend it.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history